Broadcasting and Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2020-81

PDF version

Ottawa, 3 March 2020

Public record: 1011-NOC2020-0081

Call for comments – Provision of paper bills by communications service providers

Deadline for submission of interventions: 4 May 2020

[Submit an intervention or view related documents]

As many communications service providers transition from paper billing to electronic billing, the Commission seeks to obtain a better understanding of whether and in what circumstances Canadians should receive paper or electronic bills. In this proceeding, the Commission will determine whether intervention is warranted in regard to the billing practices of telecommunications service providers and broadcasting distribution undertakings, and, if so, what steps should be taken to meet the needs of consumers.

Background

  1. In recent years, telecommunications service providers (TSPs) and broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) [collectively referred to as communications service providers] have taken various approaches to encourage customers to transition from paper to electronic billing (e-billing). Prior to December 2014, these approaches included charging fees for the issuance of paper bills or providing discounts to customers who opt for e-billing.
  2. On 16 December 2014, the Telecommunications Act and the Broadcasting Act were amended to prohibit communications service providers from charging fees for the issuance of paper bills. 
  3. Currently, while the Commission requires that bills be provided in alternative accessible formats, such as in Braille or large print, for customers with certain accessibility needs,Footnote 1 it does not otherwise mandate the format in which bills are to be provided. 
  4. On the record of the proceeding that resulted in the Commission’s Report on Misleading or Aggressive Communications Retail Sales Practices,Footnote 2 some Canadians expressed concerns, among other things, related to the trend of communications service providers transitioning from paper billing to e-billing. 
  5. In Telecom Decision 2020-80, also issued today, the Commission denied a request by the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) and the National Pensioners Federation (NPF) [collectively, PIAC-NPF] to require Koodo Mobile (Koodo) and other wireless service providers (WSPs) to provide paper bills upon request and at no charge. The Commission found that there was no existing legislative or regulatory obligation that mandated the provision of paper bills and, since the rationale and evidence on the record of that proceeding related largely to Koodo alone, it would not be in the public interest to create a new obligation that would affect all WSPs based solely on that record.
  6. In Telecom Decision 2020-80, the Commission acknowledged that digital service innovation and price competition are important factors in the overall market. However, the Commission also noted the following with respect to consumers:
    • PIAC-NPF’s application raised concerns about the need for vulnerable consumers to have access to paper bills; 
    • the concerns raised in PIAC-NPF’s application and other complaints that the Commission has received may be a sign that there are wider concerns with paper billing in general; and
    • it is important to ensure that Canadians are able to receive clear information about their bills in an appropriate format. 
  7. The Commission, therefore, must develop an understanding of consumers’ needs.

Call for comments

  1. In light of the above, the Commission hereby initiates a public proceeding to examine the issue of the provision of paper bills. Since (i) the Commission has addressed issues with respect to billing in similar ways for both telecommunications and broadcasting services, and (ii) section 27.2 of the Telecommunications Act and section 34.1 of the Broadcasting Act set out similar prohibitions against charging for paper bills, the scope of this proceeding includes both telecommunications and broadcasting services.
  2. The Commission is specifically seeking comments on
    • whether there is a need for Canadians or certain groups of Canadians to continue to receive paper bills;
    • whether Commission intervention is appropriate and warranted with respect to the paper billing practices of TSPs and BDUs;
    • if Commission intervention is appropriate and warranted, what measures, if any, the Commission should impose with respect to paper billing practices; and
    • to whom and how any new obligations should apply.
  3. In order to ensure that the Commission has the factual record necessary to make a determination, and to assist parties in formulating their interventions, the dominant communications service providers in the Canadian market, namely Bell Canada, Bragg Communications Incorporated, Cogeco Communications inc., Quebecor Media Inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Shaw Communications Inc., TBayTel, TekSavvy Solutions Inc., TELUS Communications Inc., and Xplornet Communications Inc., must file responses to the request for information set out in the Appendix to this notice by 2 April 2020.
  4. Each of the above-noted companies’ responses must address its practices as a TSP and/or a BDU, as well as the practices of any subsidiaries. 
  5. The Commission encourages other communications service providers to file responses to the request for information set out in the Appendix to this notice by 2 April 2020.
  6. In order for the Commission to develop an understanding of consumers’ needs, individual Canadians, including persons with disabilities, as well as organizations representing the interests of consumers in general and organizations concerned with accessibility issues, are encouraged to respond to the following questions as part of their interventions:
    1. Describe in detail, with supporting rationale, what your needs are with regard to billing formats. Provide any available evidence of these needs.
    2. Do the billing formats provided by communications service providers meet your needs? If not, explain why and what you are required to do to pay your bill despite the current bill formats not meeting your needs.
    3. What billing formats would best meet your needs?

