Broadcasting Procedural Letter addressed to Jasvir Sandhu (Radio Humsafar Inc.)

Ottawa, 5 February 2019

Our reference: 2019-0040-8

Jasvir Sandhu, President
Radio Humsafar Inc.
7655 rue Cordner
Lasalle, QC
H8N 2X2

By Email: js@radiohumsafar.com

Re: Broadcasting application 2019-0040-8

Dear Mr. Sandhu,

This is in reference to the application by Radio Humsafar Inc. for a technical amendment for the unlaunched ethnic commercial radio programming undertaking CIRF Brampton, Ontario, which was published as a Part 1 application on 25 January 2019.

Serving respondents

  1. Section 22 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that an applicant must serve its application on a respondent defined as a person who is “adverse in interest.” The guidelines on the Rules of procedure Footnote1 include a chart of persons generally considered to be respondents (paragraph 61). The list is not exhaustive since parties that can be considered respondents depend on the specific facts of the application.

    Commission staff notes that you have indicated in section 8 that no respondents have been served. However, as your proposed primary contour would shift away from Brampton toward the Mississauga market, Commission staff is of the view that CJMR Mississauga, licensed to Trafalgar Broadcasting Limited, CINA Mississauga, licensed to 1760791 Ontario Inc., and CIAO Brampton, licenced to Dufferin Communications Inc. could also be “adverse in interest.”

    In light of the above facts related to the application, you are required to serve the application on CJMR, CINA and CIAO by 12 February 2019. Note that a document is not served until it is received by the intended recipient. Therefore, if you are serving a person by mail, you must send it in time for it to be delivered on or before 12 February 2019.

    Furthermore, as per section 8 of the application form, Respondents, please revise the chart below with the required information as stated in the Rules of Practice and Procedure.

    *Respondent *Mail or E-mail Address *Date Served

    Economic analysis

  2. Radio Humsafar’s AM station was licensed in Broadcasting Decision 2015-471 to serve Brampton, ON. According to the Radio Regulations, 1986, the station’s market is defined as its primary (3 mV/m) contour.

    Please address the following:

    1. The current amendment would result in a significant decrease (-75%) in the original population served within your station’s market as defined by Radio Regulations, 1986. Please comment on the loss of population.
    2. The proposed amendment would result in your station’s contours moving away from its licensed market of Brampton and shifting towards Mississauga and Etobicoke
    • Please indicate how this amendment would affect stations serving Mississauga and Etobicoke.
    • Please indicate the extent of any programming changes as a result of this contour shift. 
  3. The population estimate submitted as part of section 7.2 of form 303 for the proposed primary contour (262,124 people) is significantly lower than that produced by Commission staff (353,137 people). Please explain the inconsistency in population estimates.

    Considering the above requests, the timetable for the proceeding is changed as follows:

    Notice Number/ Part 1 Subject Posted Date Deadlines (Interventions/ Comments/ Answers) Related Documents
    Part 1 Radio Humsafar Inc.
    Technical amendment - contours
    Brampton (Ontario)
    CIRF
    2019-0040-8
    Open application for applicant contact information.
    25 January 2019

    (25 February 2019 Old deadline)

    1 March 2019 (New deadline)

Tinformationhe requested herein should be received by the Commission no later than 12 February 2019, failing which, your application may be returned to be completed and resubmitted with the Commission should you wish to pursue this proposal.

The Commission requires that you submit your documents electronically using the secured service My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and fill in the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page. Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account). 

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Should you need further information concerning your application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at (819) 639-3173 or by fax at 819-994-0218.

Yours sincerely,

Angie Blakeney
CRTC Radio Analyst
Broadcasting - Radio

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Jasvir Sandhu (Radio Humsafar Inc.)

Ottawa, le 5 février 2019

Notre référence : 2019-0040-8

Jasvir Sandhu, Président
Radio Humsafar Inc.
7655 rue Cordner
Lasalle, QC
H8N 2X2

Par courriel: js@radiohumsafar.com

Sujet: Demande de radiodiffusion 2019-0040-8

M. Sandhu,

La présente fait suite à la demande de Radio Humsafar Inc. visant à modifier la licence de l’entreprise de programmation de radio commerciale ethnique de langue anglaise, qui n’est pas encore en exploitation CIRF Brampton, Ontario, qui a été publiée en tant que demande de la partie 1 le 25 janvier 2019.

