TV and Radio Advertising Basics

Broadcasters sell air time to advertisers to earn revenue. TV broadcasters depend mainly on advertising revenue, with these exceptions:

Broadcasters don’t have to air commercial messages, public service announcements or advocacy ads. But during an election campaign, broadcasters must follow the policies set out for federal, provincial and municipal elections.

Limits to advertising time

These time limits don’t include: the promotion of Canadian programs, public service announcements, political ads, product placements within a TV program and virtual ads (i.e. they don’t include advertisements superimposed over a program).

Advertising on community-based television and radio

There are also limits on the amount of time that community-based television and radio services can air commercials:

For more information, consult the Policy framework for local and community television (Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2016-224) and the Campus and community radio policy (Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-499).

Content of advertisements

The CRTC doesn’t directly regulate advertising content, except advertising to children and alcohol ads.

Children's advertising

Children's advertising includes:

Broadcasters must adhere to the Broadcast Code for Advertising to Children published by the Canadian Association of Broadcasters in cooperation with Advertising Standards Canada.

In Quebec, commercial advertising aimed at persons younger than 13 is generally prohibited. See the Office de la protection du consommateur.

Ad clearance

Advertising clearance is the process of previewing commercials to make sure they meet applicable standards. Advertising Standards Canada provides the service, but clearance is only mandatory for children’s advertising.

Accessibility

In its Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2016-436, the CRTC issued standard requirements for television stations, discretionary services and on-demand services. One of these requirements states that television stations and discretionary services must ensure that advertising, sponsor messages and English- and French-language promotions are closed captioned. The CRTC also expects on-demand services to do the same.

Advertising for specific products

Types of ads

Advertising Material

The Commission clarified its definition of “advertising material” for the purpose of certifying Canadian programs in Information Bulletin CRTC 2017-434, which indicates that infomercials and other types of advertising material are excluded from the certification of Canadian programs. This bulletin also refers to the definitions of “advertising material” and “advertising message” set out in the Discretionary Services Regulations and the Television Broadcasting Regulations, 1987.

Infomercials

A TV infomercial combines entertainment or information with the sale or promotion of goods or services in a program that’s more than 12 minutes long. Broadcasters must clearly inform viewers that infomercials are paid commercial advertising.

On commercial radio stations, an advertisement that’s more than 3 minutes long must be identified as a paid commercial, by clear and prominent announcements, before and after the segments. The announcement must be repeated when the program breaks, and before returning to the program.

Local promotions on US channels

You may see a promotion for a Canadian show on a US TV station. Both US and Canadian stations set aside some advertising time (1 to 2 minutes per hour) for “local availabilities.” Distributors use this time for their own purposes, and Canadian distributors air promotions for Canadian broadcasting services.

Virtual ads during TV sports programs

Virtual advertising places advertising within a TV program, not during a normal commercial break. Virtual ads are often used for large sports events.

You may see a computer graphic of an advertiser’s name in the scene, or you could see a computer-created "virtual" billboard for TV audiences in a place where a real billboard might appear.

Sponsorships and contra advertising

A sponsorship is when a community program acknowledges that it has received direct financial assistance. Contra advertising is when a community program acknowledges that it has received free goods or services to use in connection with producing the program.

False and misleading ads

Broadcasters must meet the Canadian Association of Broadcasters’ Code of Ethics on advertising. If you think an ad is false or misleading, contact Advertising Standards Canada or the Competition Bureau at Industry Canada.

Questions and complaints

If you have a question or complaint about advertising, go to How to make a broadcasting complaint.

Related information

Date modified:

Les rudiments de la publicité à la radio et à la télévision

Les radiodiffuseurs vendent du temps d’antenne aux annonceurs afin de générer des revenus. Les télédiffuseurs comptent en majeure partie sur les revenus du marché publicitaire, à quelques exceptions près :

Les diffuseurs ne sont pas tenus de diffuser des messages publicitaires, des messages d’intérêt public ou des messages en faveur d’une cause. Toutefois, ils sont assujettis à certaines obligations au moment des élections fédérales, provinciales et municipales.

Limites relatives au temps d'antenne réservé à la publicité

Il existe des limites relatives au temps réservé à la diffusion de la publicité par les radiodiffuseurs. Ces limites sont :

Ces limites ne touchent pas la promotion d’émissions canadiennes, les messages d’intérêt public, la publicité à caractère politique, le placement de produits dans une émission télévisée et les publicités virtuelles, c’est-à-dire les messages publicitaires qui sont ajoutés en surimpression pendant la diffusion d’une émission.