Procedure

  1. The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure) apply to this proceeding. The Rules of Procedure set out, among other things, the rules for the content, format, filing, and service of interventions, answers, replies, and requests for information; the procedure for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure; and the conduct of public hearings. Accordingly, the procedure set out below must be read in conjunction with the Rules of Procedure and related documents, which can be found on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca, under “Statutes and regulations.” The guidelines set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-959 provide information to help interested persons and parties understand the Rules of Procedure so that they can more effectively participate in Commission proceedings.
  2. The responses to the request for information must be filed with the Commission by 2 April 2020.
  3. Interested persons, including the parties named in paragraph 10, must file an intervention with the Commission regarding the above-noted issues by 4 May 2020. Interventions must be filed in accordance with section 26 of the Rules of Procedure.
  4. Parties are permitted to coordinate, organize, and file, in a single submission, interventions by other interested persons who share their position. Information on how to file this type of submission, known as a joint supporting intervention, as well as a template for the accompanying cover letter to be filed by parties, can be found in Telecom Information Bulletin 2011-693.
  5. All documents required to be served on parties to the proceeding must be served using the contact information contained in the interventions.
  6. All parties may file replies to interventions with the Commission by 25 May 2020.
  7. The Commission encourages interested persons and parties to monitor the record of this proceeding, available on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca, for additional information that they may find useful when preparing their submissions.
  8. Submissions longer than five pages should include a summary. Each paragraph of all submissions should be numbered, and the line ***End of document*** should follow the last paragraph. This will help the Commission verify that the document has not been damaged during electronic transmission.
  9. Pursuant to Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2015-242, the Commission expects incorporated entities and associations, and encourages all Canadians, to file submissions for Commission proceedings in accessible formats (for example, text-based file formats that enable text to be enlarged or modified, or read by screen readers). To provide assistance in this regard, the Commission has posted on its website guidelines for preparing documents in accessible formats.
  10. Submissions must be filed by sending them to the Secretary General of the Commission using only one of the following means:

    by completing the
    [Intervention form]

    or

    by mail to
    CRTC, Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0N2

    or

    by fax to
    819-994-0218

  11. Parties who send documents electronically must ensure that they will be able to prove, upon Commission request, that filing, or where required, service of a particular document was completed. Accordingly, parties must keep proof of the sending and receipt of each document for 180 days after the date on which the document is filed or served. The Commission advises parties who file or serve documents by electronic means to exercise caution when using email for the service of documents, as it may be difficult to establish that service has occurred.
  12. In accordance with the Rules of Procedure, a document must be received by the Commission and all relevant parties by 5 p.m. Vancouver time (8 p.m. Ottawa time) on the date it is due. Parties are responsible for ensuring the timely delivery of their submissions and will not be notified if their submissions are received after the deadline. Late submissions, including those due to postal delays, will not be considered by the Commission and will not be made part of the public record.
  13. The Commission will not formally acknowledge submissions. It will, however, fully consider all submissions, which will form part of the public record of the proceeding, provided that the procedure for filing set out above has been followed.

Important notice

  1. All information that parties provide as part of this public process, except information designated confidential, whether sent by postal mail, fax, email, or through the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca, becomes part of a publicly accessible file and will be posted on the Commission’s website. This includes all personal information, such as full names, email addresses, postal/street addresses, and telephone and fax numbers.
  2. The personal information that parties provide will be used and may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the Commission, or for a use consistent with that purpose.
  3. Documents received electronically or otherwise will be posted on the Commission’s website in their entirety exactly as received, including any personal information contained therein, in the official language and format in which they are received. Documents not received electronically will be available in PDF format.
  4. The information that parties provide to the Commission as part of this public process is entered into an unsearchable database dedicated to this specific public process. This database is accessible only from the web page of this particular public process. As a result, a general search of the Commission’s website with the help of either its search engine or a third-party search engine will not provide access to the information that was provided as part of this public process.

Availability of documents

  1. Electronic versions of the interventions and other documents referred to in this notice are available on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca by using the public record number provided at the beginning of this notice or by visiting the “Consultations and hearings – Have your say!” section, then selecting “our applications and processes that are open for comment.” Documents can then be accessed by clicking on the links in the “Subject” and “Related Documents” columns associated with this particular notice.
  2. Documents are also available at the following address, upon request, during normal business hours.


    Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
    Central Building
    1 Promenade du Portage
    Gatineau, Quebec
    J8X 4B1
    Tel.: 819-997-2429
    Fax: 819-994-0218

    Toll-free telephone: 1-877-249-2782
    Toll-free TTY: 1-877-909-2782

Secretary General

Related documents

Appendix to Broadcasting and Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2020-81

Request for information

The following questions are addressed to the communications service providers listed in paragraph 10 above. Separate responses should be provided for each communications service provider’s main brand and its subsidiaries. Responses should also be provided for each of the separate lines of business operated by the communications service provider, e.g. wireless, Internet, local telephone, or broadcasting distribution services.

Q1. Identify all formats of bills that your company is currently providing to its customers.

Q2. What is your company’s policy with respect to paper bills?  Does your company make paper bills available to all customers either automatically or upon request?  If not,

  1. in what circumstances and to what segment of customers does your company provide paper bills upon request?
  2. how does your company assess the needs of customers to determine which billing formats it will provide? Provide details, including criteria that a customer service representative would need to consider.
  3. did your company consult with persons with disabilities to understand their specific needs with respect to billing?
  4. how does your company handle billing for customers who do not have mobile Internet or home broadband Internet access?

Q3. With respect to customers with accessibility needs, does your company limit the provision of paper bills to persons who are blind or partially sighted, or does it also provide paper bills, upon request, to persons with other accessibility needs, such as persons with intellectual or cognitive disabilities, who may have challenges accessing bills in an online format? If it does not provide paper bills for persons with other accessibility needs, explain why not and how the needs of these individuals are being accommodated.

Q4. Does your company’s online customer portal meet the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 standards? Provide any accessibility and usability assessments that were undertaken to confirm that your company’s online customer portal meets these standards.

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2020-81

Version PDF

Ottawa, le 3 mars 2020

Dossier public : 1011-NOC2020-0081

Appel aux observations – Fourniture de factures papier par les fournisseurs de services de communication

Date limite de dépôt des interventions : 4 mai 2020

[Soumettre une intervention ou voir les documents connexes]

Comme de nombreux fournisseurs de services de communication passent de la facturation papier à la facturation électronique, le Conseil cherche à mieux comprendre si les Canadiens devraient recevoir des factures papier ou électroniques, et dans quelles circonstances ils devraient recevoir ces types de factures. Dans le cadre de la présente instance, le Conseil déterminera si une intervention est justifiée à l’égard des pratiques de facturation des fournisseurs de services de télécommunication et des entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion et, le cas échéant, quelles mesures devraient être prises pour répondre aux besoins des consommateurs.

Contexte

  1. Au cours des dernières années, les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) et les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) [collectivement appelés fournisseurs de services de communication] ont adopté diverses approches pour encourager les clients à passer de la facturation papier à la facturation électronique. Avant décembre 2014, ces approches comprenaient l’imposition de frais pour la délivrance de factures papier ou l’offre de rabais aux clients qui optaient pour la facturation électronique.
  2. Le 16 décembre 2014, la Loi sur les télécommunications et la Loi sur la radiodiffusion ont été modifiées afin d’interdire aux fournisseurs de services de communication d’imposer des frais pour les factures papier.
  3. Actuellement, bien que le Conseil exige que les factures soient fournies dans d’autres formats accessibles, comme le braille ou les gros caractères, pour les clients ayant certains besoins en matière d’accessibilitéNote de bas de page 1, il n’impose pas autrement le format dans lequel les factures doivent être fournies.
  4. Dans le dossier de l’instance qui a donné lieu au Rapport sur les pratiques de vente au détail trompeuses ou agressives dans le secteur des communicationsNote de bas de page 2 du Conseil, certains Canadiens se sont dits préoccupés, entre autres, par la tendance des fournisseurs de services de communication à passer de la facturation papier à la facturation électronique.
  5. Dans la décision de télécom 2020-80, également publiée aujourd’hui, le Conseil a rejetté une demande du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) et de la Fédération nationale des retraités (FNR) [collectivement CDIP-FNR] en vue d’obliger Koodo Mobile (Koodo) et d’autres fournisseurs de services sans fil (FSSF) à envoyer des factures papier sur demande et sans frais. Le Conseil a conclu qu’il n’existait aucune obligation légale ou réglementaire d’envoyer des factures papier et que, comme la justification et la preuve au dossier de cette instance se rapportaient en grande partie à Koodo uniquement, il ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public de créer une nouvelle obligation qui toucherait tous les FSSF en se fondant seulement sur ce dossier.
  6. Dans la décision de télécom 2020-80, le Conseil a reconnu que l’innovation dans les services numériques et la concurrence tarifaire sont des facteurs importants dans l’ensemble du marché. Toutefois, le Conseil a également noté ce qui suit en ce qui concerne les consommateurs :
    • la demande de CDIP-FNR a soulevé des préoccupations quant à la nécessité pour les consommateurs vulnérables d’avoir accès à des factures papier;
    • les préoccupations soulevées dans la demande de CDIP-FNR et les autres plaintes qu’a reçues le Conseil peuvent être le signe que la facturation papier en général suscite des préoccupations plus vastes;
    • il est important de faire en sorte que les Canadiens puissent recevoir des renseignements clairs sur leurs factures dans un format approprié.
  7. Le Conseil doit donc développer une compréhension des besoins des consommateurs.

Appel aux observations

  1. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil amorce par la présente une instance publique en vue d’examiner la question de l’envoi de factures papier. Puisque i) le Conseil a traité les questions relatives à la facturation de façon similaire pour les services de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion, et que ii) l’article 27.2 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et l’article 34.1 de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion énoncent des interdictions semblables d’imposer des frais pour les factures papier, la portée de la présente instance comprend à la fois les services de télécommunication et les services de radiodiffusion.
  2. Le Conseil sollicite précisément des observations sur les questions suivantes :
    • Est-il est nécessaire pour les Canadiens ou certains groupes de Canadiens de continuer de recevoir des factures papier?
    • L’intervention du Conseil est-elle appropriée et justifiée pour ce qui est des pratiques de facturation papier des FST et des EDR?
    • Si l’intervention du Conseil est appropriée et justifiée, quelles mesures, le cas échéant, le Conseil devrait imposer à l’égard des pratiques de facturation papier?
    • À qui et comment les nouvelles obligations devraient s’appliquer?
  3. Pour veiller à ce que le Conseil dispose du dossier factuel nécessaire afin de rendre une décision et d’aider les parties à formuler leurs interventions, les fournisseurs de services de communication dominants sur le marché canadien, à savoir Bell Canada, Bragg Communications Incorporated, Cogeco Communications inc., Québecor Média inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Shaw Communications Inc., TBayTel, TekSavvy Solutions Inc., TELUS Communications Inc. et Xplornet Communications Inc. doivent déposer leurs réponses à la demande de renseignements figurant à l’annexe du présent avis au plus tard le 2 avril 2020.
  4. Les réponses des chacune des entreprises susmentionnées doivent porter sur leurs pratiques à titre de FST ou d’EDR, ainsi que sur les pratiques de leurs filiales.
  5. Le Conseil encourage les autres fournisseurs de services de communication à déposer des réponses à la demande de renseignements figurant à l’annexe du présent avis au plus tard le 2 avril 2020.
  6. Pour que le Conseil puisse comprendre les besoins des consommateurs, les particuliers canadiens, notamment les personnes handicapées ainsi que les organisations représentant les intérêts des consommateurs en général et les organisations se préoccupant des questions d’accessibilité, sont encouragés à répondre aux questions suivantes dans le cadre de leurs interventions :
    1. Décrivez en détail, en fournissant une justification à l’appui, vos besoins pour ce qui est des formats de facture. Présentez tout élément de preuve dont vous disposez quant à ces besoins.
    2. Les formats de facture qu’envoient les fournisseurs de services de communication répondent-ils à vos besoins? Sinon, expliquez pourquoi et ce que vous devez faire pour payer votre facture malgré le fait que les formats de facture actuels ne répondent pas à vos besoins.
    3. Quels formats de facture répondraient le mieux à vos besoins?

