Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-321

PDF version

Ottawa, 13 September 2019

Public record: 1011-NOC2019-0321

Notice of applications received

Deadline for submission of interventions/comments/answers: 15 October 2019

[Submit an intervention/comment/answer or view related documents]

The Commission has received the following applications:

Applicant/Licensee and locality

  1. Bell Canada
    Chicoutimi, Drummondville (Centre-du-Québec region), Gatineau, Joliette (Lanaudière region), Jonquière, Montréal, Québec, Saint-Jérôme (Laurentides region), Sherbrooke and Trois-Rivières (Mauricie region), and their surrounding areas, Quebec
    Application 2017-0865-3
  2. Bell Canada
    Greater Sudbury, Hamilton/Niagara, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Oshawa, Ottawa, Peterborough, Sault Ste. Marie, Stratford, Toronto and Windsor, and their surrounding areas, Ontario
    Application 2017-0863-7
  3. Bell Canada
    Fredericton and surrounding areas, Moncton and Saint John, New Brunswick; St. John’s, Paradise and Mount Pearl, Newfoundland and Labrador; and Halifax, Dartmouth, Bedford and Sackville, Nova Scotia
    Application 2017-0864-5

Compliance

All matters regarding the licensee, whose broadcasting licences will expire 29 February 2020, including any issues relating to compliance with regulatory obligations, will be addressed as part of this licence renewal proceeding. This includes, but is not necessarily limited to, the specific apparent compliance issues set out below.

Community programming and local expression

The Commission intends to examine Bell Canada’s (Bell’s) compliance of with its regulatory obligations relating to local expression and community programming. The Commission intends to evaluate, among other things, whether Bell’s community programming is in keeping with the policy framework for local and community television set out in Policy framework for local and community television, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2016-224, 15 June 2016 (Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2016-224) and the broad objectives of the broadcasting policy for Canada set out in the Broadcasting Act.

Accessibility

The Commission intends to examine whether Bell should be subject to a standard set of accessibility-related conditions of licence and expectations. This includes the condition of licence requiring broadcasting distribution undertakings that distribute community programming to caption 100% of original licensee-produced programming by the end of their next licence term, as set out in Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2016-224. Bell confirmed that it would adhere to this closed captioning requirement.

Outcomes of this proceeding

The Commission will take appropriate steps to address any non-compliance that is identified, given the facts specific to each application.

The measures that it may apply could include, among others, a short-term licence renewal or the imposition of conditions of licence and/or additional reporting requirements.

1. Bell Canada
Chicoutimi, Drummondville (Centre-du-Québec region), Gatineau, Joliette (Lanaudière region), Jonquière, Montréal, Québec, Saint-Jérôme (Laurentides region), Sherbrooke and Trois-Rivières (Mauricie region), and their surrounding areas, Quebec
Application 2017-0865-3

Application by Bell Canada (Bell) to renew the regional broadcasting licence for its terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) serving the above-mentioned locations in Quebec, which expires 29 February 2020.

Bell requests to extend the service area of its BDU serving Montréal and surrounding areas by combining it with its Saint-Jérôme service area.

The licensee proposes to maintain certain existing conditions of licence and to delete or amend others. It also proposes the addition of new conditions to the broadcasting licence for its undertaking. In some cases, these proposals aim to reflect amendments to the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations (the Regulations) that were made during the past licence term. Bell’s proposals include:

Licensee’s address:

160 Elgin Street
Floor 19
Ottawa, Ontario
K2P 2C4
Email: bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Email to request electronic version of application: bell.regulatory@bell.ca

2. Bell Canada
Greater Sudbury, Hamilton/Niagara, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Oshawa, Ottawa, Peterborough, Sault Ste. Marie, Stratford, Toronto and Windsor, and their surrounding areas, Ontario
Application 2017-0863-7

Application by Bell Canada (Bell) to renew the regional broadcasting licence for its terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) serving the above-mentioned locations in Ontario, which expires 29 February 2020.

The licensee proposes to maintain certain existing conditions of licence and to delete or amend others. It also proposes the addition of new conditions to the broadcasting licence for its undertaking. In some cases, these proposals aim to reflect amendments to the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations (the Regulations) that were made during the past licence term. Bell’s proposals include:

Licensee’s address:

160 Elgin Street
Floor 19
Ottawa, Ontario
K2P 2C4
Email: bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Email to request electronic version of application: bell.regulatory@bell.ca

3. Bell Canada
Fredericton and surrounding areas, Moncton and Saint John, New Brunswick; St. John’s, Paradise and Mount Pearl, Newfoundland and Labrador; and Halifax, Dartmouth, Bedford and Sackville, Nova Scotia
Application 2017-0864-5

Application by Bell Canada (Bell) to renew the regional broadcasting licence for its terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) serving the above-mentioned locations in New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador and Nova Scotia, which expires 29 February 2020.

The licensee proposes to maintain certain existing conditions of licence and to delete or amend others. It also proposes the addition of new conditions to the broadcasting licence for its undertaking. In some cases, these proposals aim to reflect amendments to the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations (the Regulations) that were made during the past licence term. Bell’s proposal include:

Licensee’s address:

160 Elgin Street
Floor 19
Ottawa, Ontario
K2P 2C4
Email: bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Email to request electronic version of application: bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Procedure

Deadline for interventions, comments or answers

15 October 2019

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure) apply to the present proceeding. The Rules of Procedure set out, among other things, the rules for content, format, filing and service of interventions, answers, replies and requests for information; the procedure for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure; and the conduct of public hearings. Accordingly, the procedure set out below must be read in conjunction with the Rules of Procedure and related documents, which can be found on the Commission’s website under “Statutes and Regulations.” Guidelines on the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-959, 23 December 2010, provides information to help interested persons and parties understand the Rules of Procedure so that they can more effectively participate in Commission proceedings.

An intervention or answer from a respondent must be received by the Commission and by the applicant on or before the above-mentioned date. An answer from a respondent must also be served on any other respondent.

Interventions and answers should clearly identify the application referred to and indicate whether parties support or oppose the application, or, if they propose changes to it, include the facts and grounds for their proposal.

The Commission encourages interested persons and parties to monitor the record of the proceeding, available on the Commission’s website, for additional information that they may find useful when preparing their submissions.

Submissions longer than five pages should include a summary. Each paragraph of all submissions should be numbered, and the line ***End of document*** should follow the last paragraph. This will help the Commission verify that the document has not been damaged during electronic transmission.

Pursuant to Filing submissions for Commission proceedings in accessible formats, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2015-242, 8 June 2015, the Commission expects incorporated entities and associations, and encourages all Canadians, to file submissions for Commission proceedings in accessible formats (for example, text-based file formats that allow text to be enlarged or modified, or read by screen readers). To provide assistance in this regard, the Commission has posted on its website guidelines for preparing documents in accessible formats.

Submissions must be filed by sending them to the Secretary General of the Commission using only one of the following means:

by completing the
[Intervention/comment/answer form]

or

by mail to
CRTC, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N2

or

by fax at
819-994-0218

A true copy of each intervention or answer from a respondent must be sent to the applicant and, in the case of a respondent to an application, to any other respondent.

Parties who send documents electronically must ensure that they will be able to prove, upon Commission request, that filing, or where required, service of a particular document was completed. Accordingly, parties must keep proof of the sending and receipt of each document for 180 days after the date on which the document is filed or served. The Commission advises parties who file or serve documents by electronic means to exercise caution when using email for the service of documents, as it may be difficult to establish that service has occurred.

In accordance with the Rules of Procedure, a document must be received by the Commission and all relevant parties by 5 p.m. Vancouver time (8 p.m. Ottawa time) on the date it is due. Parties are responsible for ensuring the timely delivery of their submissions and will not be notified if their submissions are received after the deadline. Late submissions, including those due to postal delays, will not be considered by the Commission and will not be made part of the public record.

The Commission will not formally acknowledge submissions. It will, however, fully consider all submissions, which will form part of the public record of the proceeding, provided that the procedure for filing set out above has been followed.

Important notice

All information that parties provide as part of this public process, except information designated confidential, whether sent by postal mail, fax, email or through the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca, becomes part of a publicly accessible file and will be posted on the Commission’s website. This information includes personal information, such as full names, email addresses, postal/street addresses, telephone and fax numbers, etc.

The personal information that parties provide will be used and may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the Commission, or for a use consistent with that purpose.

Documents received electronically or otherwise will be put on the Commission’s website in their entirety exactly as received, including any personal information contained therein, in the official language and format in which they are received. Documents not received electronically will be available in PDF format.

The information that parties provide to the Commission as part of this public process is entered into an unsearchable database dedicated to this specific public process. This database is accessible only from the web page of this particular public process. As a result, a general search of the Commission’s website with the help of either its own search engine or a third-party search engine will not provide access to the information that was provided as part of this public process.

Availability of documents

Electronic versions of the applications are available on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca by selecting the application number within this notice. They are also available from the applicants, either on their websites or upon request by contacting the applicants at their email addresses, provided above.

Electronic versions of the interventions and answers, as well as of other documents referred to in this notice, are available on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca by visiting the “Consultations and hearings – Have your say!” section, then selecting “our applications and processes that are open for comment”. Documents can then be accessed by clicking on the links in the “Subject” and “Related Documents” columns associated with this particular notice.

Documents are also available at the following address, upon request, during normal business hours.

Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Central Building
1 Promenade du Portage
Gatineau, Quebec
J8X 4B1
Tel.: 819-997-2429
Fax: 819-994-0218

Toll-free telephone: 1-877-249-2782
Toll-free TTY: 1-877-909-2782

Secretary General

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-321

Version PDF

Référence : 2019-321-1

Ottawa, le 13 septembre 2019

Dossier public : 1011-NOC2019-0321

Avis de demandes reçues                                         

Date limite pour le dépôt des interventions/observations/réponses : 15 octobre 2019

[Soumettre une intervention/observation/réponse ou consulter les documents connexes]

Le Conseil a été saisi des demandes suivantes :

Demandeur/Titulaire et endroit

  1. Bell Canada
    Chicoutimi, Drummondville (région du Centre-du-Québec), Gatineau, Joliette (région de Lanaudière), Jonquière, Montréal, Québec, Saint-Jérôme (région des Laurentides), Sherbrooke et Trois-Rivières (région de la Mauricie), et leurs régions avoisinantes (Québec)
    Demande 2017-0865-3
  2. Bell Canada
    Grand Sudbury, Hamilton/Niagara, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Oshawa, Ottawa, Peterborough, Sault Ste. Marie, Stratford, Toronto et Windsor, et leurs régions avoisinantes (Ontario)
    Demande 2017-0863-7
  3. Bell Canada
    Fredericton et les régions avoisinantes, Moncton et Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick); St. John’s, Paradise et Mount Pearl (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador); et Halifax, Dartmouth, Bedford et Sackville (Nouvelle-Écosse)
    Demande 2017-0864-5

Conformité

Toutes les questions liées au titulaire dont les licences de radiodiffusion expireront le 29 février 2020, y compris les questions liées à la conformité aux obligations réglementaires, seront traitées dans le cadre de cette instance de renouvellement de licences. Cela comprend, sans s’y limiter, les enjeux possibles de conformité particuliers énoncés ci-dessous.

Programmation communautaire et expression locale

Le Conseil entend examiner la conformité de Bell Canada (Bell) à l’égard de ses obligations réglementaires en matière d’expression locale et de programmation communautaire. Le Conseil a l’intention d’évaluer, entre autres, si la programmation communautaire de Bell est conforme au cadre politique pour la télévision locale et communautaire, tel qu’énoncé dans Cadre politique relatif à la télévision locale et communautaire, politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2016-224, 15 juin 2016 (politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2016-224) et aux objectifs généraux de la politique canadienne de radiodiffusion énoncés dans la Loi sur la radiodiffusion.

Accessibilité

Le Conseil entend examiner si Bell devrait être assujetti à un ensemble normalisé de conditions de licence et d’attentes liées à l’accessibilité. Cela comprend la condition de licence selon laquelle les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion qui distribuent des émissions communautaires doivent sous-titrer 100 % des émissions originales produites par les titulaires de licence d’ici la fin de leur prochaine période de licence, tel qu’énoncé dans la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2016-224. Bell a confirmé qu’il se conformerait à cette exigence de sous-titrage codé.

Résultats de la présente instance

Le Conseil prendra les mesures qui s’imposent pour corriger tout cas de non-conformité relevé, compte tenu des faits propres à chaque demande.

Les mesures qu’il pourrait appliquer pourraient comprendre, entre autres, un renouvellement de licence à court terme ou l’imposition de conditions de licence ou d’exigences supplémentaires en matière de rapports.

1. Bell Canada
Chicoutimi, Drummondville (région du Centre-du-Québec), Gatineau, Joliette (région de Lanaudière), Jonquière, Montréal, Québec, Saint-Jérôme (région des Laurentides), Sherbrooke et Trois-Rivières (région de la Mauricie), et leurs régions avoisinantes (Québec)
Demande 2017-0865-3

Demande présentée par Bell Canada (Bell) en vue de renouveler la licence régionale de radiodiffusion pour ses entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) terrestres desservant les localités susmentionnées au Québec, qui expire le 29 février 2020.

Bell demande d’étendre la zone de desserte de son EDR desservant Montréal et ses régions avoisinantes en la combinant à sa zone de desserte de Saint-Jérôme.

Le titulaire propose de maintenir certaines de ses conditions de licence actuelles et de supprimer ou de modifier certaines autres. Il propose également que de nouvelles conditions soient ajoutées à sa licence. Dans certains cas, ces propositions visent à refléter les modifications apportées au Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion (le Règlement) au cours de la dernière période de licence. Les propositions de Bell incluent :

Adresse du titulaire :
160, rue Elgin
19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K2P 2C4
Courriel : bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Courriel pour demander une version électronique de la demande : bell.regulatory@bell.ca

2. Bell Canada
Grand Sudbury, Hamilton/Niagara, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Oshawa, Ottawa, Peterborough, Sault Ste. Marie, Stratford, Toronto et Windsor, et leurs régions avoisinantes (Ontario)
Demande 2017-0863-7

Demande présentée par Bell Canada (Bell) en vue de renouveler la licence régionale de radiodiffusion pour ses entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) terrestres desservant les localités susmentionnées en Ontario, qui expire le 29 février 2020.

Le titulaire propose de maintenir certaines de ses conditions de licence actuelles et de supprimer ou de modifier certaines autres. Il propose également que de nouvelles conditions soient ajoutées à sa licence. Dans certains cas, ces propositions visent à refléter les modifications apportées au Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion (le Règlement) au cours de la dernière période de licence. Les propositions de Bell incluent :

Adresse du titulaire :
160, rue Elgin
19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K2P 2C4
Courriel : bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Courriel pour demander une version électronique de la demande : bell.regulatory@bell.ca

3. Bell Canada
Fredericton et les régions avoisinantes, Moncton et Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick); St. John’s, Paradise et Mount Pearl (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador); et Halifax, Dartmouth, Bedford et Sackville (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Demande 2017-0864-5

Demande présentée par Bell Canada (Bell) en vue de renouveler la licence régionale de radiodiffusion pour ses entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) terrestres desservant les localités susmentionnées au Nouveau-Brunswick, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et en Nouvelle-Écosse, qui expire le 29 février 2020.

Le titulaire propose de maintenir certaines de ses conditions de licence actuelles et de supprimer ou de modifier certaines autres. Il propose également que de nouvelles conditions soient ajoutées à sa licence. Dans certains cas, ces propositions visent à refléter les modifications apportées au Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion (le Règlement) au cours de la dernière période de licence. Les propositions de Bell incluent :

Adresse du titulaire :
160, rue Elgin
19e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K2P 2C4
Courriel : bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Courriel pour demander une version électronique de la demande : bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Procédure

Date limite pour le dépôt d’interventions, d’observations ou de réponses
15 octobre 2019

Les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure) s’appliquent à la présente instance. Les Règles de procédure établissent, entre autres choses, les règles concernant le contenu, le format, le dépôt et la signification des interventions, des répliques et des réponses des intimés et des demandes de renseignements; la procédure de dépôt d’information confidentielle et des demandes de divulgation; et le déroulement des audiences publiques. Par conséquent, la procédure établie ci-dessous doit être lue en parallèle avec les Règles de procédure et les documents afférents, qui sont disponibles sur le site Web du Conseil sous la rubrique « Lois et règlements ». Lignes directrices à l’égard des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC, bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-959, 23 décembre 2010, offrent des renseignements afin d’aider les personnes intéressées et les parties à bien comprendre les Règles de procédure afin qu’elles puissent participer plus efficacement aux instances du Conseil.

Une intervention ou la réponse d’un intimé doit être reçue par le Conseil et par le demandeur au plus tard à la date susmentionnée. La réponse d’un intimé doit également être signifiée à tous les autres intimés.

Toute intervention ou réponse doit clairement mentionner la demande, faire état de l’appui ou de l’opposition et, si l’intervenant ou l’intimé propose des modifications, présenter des faits et des motifs à cet égard.

Le Conseil encourage les personnes et parties intéressées à examiner le contenu du dossier public de la présente instance sur le site Web du Conseil pour tout renseignement additionnel qu’ils pourraient juger utile à la préparation de leurs mémoires.

Les mémoires de plus de cinq pages devraient inclure un résumé. Chaque paragraphe des mémoires devrait être numéroté. La mention ***Fin du document*** devrait également être ajoutée après le dernier paragraphe du mémoire. Cela permettra au Conseil de s’assurer que le document n’a pas été endommagé lors de la transmission par voie électronique.

