Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2021-102-3

PDF version

References: 2021-1022021-102-1, and 2021-102-2

Ottawa, 14 March 2022

Public record: 1011-NOC2021-0102

Call for comments – Review of video relay service – Requests for disclosure of certain information filed in confidence and changes to procedure

Revised deadline for submission of interventions: 16 May 2022

Revised deadline for submission of replies: 11 July 2022

[Submit an intervention or view related documents]

Introduction

  1. On 11 March 2021, the Commission published Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102, in which it initiated a public proceeding to review video relay service (VRS).
  2. The Canadian Administrator of VRS (CAV), Inc. (CAV) was made a party to the proceeding and, on the same day, was asked to respond to a number of questions set out in a request for information (RFI) letter as part of Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102.
  3. On 26 April 2021, following the receipt of several procedural requests to extend the deadlines associated with Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102, the Commission issued Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102-1, in which it extended deadlines.
  4. On 30 June 2021, following requests for disclosure of information filed as confidential by the CAV (hereafter, requests for disclosure) and requests for additional extensions to the deadlines, the Commission issued Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102-2, in which it suspended the proceeding until further notice. At that time, the Commission stated its intention to issue a single, updated notice that would, among other things, address all of the procedural requests.
  5. In this amendment to Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102, the Commission set out its determinations on the following five issues:
    • reinstating the proceeding and setting out new deadlines
    • adding virtual discussions to the proceeding
    • requests for disclosure
    • modifying question 11 of Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102 regarding the CAV’s annual budget process
    • placing a research report on the public record

Reinstating the proceeding and setting out new deadlines

  1. The Canadian Deaf-Blind Collective filed a procedural letter on 4 June 2021 requesting that the intervention deadline be extended from 5 July 2021 to 8 September 2021 so that it could complete a survey of Deaf-Blind community members and submit a report of the findings on the record of the proceeding.
  2. Subsequently, on 30 July 2021, the Deafness Advocacy Association Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador Association of the Deaf, and Ontario Association of the Deaf (collectively, the DHH [Deaf and Hard of Hearing] Coalition) filed a procedural request asking that the Commission set the same time periods that were set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102-1:
    • an interval of 49 days between the disclosure of the CAV’s documents and the deadline for interventions
    • an interval of 56 days from the end of the intervention period to the deadline for replies
  3. The DHH Coalition’s request was supported by the Canada Deaf Grassroots Movement, H3 Network Media Alliance, Ontario Video Relay Services Committee-Comité Ontarien des Services de Relais Vidéo (OVRSC-COSRV), and the Toronto Association of the Deaf.
  4. Given the suspension of the proceeding, the Commission considers that the Canadian Deaf-Blind Collective has had sufficient opportunity to complete its survey and create a report for submission on the record.
  5. Taking into consideration that the DHH Coalition’s request was supported by several accessibility advocacy groups, that it received no objections, and that no issues were raised regarding the time periods set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102-1, the Commission hereby reinstates the current proceeding and sets out the following new deadlines for the proceeding that reflect those proposed by the DHH Coalition:
    • Intervention deadline: 16 May 2022
    • Reply comments: 11 July 2022

Adding virtual discussions to the proceeding

  1. The Commission will be adding virtual discussions to the proceeding to ensure VRS users have a fulsome opportunity to communicate their experience with using the service. The discussions will be held in English and American Sign Language (ASL) as well as in French and Langue des signes québécoise (LSQ). The discussions will also be displayed in Communication Access Realtime Translation (CART). These discussions will provide the Commission with a better understanding of VRS users’ needs, whether the service is meeting those needs, and how it can be improved.

When will the virtual discussions be held?

  1. The virtual discussions will take place after the deadline for the reply phase.

Who can participate in the virtual discussions?