Procédure

  1. Les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (Règles de procédure) s’appliquent à la présente instance. Les Règles de procédure établissent, entre autres choses, les règles concernant le contenu, le format, le dépôt et la signification des interventions, des réponses, des répliques et des demandes de renseignements; la procédure de dépôt d’information confidentielle et des demandes de divulgation et le déroulement de l’audience publique. Par conséquent, la procédure établie ci-dessous doit être lue en parallèle aux Règles de procédure et aux documents connexes, que l’on peut consulter sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca, sous la rubrique « Lois et règlements ». Les lignes directrices établies dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-959 donnent des renseignements pour aider les intéressés et les parties à comprendre les Règles de procédure afin qu’ils puissent participer aux instances du Conseil de manière plus efficace.
  2. Les réponses aux demandes de renseignements doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil, au plus tard le 2 avril 2020.
  3. Les intéressés, y compris les parties nommées au paragraphe 10, doivent déposer auprès du Conseil une intervention concernant les questions susmentionnées, au plus tard le 4 mai 2020. L’intervention doit être déposée conformément à l’article 26 des Règles de procédure.
  4. Les parties sont autorisées à coordonner, organiser et déposer, en un mémoire unique, des interventions au nom d’autres intéressés qui partagent leur opinion. Des renseignements sur la manière de déposer ce type de mémoire, qu’on appelle une intervention favorable conjointe, ainsi qu’un modèle de la lettre d’accompagnement qui doit être déposée par les parties sont présentés dans le bulletin d’information de télécom 2011-693.
  5. Tous les documents devant être signifiés aux parties à l’instance doivent l’être en utilisant les coordonnées figurant dans les interventions.
  6. Toutes les parties peuvent déposer des répliques aux interventions auprès du Conseil, au plus tard le 25 mai 2020.
  7. Le Conseil encourage les intéressés et les parties à examiner le contenu du dossier public de la présente instance sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca pour obtenir tout renseignement additionnel qu’ils pourraient juger utile à la préparation de leurs mémoires.
  8. Les mémoires de plus de cinq pages devraient inclure un résumé. Chaque paragraphe des mémoires devrait être numéroté. La mention ***Fin du document*** devrait également être ajoutée après le dernier paragraphe du mémoire. Cela permettra au Conseil de s’assurer que le document n’a pas été détérioré lors de la transmission par voie électronique.
  9. En vertu du bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2015-242, le Conseil s’attend à ce que les entités constituées et les associations déposent leurs mémoires dans le cadre des instances du Conseil dans des formats accessibles, (p. ex. des formats de fichier texte dont le texte peut être agrandi ou modifié, ou lu par un lecteur d’écran), et il encourage tous les Canadiens à faire de même. Pour leur faciliter la tâche, le Conseil a affiché sur son site Web des lignes directrices pour la préparation des documents en formats accessibles.
  10. Les mémoires doivent être déposés auprès du secrétaire général du Conseil selon une seule des façons suivantes :


    en remplissant le

    [formulaire d’intervention]

    ou

    par la poste, à l’adresse
    CRTC, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0N2

    ou

    par télécopieur, au numéro
    819-994-0218

  11. Les parties qui envoient des documents par voie électronique doivent s’assurer de pouvoir prouver au Conseil, sur demande, le dépôt ou la signification d’un document en particulier. Par conséquent, elles doivent conserver la preuve de l’envoi et de la réception d’un document pour une période de 180 jours à compter de la date du dépôt du document. Le Conseil recommande aux parties qui déposent un document et en signifient copie par voie électronique de se montrer prudentes lors de la signification de documents par courriel, car la preuve de la signification peut être difficile à faire.
  12. Conformément aux Règles de procédure, un document doit être déposé auprès du Conseil et de toutes les parties concernées au plus tard à 17 h, heure de Vancouver (20 h, heure d’Ottawa) à la date d’échéance. Les parties sont tenues de veiller à ce que leurs mémoires soient déposés en temps opportun et ne seront pas informées s’ils sont reçus après la date limite. Les mémoires déposés en retard, y compris en cas de retard causé par la poste, ne seront pas pris en compte par le Conseil et ne seront pas versés au dossier public.
  13. Le Conseil n’accusera pas officiellement réception des mémoires. Il en tiendra toutefois pleinement compte et les versera au dossier public de l’instance, pourvu que la procédure de dépôt énoncée ci-dessus ait été suivie.

