Telecom Commission letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 11 December 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0057

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE:  Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57, Review of mobile wireless services – process letter for requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential in parties’ 22 November 2019 further comments

Dear Madams, Sirs:

Pursuant to the process set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2019-57, Review of mobile wireless services,Footnote1 parties were able to file further comments by 22 November 2019.
In a letter dated 27 November 2019, Commission staff set out the process and associated dates for parties to make requests for public disclosure, under section 39(4)(a) of the Telecommunications Act (the Act), of information that was designated as confidential in parties’ further comments.

Bell Mobility, Rogers and TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) each filed disclosure requests focusing on the Competition Bureau’s further comments. CNOC filed comments requesting disclosure from the Competition Bureau and also from Bell Mobility.Footnote2 TELUS has also requested that several procedural changes be made to accommodate its disclosure request.

Public disclosure of confidential information contained in the Competition Bureau’s further comments

The Competition Bureau filed two versions of its further comments (and accompanying report containing its economic study) with the Commission – an abridged version which is on the public record, and a confidential version. The confidential version of the report contains data and information, some of it aggregated and some disaggregated, that were disclosed to the Competition Bureau by wireless carriers pursuant to a Commission decision.Footnote3

Both TELUS and CNOC have made wide-ranging disclosure requests of this confidential information (TELUS’ request was subject to certain caveats which are discussed further on).

Much of the information underlying the Competition Bureau’s confidential filings originates from information that was designated as confidential by other parties.Footnote4 Accordingly, it would be appropriate to recognize the parties that have disclosed information designated as confidential to the Competition Bureau as appropriate respondents to the disclosure requests made with respect to the Competition Bureau’s further comments. Further, the Competition Bureau may file its own response to the disclosure requests.

The Competition Bureau and wireless carriers who disclosed confidential information to the Competition Bureau (who are identified in the Appendix) may therefore respond to the disclosure requests made by Bell Mobility, Rogers and CNOC relating to the Competition Bureau’s further comments by 18 December 2019.

TELUS’ requests

TELUS requested disclosure of the Competition Bureau’s complete report and parties’ RFI responses upon which the report relies. It also requested that the Competition Bureau file and disclose certain additional supporting information relevant to its report including, among other things, databases, computer code, regression logs, spreadsheets and excel workbooks.

TELUS did not request disclosure of these materials on the public record of the proceeding. Rather, it requested that the Commission require disclosure to be made to the outside counsel and “Independent Experts” retained by specific parties to the proceeding, on specific terms and conditions. TELUS appended a draft of the order it sought to its request.

In addition, TELUS requested certain other forms of relief, including an extension of time for specific parties to respond to the Competition Bureau’s report and a consequential postponement of the oral hearing. TCI also proposed alternative relief in the event that its principal request was not granted.

Parties to the proceeding are invited to provide their comments on TELUS’ requests and on the draft order sought by 18 December 2019. TELUS may file a reply to any comments received on these issues by 23 December 2019.

In formulating their comments, parties should be aware that, in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2019-57-1Footnote5 which was recently issued, the Commission instituted an additional comment period in the proceeding, the purpose of which is for parties to reply to the Competition Bureau’s report. These comments are due 13 January 2020. At the same time, the Commission rescheduled the oral hearing, delaying it by approximately five weeks. It is now scheduled to commence on 18 February 2020. The Commission considered that this would strike the appropriate balance between providing parties with fulsome opportunities to present their own evidence and respond to the evidence of other parties on the one hand and not unduly prolonging the proceeding on the other hand. On 4 December 2019, the Commission issued the Agenda and established the Organization and Conduct of the hearing.

While the requests for disclosure and for other procedural relief referred to above will be considered, along with any comments and replies filed, in the normal course, Commission staff considers that it will be possible for parties to participate meaningfully in the 13 January 2020 reply phase based on the materials already filed on the public record by the Competition Bureau in its further comments. For instance, parties may comment on the methodologies employed or the appropriateness of the policy recommendations proposed by the Competition Bureau.

