Co-Development of the Indigenous
Broadcasting Policy

Welcome to the CRTC’s page on broadcasting services related to Indigenous Peoples. The CRTC acknowledges that our mandate as Canada’s regulator of Broadcasting and Telecommunications services takes place on lands which originally belonged to Indigenous Peoples, an important segment of the population living in Canada, who we aim to serve.

On this page, you will find information related to Indigenous broadcasting in Canada, including our approach to policy development, key policies, information about broadcasting licences, and sources of funding.

Our Approach to the co-development of a new Indigenous Broadcasting Policy

Reconciliation is one of the Government of Canada’s commitments to renewing the relationship with Indigenous Peoples, based on the recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership. As part of its role, the Commission upholds the Government of Canada’s commitment. The CRTC has launched a multi-phase process to co-develop a new Indigenous broadcasting policy with First Nations, Métis, and Inuit broadcasters, content creators, and audiences. The process will enable all of us to better understand what these broadcasting needs are, now and in the future, for both traditional and digital services.

The review comprises three phases:

  1. Starting in the summer 2019, we’ll be holding engagement sessions across Canada, with Indigenous broadcasters, content creators and artists.
  2. The engagement sessions will be followed by a public consultation process, to obtain a range of views from both Indigenous and non-Indigenous people on how Canada’s broadcasting system can best complement the broadcasting interests of Indigenous Peoples moving forward.
  3. Following the public consultation, the Commission will present preliminary views to Indigenous participants from the public consultation process to give them the opportunity to provide further comments on the potential impacts of the proposed policy.

For more information on the process, please refer to the Notice of Proceeding.

Specific dates for phases two and three will be announced at a later date.

Services and information

About Radio and TV Licences (Applying, Renewing and Obligations)

Indigenous Radio services: Type A (exempted) and Type B (licensed) stations, applying for and renewing a Type B radio broadcasting licence, submitting annual returns. Indigenous television services: licensed TV services, low-power TV stations, exempted TV stations, and TV productions, applying for TV broadcasting licences.

Indigenous Broadcasting Policy

About the current Native Broadcasting Policy, other relevant Acts and Regulations.

Resources available

Funding available for Indigenous broadcasters and content creators (i.e., producers of spoken word, music, news, dramatic television and film content).

Support for Indigenous Broadcasters

Are you a broadcaster and need clarification on an issue?
We've got answers to your business questions. Give us a call.
Our support centres are open from 8:30am to 4:30pm (Eastern Time)

Other Information for Broadcasters, Producers and Audiences
Date modified:

Élaboration conjointe de la Politique de
radiodiffusion autochtone

Bienvenue à la page du CRTC sur les services de radiodiffusion à l’intention des peuples autochtones. Le CRTC reconnaît que son mandat en tant qu’organisme de réglementation des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication au Canada fait en sorte que ses activités sont exercées sur des terres qui appartenaient à l’origine aux peuples autochtones, un segment important de la population vivant au Canada, que nous souhaitons desservir.

Vous trouverez sur cette page des renseignements relatifs à la radiodiffusion autochtone au Canada, notamment notre approche en ce qui concerne l’élaboration de politiques, les politiques clés, les licences de radiodiffusion et les sources de financement.

Notre approche à l'élaboration conjointe d'une nouvelle politique de radiodiffusion autochtone

La réconciliation est l'un des engagements du gouvernement du Canada à renouveler la relation avec les peuples autochtones, fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat. Dans le cadre de son rôle, la Commission respecte l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada. Le CRTC a lancé un processus en plusieurs étapes pour élaborer conjointement une nouvelle politique de radiodiffusion autochtone avec les radiodiffuseurs, les créateurs de contenu et les auditoires des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits. Ce processus nous permettra à tous de mieux comprendre les besoins actuels et futurs des services de radiodiffusion, tant traditionnels que numériques.

L'examen comprend trois phases :

  1. À compter de l'été 2019, nous tiendrons des séances d'engagement partout au Canada, avec des diffuseurs, des créateurs de contenu et des artistes autochtones.
  2. Les séances de participation seront suivies d'un processus de consultation publique, afin d'obtenir un éventail de points de vue des peuples autochtones et non autochtones sur la façon dont le système canadien de radiodiffusion peut le mieux compléter les intérêts des peuples autochtones en matière de radiodiffusion à l'avenir.
  3. À la suite de la consultation publique, la Commission présentera des points de vue préliminaires aux participants autochtones dans le cadre du processus de consultation publique afin de leur donner l'occasion de formuler d'autres commentaires sur les répercussions possibles de la politique proposée.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le processus, veuillez consulter l'avis d'instance.

Les dates précises des phases deux et trois seront annoncées plus tard.

Services et renseignements

À propos des licences de radio et de télévision (demande, renouvellement et obligations)

Services de radio autochtones : stations de type A (exemptées) et de type B (autorisées), déposer une demande de licence de radiodiffusion ou renouveler une licence de radiodiffusion, déposer des rapports annuels. Services de télévision autochtones : services de télévision autorisés, stations de télévision de faible puissance, stations de télévision exemptées, productions télévisuelles, déposer des demandes de licence de télédiffusion.

Politique de radiodiffusion autochtone

À propos de la Politique de radiodiffusion autochtone actuelle et autres lois et règlements pertinents

Ressources disponibles

Financement disponible aux diffuseurs et aux créateurs de contenu autochtones (c.-à-d. producteurs de créations orales, de musique, de nouvelles, de contenu dramatique télévisé et cinématographique).

 

Soutien aux diffuseurs autochtones

Êtes-vous un radiodiffuseur et avez-vous besoin de précisions sur une question?
Nous avons les réponses à vos questions d’affaires. Appelez-nous.
Nos centres de soutien sont ouverts de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30 (heure de l’Est).

  • Entreprises de radiodiffusion, de télédiffusion et de distribution : 1-866-781-1911
  • Centre d’assistance du système de collecte de données (SCD) : Enquête et aide pour le SCD
Autres renseignements pour les radiodiffuseurs, les producteurs et le public
Date de modification :