Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Christopher J. Edwards (Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc.) and Agatha Pezzi (TLN Media Group)

Ottawa, 3 May 2019

Our reference: 2019-0252-8

BY EMAIL

Mr. Christopher J. Edwards
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc.
cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca

Ms. Agatha Pezzi
Senior Vice-President
TLN Media Group
agathap@tlntv.com

Re: Request for final offer arbitration (2019-0252-8) with respect to Telelatino

Dear Ms. Pezzi and Mr. Edwards:

Pursuant to sections 12 to 15 of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations and Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637 (Information Bulletin 2013-637), this letter is to advise the parties that the Commission accepts the request by Canadian Communication Systems Alliance (CCSA) for final offer arbitration (FOA) with Telelatino Network Inc. (TLN).

This letter sets out the matter upon which the Commission will make a determination, the dates upon which the FOA process is to be conducted, and the procedure to be followed.

The Commission strives to release FOA decisions as expeditiously as possible. However, any procedural issues that arise may result in delays to the applicable timelines (see details in the attached Procedural Appendix).

The application

On 17 December 2018, the Commission received a request for FOA from CCSA, pursuant to section 12(1) of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations, relating to a commercial dispute with TLN regarding the Telelatino programming service (the 2018 FOA application). This application was subsequently suspended by the Commission, to allow further negotiations.

On 26 March 2019, CCSA submitted a request to withdraw its 2018 FOA application and filed a new request for FOA, pursuant to section 12(1) of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations, for the purpose of establishing various rates and retroactive payments (the 2019 FOA application).

CCSA noted that this dispute has been ongoing for many years. CCSA further noted that since 2016, it has participated in dispute resolution processes with TLN and saw no prospect of the parties reaching a timely agreement without the Commission’s assistance. CCSA indicated that the dispute is an appropriate matter for the Commission’s FOA process, for the following reasons:

In its response letter dated 2 April 2019, TLN indicated that it was surprised to receive CCSA’s application for FOA and did not support the request. TLN stated that it hoped to resolve the dispute directly with CCSA and welcomed the Commission’s assistance, albeit without resort to FOA.

On 4 April 2019, TLN filed a second response letter adding that it disagreed with CCSA’s depiction of the dispute and proposed an alternative characterization of the rates that should be established while maintaining retroactive payments.

Additional Procedural Issues

On 5 April 2019, CCSA filed a request to strike out TLN’s responses from the record. Among other things, CCSA’s argued that TLN had been given an unfair advantage in being granted extensions that were contrary to the timelines established in Information Bulletin 2013-637.

The Commission notes that the FOA applications by CCSA were made solely pursuant to the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations, which apply only to licensed BDUs. However, a number of CCSA’s member companies are BDUs operating under Broadcasting Order CRTC 2015-544: Terms and conditions of the exemption order for terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings serving fewer than 20,000 subscribers (Broadcasting Order 2015-544). The corollary dispute resolution provisions in the Broadcasting Order 2015-44 should therefore be considered within this FOA proceeding.

Commission Decisions

The Commission approves CCSA’s request to withdraw its 2018 FOA application.

The Commission denies CCSA’s request to strike TLN’s responses from the record, as the delay incurred does not constitute sufficient rationale to justify the removal of these documents from the record.

Upon review of the current record, the Commission considers that FOA is an appropriate method of dispute resolution in this case, as the dispute is exclusively monetary, involves only two parties, and otherwise meets the criteria for dispute resolution set out in paragraph 4 of Information Bulletin 2013-637. Accordingly, the Commission accepts CCSA’s 2019 FOA application.

In accordance with paragraph 21 of Information Bulletin 2013-637, and pursuant to sections 12 to 15 of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations and sections 16 and 17 of Broadcasting Order 2015-544, the matter upon which the Commission will make a determination is as follows:

Establishing the rates for packaged distribution of the Telelatino service by CCSA licensed and exempt members for a term beginning as of the day on which Telelatino was first made available to CCSA in the absence of a commercial agreement Footnote1 and ending on the day previously agreed upon by the parties.

The Commission hereby notifies the parties that other matters relating to the distribution of the Telelatino service by CCSA members will not be considered in this proceeding and are left to negotiation between the parties, including with the assistance of Commission staff.

Accordingly, in the final offers they will submit, the parties must propose offers consistent with the Commission’s above noted characterization of the matter at dispute. A confidential template to this effect has been provided to the parties. The Commission will examine the final offers submitted by the parties and will select one in its entirety Footnote2 . The Commission’s decision will be binding on the parties.