Publicité dans les services de télévision et de radio communautaires

Il existe des limites relatives au temps réservé à la diffusion de la publicité par les services de télévision et de radio communautaires :

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez le Cadre politique relatif à la télévision locale et communautaire (Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2016-224)et la Politique relative à la radio de campus et à la radio communautaire (Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-499)

Contenu des messages publicitaires

Le CRTC ne régit pas directement le contenu des messages publicitaires, à l’exception des messages publicitaires destinés aux enfants et des messages publicitaires relatifs aux boissons alcoolisées.

Publicité destinée aux enfants

La publicité destinée aux enfants comprend :

Les radiodiffuseurs doivent se conformer au Code de la publicité radiotélévisée destinée aux enfants, publié par l’Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs en collaboration avec Les normes canadiennes de la publicité.

La publicité destinée aux enfants de moins de 13 ans est généralement interdite au Québec. Consultez le site de l’Office de la protection du consommateur.

Approbation des messages publicitaires

L’approbation des messages publicitaires consiste à regarder les messages avant qu’ils ne soient diffusés afin de garantir qu’ils répondent aux normes applicables. Les normes canadiennes de la publicité offrent ce service; toutefois, seuls les messages publicitaires destinés aux enfants doivent être approuvés.

Accessibilité

Le Conseil a émis dans sa politique réglementaire CRTC 2016-436 des exigences normalisées pour les stations de télévision, les services facultatifs et les services sur demande. Une de ces exigences stipule que les radiodiffuseurs doivent veiller à ce que la publicité, les messages de commanditaires ainsi que la promo de langue française et anglaise soient sous-titrés.

Publicité touchant des produits précis

Types de messages publicitaires

Matériel publicitaire 

Le Conseil a clarifié sa définition de matériel publicitaire aux fins de la certification des émissions canadiennes dans le bulletin d’information CRTC 2017-434. À cette occasion, il indique que les infopublicités et les autres types de matériel publicitaire sont exclus de la certification d’émissions canadiennes. Ce bulletin réfère également aux définitions de « matériel publicitaire » et de « message publicitaire » énoncées dans le Règlement sur les services facultatifs et le Règlement de 1987 sur la télédiffusion.

Infopublicités

Une infopublicité télévisée est une émission d’une durée de plus de 12 minutes qui comporte un mélange de divertissement et d’information combiné à la vente et à la promotion de biens ou de services. Les radiodiffuseurs doivent informer clairement les auditeurs que les infopublicités sont des messages publicitaires payés.

Sur les ondes des stations de radio commerciales, les messages publicitaires d’une durée de plus de 3 minutes doivent être précédés et suivis d’un message indiquant clairement qu’il s’agit de messages publicitaires payés. Le message doit être répété avant et après les pauses.

Publicité locale diffusée sur les canaux américains

Une station de télévision américaine peut annoncer une émission canadienne. Les stations américaines et les stations canadiennes réservent du temps d’antenne (1 à 2 minutes par heure) aux « disponibilités locales ». Les distributeurs utilisent ce temps d’antenne selon leurs propres besoins, et les distributeurs canadiens diffusent de la publicité relative aux services de radiodiffusion canadiens.

Publicités virtuelles pendant les émissions télévisées de sports

La publicité virtuelle consiste à insérer de la publicité dans une émission télévisée, non pendant une pause publicitaire. La publicité virtuelle est souvent utilisée dans le cadre d’événements sportifs importants.

Vous pouvez apercevoir une infographie présentant le nom d’un annonceur à l’écran, ou vous pouvez apercevoir un panneau d’affichage virtuel ciblant les téléspectateurs à l’endroit où se trouve un vrai panneau d’affichage.

Commandites et publicité réciproque

Une commandite consiste à annoncer qu’une émission communautaire a reçu de l’aide financière directe. La publicité réciproque consiste à annoncer qu’une émission communautaire a reçu gratuitement des biens ou des services utilisés dans le cadre de la production de l’émission.

Publicités mensongères et trompeuses

Les radiodiffuseurs doivent respecter le Code de déontologie de l’Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs relatif à la publicité. Si vous croyez qu’une publicité est mensongère ou trompeuse, communiquez avec Les normes canadiennes de la publicité ou le Bureau de la concurrence au sein d’Industrie Canada.

Questions et plaintes

Si vous avez des questions ou si vous souhaitez déposer une plainte au sujet de la publicité, consultez Comment déposer une plainte relative à la radiodiffusion.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :