Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2020-50

PDF version

Reference: 2019-225

Ottawa, 6 February 2020

Radio Témiscamingue incorporée
Ville-Marie and Témiscamingue, Quebec

Public record for this application: 2018-0684-5
Public hearing in the National Capital Region
5 September 2019

CKVM-FM Ville-Marie and its transmitter CVKM-1-FM Témiscamingue – Licence renewal

The Commission renews the broadcasting licence for the French-language commercial radio station CKVM-FM Ville-Marie and its transmitter CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue from 1 April 2020 to 31 August 2022. This short-term licence renewal will allow for an earlier review of the licensee’s compliance with regulatory requirements.

Application

  1. Radio Témiscamingue incorporée (Radio Témiscamingue) filed an application to renew the broadcasting licence for the French-language commercial radio station CKVM-FM Ville-Marie, Quebec, and its transmitter CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue, which expires 31 March 2020.Footnote 1The Commission did not receive any interventions regarding this application.

Backgroundp

  1. In Broadcasting Decisions 2013-692 and 2010-430, the Commission renewed the broadcasting licence for CKVM-FM for short-term periods due to the licensee’s non-compliance with section 9(2) of the Radio Regulations, 1986 (the Regulations) relating to the filing of annual returns.
  2. In Broadcasting Decision 2007-331, the Commission renewed CKVM-FM’s broadcasting licence for a short-term period due to the licensee’s non-compliance with section 2.2 of the Regulations relating to the broadcast of French-language vocal music.

Non-compliance

  1. In Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2019-225, the Commission stated that Radio Témiscamingue was in apparent non-compliance with the following sections of the Regulations and with the following condition of licence:
    • sections 8(1) and 8(2) of the Regulations relating to the filing of program logs or a record of the matter broadcast;
    • section 9(3)(a) of the Regulations relating to the filing of an accurate self-assessment report;
    • section 9(3)(b) of the Regulations relating to the filing of a complete and accurate music list; and
    • condition of licence 2 set out in the appendix to Broadcasting Decision 2013-692 relating to the requirement to file a self-assessment report every three months.

Radio monitoring material

  1. Sections 8(1) and 8(2) of the Regulations set out requirements relating to the keeping of audio recordings and program logs of all matter broadcast. Sections 9(3)(a) and 9(3)(b) of the Regulations set out requirements relating to the information to be included in a station’s self-assessment report and the list of musical selections broadcast by the licensee, for any period specified by the Commission.
  2. According to Commission records, it appears that a program was broadcast at a different time than that indicated in the program log that Radio Témiscamingue submitted to the Commission.
  3. Further, during its assessment, the Commission identified 39 musical selections that were broadcast on CKVM-FM but that were not listed in the list of musical selections filed with the Commission. It also identified 1,636 Canadian musical selections broadcast during the broadcast week of 6 to 12 May 2018, which did not correspond to the 1,597 musical selections that the licensee indicated in its self-assessment report.
  4. The licensee indicated that, over the past ten years, the station has had four executive directors, and that the station’s current executive director has been in this position since 2017. It added that the conditions relating to the 2013 licence renewal were not properly communicated when the former executive director left.
  5. Radio Témiscamingue also explained that the station was the victim of hacking on 27 April 2018, resulting in the loss of all of the information on the music library’s songs. To ensure that this situation does not reoccur, the licensee asked the third parties producing programs for the station to provide the list of songs and the log for their programming segment.
  6. In light of the above, the Commission finds the licensee in non-compliance with sections 8(1), 8(2), 9(3)(a) and 9(3)(b) of the Regulations.

Condition of licence 2 relating to the filing of self-assessment reports

  1. Condition of licence 2 set out in the appendix to Broadcasting Decision 2013-692 specifies that the licensee must submit to the Commission, every three months, a self-assessment report on the programming aired during a given week.
  2. During the current licence term, Radio Témiscamingue did not submit the self-assessment reports on time. It only filed the reports after the Commission initiated a compliance evaluation of the station, in which it reminded the licensee of its obligation in this regard.
  3. As noted above, the licensee indicated that the information relating to the conditions of licence was not properly communicated to the current executive director. It stated, however, that the individual responsible for routing and computer support is now well aware of the requirement to produce quarterly reports. Further, the executive director and the above-noted individual entered the dates for the submission of annual returns in their monitoring tools.
  4. In light of the above, the Commission finds the licensee in non-compliance with condition of licence 2 set out in the appendix to Broadcasting Decision 2013-692.

Regulatory measures

  1. The Commission’s approach to non-compliance by radio stations is set out in Broadcasting Information Bulletin 2014-608. Under that approach, each instance of non-compliance is evaluated in its context and in light of factors such as the quantity, recurrence and seriousness of the non-compliance. The circumstances leading to the non-compliance, the arguments provided by the licensee and the actions taken to rectify the situation are also considered.
  2. The Commission notes the steps taken by Radio Témiscamingue to ensure compliance in the future and considers that the licensee has demonstrated its commitment to collaboration. Nevertheless, this is the fourth consecutive licence term in which the licensee has been found to be in non-compliance with the Regulations. Accordingly, the Commission finds it appropriate to renew the broadcasting licence for CKVM-FM for a short-term period.

Conclusion

  1. In light of all of the above, the Commission renews the broadcasting licence for the French-language commercial radio programming undertaking CKVM-FM Ville-Marie, Quebec, and its transmitter CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue from 1 April 2020 to 31 August 2022. This short-term licence renewal will allow for an earlier review of the licensee’s compliance with regulatory requirements. The conditions of licence are set out in the appendix to this decision.

Reminders

  1. The Commission is charged with the supervision and regulation of the Canadian broadcasting system. The submission of complete and accurate radio monitoring materials enables the Commission to conduct an analysis of a station’s programming to verify compliance with regulatory requirements. The retention of these materials makes it possible for the Commission to investigate a station’s programming in the case of complaints. As such, any licensee that does not file the requested material in a timely manner, or does not file such material at all, affects the ability of the Commission to adequately perform its duty to independently confirm the licensee’s adherence to regulatory and licence requirements. These filings also become important indicators of whether the licensee has the willingness, ability and knowledge necessary to bring itself into compliance and maintain such compliance.
  2. Should the licensee continue to be in non-compliance with regulatory requirements, the Commission may consider recourse to additional measures as part of the next licence renewal process, including the issuance of a mandatory order, or the revocation or non-renewal of the licence.
  3. Pursuant to section 22 of the Broadcasting Act, the broadcasting licence renewed in this decision will cease to have any force or effect if the broadcasting certificate issued by the Department of Industry lapses.

Secretary General

Related documents

This decision is to be appended to the licence.

Appendix to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2020-50

Terms, conditions of licence, expectation and encouragement for the French-language commercial programming undertaking CKVM-FM Ville-Marie, Quebec, and its transmitter CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue

Terms

The licence will take effect 1 April 2020 and expire 31 August 2022.

Conditions of licence

  1. The licensee shall adhere to the conditions set out in Conditions of licence for AM and FM radio stations, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2009-62, 11 February 2009, as well as to the conditions set out in the broadcasting licence for the undertaking.
  2. Every three months, the licensee shall submit to the Commission a self-assessment report on the programming aired during a given week. This report must demonstrate that the licensee has complied with the Radio Regulations, 1986 (the Regulations), the Commission’s policies, and the conditions of its licence. Further, the report must demonstrate that the licensee has complied with the requirements of section 2.2(5) of the Regulations relating to the percentage of French-language vocal musical selections broadcast in their entirety during each broadcast week.

Expectation

The Commission expects the licensee to reflect the cultural diversity of Canada in its programming and employment practices.

Encouragement

In accordance with Implementation of an employment equity policy, Public Notice CRTC 1992-59, 1 September 1992, the Commission encourages the licensee to consider employment equity issues in its hiring practices and in all other aspects of its management of human resources.

Date modified:

Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2020-50

Version PDF

Référence : 2019-225

Ottawa, le 6 février 2020

Radio Témiscamingue incorporée
Ville-Marie et Témiscamingue (Québec)

Dossier public de la présente demande : 2018-0684-5
Audience publique dans la région de la Capitale nationale
5 septembre 2019

CKVM-FM Ville-Marie et son émetteur CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue – Renouvellement de licence

Le Conseil renouvelle la licence de radiodiffusion de la station de radio commerciale de langue française CKVM-FM Ville-Marie et son émetteur CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue du 1er avril 2020 au 31 août 2022. Ce renouvellement de courte durée permettra au Conseil de vérifier à plus brève échéance la conformité du titulaire à l’égard des exigences réglementaires.

Demande

  1. Radio Témiscamingue incorporée (Radio Témiscamingue) a déposé une demande en vue de renouveler la licence de radiodiffusion de la station de radio commerciale de langue française CKVM-FM Ville-Marie (Québec) et son émetteur CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue, laquelle expire le 31 mars 2020Note de bas de page 1. Le Conseil n’a reçu aucune intervention à l’égard de la présente demande.

Historique

  1. Dans les décisions de radiodiffusion 2013-692 et 2010-430, le Conseil a renouvelé la licence de radiodiffusion de CKVM-FM pour des périodes écourtées en raison de la non-conformité du titulaire à l’égard de l’article 9(2) du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio (le Règlement) en ce qui concerne le dépôt de rapports annuels.
  2. Dans la décision de radiodiffusion 2007-331, le Conseil a renouvelé la licence de radiodiffusion de CKVM-FM pour une courte durée en raison de la non-conformité du titulaire à l’égard de l’article 2.2 du Règlement en ce qui concerne la diffusion de musique vocale de langue française.

Non-conformités

  1. Dans l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2019-225, le Conseil a déclaré que Radio Témiscamingue était en situation de non-conformité possible à l’égard des articles du Règlement et de la condition de licence énoncés ci-dessous :
    • les articles 8(1) et 8(2) du Règlement en ce qui concerne le dépôt d’un registre des émissions ou un enregistrement de la matière radiodiffusée;
    • l’article 9(3)a) du Règlement en ce qui concerne le dépôt d’un rapport d’autoévaluation précis;
    • l’article 9(3)b) du Règlement en ce qui concerne le dépôt d’une liste musicale complète et exacte;
    • la condition de licence 2 énoncée à l’annexe de la décision de radiodiffusion 2013-692 en ce qui concerne le dépôt de rapports d’autoévaluation tous les trois mois.

Matériel de surveillance radio

  1. Les articles 8(1) et 8(2) du Règlement énoncent les exigences relatives à la façon de tenir les registres des émissions et les enregistrements sonores de la matière diffusée. Les articles 9(3)a) et 9(3)b) du Règlement énoncent les exigences relatives aux renseignements à inclure dans le rapport d’autoévaluation d’une station et la liste des pièces musicales diffusées par le titulaire pour toute période précisée par le Conseil.
  2. Selon les dossiers du Conseil, une émission aurait été diffusée à un moment autre que celui indiqué dans le registre des émissions que Radio Témiscamingue a déposé auprès du Conseil.
  3. De plus, lors de son évaluation, le Conseil a identifié 39 pièces musicales qui ont été diffusées sur les ondes de CKVM-FM, mais qui n’étaient pas répertoriées dans la liste des pièces musicales déposée auprès du Conseil. Il a aussi relevé 1 636 pièces musicales canadiennes diffusées au cours de la semaine de radiodiffusion du 6 au 12 mai 2018, ce qui ne correspond pas au nombre de 1 597 que le titulaire a inscrit dans son rapport d’autoévaluation.
  4. Le titulaire indique qu’au cours des dix dernières années, quatre directeurs généraux se sont succédé et que le directeur général actuel de la station est en poste depuis 2017. Il ajoute que les conditions reliées au renouvellement de licence de 2013 n’ont pas été transmises adéquatement lors du départ du directeur général précédent.
  5. Radio Témiscamingue explique aussi que la station aurait été victime de piratage informatique le 27 avril 2018, ce qui a entraîné la disparition de tous les renseignements sur les chansons de la discothèque. Afin d’éviter que cette situation ne se reproduise, le titulaire a demandé aux tierces parties qui produisent des émissions pour la station de fournir la liste des chansons ainsi que le registre pour leur segment de programmation.
  6. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil conclut que le titulaire est en non-conformité à l’égard des articles 8(1), 8(2), 9(3)a) et 9(3)b) du Règlement.

Condition de licence 2 à l’égard du dépôt de rapports d’autoévaluation

  1. La condition de licence 2 énoncée à l’annexe de la décision de radiodiffusion 2013-692 précise que le titulaire doit soumettre au Conseil, tous les trois mois, un rapport d’autoévaluation portant sur la programmation diffusée au cours d’une semaine donnée.
  2. Au cours de la période de licence actuelle, Radio Témiscamingue n’a pas soumis les rapports d’autoévaluation dans les délais prévus. Elle a toutefois déposé les rapports depuis, soit après que le Conseil a entrepris une étude de rendement de la station, dans laquelle il a rappelé cette obligation au titulaire.
  3. Tel que susmentionné, le titulaire indique que les renseignements relatifs aux conditions de licence n’ont pas été transmis adéquatement au directeur général actuel. Il affirme toutefois que le responsable du routage et du soutien informatique est maintenant bien au fait de l’obligation de produire des rapports trimestriels. De plus, le directeur général et le responsable ont tous deux inscrit les dates de dépôt des rapports dans leurs outils de suivi.
  4. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil conclut que le titulaire est en non-conformité à l’égard de la condition de licence 2 énoncée à l’annexe de la décision de radiodiffusion 2013-692.