Signification des intimés

  1. L’article 22 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes prévoit qu’un demandeur doit signifier sa demande à un intimé. Ce dernier est défini comme une personne dont les « intérêts sont opposés » à ceux du demandeur. Un tableau des personnes qui sont généralement considérées comme des intimés se trouve au paragraphe 61 des lignes directrices à l’égard des Règles de procédure Note de bas de page1 . La liste n’est pas exhaustive, puisque les parties qui peuvent être considérées comme des intimés diffèrent selon les faits spécifiques de la demande.

    Le personnel du Conseil note que vous avez indiqué à la section 8 de votre demande qu’aucun intimé n’a été signifié. Cependant, puisque le périmètre principal proposé se déplacerait de Brampton vers le marché de Mississauga, le personnel du Conseil estime que CJMR Mississauga, licence détenue par Trafalgar Broadcasting Limited, CINA Mississauga, licence détenue par 1760791 Ontario Inc. et CIAO Brampton, licence détenue par Dufferin Communications Inc., pourraient avoir des « intérêts opposés ».

    Compte tenu des faits ci-dessus relatifs à la demande, vous êtes donc tenu de signifier la demande à CJMR, CINA and CIAO par le 12 février 2019. Notez qu'un document n'est pas signifié jusqu'à ce qu'il soit reçu par le destinataire. Par conséquent, si vous signifiez une personne par la poste, vous devez l'envoyer à temps pour qu'il soit livré au plus tard le 12 février 2019.

    En outre, tel qu’indiqué à la section 8 du formulaire de demande, Intimés, veuillez réviser le tableau ci-dessous avec les informations nécessaires tel qu’indiqué dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure.

    *Intimé *Adresse postale ou courriel *Date de signification

    Analyse économique

  2. La station AM Radio Humsafar a obtenu sa licence aux termes de la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-471 pour desservir Brampton (Ontario). Conformément au Règlement de 1986 sur la radio, le marché de la station est son périmètre de rayonnement principal de 3 mV/m.

    Veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants :

    1. La présente modification entraînerait une baisse considérable (-75 %) de la population originale desservie par le marché de votre station aux termes du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio. Veuillez formuler des commentaires sur la perte de population.
    2. La modification proposée signifierait que le périmètre de votre station s’éloignerait de son marché autorisé de Brampton en direction de Mississauga et d’Etobicoke.
    • Veuillez indiquer de quelle façon cette modification influerait sur les stations de Mississauga et d’Etobicoke.
    • Veuillez indiquer l’ampleur des changements à la programmation qui découleraient de cette modification du périmètre.
  3. L’estimation de la population indiquée à la section 7.2 du formulaire 303 pour le périmètre de rayonnement principal proposé (262 124 personnes) est considérablement moins élevée que le chiffre auquel est arrivé le personnel du Conseil (353 137 personnes). Veuillez expliquer cet écart dans les estimations de la population.

    Considérant la requête ci-dessus, l’échéance de l'instance est modifiée comme suit:

    Numéro d'avis/ Partie 1 Sujet Date affichée Dates limites (Interventions/ Observations/ Réponses) Documents connexes
    Partie 1 Radio Humsafar Inc.
    Modification technique - contours
    Brampton (Ontario)
    CIRF
    2019-0040-8
    Ouvrir la demande pour information reliée au contact de la demande.
    25 janvier 2019 25 février 2019 (date limite initiale)
    1er mars 2019 (nouvelle date limite)

Les renseignements demandés doivent être reçus au Conseil au plus tard le 12 février 2019, faute de quoi, votre demande pourrait être retournée pour être complétée et soumise de nouveau au Conseil si vous désirez poursuivre avec cette demande.

Le Conseil exige que vous soumettiez vos documents électroniquement au moyen du service sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Partenaires de connexion ou clé GC) et remplissiez la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom » située sur cette page web. Vous trouverez également sur cette page web un lien vers des renseignements sur la soumission de demandes auprès du Conseil « Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant le service Mon compte CRTC ».

Une copie de cette lettre et toute correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l'instance.

Si vous avez besoin de plus amples renseignements concernant votre demande, s'il vous plaît n'hésitez pas à me contacter par téléphone au (819) 639-3173 ou par télécopieur au (819) 994-0218.

Veuillez agréer, M. Sandhu, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Angie Blakeney
Analyste de la radio CRTC
Radiodiffusion - Radio

Date de modification :