En vertu de Dépôt de mémoires en formats accessibles pour les instances du Conseil, bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2015-242, 8 juin 2015, le Conseil s’attend à ce que les entités constituées et les associations déposent leurs mémoires dans le cadre des instances du Conseil dans des formats accessibles (p. ex., des formats de fichier texte dont le texte peut être agrandi ou modifié, ou lu par un lecteur d’écran), et il encourage tous les Canadiens à faire de même. Pour leur faciliter la tâche, le Conseil a affiché sur son site Web des lignes directrices pour la préparation des documents en formats accessibles.

Les mémoires doivent être déposés auprès du Secrétaire général du Conseil selon une seule des façons suivantes :

en remplissant le
[Formulaire d’intervention/observation/réponse]
ou
par la poste à l’adresse
CRTC, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N2
ou
par télécopieur au numéro
819-994-0218

Une copie conforme de chaque intervention ou réponse d’un intimé doit être envoyée au demandeur et, dans le cas d’un intimé à l’égard d’une demande, à tous les autres intimés.

Les parties qui envoient des documents par voie électronique doivent s’assurer de pouvoir prouver au Conseil, sur demande, le dépôt ou, le cas échéant, la signification d’un document en particulier. Par conséquent, elles doivent conserver la preuve de l’envoi et de la réception d’un document pour une période de 180 jours à compter de la date du dépôt  ou de la signification du document. Le Conseil recommande aux parties qui déposent un document et en signifient copie par voie électronique de se montrer prudentes lors de la signification de documents par courriel, car la preuve de la signification peut être difficile à faire.

Conformément aux Règles de procédure, un document doit être déposé auprès du Conseil et des parties concernées au plus tard à 17 h, heure de Vancouver (20 h, heure d’Ottawa) à la date d’échéance. Les parties sont tenues de veiller à ce que leur mémoire soit déposé en temps opportun et ne seront pas informées si leur mémoire est reçu après la date limite. Les mémoires déposés en retard, y compris en cas de retard causé par la poste, ne seront pas pris en compte par le Conseil et ne seront pas versés au dossier public.

Le Conseil n’accusera pas officiellement réception des mémoires. Il en tiendra toutefois pleinement compte et les versera au dossier public de l’instance, pourvu que la procédure de dépôt énoncée ci-dessus ait été suivie.

Avis important

Tous les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public, sauf ceux désignés confidentiels, qu’ils soient envoyés par la poste, par télécopieur, par courriel ou au moyen du site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca, seront versés à un dossier public et affichés sur le site Web du Conseil. Ces renseignements comprennent les renseignements personnels, tels le nom complet, l’adresse électronique, l’adresse postale et les numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur, ainsi que tout autre renseignement personnel fourni.

Les renseignements personnels fournis par les parties peuvent être divulgués et seront utilisés aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou compilés par le Conseil, ou pour un usage qui est compatible avec ces fins.

Les documents reçus en version électronique ou autrement sont affichés intégralement sur le site Web du Conseil, tels qu’ils ont été reçus, y compris tous les renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent, dans la langue officielle et le format dans lesquels ils sont reçus. Les documents qui ne sont pas reçus en version électronique sont affichés en version PDF.

Les renseignements fournis au Conseil par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public sont déposés dans une base de données impropre à la recherche et réservée exclusivement à ce processus public. Cette base de données ne peut être consultée qu’à partir de la page Web de ce processus public. Par conséquent, une recherche généralisée du site Web du Conseil, à l’aide de son moteur de recherche ou de tout autre moteur de recherche, ne permettra pas d’accéder directement aux renseignements fournis dans le cadre de ce processus public.

Disponibilité des documents

Les demandes peuvent être consultées en version électronique, sur le site Web du Conseil, www.crtc.gc.ca, en sélectionnant le numéro de la demande énoncé dans le présent avis. Elles peuvent également être consultées auprès des demandeurs, soit sur leurs sites Web ou sur demande en communiquant avec les demandeurs aux adresses courriel indiquées ci-dessus.

On peut consulter sur le site Web du Conseil, www.crtc.gc.ca, les versions électroniques des interventions et des réponses, ainsi que les autres documents dont il est question dans le présent avis, en visitant la section « Consultations et audiences – Donnez votre avis ! » et en sélectionnant « les instances en période d’observations ouverte ». On peut accéder aux documents en cliquant sur les liens associés au présent avis dans les colonnes « Sujet » et « Documents connexes »


Les documents peuvent également être consultés à l’adresse suivante, sur demande, pendant les heures normales de bureau.

Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Édifice central
1, promenade du Portage
Gatineau (Québec)
J8X 4B1
Tél. : 819-997-2429
Télécopieur : 819-994-0218

Tél. sans frais : 1-877-249-2782
ATS sans frais : 1-877-909-2782

Secrétaire général

Date de modification :