Competition in the wireless services market

Retail prices for cellular services are generally going down in Canada. This is a positive sign that wireless service providers are facing increased competition.

However, a small number of providers have a dominant share of the market in certain areas. Nationally, the three dominant providers are Bell, Rogers and Telus except in Saskatchewan, which is dominated by SaskTel. In the three territories, Bell is dominant.

A CRTC review found the prices charged by those four providers and their profits are higher than in other countries. New providers trying to enter the market face barriers in launching services, and consumers face barriers in switching providers. Both of these factors limit competition.

Understanding market power

Market power is a company’s ability to raise prices above the level that would be seen in a more competitive market. Among Canadian providers, we found that Bell, Rogers and Telus have market power in all provinces except Saskatchewan. In that province, SaskTel has market power. We also found that Bell Mobility has market power in Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Encouraging competition and lower prices

The CRTC is taking action to help competitors establish themselves in the wireless market. This will help promote competition and lower prices for consumers. It will also encourage investment in infrastructure, such as 5G (fifth generation) technology.

We are requiring that Bell, Rogers, Telus and SaskTel give regional competitors wholesale access to their wireless networks. This will help these competitors grow their customer base while they build or invest in their own networks. These competitors can also resell their access to other “virtual” providers, which could further increase competition. (Mobile virtual network operators, also known as MVNOs, are companies that use the networks of other wireless providers.)

Bell, Rogers, Telus and SaskTel will also have to implement seamless roaming between their networks and those of their competitors. This is to reduce dropped calls and interrupted data use when customers move from one network to another, especially during travel. In addition, regional competitors will be able to offer roaming services on the dominant providers’ 5G networks, at rates, terms and conditions set by the CRTC, when they become available.

Related links

Date modified:

Concurrence sur le marché du sans-fil

Les prix de vente des services cellulaires baissent généralement au Canada. Il s’agit d’un signe positif que les fournisseurs de services sans-fil ont plus de concurrence.

Toutefois, un petit nombre de fournisseurs détiennent une partie dominante du marché dans certaines régions. Au Canada, les trois fournisseurs principaux sont Bell, Rogers et Telus, sauf en Saskatchewan, où le fournisseur principal est SaskTel. Dans les trois territoires, Bell domine le marché.

Un examen du CRTC a révélé que les prix facturés par ces quatre fournisseurs et leurs profits sont plus élevés que ceux des autres pays. Les nouveaux fournisseurs font face à des obstacles pour lancer des services, tandis que les consommateurs sont confrontés à des obstacles pour changer de fournisseur de services. Ces deux facteurs contribuent à une concurrence limitée.

Comprendre le pouvoir du marché

Le pouvoir du marché représente la capacité d’une entreprise à augmenter les prix au-dessus du niveau qu’on observerait dans un marché plus concurrentiel. Parmi les fournisseurs canadiens, nous avons constaté que Bell, Rogers et Telus détiennent le pouvoir du marché dans toutes les provinces sauf la Saskatchewan. Dans cette province, SaskTel a le pouvoir du marché. Nous avons aussi constaté que Bell Mobilité exerce un pouvoir de marché au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut.

Encourager la concurrence et la baisse des prix

Le CRTC prend des mesures pour aider les concurrents à s’établir dans le marché du sans-fil. Elles permettront de promouvoir la concurrence et de réduire les prix pour les consommateurs. Les mesures permettront également d’encourager les investissements dans l’infrastructure, notamment la technologie de 5G (5e génération).

Nous exigeons que Bell, Rogers, Telus et SaskTel donnent accès à leurs réseaux sans-fil aux concurrents de vente en gros. C’est ce qui permettra aux concurrents de croître leur clientèle pendant qu’il construisent ou qu’ils investissent dans leurs propres réseaux. Ces concurrents peuvent également revendre leur accès à d’autres fournisseurs « virtuels » qui permettraient d’augmenter davantage la concurrence. (Les entreprises de réseaux virtuels mobiles, aussi connus sous le nom de ERVM, sont des entreprises qui utilisent les réseaux d’autres fournisseurs de services sans-fil.)

Bell, Rogers, Telus et SaskTel devront également mettre en œuvre l’itinérance transparente entre leurs réseaux et ceux de leurs concurrents. Cela permettra de réduire les appels interrompus et l’utilisation de données interrompue lorsque les clients passent d’un réseau à un autre, en particulier lorsqu’ils voyagent. De plus, les concurrents régionaux seront en mesure d’offrir des services d’itinérance sur les réseaux 5G des fournisseurs dominants en respectant les taux et les modalités établies par le CRTC lorsqu’ils deviendront disponibles.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :