Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Ron Sparkes (Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited)

Ottawa, 18 December 2019

BY EMAIL

Mr. Ron Sparkes
COO and CFO
Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited
446 Logy Bay Road
P.O. Box 2020
St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador
A1C 5S2
rsparkes@ntv.ca

Our reference: 2019-0545-7

Subject: Part I Application 2019-0545-7 – Application for amendment to CJON-DT’s condition of licence that requires prime time programming to be broadcast with described video

Dear Mr. Sparkes,

Commission staff are in receipt of your email dated 17 December 2019 concerning the above-noted application by Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited (NTV), licensee of CJON-DT, which was temporarily suspended by Commission staff on 2 August 2019.  NTV is seeking an amendment to its condition of licence that requires prime time programming drawn from certain program categories to be broadcast with described video (DV). Footnote1

On 3 December 2019, the Commission issued Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2019-392 Amendment proposed by Bell Media Inc., Corus Entertainment Inc. and Rogers Media Inc. to their condition of licence that requires prime time programming to be broadcast with described video. The amended condition of licence requires Bell Media, Corus Entertainment and Rogers Media to provide DV for all English- and French-language programming that is broadcast during prime time with the exception of U.S. programming received without DV less than 24 hours prior to air. In addition, in its decision, the Commission encourages Bell Media, Corus Entertainment and Rogers Media to hold regularly occurring consultations with DV stakeholders for the purpose of collaboratively developing a solution to address the issue that requires the 24 hours exception granted by the Commission.

Commission staff note that NTV’s request to amend its described video condition of licence is directly related to this decision, notably because the licensee receives the majority of its prime time programming from Corus through a programming supply agreement.

In light of the Commission’s decision, and prior to reopening the comment period on this application, Commission staff request that NTV indicate by 10 January 2020 whether:

  1. NTV wishes to withdraw and resubmit Part I application 2019-0545-7.
  2. NTV wishes to amend Part I application 2019-0545-7.
  3. NTV wishes to proceed with the application as filed.

Should you have any questions, please contact Natalie Riendeau, Senior Analyst, Social and Consumer Policy, at natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

(Original signed by)

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer, Research and Communications
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

cc: Distribution List

natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca
and interveners

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Ron Sparkes (Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited)

Ottawa, le 18 décembre 2019

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Ron Sparkes
Directeur de l’exploitation et dirigeant principal des finances
Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited
446, chemin Logy Bay
C. P. 2020
St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
A1C 5S2
rsparkes@ntv.ca

Notre référence : 2019-0545-7

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 – 2019-0545-7 – Demande de modification de la condition de licence de CJON-DT exigeant que la programmation aux heures de grande écoute soit diffusée avec vidéodescription

Monsieur,

Nous accusons réception de votre courriel du 17 décembre 2019 concernant la demande susmentionnée par la titulaire de CJON-DT, Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited (NTV), qui a été temporairement suspendue par le personnel du Conseil le 2 août 2019. NTV sollicite la modification de sa condition de licence exigeant que la programmation aux heures de grande écoute soit tirée de certaines catégories d’émissions qui doivent être diffusées avec vidéodescription Note de bas de page1 .

Le 3 décembre 2019, le Conseil a publié la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-392, Modification proposée par Bell Média inc., Corus Entertainment Inc. et Rogers Media Inc. à leur condition de licence exigeant que la programmation aux heures de grande écoute soit diffusée avec vidéodescription. La condition de licence modifiée exige que Bell Média, Corus Entertainment et Rogers Media offrent la vidéodescription pour toute la programmation de langues anglaise et française qui est diffusée aux heures de grande écoute, à l’exception de la programmation provenant des États-Unis reçue moins de 24 heures avant la diffusion. En outre, dans sa décision, le Conseil encourage Bell Média, Corus Entertainment et Rogers Media à tenir des consultations régulièrement auprès des intervenants dans le but d’élaborer des solutions de manière collaborative pour régler la question liée à la nécessité que l’exception de 24 heures soit accordée par le Conseil.

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que la demande de NTV visant la modification de sa condition de licence en matière de vidéodescription est directement liée à cette décision, notamment parce que la titulaire reçoit la majeure partie de sa programmation de Corus, dans le cadre d’une entente de fourniture de programmation.

Compte tenu de la décision du Conseil, et avant de rouvrir la période de dépôt d’observations de la présente demande, le personnel du Conseil demande à NTV d’indiquer, d’ici le 10 janvier 2020, si :

  1. TV souhaite retirer et soumettre de nouveau la demande en vertu de la partie 1 2019-0545-7.
  2. NTV souhaite modifier la demande en vertu de la partie 1 2019-0545-7.
  3. NTV souhaite procéder avec la demande telle qu’elle a été déposée.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Natalie Riendeau, analyste principale, Politique sociale et des consommateurs à l’adresse natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

(Original signé par)

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation, recherche et communications
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes

c. c. Liste de distribution

natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca
et intervenants

Date de modification :