  1. Only parties who file an intervention indicating that they wish to participate in the virtual discussions will be able to participate. The Commission will accept interventions in writing or in sign language.
  2. If a party has already submitted an intervention and would like to participate in the virtual discussions, they must submit a new intervention expressing that they wish to participate in the discussions. Their original intervention does not need to be resubmitted but will remain part of the record.

How will participants find out the dates for the virtual discussions?

  1. After the deadline for the intervention phase, Commission staff will contact parties that expressed an interest in participating in the virtual discussions to provide them with more detailed information on how to participate.

Will there be a transcript of the virtual discussions?

  1. The virtual discussions, which will include real-time interpretation in English, French, ASL, LSQ, and CART, will be recorded, and the recordings will be considered video transcripts of the discussions. The video transcripts will be posted to the Commission’s YouTube channel, added to the public record of this proceeding, and posted on the Commission’s website. 

Will there be an opportunity to comment on the virtual discussions?

  1. The Commission intends to provide parties with an opportunity to make final replies to allow all parties to comment on the discussions. The deadline for final replies will be set after the virtual discussions have been completed.

Requests for disclosure

  1. The Commission received two requests for disclosure following receipt of the CAV’s responses to the Commission’s RFIs.
  2. On 15 June 2021, the OVRSC-COSRV filed a request for disclosure asking that all of the evidence the CAV filed in confidence be disclosed. The OVRSC-COSRV submitted that withholding the confidential information would impact the quality of interventions for a number of questions posed in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102.
  3. On 30 July 2021, the DHH Coalition also filed a request for disclosure. They stated that abridged answers prevent the DHH Coalition and other parties from providing a complete and fulsome record.
  4. The CAV responded to the OVRSC-COSRV’s request on 23 June 2021 and to the DHH Coalition’s request on 7 August 2021. In its responses, the CAV stated, among other things, that the disclosure of the confidential information would
    • cause the CAV and its suppliers and contractors specific direct harm by disclosing to actual or potential competitors specific, unique characteristics of the architecture developed for VRS in Canada;
    • jeopardize the CAV’s negotiating position if suppliers or potential suppliers in contract negotiations were able to ascertain the amount that the CAV has been paying or has set aside to acquire the services in question;
    • undermine the operation of competitive market forces between service providers to the CAV’s detriment; and
    • cause the CAV specific direct harm by providing potentially nefarious parties specific details about the CAV’s procedures in relation to internal financial control processes.

General principles

  1. Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and sections 30 to 34 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure.
  2. In evaluating a request for disclosure, the Commission first assesses whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. The Commission then assesses whether disclosure of particular information is in the public interest. Generally, this is done by considering whether the disclosure would result in specific direct harm and whether that harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure.
  3. Harm may be more likely to outweigh the public interest where the information is more disaggregated or where the degree of competition is greater. Conversely, the public interest may be more likely to outweigh any harm where the information is more important to the ability of the Commission to obtain a full and complete record on which to make its decision.
  4. Further information regarding the general procedures and the factors considered may be found in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961.

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. The Commission has reviewed the requests filed by the OVRSC-COSRV and the DHH Coalition as well as the reply comments filed by the CAV. The Commission considers that the CAV has made convincing arguments that the public interest would not be served by disclosing certain information because the potential risks outweigh the advantages put forth by the OVRSC-COSRV and the DHH Coalition. However, disclosure of some information, as specified in the Appendix to this notice, is appropriate and in the public interest. In this case, the CAV has not established the likelihood of specific and direct harm that would outweigh the public interest in the disclosure of the designated information.
  2. The CAV is to file with the Commission the information indicated in the Appendix to this notice by 28 March 2022.

Modifying question 11 of Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102 regarding the CAV’s annual budget process

  1. In Telecom Regulatory Policy 2014-659, the Commission established that the CAV must file a Part 1 application every year to request funding for its next fiscal year by 31 July (hereafter, CAV Part 1 Budget Approval Application). Accordingly, the CAV submitted its CAV Part 1 Budget Approval Application to the Commission for the 2022 operating year on 31 July 2021.
  2. Although the CAV Part 1 Budget Approval Application is separate from the review of VRS initiated by this notice, the public record of the CAV Part 1 Budget Approval Application has raised broader issues that can more appropriately be considered as part of this proceeding.
  3. In response to the CAV Part 1 Budget Approval Application for the 2022 operating year, the Commission received a procedural request from the DHH Coalition asking that the CAV’s budget application be filed in sign language. They also requested that sign language interventions and replies to interventions be allowed. The procedural request was supported by the Canada Deaf Grassroots Movement and agreed to by the CAV.
  4. While the procedural requests made in relation to the CAV Part 1 Budget Approval Application are not factors to be considered in this proceeding, the Commission recognizes that there is some intersection between that application and the matters being considered more broadly as part of this notice.
  5. Although Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102 has a section dedicated to the CAV budget with questions related to the budget cap and the appropriateness of the minimum requirements for approving the requested funds, more pointed questions regarding the process by which the CAV applies to the Commission for budget approval were not included.
  6. The Commission considers it appropriate to reformulate question 11 of Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102 in order to broaden the issue that the Commission is considering, specifically by asking dedicated questions on the process by which the CAV applies to the Commission for budget approval and how this process can be improved. Question 11 has been modified as follows:

    11(a) The CAV must file its annual budget application in French and English, by 31 July each year, to receive funding from the National Contribution Fund (NCF). Is this process still appropriate? If not, what changes or additions are required and why?

    11(b) The CAV must meet all of the requirements set out in Appendix B of Telecom Regulatory Policy 2014-187 (the VRS Policy) to receive funds from the NCF. Are these minimum requirements still appropriate? If not, what changes or additions are required and why?

Placing a research report on the public record

  1. To gain a better understanding of VRS in other countries, the Commission appointed the Canadian Centre on Disability Studies Inc., operating as Eviance, to conduct a comparative analysis of video relay services being offered internationally.
  2. Eviance’s report includes research on current VRS regulations, how VRS is funded, and the functionality, features, and services of VRS provided in other countries, including the United States.
  3. The full report is available in English and French on the Commission’s website. In addition, the Summary of Findings section of the report has been interpreted into ASL and LSQ and is also available on the Commission’s website.
  4. The Commission is adding Eviance’s report to the public record for this proceeding so that parties can refer to the report, and the Commission can take the results into account in making its determinations.

Secretary General

Related documents

Appendix to Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2021-102-3

Disclosure of information designated as confidential

Apart from the information set out below, the Commission finds that the Canadian Administrator of VRS (CAV), Inc. (CAV) has properly designated as confidential information that is likely to

The disclosure of this information is not in the public interest because it would not assist parties in responding to the questions in the notice, and it would not otherwise lead to a fuller and more complete record on which the Commission will make its decision.

However, disclosure of some information, as specified below, is appropriate and in the public interest. In this case, the CAV has not established the likelihood of specific and direct harm that would outweigh the public interest in the disclosure of the designated information.

The CAV is to disclose the information filed in confidence in its response to the following request for information set out in the Commission’s letter dated 11 March 2021 associated with Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102:

Question 3: Provide the amount each Board of Director receives in compensation and the method used to set this amount.

In response to question 3, the CAV provided an abridged reply stating, among other things, that information designated as confidential relates to the terms and conditions regarding professional compensation negotiated by the CAV with its Board of Directors.

The CAV is to file a modified version of CAV(CRTC)11Mar21-3 NOC 2021-102, providing a range of the compensation amounts paid to its board members for each of the following components: Annual Retainer, Committee Fees, and Attendance Fees.