Mesures réglementaires

  1. L’approche du Conseil relative à la non-conformité des stations de radio est énoncée dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion 2014-608. En vertu de cette approche, chaque instance de non-conformité est évaluée dans son contexte et selon des facteurs tels que la quantité, la récurrence et la gravité de la non-conformité. Les circonstances ayant mené à la non-conformité, les arguments fournis par le titulaire et les mesures prises pour corriger la situation sont également pris en considération.
  2. Le Conseil prend note des mesures prises par Radio Témiscamingue afin d’assurer sa conformité à l’avenir et estime que le titulaire a démontré son engagement à collaborer. Toutefois, il s’agit de la quatrième période de licence consécutive au cours de laquelle le titulaire est en non-conformité à l’égard du Règlement. Par conséquent, le Conseil estime approprié de renouveler la licence de CKVM-FM pour une courte durée.

Conclusion

  1. Compte tenu de tout ce qui précède, le Conseil renouvelle la licence de radiodiffusion de l’entreprise de programmation de radio commerciale de langue française CKVM-FM Ville-Marie (Québec) et son émetteur CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue du 1er avril 2020 au 31 août 2022. Ce renouvellement de courte durée permettra au Conseil de vérifier à brève échéance la conformité du titulaire à l’égard des exigences réglementaires. Les conditions de licence sont énoncées à l’annexe de la présente décision.

Rappels

  1. Le Conseil a pour mandat de réglementer et de surveiller le système canadien de radiodiffusion. Le dépôt de matériel de surveillance radio complet et exact permet au Conseil d’analyser la programmation des stations pour évaluer leur conformité à l’égard des exigences réglementaires. La conservation de ce matériel permet également au Conseil d’étudier la programmation d’une station en cas de plainte. Ainsi, tout titulaire qui ne dépose pas la documentation exigée en temps voulu, ou qui ne la dépose pas du tout, nuit à la capacité du Conseil de confirmer de façon indépendante la conformité du titulaire en cause à l’égard des exigences liées à la réglementation ou à sa licence. Ces dépôts sont des indicateurs essentiels qui permettent d’établir si le titulaire a la volonté, la capacité et les connaissances nécessaires pour se comporter de façon conforme et maintenir sa conformité.
  2. Si le titulaire continue à être en non-conformité à l’égard des exigences réglementaires, le Conseil pourra prendre d’autres mesures dans le cadre du prochain renouvellement de licence, dont l’imposition d’une ordonnance, la révocation ou le non-renouvellement de la licence.
  3. En vertu de l’article 22 de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, la licence de radiodiffusion renouvelée dans la présente décision deviendra nulle et sans effet advenant l’expiration du certificat de radiodiffusion émis par le ministère de l’Industrie.

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

La présente décision doit être annexée à la licence.

Annexe à la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2020-50

Modalités, conditions de licence, attente et encouragement pour l’entreprise de programmation de radio commerciale de langue française CKVM-FM Ville-Marie (Québec) et son émetteur CKVM-1-FM Témiscamingue

Modalités

La licence sera en vigueur du 1er avril 2020 au 31 août 2022.

Conditions de licence

  1. Le titulaire doit se conformer aux conditions énoncées dans Conditions de licence propres aux stations de radio commerciale AM et FM, politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2009-62, 11 février 2009, ainsi qu’aux conditions énoncées dans la licence de radiodiffusion de l’entreprise.
  2. Le titulaire doit soumettre au Conseil, tous les trois mois, un rapport d’autoévaluation portant sur la programmation diffusée au cours d’une semaine donnée. Ce rapport devra faire la preuve que le titulaire a respecté le Règlement de 1986 sur la radio (le Règlement), les politiques du Conseil et les conditions de sa licence. De plus, le rapport devra témoigner que le titulaire s’est conformé aux exigences de l’article 2.2(5) du Règlement en ce qui a trait au pourcentage des pièces musicales vocales de langue française diffusées intégralement au cours de toute la semaine de radiodiffusion.

Attente

Le Conseil s’attend à ce que les pratiques du titulaire en matière de programmation et d’embauche reflètent la diversité culturelle du Canada.

Encouragement

Conformément à Mise en œuvre d’une politique d’équité en matière d’emploi, avis public CRTC 1992-59, 1er septembre 1992, le Conseil encourage le titulaire à tenir compte des questions d’équité en matière d’emploi lors de l’embauche du personnel et en ce qui a trait à tous les autres aspects de la gestion des ressources humaines.

Date de modification :