Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2021-102-1

PDF version

References: 2021-102, 2021-102-2 and 2021-102-3

Ottawa, 26 April 2021

Public record: 1011-NOC2021-0102

Call for comments – Review of video relay service – Changes to procedure

Revised deadline for submission of responses from the Canadian Administrator of VRS to the request for information: 17 May 2021

Revised deadline for submission of interventions: 5 July 2021

Revised deadline for submission of replies: 30 August 2021

[Submit an intervention or view related documents]

Background

  1. In Telecom Notice of Consultation 2021-102 (the Notice), the Commission initiated a public proceeding to review video relay service (VRS).
  2. The Canadian Administrator of VRS (CAV) was made party to the proceeding. The CAV was asked to respond to a number of questions set out in a request for information (RFI) letter sent separately from the Notice.

Extension request

  1. On 22 March 2021, the CAV submitted a procedural request asking the Commission to extend the deadline to respond to the RFI from 26 April 2021 to 17 May 2021 (adding an extra 21 calendar days), and to extend the intervention deadline from 9 June 2021 to 21 June 2021 (adding an extra 12 calendar days).
  2. In its request, the CAV submitted that it had carefully assessed the RFI and noted that some of the information requested relates to historical data and will require it to work with third-party suppliers, adding to the effort and time needed to respond.
  3. The CAV noted that it expects to file its responses to the RFI in American Sign Language (ASL) and Langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) video formats, as well as in writing in English and French. The production of these video submissions will also require participation from the CAV management and staff resources, and will take place concurrently with the production of the written responses.
  4. The CAV submitted that to have adequate time to prepare and ensure the quality of its interventions and submissions, it will require this additional time.

Letters of support

  1. On 24 March 2021, Deafness Advocacy Association Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador Association of the Deaf, and Ontario Association of the Deaf (collectively, DHH Coalition) submitted a letter to the Commission in support of the CAV’s request to extend the deadlines associated with the proceeding.
  2. In its letter, DHH Coalition submitted that a 21-day period between the CAV’s response and public comments must be maintained when modifying deadlines. As such, DHH Coalition indicated that it expects the deadline for interventions to be extended to 30 June 2021, as opposed to 21 June 2021 as requested by the CAV.
  3. DHH Coalition submitted that making parallel shifts between deadlines will allow the public to adequately and sufficiently study the CAV’s responses both before and when writing its public comments.
  4. On 30 March 2021, Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC), Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee-Comité pour les Services Sans fil des Sourds du Canada, and Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind [collectively, CAD-ASC et al.] also submitted a letter to the Commission in support of the CAV’s request, and added that the intervention deadline should be extended to 5 July 2021 to give parties sufficient time to respond to the CAV’s submission and to submit interventions.
  5. The Commission also received letters dated 29 March 2021 supporting the submission from CAD-ASC et al. from three of its affiliates: the Alberta Association of the Deaf, the Okanagan Valley Association of the Deaf, and the Regina Association of the Deaf. The CAV replied in a letter dated 8 April 2021 that it supported the revised deadline CAD-ASC et al. proposed for interventions, and submitted that the reply period be similarly extended.

Commission analysis and determination

  1. The Commission considers that the request from the CAV to extend the deadline to reply to the RFI by 21 calendar days is reasonable under the circumstances.
  2. With respect to the deadlines for interventions and replies, the Commission considers that the original number of days between the receipt of the RFI responses and the filing of interventions should be maintained by extending the deadlines for filing the interventions and replies by the same amount of time. This will give interveners sufficient time to review the RFI responses and to intervene in the proceeding.
  3. Accordingly, the Commission revises the deadlines for the filing of RFI responses, interventions, and replies as follows:
    • The CAV’s response to the RFI must be filed with the Commission by 17 May 2021
    • Interested persons who wish to become parties to the proceeding must file interventions with the Commission by 5 July 2021
    • All parties may file replies to the interventions with the Commission by 30 August 2021

Secretary General

Related document

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2021-102-1

Version PDF

Références : 2021-102 et 2021-102-2

Ottawa, le 26 avril 2021

Dossier public : 1011-NOC2021-0102

Appel aux observations – Examen du service de relais vidéo – Changement à la procédure

Date limite révisée pour le dépôt des réponses de l’Administrateur canadien du SRV à la demande de renseignements : 17 mai 2021

Date limite révisée pour le dépôt des interventions : 5 juillet 2021

Date limite révisée pour le dépôt des répliques aux interventions : 30 août 2021

[Soumettre une intervention ou voir les documents connexes]

Contexte

  1. Dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2021-102 (avis), le Conseil a amorcé une instance publique pour examiner le service de relais vidéo (SRV).
  2. L’Administrateur canadien du SRV (ACS) a été désigné partie à l’instance. L’ACS a été invité à répondre à un certain nombre de questions énoncées dans une lettre de demande de renseignements envoyée séparément de l’avis.

Demande de prolongation

  1. Le 22 mars 2021, l’ACS a déposé une requête procédurale en vue de demander au Conseil de reporter la date limite de dépôt des réponses à la demande de renseignements du 26 avril 2021 au 17 mai 2021 (un ajout de 21 jours civils), et de reporter la date limite de dépôt des interventions du 9 juin 2021 au 21 juin 2021 (un ajout de 12 jours civils).
  2. Dans sa demande, l’ACS a fait valoir qu’il avait soigneusement évalué la demande de renseignements et a constaté que certains des renseignements demandés concernaient des données historiques et qu’il lui faudra travailler avec des fournisseurs tiers, ce qui augmentera les efforts et le temps nécessaires pour y répondre.
  3. L’ACS a fait remarquer qu’il prévoit déposer ses réponses à la demande de renseignements sous forme de vidéo en American Sign Language (ASL) et en langue des signes québécoise (LSQ), ainsi que par écrit en anglais et en français. La production de ces vidéos nécessitera également la participation de la direction et du personnel de l’ACS, et se fera en même temps que la production des réponses écrites.
  4. L’ACS fait valoir que pour disposer d’un temps suffisant pour se préparer et assurer la qualité de ses interventions et observations, il aura besoin de ce temps supplémentaire.

Lettres de soutien

  1. Le 24 mars 2021, Deafness Advocacy Association Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador Association of the Deaf, et Ontario Association of the Deaf (collectivement la Coalition DHH) ont déposé une lettre au Conseil pour appuyer la demande de l’ACS visant à prolonger les délais associés à l’instance.
  2. Dans sa lettre, la Coalition DHH a fait valoir qu’une période de 21 jours entre la réponse de l’ACS et les commentaires du public doit être maintenue lors de la modification des dates limites. À ce titre, la Coalition DHH a indiqué qu’elle s’attend à ce que la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions soit reportée jusqu’au 30 juin 2021, et non au 21 juin 2021 comme le demande l’ACS.
  3. La Coalition DHH a fait valoir que le fait de procéder à des changements parallèles entre les dates limites permettra au public d’étudier de manière adéquate et suffisante les réponses de l’ACS avant et pendant la rédaction de ses commentaires publics.
  4. Le 30 mars 2021, la Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC), Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee-Comité pour les services sans fil des Sourds du Canada et la Société nationale canadienne des Sourds-Aveugles [collectivement CAD-ACS et autres] ont également déposé une lettre au Conseil pour appuyer la demande de l’ACS, et ont ajouté que la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions devrait être reportée jusqu’au 5 juillet 2021, afin de donner aux parties suffisamment de temps pour répondre aux observations de l’ACS et pour soumettre des interventions.
  5. Le Conseil a également reçu des lettres datées du 29 mars 2021 appuyant les observations de la CAD-ACS et autres de la part de trois de ses affiliées : l'Alberta Association of the Deaf, l'Okanagan Valley Association of the Deaf et la Regina Association of the Deaf. L’ACS a répondu dans une lettre datée du 8 avril 2021 qu’il appuyait la date limite révisée proposée par la CAD-ACS et autres pour les interventions, et a demandé que la date limite pour le dépôt des répliques soit également reportée.     

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Le Conseil estime que la demande de l’ACS de prolonger de 21 jours civils la date limite de dépôt des réponses à la demande de renseignements est raisonnable dans les circonstances.
  2. En ce qui concerne les dates limites pour le dépôt des interventions et des répliques, le Conseil estime que le nombre initial de jours entre la réception des réponses aux demandes de renseignements et le dépôt des interventions devrait être maintenu en prolongeant les dates pour le dépôt des interventions et des répliques du même nombre de jours. Les intervenants disposeront ainsi de suffisamment de temps pour examiner les réponses aux demandes de renseignements et pour intervenir dans l’instance.
  3. Par conséquent, le Conseil révise comme suit les dates limites de dépôt des réponses à la demande de renseignements, des interventions et des répliques :
    • La réponse de l’ACS à la demande de renseignements doit être déposée auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 17 mai 2021.
    • Les intéressés qui souhaitent devenir des parties à l’instance doivent déposer auprès du Conseil les interventions au plus tard le 5 juillet 2021
    • Toutes les parties peuvent déposer des répliques aux interventions auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 30 août 2021.

Secrétaire général

Document connexe

Date de modification :