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2021-102-3

Version PDF

Références : 2021-102, 2021-102-1 et 2021-102-2

Ottawa, le 14 mars 2022

Dossier public : 1011-NOC2021-0102

Appel aux observations – Examen du service de relais vidéo – Demandes de divulgation de certains renseignements déposés à titre confidentiel et changements à la procédure

Date limite révisée pour le dépôt des interventions : 16 mai 2022

Date limite révisée pour le dépôt des répliques aux interventions : 11 juillet 2022

[Soumettre une intervention ou voir les documents connexes]

Introduction

  1. Le 11 mars 2021, le Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102, dans lequel il a amorcé une instance publique visant à examiner le service de relais vidéo (SRV).
  2. L’Administrateur canadien du SRV (ACS), inc. (ACS) a été nommé partie à l’instance et, le même jour, a été invité à répondre à un certain nombre de questions énoncées dans une lettre de demande de renseignements dans le cadre de l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102.
  3. Le 26 avril 2021, après avoir reçu plusieurs requêtes procédurales visant à reporter les dates limites liées à l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102, le Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102-1, dans lequel il a reporté ces dates limites.
  4. Le 30 juin 2021, à la suite de demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels par l’ACS (ci-après  demandes de divulgation) et de demandes de prolongation supplémentaire des délais, le Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102-2, dans lequel il a suspendu l’instance jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Le Conseil avait alors fait part de son intention de publier un avis unique et mis à jour qui traiterait, entre autres, toutes les requêtes procédurales.
  5. Dans la présente modification de l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102, le Conseil présente ses conclusions en ce qui concerne les cinq questions suivantes :
    • Rétablissement de l’instance et établissement de nouvelles dates limites;
    • Ajout des discussions virtuelles à l’instance;
    • Demandes de divulgation;
    • Modification de la question 11 de l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102 concernant le processus budgétaire annuel de l’ACS;
    • Dépôt d’un rapport de recherche au dossier public.

Rétablissement de l’instance et établissement de nouvelles dates limites

  1. Le 4 juin 2021, le Collectif canadien des personnes sourdes et aveugles a déposé une lettre procédurale demandant que la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions du 5 juillet 2021 soit reportée au 8 septembre 2021 afin qu’il puisse réaliser un sondage auprès des membres de la communauté des personnes sourdes et aveugles et déposer un rapport sur les conclusions au dossier de l’instance.
  2. Par la suite, le 30 juillet 2021, la Deafness Advocacy Association Nova Scotia, la Newfoundland and Labrador Association of the Deaf et l’Ontario Association of the Deaf (collectivement la coalition des sourds et malentendants [SM]) ont déposé une requête procédurale demandant au Conseil d’établir les mêmes délais que ceux énoncés dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102-1, soit :
    • un intervalle de 49 jours entre la divulgation des documents de l’ACS et la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions;
    • un intervalle de 56 jours entre la fin de la période de dépôt des interventions et la date limite pour le dépôt des répliques.
  3. L’H3 Network Media Alliance, le Mouvement populaire des sourds du Canada, l’Ontario Video Relay Services Committee-Comité Ontarien des Services de Relais Vidéo (OVRSC-COSRV) et la Toronto Association of the Deaf ont appuyé la demande de la coalition des SM.
  4. Compte tenu de la suspension de l’instance, le Conseil estime que le Collectif canadien des personnes sourdes et aveugles a eu suffisamment de temps pour terminer son sondage et rédiger un rapport à déposer au dossier.
  5. Étant donné que la demande de la coalition des SM a été appuyée par plusieurs groupes de défense de l’accessibilité, qu’elle n’a reçu aucune objection et qu’aucune question n’a été soulevée concernant les dates limites établies dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102-1, le Conseil rétablit par les présentes l’instance en cours et établit les nouvelles dates limites suivantes pour l’instance qui reflètent ceux proposés par la coalition des SM :
    • Date limite pour le dépôt des interventions : 16 mai 2022
    • Date limite pour le dépôt des répliques : 11 juillet 2022

Ajout des discussions virtuelles à l’instance

  1. Le Conseil ajoutera des discussions virtuelles à l’instance afin de veiller à ce que les utilisateurs du SRV aient pleinement l’occasion de faire part de leur expérience concernant l’utilisation du service. Les discussions se tiendront en français et en langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) ainsi qu’en anglais et en American Sign Language (ASL). Les discussions seront également affichées dans le système de traduction en temps réel des communications (Communication Access Real-Time Translation [CART]). Ces discussions permettront au Conseil de mieux comprendre les besoins des utilisateurs du SRV, de savoir si le service répond à ces besoins et comment il peut être amélioré.

Quand les discussions virtuelles auront-elles lieu?

  1. Les discussions virtuelles auront lieu après la date limite pour le dépôt des répliques.

Qui peut participer aux discussions virtuelles?

  1. Seules les parties qui déposent une intervention indiquant qu’elles souhaitent participer aux discussions virtuelles seront en mesure d’y participer. Le Conseil acceptera les interventions par écrit ou en langue des signes.
  2. Si une partie a déjà présenté une intervention et souhaite participer aux discussions virtuelles, elle doit présenter une nouvelle intervention dans laquelle elle exprime son souhait de participer aux discussions. Elle ne doit pas présenter à nouveau l’intervention initiale; cette dernière demeurera dans le dossier.

Comment les participants seront-ils informés des dates des discussions virtuelles?

  1. Après la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions, le personnel du Conseil communiquera avec les parties qui ont exprimé leur intérêt à participer aux discussions virtuelles pour leur fournir des renseignements plus détaillés sur la manière de participer.

Y aura-t-il une transcription des discussions virtuelles?

  1. Les discussions virtuelles, qui comprendront une interprétation en temps réel en français, anglais, LSQ, ASL et CART, seront enregistrées et les enregistrements seront considérés comme des transcriptions vidéo des discussions. Les transcriptions vidéo seront affichées sur la chaîne YouTube du Conseil, ajoutées au dossier public de la présente instance et affichées sur le site Web du Conseil.

Y aura-t-il une possibilité de commenter les discussions virtuelles?

  1. Le Conseil a l’intention de donner aux parties la possibilité de présenter des répliques finales afin de permettre à toutes les parties de commenter les discussions. La date limite pour le dépôt des répliques finales sera établie après la fin des discussions virtuelles.

Demandes de divulgation

  1. Le Conseil a reçu deux demandes de divulgation après avoir reçu les réponses de l’ACS à la demande de renseignements du Conseil.
  2. Le 15 juin 2021, l’OVRSC-COSRV a déposé une demande de divulgation réclamant que tous les éléments de preuve que l’ACS a déposés à titre confidentiel soient divulgués. L’OVRSC-COSRV a fait valoir que la non-divulgation des renseignements confidentiels aurait une incidence sur la qualité des interventions pour un certain nombre de questions posées dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102.
  3. Le 30 juillet 2021, la coalition des SM a également déposé une demande de divulgation. Elle a déclaré que les réponses abrégées l’empêchent et empêchent les autres parties de fournir un dossier complet et exhaustif.
  4. L’ACS a répondu à la demande de l’OVRSC-COSRV le 23 juin 2021 et à celle de la coalition des SM le 7 août 2021. Dans ses réponses, l’ACS a déclaré, entre autres, que la divulgation des renseignements confidentiels :
    • causerait un préjudice direct particulier à l’ACS et à ses fournisseurs et entrepreneurs en divulguant à des concurrents actuels ou potentiels des caractéristiques précises et uniques de l’architecture développée pour le SRV au Canada;
    • mettrait en péril la position de négociation de l’ACS si des fournisseurs ou des fournisseurs potentiels lors de négociations contractuelles étaient en mesure de connaître le montant que l’ACS a payé ou mis de côté pour acquérir les services en question;
    • compromettrait le libre-jeu d’un marché concurrentiel entre les fournisseurs de services au détriment de l’ACS;
    • causerait un préjudice direct particulier à l’ACS en fournissant à des parties potentiellement malveillantes des détails particuliers sur les procédures de l’ACS en matière de processus de contrôle financier interne.

