CRTC to introduce a new area code in Alberta in 2016

OTTAWA-GATINEAU, October 30, 2013 — Today, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) announced that it will introduce a new province-wide area code in Alberta, which is presently served by area codes 403, 587 and 780.

Starting on April 9, 2016, new telephone numbers assigned in Alberta may be given numbers from area code 825. Existing customers will keep their current area codes and phone numbers.

The Canadian Numbering Administrator previously informed the CRTC that area codes 403, 587, and 780 serving Alberta are expected to run out of telephone numbers by July 2016.


Prior to 1999, area code 403 encompassed Alberta. In January 1999, area code 403 was split in two and the northern half of the province received a new area code, 780. In September 2008, area code 587 was introduced for the entire province of Alberta and 10-digit local dialing became mandatory. By adding area codes in this manner, subscribers could keep their current telephone numbers.


The CRTC is an administrative tribunal that regulates and supervises broadcasting and telecommunications in Canada.



Telecom Decision CRTC 2013-574

CRTC addresses telephone number shortage in Ontario and Alberta

Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2012-656

- 30 -


Follow us on Twitter @crtceng

Media Relations:
Tel: 819-997-9403, Fax: 819-997-4245

General Inquiries:
   Tel: 819-997-0313, TDD: 819-994-0423, Fax: 819-994-0218
   Toll-free # 1-877-249-CRTC (2782)
   TDD - Toll-free # 1-877-909-CRTC (2782)
   Ask a question or make a complaint

These documents are available in alternative format upon request.


Date modified: