Broadcasting Procedural Letter addressed to Jasvir Sandhu (Radio Humsafar Inc.)

Ottawa, 1 March 2019

Jasvir Sandhu, President
Radio Humsafar Inc.
7655 rue Cordner
Lasalle, QC
H8N 2X2

By Email: js@radiohumsafar.com

Re: Broadcasting application 2019-0040-8

Dear Mr. Sandhu,

This is in reference to the application by Radio Humsafar Inc. (Radio Humsafar) for a technical amendment for the unlaunched ethnic commercial radio programming undertaking CIRF Brampton, Ontario, which was published as a Part 1 application on 25 January 2019.

Technical analysis

In Decision Letter L2016-98, dated 7 December 2016, the Commission approved application 2016-1173-1 by Radio Humsafar for a technical amendment, specifically for the relocation of its transmitter, which was originally approved in Broadcasting Decision 2015-471.

However, staff notes that the Department of Industry (the Department) did not issue a certificate of technical acceptance for that technical amendment. Staff notes that pursuant to section 22(1) of the Broadcasting Act, the authority granted by the Commission only becomes effective when the Department notifies the Commission that the technical requirements have been met and that a broadcasting certificate will be issued.

Therefore, the since the Department did not notify the Commission that the technical requirements have been met, the Commission’s approval of that application is no longer valid.

As a result of the above, the coordinates provided in relation to the present operations of the station submitted in question 4.2 of your application should refer to the coordinates approved in Broadcasting Decision 2015-471.

In light of the above:

  1. Please submit revised technical parameters in relation to the present operations of the station that refer to those originally approved in Broadcasting Decision 2015-471, as requested in question 4.2.
  2. Please submit GIS-compatible, clearly legible comparative maps that include the transmitter coordinates of the transmitter, as originally approved in Broadcasting Decision 2015-471 as the present operation, as revised Appendix B to your application.
  3. Please submit this revised technical information to the Department and submit proof of this filing to the Commission, as a revised Appendix A to your application, as requested in question 10 of the application form.
  4. Please submit revised “present” estimates for the population and households that would be served using the contours that were approved in Broadcasting Decision 2015-471, as requested in question 7.2 of the application form.

Considering the above requests, the timetable for the proceeding is changed as follows:

Notice
Number/
Part 1
Subject Posted Date Deadlines
(Interventions/
Comments/
Answers)
Related Documents
Part 1 Radio Humsafar Inc.
Technical amendment - contours
Brampton, Ontario
CIRF
2019-0040-8
Open application for applicant contact information.
25 January 2019 (1 March 2019
Old deadline)

15 March 2019
(New deadline)
Interventions
Procedural Letter 11 February 2019
Procedural Letter 5 February 2019
Responses to requests for information

The deadline for the filing of replies by applicants is extended to 20 March 2019.

The information requested herein should be received by the Commission no later than 11 March 2019, failing which, your application may be returned to be completed and resubmitted with the Commission should you wish to pursue this proposal.

The Commission requires that you submit your documents electronically using the secured service My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and fill in the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page. Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account). 

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Should you need further information concerning your application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at (819) 639-3173 or by fax at 819-994-0218.

Yours sincerely,

Angie Blakeney
CRTC Radio Analyst
Broadcasting - Radio

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Jasvir Sandhu (Radio Humsafar Inc.)

Ottawa, le 1 mars 2019

Jasvir Sandhu, Président
Radio Humsafar Inc.
7655 rue Cordner
Lasalle, QC
H8N 2X2

Par courriel: js@radiohumsafar.com

Sujet: Demande de radiodiffusion 2019-0040-8

M. Sandhu,

La présente fait suite à la demande de Radio Humsafar Inc. visant à modifier la licence de l’entreprise de programmation de radio commerciale ethnique de langue anglaise, qui n’est pas encore en exploitation CIRF Brampton, Ontario, qui a été publiée en tant que demande de la partie 1 le 25 janvier 2019.

Analyse technique

Dans la lettre de décision L2016-98, datée du 7 décembre 2016, le Conseil a approuvé la demande 2016-1173-1 de Radio Humsafar sollicitant une modification technique, plus précisément le déplacement de son émetteur, qui avait été initialement approuvée dans la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-471.

Toutefois, le personnel fait remarquer que le ministère de l’Industrie (le Ministère) n’a pas délivré de certificat d’approbation technique pour cette modification technique. Le personnel note qu’en vertu du paragraphe 22(1) de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, la présente autorisation n’entrera en vigueur que lorsque le ministère de l’Industrie aura confirmé que ses exigences techniques sont satisfaites et qu’il est prêt à émettre un certificat de radiodiffusion.

Toutefois, puisque le Ministère n’a pas informé le Conseil que les exigences techniques ont été satisfaites, l’approbation du Conseil relative à cette demande n’est plus valable.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les coordonnées fournies en rapport avec l’exploitation actuelle de la station soumise à la question 4.2 de votre demande devraient correspondre aux coordonnées approuvées dans la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-471.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède :

  1. Veuillez soumettre des paramètres techniques révisés en relation avec l’exploitation actuelle de la station qui se rapportent à ceux initialement approuvés dans la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-471, comme il est demandé à la question 4.2.
  2. Veuillez soumettre des cartes comparatives clairement lisibles et compatibles avec un Système d’information géographique (SIG), qui incluent les coordonnées d’émission de l’émetteur, initialement approuvées dans la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-471 en tant qu’exploitation actuelle, comme annexe B révisée de votre demande.
  3. Veuillez soumettre ces renseignements techniques révisés au Ministère et fournir une preuve de ce dépôt au Conseil, comme annexe A révisée de votre demande, tel qu’il est demandé à la question 10 du formulaire de demande.
  4. Veuillez soumettre des estimations « actuelles » révisées pour la population et les ménages qui seraient desservis en utilisant les paramètres de rayonnement qui ont été approuvés dans la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-471, tel qu’il est demandé à la question 7.2 du formulaire de demande.

Considérant la requête ci-dessus, l’échéance de l'instance est modifiée comme suit:

Numéro
d'avis/
Partie 1
Sujet Date affichée Dates limites
(Interventions/
Observations/
Réponses)
Documents connexes
Partie 1 Radio Humsafar Inc.
Modification technique - contours
Brampton (Ontario)
CIRF
2019-0040-8
Ouvrir la demande pour information reliée au contact de la demande.
25 janvier 2019 1er mars 2019
(date limite initiale)

15 mars 2019
(nouvelle date limite)
Réponses
Interventions
Lettre procédurale 11 février 2019
Lettre procédurale 5 février 2019
Réponses aux demandes de renseignements

La date limite pour le dépôt des répliques des demandeurs est reportée au 20 mars 2019.

Les renseignements demandés doivent être reçus au Conseil au plus tard le 11 mars 2019, faute de quoi, votre demande pourrait être retournée pour être complétée et soumise de nouveau au Conseil si vous désirez poursuivre avec cette demande.

Le Conseil exige que vous soumettiez vos documents électroniquement au moyen du service sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Partenaires de connexion ou clé GC) et remplissiez la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom » située sur cette page web. Vous trouverez également sur cette page web un lien vers des renseignements sur la soumission de demandes auprès du Conseil « Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant le service Mon compte CRTC ».

Une copie de cette lettre et toute correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l'instance.

Si vous avez besoin de plus amples renseignements concernant votre demande, s'il vous plaît n'hésitez pas à me contacter par téléphone au (819) 639-3173 ou par télécopieur au (819) 994-0218.

Veuillez agréer, M. Sandhu, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Angie Blakeney
Analyste de la radio CRTC
Radiodiffusion - Radio

Date de modification :