Principes généraux

  1. Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels sont traitées dans les articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (Loi) et les articles 30 à 34 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes.
  2. Lors de l’évaluation d’une demande de divulgation, le Conseil évalue en premier lieu si les renseignements appartiennent à une catégorie de renseignements qui peuvent être désignés comme étant confidentiels en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi. Le Conseil évalue ensuite si la divulgation de renseignements particuliers est dans l’intérêt du public. Pour ce faire, on examine habituellement si la divulgation entraînerait un préjudice direct particulier et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation.
  3. Le préjudice est plus susceptible de l’emporter sur l’intérêt public dans les cas où les renseignements sont plus détaillés ou le niveau de concurrence est plus élevé. À l’opposé, l’intérêt public peut être plus susceptible de l’emporter sur tout préjudice dans les cas où les renseignements sont plus importants pour permettre au Conseil d’établir un dossier complet sur lequel il s’appuiera pour tirer sa conclusion.
  4. Des renseignements supplémentaires concernant les procédures générales et les facteurs pris en compte se trouvent dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961.

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Le Conseil a examiné les demandes déposées par l’OVRSC-COSRV et la coalition des SM, ainsi que les répliques déposées par l’ACS. Le Conseil estime que l’ACS a présenté des arguments convaincants à l’effet que la divulgation de certains renseignements ne servirait pas l’intérêt public parce que les risques possibles l’emportent sur les avantages présentés par l’OVRSC-COSRV et la coalition des SM. Toutefois, la divulgation de certains renseignements, spécifiés à l’annexe du présent avis, est convenable et dans l’intérêt public. Dans le cas présent, l’ACS n’a pas établi la probabilité d’un préjudice particulier et direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation des renseignements désignés.
  2. L’ACS doit déposer auprès du Conseil les renseignements indiqués dans l’annexe du présent avis au plus tard le 28 mars 2022.

Modification de la question 11 de l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021‑102 concernant le processus budgétaire annuel de l’ACS

  1. Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom 2014-659, le Conseil a établi que l’ACS doit déposer chaque année une demande en vertu de la Partie 1 afin d’obtenir du financement pour son prochain exercice au plus tard le 31 juillet (ci-après  demande d’approbation budgétaire en vertu de la Partie 1 de l’ACS). Par conséquent, le 31 juillet 2021, le CAV a déposé au Conseil sa demande d’approbation budgétaire en vertu de la Partie 1 de l’ACS pour l’année d’exploitation 2022.
  2. Bien que la demande d’approbation budgétaire en vertu de la Partie 1 de l’ACS soit distincte de l’examen du SRV amorcé par le présent avis, le dossier public de la demande d’approbation budgétaire en vertu de la Partie 1 de l’ACS a soulevé des questions plus générales qui peuvent être examinées de manière plus appropriée dans le cadre de la présente instance.
  3. En réponse à la demande d’approbation budgétaire en vertu de la Partie 1 de l’ACS pour l’année d’exploitation 2022, le Conseil a reçu une requête procédurale de la coalition des SM réclamant que la demande budgétaire de l’ACS soit déposée en langue des signes. La coalition des SM a également demandé à ce que les interventions et les répliques aux interventions puissent être déposées en langue des signes. La requête procédurale a été appuyée par le Mouvement populaire des sourds du Canada et acceptée par l’ACS.
  4. Bien que les requêtes procédurales faites relativement à la demande d’approbation budgétaire en vertu de la Partie 1 de l’ACS ne soient pas des facteurs à prendre en considération dans la présente instance, le Conseil reconnaît qu’il existe une certaine relation entre cette demande et les questions examinées de façon plus générale dans le cadre du présent avis.
  5. Alors que l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102 comporte une section consacrée au budget de l’ACS comportant des questions relatives au plafond budgétaire et à la pertinence des exigences minimales concernant l’approbation des fonds demandés, des questions plus pointues concernant le processus par lequel l’ACS demande l’approbation budgétaire du Conseil n’y figurent pas.
  6. Le Conseil estime qu’il convient de reformuler la question 11 de l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102 afin d’élargir la question que le Conseil examine, plus précisément en posant des questions précises sur le processus par lequel l’ACS demande au Conseil d’approuver le budget et sur la façon dont ce processus peut être amélioré. La question 11 a été modifiée comme suit :

    11a) L’ACS doit déposer sa demande de budget annuel en français et en anglais, au plus tard le 31 juillet de chaque année pour recevoir du financement provenant du Fonds de contribution national (FCN). Ce processus est-il toujours adéquat? Si ce n’est pas le cas, veuillez indiquer les changements ou les ajouts nécessaires et les justifier.

    11b) L’ACS doit satisfaire à toutes les exigences énoncées à l’annexe B de la politique réglementaire de télécom 2014-187 (politique en matière de SRV) pour obtenir des fonds du FCN. Ces exigences minimales conviennent-elles toujours? Si ce n’est pas le cas, veuillez indiquer les changements ou les ajouts nécessaires et les justifier.

Dépôt d’un rapport de recherche au dossier public

  1. Pour mieux comprendre le SRV dans d’autres pays, le Conseil a chargé le Canadian Centre on Disability Studies Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eviance, de réaliser une analyse comparative des services de relais vidéo offerts à l’échelle mondiale.
  2. Le rapport d’Eviance comprend des recherches sur les réglementations actuelles en matière de SRV, sur le mode de financement du SRV et sur les fonctions, caractéristiques et services du SRV fourni dans d’autres pays, notamment aux États‑Unis.
  3. Le rapport complet est disponible en anglais et en français sur le site Web du Conseil. De plus, la section « Résumé des conclusions » du rapport a été interprétée en ASL et LSQ et est également disponible sur le site Web du Conseil.
  4. Le Conseil ajoute le rapport d’Eviance au dossier public de la présente instance afin que les parties puissent s’y référer et que le Conseil puisse tenir compte des résultats dans sa prise de décision.

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

Annexe à l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2021-102-3

Divulgation de renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels

Outre les renseignements énoncés ci-dessous, le Conseil conclut que l’Administrateur canadien du SRV (ACS), inc. (ACS) a correctement désigné comme étant confidentiels des renseignements qui sont susceptibles de :

La divulgation de ces renseignements n’est pas dans l’intérêt du public car elle n’aiderait pas les parties à répondre aux questions posées dans l’avis et ne permettrait pas d’obtenir un dossier plus complet sur lequel le Conseil pourrait s’appuyer pour tirer sa conclusion.

Toutefois, la divulgation de certains renseignements, comme indiqué ci-dessous, est justifiée et dans l’intérêt public. Dans le cas présent, l’ACS n’a pas établi la probabilité d’un préjudice particulier et direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation des renseignements désignés.

L’ACS doit divulguer les renseignements déposés à titre confidentiel dans sa réponse à la demande de renseignements suivante, formulée dans la lettre du Conseil datée du 11 mars 2021 et liée à l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102 :

Question 3 : Indiquer le montant que chaque conseil d’administration reçoit en compensation et la méthode utilisée pour fixer ce montant.

En réponse à la question 3, l’ACS a fourni une réponse abrégée indiquant, entre autres, que les renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels concernent les modalités relatives à la rémunération professionnelle négociée par l’ACS avec son conseil d’administration.

L’ACS doit déposer une version modifiée du document ACS(CRTC)11mars21-3 NOC 2021-102, fournissant une fourchette des montants de la rémunération versée aux membres de son conseil d’administration pour chacun des éléments suivants : honoraires annuels, honoraires des membres des comités et honoraires de comparution.

Date de modification :