Documents to be provided

The Commission requires that the parties each file their final offers with the Commission by 20 May 2019. A confidential template in Excel format has been provided to facilitate the parties’ submissions. Please refer to the attached Procedural Appendix for the procedure to be followed in the filing of documents, in addition to Information Bulletin 2013-637.

When preparing your arguments, please refer, where applicable, to the criteria for fair market value set out in the Wholesale Code, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-438. As noted in the Interpretation of the Wholesale Code, Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2015-440, the Commission will determine which fair market value factors are applicable in a given case and assess proposed rates or final offers in relation to those factors.  In addition, the Commission will apply, where appropriate, a public interest test that examines whether the proposed wholesale rates are consistent with the relevant public policy objectives.

To complete the record, CCSA must also provide additional information as set out below. A confidential template in Excel format has been provided to facilitate the transmission of that information when applicable. Please note that the information provided by CCSA should be provided on an aggregated basis, whenever possible. For each year or month since the expiry of the last commercial agreement to present (in accordance with the confidential template), please provide the following by 20 May 2019:

  1. the latest affiliation agreement between CCSA and TLN for the distribution of Telelatino and any applicable amendment (or whatever term sheet that may apply);
  2. the wholesale rates paid by CCSA for Telelatino when offered in a preassembled and/or build-your-own package (as the case may be);
  3. the wholesale rates paid by CCSA for other comparable services (Canadian and foreign) in a preassembled and/or build-your-own package (as the case may be);
  4. the average monthly number of subscribers to Telelatino, in a preassembled and/or build-your-own package(as the case may be);
  5. the average monthly number of subscribers to each comparable service (Canadian and foreign) distributed by CCSA;
  6. the retail rate for packages offered by CCSA members that include Telelatino;
  7. CCSA viewership to Telelatino (e.g., set top box data, average minute audience, total number of hours watched); and
  8. CCSA viewership to all other comparable services offered by CCSA (e.g., set top box data, average minute audience, total number of hours watched), if available.

To complete the record, TLN must also provide additional information as set out below. A confidential template in Excel format has been provided to facilitate the transmission of that information when applicable. Please note that the information provided about CCSA should be provided on an aggregated basis, whenever possible. For each year or month since the expiry of the last commercial agreement to present (in accordance with the confidential template), please provide the following by 20 May 2019:

  1. Affiliation agreements in effect between TLN and other BDUs in the Canadian market for the distribution of Telelatino;
  2. For each BDU (other than CCSA) that distributes Telelatino:
    1. wholesale rates broken down by distribution in a preassembled and/or build-your-own package (as the case may be),
    2. number of subscribers and actual penetration levels, and
    3. applicable volume discount;
  3. Data on the tuning or viewership to Telelatino, including
    1. average minute audience (AMA), and
    2. total number of hours watched;
  4. Total payments received by TLN from each BDU (including CCSA) that distributes Telelatino.

By 27 May 2019, once Commission staff has confirmed that the offers respond to the identified scope of the proceeding, Commission staff will forward to each party a copy of the other party’s offer.

The parties will have 5 days to file comments on the other party’s final offer with the Commission, and to serve a copy of those comments on the other party.  However, neither party will be authorized to amend its offer.

Any documents filed with the Commission should be filed via the secure service “My CRTC Account” (GCKey or Partner Log In) using the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” on that same webpage and quoting the application number noted above.

A copy of this letter will be added to the public record.

Responsibilities of the parties

The parties may contact Marie-Claire Bouthillier at 873-353-1612 or at marie-claire.bouthillier@crtc.gc.ca if they require additional information regarding the organization and conduct of the final offer proceeding.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date. In addition to filing with the Commission via “My CRTC Account”, the parties must send copies of all the documents in question to marie-claire.bouthillier@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

c.c.:      Lori Rosenberg, Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., lrosenberg@ccsaonline.ca
Jay Thomson, Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., jthomson@ccsaonline.ca
Aldo DiFelice, TLN Media Group, aldo@tlntv.com

Procedural Appendix

Parties should be aware that deviation from the final offer arbitration process set out in Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637 may result in delays to the applicable timelines.

General process

As set out in the Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637, FOA usually involves a two-step process: (1) the submission of the final offer, and (2) comments.

Parties are responsible for including concise supporting arguments stating all the facts when they file their final offers.  Since the purpose of the comments is to allow each party to comment on the other party’s final offer, procedural fairness requires that the parties’ entire positions be put forth at the beginning of the process (i.e., as part of the final offer).  It is inappropriate to file new evidence and formulate new arguments as part of the comments, if such evidence or arguments could have been filed or formulated when filing the final offers.

Accordingly, the process does not generally provide for parties to file a reply to comments as part of the usual final offer arbitration process.

In the event that a party considers that new evidence or argument has been filed in the context of the comment phase, parties may request from the Commission, in writing, a right of reply, with supporting rationale for the request.

Filing of documents

Generally, there are three versions of each document filed with the Commission in the context of an FOA proceeding:  a version to be placed on the public record (which generally omits details pertaining to the final offers, for instance), a version to be provided to the other party to the FOA (which generally omits certain details which are commercially sensitive), and a full version (containing all confidential information) for the CRTC.

The onus is on each party to ensure that its own sensitive information has been treated appropriately by the other party to the FOA, in reviewing the public versions submitted to the CRTC.

In submitting their filings, parties must clearly designate each version, by marking, at the top of every page of the submission:

Parties must follow the following naming convention in filing documents via GC key:

All public versions of documents must be provided at the same time as the confidential versions, as well as any translations that are to be provided.

Confidentiality

In accordance with paragraph 40 of Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637, existing Commission confidentiality rules and practices will apply throughout the FOA proceedings.  The applicable rules and practices are set out in the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules) and described in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961.

Section 31(1) of the Rules provides that in broadcasting matters, a party may designate information related to the following as confidential:

  1. information that is a trade secret;
  2. financial, commercial, scientific or technical information that is confidential and that is treated consistently in a confidential manner by the person who submitted it; or
  3. information the disclosure of which could reasonably be expected
    1. to result in material financial loss or gain to any person;
    2. to prejudice the competitive position of any person; or
    3. to affect contractual or other negotiations of any person.

Section 31(2) of the Rules provides that the party must make the designation at the time that they file the document that contains the information. Moreover, the party that designates information as confidential must provide reasons, as well as any supporting documents, why the disclosure of the information would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest.

[These sections are only an excerpt of the applicable Rules.]

Matters with orespect t confidentiality can be set out in a covering letter to the party’s final offer or comment submission, and will not be counted towards the page limits set out in Information Bulletin 2013-637.

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Christopher J. Edwards (Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc.) et Agatha Pezzi (TLN Media Group)

Ottawa, le 3 mai 2019

Numéro de référence : 2019-0252-8

PAR COURRIEL

M. Christopher J. Edwards
Vice-Président, Affaires réglementaires
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc.
cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca

Mme Agatha Pezzi
Vice-Présidente principale
TLN Media Group
agathap@tlntv.com

Objet : Demande d’arbitrage de l’offre finale (2019-0252-8) concernant Telelatino

Madame, Monsieur,

Conformément aux articles 12 à 15 du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion et au Bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication CRTC 2013-637 (le bulletin 2013-637), le Conseil avise les parties qu’il accepte la demande présentée par la Canadian Communication Systems Alliance (CCSA) pour amorcer le processus d’arbitrage de l’offre finale (AOF) avec Telelatino Network Inc. (TLN).

La présente lettre sur le déroulement définit la question sur laquelle le Conseil se prononcera, fixe les dates du processus d’AOF et décrit la procédure à suivre.

Le Conseil s’efforce de rendre ses décisions d’AOF le plus rapidement possible. Par contre, toute question procédurale peut entraîner des retards aux délais prévus (voir les détails dans l’annexe sur les règles de procédures ci-jointe).

La demande

Le 17 décembre 2018, le Conseil a reçu une demande d’AOF de la part de la CCSA, en vertu de l’article 12(1) du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion, afin de résoudre un différend commercial avec TLN concernant le service de programmation Telelatino (la demande d’AOF 2018). Cette demande a par la suite été suspendue par le Conseil, afin de permettre des négociations additionnelles.

Le 26 mars 2019, la CCSA a soumis une demande pour retirer la demande d’AOF 2018 et a déposé une nouvelle demande d’AOF, en vertu de l’article 12(1) du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion, aux fins d’établir certains tarifs et des paiements rétroactifs (la demande d’AOF 2019).

La CCSA a mentionné que ce différend a cours depuis plusieurs années. La CCSA a également mentionné qu’elle avait participé aux processus de règlement des différends avec TLN depuis 2016 et qu’elle n’entrevoyait pas l’éventualité où les parties s’entendraient de manière opportune sans l’intervention du Conseil. La CCSA croit que le différend actuel est approprié pour le processus d’AOF du Conseil pour les raisons suivantes :

Dans sa réponse datée du 2 avril 2019, TLN a signifié sa surprise lors de la réception de la demande d’AOF de la CCSA et a indiqué qu’elle n’y donnait pas son accord. TLN a indiqué vouloir résoudre le différend directement avec la CCSA, sans avoir recours au processus d’AOF, mais tout en accueillant l’aide du Conseil d’autre part.

Le 4 avril 2019, TLN a déposé une deuxième lettre de réponse qui indique son désaccord avec la manière dont le différend a été présenté par la CCSA. TLN a donc proposé une caractérisation alternative des différents tarifs, mais a maintenu l’établissement des paiements rétroactifs.

Enjeux procéduraux supplémentaires 

Le 5 avril 2019, la CCSA a déposé une demande pour que les réponses de TLN soient retirées du dossier. L’argument principal de la CCSA pour cette demande est que TLN a eu droit à des délais allongés, contraires aux délais établis dans le bulletin 2013-637, ce qui aurait procuré un avantage injuste à TLN.

Le Conseil note que les demandes d’AOF de la CCSA ont été formulées uniquement en vertu du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion , qui s’applique seulement aux EDR titulaires de licences. Cela dit, plusieurs compagnies membres de la CCSA sont des EDR opérant sous l’Ordonnance de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-544 : Révision de l’ordonnance d’exemption relative aux entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion terrestres desservant moins de 20 000 abonnés (l’ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2015-544). Les dispositions corolaires de l’ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2015-544 concernant la résolution des différends devraient donc être considérées dans le cadre de cette instance d’AOF.

Décisions du Conseil

Le Conseil approuve la demande de retrait de la demande d’AOF 2018 par la CCSA.

Le Conseil refuse la demande de la CCSA de retirer du dossier les réponses de TLN, puisque les délais encourus ne constituent pas une raison suffisante pour justifier le retrait des documents du dossier.

Après examen du dossier, le Conseil estime que l’AOF constitue un mécanisme de règlement de différend approprié puisqu’il est de nature exclusivement pécuniaire, qu’il n’oppose que deux parties et qu’il satisfait par ailleurs aux critères permettant le recours à ce processus énoncés au paragraphe 4 du bulletin 2013-637. Par conséquent, le Conseil accepte la demande d’AOF 2019 de la CCSA.

Conformément au paragraphe 21 du bulletin 2013-637, et en vertu des articles 12 à 15 du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion ainsi que des articles 16 et 17 de l’Ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2015-544, le Conseil prendra une décision sur l’élément suivant:

Déterminer les tarifs pour la distribution par forfait du service Telelatino par les membres titulaires et exemptés de la CCSA pour un terme débutant à compter de la date à laquelle Telelatino a été offert pour la première fois à la CCSA en l’absence d’une entente commerciale Note de bas de page1 et terminant au jour préalablement convenu par les parties.

Le Conseil informe les parties que les autres questions relatives à la distribution du service Telelatino par la CCSA ne seront pas examinées dans le cadre de cette instance et devront faire l’objet de négociations entre les parties, avec l’aide du personnel si nécessaire.

Par conséquent, dans les offres finales qu’elles présenteront, les parties doivent faire des soumissions conformes à l’élément défini par le Conseil plus haut. Un gabarit confidentiel a été fourni aux parties à cet effet. Le Conseil examinera les offres finales que lui soumettront les parties et il en choisira une dans son intégralité. Note de bas de page2 La décision du Conseil sera exécutoire pour les deux parties.

Documents à déposer

Le Conseil exige que chacune des parties lui présente son offre finale avant le 20 mai 2019. Un gabarit confidentiel en format Excel a été fourni aux parties pour faciliter leur soumission. Veuillez consulter l’annexe sur la procédure ci-jointe et le bulletin 2013-637 pour la procédure à suivre dans le dépôt de documents.

En préparant votre argumentaire, veuillez consulter, s’il y a lieu, les critères pour la juste valeur marchande énoncés dans la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-438, intitulée Code sur la vente en gros. Comme noté dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-440, intitulé Interprétation du Code sur la vente en gros, le Conseil déterminera quels sont les facteurs de juste valeur marchande à appliquer dans un cas donné et il évaluera les propositions de tarifs ou les offres finales en fonction de ces facteurs. De plus, s’il y a lieu, le Conseil procédera à un test d’intérêt public pour vérifier si les tarifs de gros proposés sont conformes aux objectifs pertinents de politique publique.

Afin de compléter le dossier, la CCSA doit également fournir les renseignements demandés ci-dessous. Un gabarit confidentiel en format Excel a été fourni pour faciliter la transmission de cette information lorsqu’applicable. Veuillez noter que l’information soumise par la CCSA devrait être agrégée lorsque possible. Pour chaque année ou mois depuis la fin de la dernière entente commerciale jusqu’à aujourd’hui (conformément avec le gabarit confidentiel), veuillez fournir les informations suivantes avant le 20 mai 2019:

  1. La plus récente entente d’affiliation conclue entre la CCSA et TLN pour la distribution de Telelatino et toute modification subséquente (ou toute autre entente applicable);
  2. Les tarifs de gros payés par CCSA pour Telelatino lorsque le service est offert dans un forfait préassemblé ou un forfait à la carte (selon le(s) cas);
  3. Les tarifs de gros payés par CCSA pour d’autres services comparables (canadiens et étrangers) offerts dans un forfait préassemblé ou un forfait à la carte (selon le(s) cas);
  4. Le nombre mensuel moyen d’abonnés à Telelatino, dans un forfait préassemblé ou un forfait à la carte (selon le(s) cas);
  5. Le nombre mensuel moyen d’abonnés à d’autres services comparables (canadiens et étrangers) offerts dans un forfait préassemblé ou un forfait à la carte;
  6. Le tarif de détail applicable aux forfaits offerts par les membres de la CCSA qui incluent Telelatino;
  7. La cote d’écoute de la CCSA pour Telelatino (p.ex. : données provenant des boîtiers décodeurs, auditoire moyen par minute, total des heures d’écoute); et
  8. La cote d’écoute de la CCSA pour les autres services comparables offerts par la CCSA (p.ex. : données provenant des boîtiers décodeurs, auditoire moyen par minute, total des heures d’écoute), si disponible.

Afin de compléter le dossier, TLN doit également fournir les renseignements demandés ci-dessous. Un gabarit confidentiel en format Excel a été fourni pour faciliter la transmission de cette information lorsqu’applicable. Veuillez noter que l’information soumise concernant la CCSA devrait être agrégée lorsque possible. Pour chaque année ou mois depuis la fin de la dernière entente commerciale jusqu’à aujourd’hui (conformément avec le gabarit confidentiel), veuillez fournir les informations suivantes avant le 20 mai 2019:

  1. Les ententes d’affiliation courantes et conclues entre TLN et d’autres EDR du marché canadien pour la distribution de Telelatino;
  2. Pour chacune des EDR (autres que la CCSA) qui distribue Telelatino :
    1. Les tarifs de gros lorsque le service est offert dans un forfait préassemblé ou un forfait à la carte (selon le(s) cas),
    2. Le nombre d’abonnés et les taux de pénétration réels, et
    3. Les rabais au volume applicables;
  3. Les données de cote d’écoute pour Telelatino, incluant :
    1. L’auditoire moyen par minute
    2. Le nombre total d’heures écoutées
  4. Les paiements totaux perçus par TLN pour chacune des EDR (incluant la CCSA) qui distribue Telelatino.

Au plus tard le 27 mai 2019, après avoir confirmé que les offres répondent à la portée de l’instance, le personnel du Conseil enverra à chaque partie une copie de l’offre de l’autre partie.

Les parties auront par la suite 5 jours pour déposer auprès du Conseil leurs observations sur l’offre finale de l’autre partie et pour en signifier copie à l’autre partie. Toutefois, elles ne seront pas autorisées à modifier leur offre.

Tout dépôt de documents auprès du Conseil doit être fait en utilisant le service sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Partenaire de connexion ou CléGC) et en remplissant le document « Page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion » situé sur la même page Web; il faut en outre indiquer le numéro de la demande qui figure en objet.

Une copie de la présente lettre sera ajoutée au dossier public.

Responsabilités des parties

Si elles souhaitent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les modalités et le déroulement de l’instance d’arbitrage, les parties peuvent communiquer avec Marie-Claire Bouthillier, au 873-353-1612, ou à l’adresse marie-claire.bouthillier@crtc.gc.ca.

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu et non pas seulement envoyé, au plus tard à cette date. En plus de déposer tous les documents en question auprès du Conseil en utilisant « Mon compte CRTC », il faut en envoyer une copie à l’adresse marie-claire.bouthillier@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Madame et Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le Secrétaire général,
Claude Doucet

c.c.:      Lori Rosenberg, Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., lrosenberg@ccsaonline.ca
Jay Thomson, Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., jthomson@ccsaonline.ca
Aldo DiFelice, TLN Media Group, aldo@tlntv.com

Annexe sur les règles de procédures

Les parties doivent noter que toute déviation par rapport au processus d’arbitrage de l’offre finale décrit dans le Bulletin  2013-637 peut causer des retards aux délais applicables.

Processus général

Comme l’explique le Bulletin 2013-637, le processus d’AOF passe habituellement par deux étapes : 1) la présentation de l’offre finale et 2) les observations.

Les parties doivent adjoindre à l’appui de leur offre finale des arguments concis énonçant tous les faits au moment du dépôt de leur offre finale. Comme les observations ont pour but de permettre aux parties de commenter l’offre finale de l’autre partie, l’équité procédurale exige que chacune expose sa position au début du processus (c’est-à-dire au dépôt de l’offre finale). Ainsi, dans le cadre des observations, il est inapproprié pour une partie de déposer de nouvelles preuves ou de formuler de nouveaux arguments qu’elle aurait pu déposer ou formuler au moment du dépôt de son offre finale.

Par conséquent, le processus habituel d’arbitrage de l’offre finale ne permet généralement pas aux parties de déposer une réplique aux observations.

Si une partie juge que de nouvelles preuves ont été déposées ou que de nouveaux arguments ont été formulés dans le cadre des observations, elle peut s’adresser par écrit au Conseil pour demander un droit de réplique, avec justification à l’appui.

Dépôt des documents

En général, lors d’une procédure d’AOF, trois versions de chaque document sont déposées auprès du Conseil : une version devant être versée dans le dossier public (dans laquelle sont généralement omis certains détails des offres finales, par exemple); une version devant être remise à l’autre partie à l’AOF (dans laquelle sont généralement omis certains détails sensibles sur le plan commercial); et une version intégrale (contenant tous les renseignements confidentiels) pour le CRTC.

Il incombe à chaque partie à l’AOF de vérifier les versions publiques soumises au CRTC pour s’assurer que ses propres renseignements sensibles ont été traités de façon appropriée par l’autre partie.

Au moment de leur dépôt, les parties doivent désigner clairement chaque version, en inscrivant dans le haut de chaque page de la présentation :

Lors du dépôt de documents au moyen d’une CléGC, les parties doivent suivre les règles suivantes d’affectation des noms :

Toutes les versions publiques des documents doivent être remises en même temps que les versions confidentielles, de même que toutes les traductions, le cas échéant.

Confidentialité

Conformément au paragraphe 40 du Bulletin 2013-637, les règles et les pratiques actuelles du Conseil en matière de confidentialité s’appliquent tout au long des instances d’AOF. Les règles et les pratiques en question sont énoncées dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure) et décrites dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961.

Le paragraphe 31(1) des Règles de procédure énonce qu’en matière de radiodiffusion, une partie peut désigner comme confidentiels les renseignements qui concernent les éléments suivants :

  1.  les secrets industriels;
  2.  les renseignements financiers, commerciaux, scientifiques ou techniques qui sont de nature confidentielle et qui sont traités comme tels de façon constante par la personne qui les fournit;
  3.  les renseignements dont la communication risquerait vraisemblablement
    1.  de causer à une autre personne ou elle-même des pertes ou profits financiers appréciables;
    2.   de nuire à sa compétitivité;
    3.  d’entraver des négociations menées par cette autre personne ou elle-même en vue de contrats ou à d’autres fins.

Le paragraphe 31(2) des Règles de procédure énonce que la partie doit faire la désignation au moment où elle dépose le document qui renferme les renseignements visés. De plus, la partie qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels doit exposer les raisons pour lesquelles leur communication ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, notamment celles pour lesquelles elle causerait vraisemblablement un préjudice direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public, et fournir tout document à l’appui.

[Ces articles sont qu’un extrait des Règles applicables.]

Une partie peut exposer les raisons pour les désignations de confidentialité dans une lettre d’accompagnement jointe à son offre finale ou à sa présentation d’observations, et cette lettre ne sera pas comptée dans le nombre limité de pages prescrit par le Bulletin d’information  2013-637.

Date de modification :