In the event that further procedure is determined to be appropriate as a result of a decision to require the disclosure of information in response to the relevant requests, staff considers that there is ample opportunity for such steps to be implemented in addition to the procedures already instituted by the Commission.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Philippe Kent
Director, Policy
Telecommunications Sector

Distribution List

All parties to 2019-57


Appendix

Parties who provided confidential information to the Competition Bureau:

Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell), bell.regulatory@bell.ca 
Bragg Communications Incorporated (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca 
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd., geoff@brooketel.ca 
Execulink Telecom Inc., ian.stevens@execulink.com, martha.facey@execulink.com 
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited, a.lawrence@hay.net 
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited, grubb@hurontel.on.ca 
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, knaylor@mornington.ca 
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc. regulatory@quadro.net 
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com 
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), document.control@sasktel.com 
Shaw Telecom Inc (Shaw), regulatory@sjrb.ca 
Sogetel Mobilité Inc., richard.biron@sogetel.com 
SSi Micro Ltd., regulatory@ssimicro.com  
TBayTel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com 
TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS), regulatory.affairs@telus.com  
Videotron Ltd. (Videotron), regaffairs@quebecor.com 
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca 
Xplornet Communications Inc., xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com
Wightman Telecom Ltd., regulatory@wightman.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 11 décembre 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0057

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – Lettre sur le processus de demandes de divulgation des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels dans les observations supplémentaires du 22 novembre 2019 des parties

Mesdames,Messieurs,

Conformément au processus établi dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobilesNote de bas de page1, les parties ont été en mesure de déposer des observations supplémentaires au plus tard le 22 novembre 2019.
Dans une lettre datée du 27 novembre 2019, le personnel du Conseil a fixé les dates connexes pour les parties pour demander la divulgation publique, conformément à l’article 39(4)a) de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi), des renseignements qui étaient désignés comme confidentiels dans les observations supplémentaires des parties.

Bell Mobilité, Rogers et la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) ont chacune déposé des demandes de divulgation fondées sur les observations supplémentaires du Bureau de la concurrence. Le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC) a déposé des observations demandant la divulgation des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels au Bureau de la concurrence ainsi qu’à Bell MobilitéNote de bas de page2. TELUS a également demandé que plusieurs changements à la procédure soient apportés pour tenir compte de sa demande de divulgation.

Divulgation publique des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels figurant dans les observations supplémentaires du Bureau de la concurrence

Le Bureau de la concurrence a déposé auprès du Conseil deux versions de ses observations supplémentaires (et du rapport connexe renfermant son étude économique) : une version abrégée versée au dossier public et une version confidentielle. La version confidentielle du rapport renferme des données et des renseignements, certains regroupés ou d’autres non regroupés, qui ont été divulgués au Bureau de la concurrence par les entreprises de services sans fil conformément à une décision du ConseilNote de bas de page3.
TELUS et le CORC ont tous deux présenté des demandes de grande portée en matière de divulgation de ces renseignements confidentiels (la demande de TELUS était assujettie à certaines restrictions qui seront examinées plus loin).

Une partie importante de l’information qui sous-tend les documents confidentiels du Bureau de la concurrence provient des mêmes renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels par les autres partiesNote de bas de page4. Par conséquent, il serait pertinent de reconnaître les parties qui ont divulgué des renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels au Bureau de la concurrence comme des intimés pertinents pour les demandes de divulgation faites concernant les observations supplémentaires du Bureau de la concurrence. En outre, le Bureau de la concurrence peut déposer sa propre réplique aux demandes de divulgations.

Le Bureau de la concurrence et les entreprises de services sans fil qui divulguent des renseignements confidentiels au Bureau de la concurrence (désignés dans l’annexe) peuvent, par conséquent, répondre aux demandes de divulgation présentées par Bell Mobilité, Rogers et le CORC en ce qui concerne les observations supplémentaires du Bureau de la concurrence d’ici le 18 décembre 2019.

Demandes de TELUS

TELUS a demandé la divulgation du rapport complet du Bureau de la concurrence et des réponses à la demande de renseignements des parties sur lesquelles le rapport est fondé. Elle a aussi demandé que le Bureau de la concurrence dépose et divulgue certains autres renseignements à l’appui liés à son rapport, y compris, entre autres, des bases de données, un code informatique, des registres de régression, des feuilles de calcul et carnets de travail Excel.

TELUS n’a pas demandé la divulgation de ces documents dans le dossier public de l’instance. Elle a plutôt demandé que le Conseil exige que la divulgation soit faite par un avocat externe et des « experts indépendants » retenus par certaines des parties à l’instance, selon certaines modalités. TELUS a joint une ébauche de l’ordonnance sollicitée dans sa demande.

En outre, TELUS a demandé d’autres formes de redressement, y compris pour certaines parties, une prorogation du délai de réponse au rapport du Bureau de la concurrence et un report en conséquence de l’audience. TCI a aussi proposé un autre redressement au cas où cette demande principale ne serait pas accueillie.

Les parties à l’instance sont invitées à fournir leurs observations sur les demandes de TELUS et l’ébauche d’ordonnance sollicitée avant le 18 décembre 2019. TELUS peut répondre aux observations reçues sur ces questions au plus tard le 23 décembre 2019.

Au moment de formuler leurs observations, les parties doivent noter que, dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2019-57-1Note de bas de page5 qui a été publié récemment, le Conseil a instauré une période d’observations additionnelle dans le cadre de l’instance, dont le but est de permettre aux parties de déposer une réplique au rapport du Bureau de la concurrence. Ces observations doivent être déposées au plus tard le 13 janvier 2020. Parallèlement, le Conseil a reporté l’audience, retardant sa tenue d’environ cinq semaines. On prévoit que l’audience se tiendra le 18 février 2020. Le Conseil a estimé qu’une telle décision permettrait d’établir un équilibre judicieux entre le fait de donner aux parties la possibilité de présenter leurs propres éléments de preuve et de répondre à ceux des autres parties d’une part et celui de ne pas prolonger indûment l’instance d’autre part. Le 4 décembre 2019, le Conseil a publié l’ordre du jour  et a déterminé l’organisation et le déroulement de l’audience.

Bien que les demandes de divulgation et celles d’autres exemptions procédurales susmentionnées soient prises en considération, ainsi que les observations et répliques déposées, en temps normal, le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il sera possible pour les parties de participer de manière significative à la phase d’observations du 13 janvier 2020 en fonction des documents déjà déposés au dossier public par le Bureau de la concurrence dans ses observations supplémentaires. Par exemple, les parties peuvent présenter leurs observations sur les méthodes utilisées ou la pertinence des recommandations stratégiques proposées par le Bureau de la concurrence.

Dans l’éventualité où une nouvelle procédure serait estimée appropriée à la suite d’une décision d’exiger la communication de renseignements en réponse aux demandes en ce sens, le personnel estime qu’il existe de nombreuses possibilités de mettre en œuvre ces mesures en plus des procédures déjà instaurées par le Conseil.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politique
Secteur des télécommunications

Liste de distribution

Toutes les parties à l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57


Annexe

Liste des parties qui ont fourni des renseignements confidentiels au Bureau de la concurrence :

Bell Mobilité Inc. (Bell), bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd., geoff@brooketel.ca
Execulink Telecom Inc., ian.stevens@execulink.com, martha.facey@execulink.com
Hay Communications Co-Op Ltd., a.lawrence@hay.net
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited, grubb@hurontel.on.ca
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, knaylor@mornington.ca
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc., regulatory@quadro.net
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), document.control@sasktel.com
Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), regulatory@sjrb.ca
Sogetel Mobilité Inc., richard.biron@sogetel.com
SSi Micro Ltd., regulatory@ssimicro.com
TBayTel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com
TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS), regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron ltée (Vidéotron), regaffairs@quebecor.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Xplornet Communications Inc., xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com
Wightman Telecom Ltd., regulatory@wightman.ca

Date de modification :