Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Stan Thompson (Northwestel Inc.)

Ottawa, 1 October 2019

Our references: 8660-C12-201000116, 8000-C12-201909780

BY EMAIL

Mr. Stan Thompson
Chief Financial Officer & Vice-President
Northwestel Inc.
P.O. Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re:  Second Request for Information regarding major telecommunications disruptions in the North

Dear Mr. Thompson:

On 15 August 2019, Commission staff sent a Request for Information (RFI) regarding telecommunications disruptions on July 13, 2019 and August 12, 2019, caused by damage to Northwestel fibre optic lines near Yellowknife. Further to Northwestel’s responses of 30 August 2019, Commission staff has a follow-up question on this issue.  

In exercising its powers and performing its duties under the Telecommunications Act, the Commission must implement the Canadian telecommunications policy objectives set out in section 7 of that Act, including to render reliable and affordable telecommunications services of high quality accessible to Canadians in both urban and rural areas in all regions of Canada.

Accordingly, Commission staff requests the following information by 8 October 2019.

Northwestel is to provide a comprehensive answer, including rationale and any supporting information.

  1. Describe to what extent Northwestel has considered the use of satellite connectivity as a backup to help ensure network level resiliency in communities without redundancy or with redundancy that provides a limited level of service, and comment on the level of service that satellite would provide until the network was fully restored.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Stan Thompson (Norouestel Inc.)

Ottawa, le 1 octobre 2019

Nos références : 8660-C12-201000116, 8000-C12-201909780

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Stan Thompson
Chef des affaires financières et vice-président
Norouestel Inc.
C. P. 2727
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Deuxième demande de renseignements concernant des interruptions importantes des services de télécommunication dans le Nord

Monsieur,

Le 15 août 2019, le personnel du Conseil a envoyé une demande de renseignements concernant les interruptions des services de télécommunication les 13 juillet 2019 et 12 août 2019 provoquées par l’endommagement des lignes de fibre optique de Norouestel près de Yellowknife. Suivant les réponses de Norouestel le 30 août 2019, le personnel du Conseil souhaite soumettre une question de suivi concernant cet enjeu.

Dans l’exercice de ses pouvoirs et fonctions que lui confère la Loi sur les télécommunications, le Conseil doit mettre en œuvre la Politique canadienne de télécommunications énoncée à l’article 7 de cette Loi, y compris permettre l’accès aux Canadiens dans toutes les régions — rurales ou urbaines — du Canada à des services de télécommunication sûrs, abordables et de qualité.

Par conséquent, le personnel du Conseil demande à obtenir les renseignements suivants d’ici au 8 octobre 2019.

Norouestel doit fournir une réponse complète, y compris une justification et tout document à l’appui.

  1. Décrivez l’ampleur de la considération accordée par Norouestel à l’utilisation de la connectivité satellite comme plan de secours pour veiller à la durabilité du réseau dans les collectivités avec ou sans redondance fournissant un niveau de service limité et commentez le niveau de service que le service par satellite pourrait fournir jusqu’au rétablissement complet du réseau.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
Le directeur

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :