Enforcing
Canada’s Anti-Spam
Legislation (CASL)

Actions carried out by the CRTC between
October 1, 2019 and March 31, 2020

View previous time period

Enforcement Highlights

CRTC issues $115,000 in penalties to stop the spread of malicious software

Recently, CRTC staff took enforcement action against Orcus Technologies and its partners John Paul Revezs and Vincent Leo Griebel, who developed, marketed and sold the Orcus RAT. Following this investigation, the Chief Compliance & Enforcement Officer issued Notices of Violation with total administrative monetary penalties of $115,000 for contraventions of section 9 of CASL.

Remote Access Trojans (RATs) are a type of malware that causes significant harm to Canadians. RATs are used by malicious actors to control computer systems without the owner’s consent, contrary to Canada’s anti-spam legislation.

As part of this investigation, CRTC staff cooperated with domestic and international law enforcement agencies, including the RCMP, the US Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Australian Federal Police, as well as private cyber-security firms. This complex investigation demonstrated the benefits of cooperation among law enforcement in addressing global threats.

Staying Vigilant over COVID-19 Scams

The CRTC investigates those who send commercial electronic messages without the recipient’s consent or install programs on computer systems without express consent. This includes malware, spyware and viruses in computer programs or spam messages, or downloaded through infected Web links.

Agencies worldwide have seen a spike in scam activity related to the COVID-19 pandemic. CRTC staff is working to identify malicious sites associated with the pandemic and working with partners to have them shut down, helping to protect Canadians. In addition, the CRTC is using its social media platforms to advise Canadians to stay vigilant against emerging scams related to COVID-19 and how to report them.

Enforcement Measures

Administrative Monetary Penalties

Since CASL came into force in 2014, enforcement efforts have resulted in administrative monetary penalties totaling nearly $1.3 million. Of this amount, $568,000 has been paid as part of negotiated undertakings.Footnote 1

Complaints to the Spam Reporting Centre

Between October 1, 2019 and March 31, 2020

Over 163,500 complaints to the Spam Reporting Centre

That’s over 6,200 per week.

Approximately 6,709 of these complaints were submitted using the online form, which represents only 4.1% of total complaints. The remainder of complaints were sent by email at spam@fightspam.gc.ca.

The CRTC encourages Canadians to use the Spam Reporting Centre’s online form to provide as much information as possible about potential CASL violations. The information provided by Canadians is an essential part of the intelligence the Spam Reporting Centre gathers on spam and electronic threats. Each report is valuable and helps us to enforce CASL.


More than 44% of complaints submitted through the online form reported email spam

Sources of spam (reported through online form)

SRC complaint reasons donut chart
SRC complaint reasons donut chart legend
Long description:
  • Email: 44%
  • Text message (SMS): 29.5%
  • Instant message (IM): 3%
  • Unspecified: 23.5%

Lack of consent
is still the
#1 complaint

Reasons why Canadians complain

Triggers for complaining donut chart
Triggers for complaining donut chart legend
Long description:
  • Lack of Consent: 38%
  • Identification of Sender: 24%
  • Software and Malware: 2%
  • Deceptive Marketing Practices: 22%
  • Other: 14%
Graphic of the top 5 types of scam emails

Between October 2019 and March 2020, more than 26% of the messages reported to the SRC were related to affiliate marketing or legitimate businesses selling or promoting the sale of a good or service.

The top five types of scam emails reported to the SRC during this period were associated with: (1) Extortion; (2) Business Email Compromise (fake CEO scams); (3) Employment Scams; (4) Dating Scams; (5) Unexpected Money.

Outreach

Outreach and engagement activities are a critical means to help legitimate businesses, including marketers and email senders, with their compliance efforts under CASL.

The Compliance and Enforcement team participated in 15 engagement activities with companies, associations and organizations to raise awareness about the application of CASL to unsolicited communications. In December 2019, the CRTC’s Chief Compliance and Enforcement Officer (CCEO) addressed a panel on “Cybersecurity Risks and Realities” at the Telecommunications Media Forum, organized by the International Institute of Communications. As part of his message, the CCEO noted that the CRTC engages with stakeholders to understand business models of online industries, helping it to more effectively mitigate online abuse to protect Canadians.

CRTC staff continue to leverage online platforms such as social media, webinars and podcasts to disseminate compliance information and guidance to support businesses.

Partnerships

The CRTC has forged partnerships with organizations across the globe in order to better fulfill its mandate.

The CRTC is part of the Unsolicited Communications Enforcement Network (UCENET). Members from over 26 countries work together to promote international spam enforcement cooperation and address problems relating to spam and unsolicited telecommunications.

Collaboration with International Partners

Agreements with International Partners world map
Long description:

Canada (CA)

Memorandum of Understanding:

Enforcement Collaboration:

United States (US)

Memorandum of Understanding:

Enforcement Collaboration:

United Kingdom (UK)

Memorandum of Understanding:

Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO)

Japan (JP)

Memorandum of Understanding:

Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications

Australia (AU)

Memorandum of Understanding:

Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)

Enforcement Collaboration:

Australian Federal Police (AFP)

New Zealand (NZ)

Memorandum of Understanding:

Department of Internal Affairs (DIA)

Useful Resources

Check out recent fraudulent activities uncovered by the RCMP.

Looking for cyber safety tips?

Competition Bureau Canada

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada

Frequently Asked Questions about CASL

CASL Compliance Tips

Information Bulletin - Guidelines on the Commission's Approach to Section 9 of CASL

Are you still receiving spam?

Report it and we’ll have a look.

Date modified:

Application
de la Loi canadienne
anti-pourriel (LCAP)

Mesures prises par le CRTC
Du 1er octobre 2019 au 31 mars 2020

Afficher la période précédente

Faits saillants de l’application de la Loi

Le CRTC impose des pénalités de 115 000 $ pour arrêter la diffusion de logiciels malveillants

Récemment, le personnel du CRTC a pris des mesures coercitives contre Orcus Technologies et ses partenaires John Paul Revezs et Vincent Leo Griebel, qui ont développé, commercialisé et vendu le logiciel malveillant Orcus RAT. À la suite de cette enquête, le Cadre en chef de la conformité et des enquêtes a émis des procès-verbaux de violation avec des sanctions pécuniaires totales de 115 000 dollars pour des infractions à l'article 9 de la LCAP.

Les outils d’administration à distance sont un type de logiciels malveillants qui entraînent des effets négatifs importants pour les Canadiens. Les outils d’administration à distance sont utilisés par des acteurs malveillants pour contrôler des systèmes informatiques d’une autre personne sans le consentement de cette dernière, ce qui contrevient à la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel.

Dans le cadre de cette enquête, le personnel du CRTC a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des organismes d'application de la loi nationaux et internationaux, dont la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), le Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) des États-Unis et la police fédérale australienne (AFP), ainsi qu'avec des entreprises privées de cyber sécurité. Cette enquête complexe a démontré les effets bénéfiques de la collaboration entre les organismes d'application de la loi face aux menaces mondiales.

Rester vigilant face aux escroqueries liées à la COVID-19

Le CRTC enquête sur ceux qui envoient des messages électroniques commerciaux sans le consentement du destinataire ou qui installent des programmes sur des systèmes informatiques sans le consentement explicite de ce dernier. Cela inclut les logiciels malveillants, les logiciels espions et les virus dans les programmes informatiques ou les messages de pourriels, ou téléchargés par des liens Web infectés.

Les agences à travers le monde ont constaté une hausse des activités d'escroquerie liées à la pandémie de la COVID-19. Le personnel du CRTC s'efforce d'identifier les sites malveillants associés à la pandémie et travaille avec des partenaires pour cesser leur exploitation, contribuant ainsi à protéger les Canadiens. En outre, le CRTC utilise ses plateformes de médias sociaux pour aviser les Canadiens de rester vigilants face aux nouvelles escroqueries liées à la COVID-19 et comment les signaler.

Mesures d’application de la Loi

Sanctions administratives pécuniaires

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la LCAP en 2014, les mesures d’application de la loi ont mené à des sanctions pécuniaires d’environ 1 300 000 $. De ce montant, 568 000 $ ont été versés à la suite d’engagements négociés.Note de bas de page 1

Plaintes au Centre de notification des pourriels

Du 1er octobre 2019 au 31 mars 2020

Plus de 145 100 plaintes au Centre de notification des pourriels

Il s’agit de plus de 6 200 plaintes par semaine!

Environ 6 709 de ces plaintes ont été déposées au moyen du formulaire en ligne, ce qui ne représente que 4,1 % du total des plaintes. Les autres plaintes ont été envoyées par courriel à pourriel@combattrelepourriel.gc.ca.

Le CRTC encourage les Canadiens à utiliser le formulaire en ligne du CNP afin de recueillir le plus de renseignements possible. Les renseignements que vous fournissez constituent une partie essentielle des renseignements que le Centre de notification des pourriels recueille sur les pourriels et les menaces électroniques. Chaque soumission est utile et nous aide à faire respecter la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel.


Plus de 44 % des plaintes déposées à l’aide du formulaire en ligne ont signalé des courriels inopportuns

Sources de pourriel (signalés en utilisant le formulaire en ligne)

Graphique : Raisons de plaintes au CNP
Graphique legende : Raisons de plaintes au CNP
Description longue :
  • Courriel : 44 %
  • Message texte (SMS) : 29,5 %
  • Message instantané : 3 %
  • Non précisé : 23,5 %

L’absence de consentement reste le premier motif de plainte

Les raisons pour lesquelles les Canadiens se plaignent

Graphique : Raisons pour lesquelles les Canadiens se plaignent
Graphique legende : Raisons pour lesquelles les Canadiens se plaignent
Description longue :
  • Absence de consentement : 38 %
  • L'identification de l’expéditeur : 24 %
  • Logiciels et maliciels : 2 %
  • Pratiques commerciales trompeuses : 22 %
  • Autre : 14 %
Graphique illustrant les cinq principaux types de courriels frauduleux

Entre octobre 2019 et mars 2020, plus de 26 % des messages signalés au Centre de notification des pourriels étaient liés à des entreprises honnêtes ou de marketing affiliées qui vendent ou font la promotion de la vente d’un bien ou d’un service.

Les cinq principaux types de pourriels signalés au Centre de notification des pourriels pendant cette période étaient associés aux thèmes suivants : (1) Extorsion; (2) Fraude du compte courriel d'entreprise compromis (fraude du faux PDG); (3) Escroquerie liée à une offre d'emploi; (4) Services de rencontre; (5) Offres d’argent.

Sensibilisation

Les activités de sensibilisation et d’engagement sont un moyen essentiel d'aider les entreprises légitimes, y compris les spécialistes du marketing et les expéditeurs de courrier électronique, dans leurs efforts de mise en conformité avec la LCAP.

L’équipe de Conformité et Enquêtes a participé à 15 activités de mobilisation avec des entreprises, des associations et des organisations pour les sensibiliser à l’application de la LCAP aux communications non sollicitées. En décembre 2019, le Cadre en chef de la conformité et des enquêtes (CCCE) du CRTC a participé à un panel sur les "risques et réalités de la cyber sécurité" lors du Forum des médias de télécommunications, organisé par l'Institut international des communications. Dans son message, le CCCE a noté que le CRTC s'engage avec les parties prenantes à mieux comprendre les modèles commerciaux des industries en ligne, l'aidant ainsi à atténuer plus efficacement les abus en ligne afin de protéger les Canadiens.

Le personnel du CRTC continue à tirer parti des plateformes en ligne comme les médias sociaux, les webinaires et les balados pour diffuser des informations sur la conformité et offrir des conseils afin d’appuyer les entreprises.

Partenariats

Le CRTC a établi de nombreux partenariats avec des organismes du monde entier afin de mieux remplir son mandat.

Le CRTC est également membre du réseau Unsolicited Communications Enforcement (UCENet). Des membres de plus de 26 pays collaborent pour encourager la coopération internationale en matière de lutte contre les pourriels et s’attaquent aux problèmes liés aux pourriels et aux télécommunications non sollicitées.

Collaboration avec des partenaires internationaux

Accords avec des partenaires internationaux carte du monde
Description longue :

Canada (CA)

Protocole d’entente :

Collaboration en matière d’application de la loi :

États-Unis (US)

Protocole d’entente :

Collaboration en matière d’application de la loi :

Royaume-Uni (UK)

Protocole d’entente :

Japon (JP)

Protocole d’entente :

Australie (AU)

Protocole d’entente :

Collaboration en matière d’application de la loi :

Nouvelle-Zélande (NZ)

Protocole d’entente :

Ressources utiles

Prenez connaissance des activités frauduleuses récentes détectées par la GRC.

Vous voulez des astuces en matière de cybersécurité?

Bureau de la concurrence Canada

Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada

Foire aux questions au sujet de la LCAP

Conseils sur la conformité à la LCAP

Bulletin d’information – Lignes directrices sur l’approche du Conseil concernant l’article 9 de la LCAP

Vous recevez toujours des pourriels?

Signalez-le. Nous y jetterons un coup d’œil.

Date de modification :