Avis important

  1. Tous les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public, sauf ceux désignés confidentiels, qu’ils soient envoyés par la poste, par télécopieur, par courriel ou au moyen du site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca, seront versés à un dossier public et affichés sur le site Web du Conseil. Ces renseignements comprennent les renseignements personnels, tels que le nom, l’adresse électronique, l’adresse postale ainsi que les numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur.
  2. Les renseignements personnels fournis par les parties peuvent être divulgués et seront utilisés aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou compilés par le Conseil, ou pour un usage qui est compatible avec ces fins.
  3. Les documents reçus en version électronique ou autrement seront affichés intégralement sur le site Web du Conseil, tels qu’ils ont été reçus, y compris tous les renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent, dans la langue officielle et le format d’origine dans lesquels ils sont reçus. Les documents qui ne sont pas reçus en version électronique seront affichés en version PDF.
  4. Les renseignements fournis au Conseil par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public sont déposés dans une base de données impropre à la recherche et réservée exclusivement à ce processus public. Cette base de données ne peut être consultée qu’à partir de la page Web de ce processus public. Par conséquent, une recherche généralisée du site Web du Conseil, à l’aide de son moteur de recherche ou de tout autre moteur de recherche, ne permettra pas d’accéder directement aux renseignements fournis dans le cadre de ce processus public.

Disponibilité des documents

  1. On peut consulter sur le site Web du Conseil les versions électroniques des interventions et des autres documents dont il est question dans le présent avis. On peut y accéder à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca au moyen du numéro de dossier public indiqué au début du présent avis ou en consultant la rubrique « Consultations et audiences – Donnez votre avis! », puis en cliquant sur « les instances en période d’observations ouverte ». On peut alors accéder aux documents en cliquant sur les liens dans les colonnes « Sujet » et « Documents connexes » associées au présent avis.
  2. Les documents peuvent également être consultés à l’adresse suivante, sur demande, pendant les heures normales de bureau.


    Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
    Édifice central
    1, promenade du Portage
    Gatineau (Québec)  J8X 4B1
    Téléphone : 819-997-2429
    Télécopieur : 819-994-0218

    Téléphone sans frais : 1-877-249-2782
    ATS sans frais : 1-877-909-2782

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

Annexe à l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2020-81

Demande de renseignements

Les questions suivantes sont adressées aux fournisseurs de services de communication énumérés au paragraphe 10 ci-dessus. Des réponses distinctes doivent être fournies pour la marque principale de chaque fournisseur de services de communication et pour ses filiales. De plus, des répliques doivent être données pour chacun des secteurs d’activité exploités par le fournisseur de services de communication (p. ex., services sans fil, services Internet, services téléphoniques locaux ou services de distribution de radiodiffusion).

Q1. Indiquez tous les formats de factures que votre entreprise envoie actuellement aux clients.

Q2. Quelle est la politique de votre entreprise en ce qui concerne les factures papier? Votre entreprise offre-t-elle des factures papier à tous les clients, automatiquement ou sur demande? Si ce n’est pas le cas :

  1. Dans quelles circonstances et à quel segment de clients votre entreprise envoie-t-elle des factures papier sur demande?
  2. Comment votre entreprise évalue-t-elle les besoins des clients pour déterminer les formats de facture qu’elle fournira? Donnez des détails, y compris les critères qu’un représentant du service à la clientèle devrait prendre en considération.
  3. Votre entreprise a-t-elle consulté des personnes handicapées pour comprendre leurs besoins particuliers en matière de facturation?
  4. Comment votre entreprise gère-t-elle la facturation pour les clients qui n’ont pas d’accès Internet mobile ou d’accès Internet à large bande à domicile?

Q3. En ce qui concerne les clients ayant des besoins en matière d’accessibilité, votre entreprise limite-t-elle l’envoi de factures papier aux personnes aveugles ou malvoyantes, ou envoie-t-elle également des factures papier sur demande aux personnes ayant d’autres besoins en matière d’accessibilité, comme les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle ou cognitive, qui peuvent avoir de la difficulté à accéder aux factures en ligne? Si votre entreprise ne fournit pas de factures papier aux personnes ayant d’autres besoins en matière d’accessibilité, expliquez pourquoi, et expliquez comment elle répond aux besoins de ces personnes.

Q4. Le portail client en ligne de votre entreprise est-il conforme aux normes des Directives pour l’accessibilité aux contenus Web 2.0 du Consortium World Wide Web (W3C)? Décrivez toute évaluation de l’accessibilité et de la convivialité qui a été réalisée pour confirmer que le portail client en ligne de votre entreprise satisfait à ces normes.

Date de modification :