Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited

Ottawa, 2 August 2019

Our reference: 2019-0545-7

BY EMAIL

Mr. Ron Sparkes
COO and CFO
Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited
446 Logy Bay Road
P.O. Box 2020
St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador
A1C 5S2
rsparkes@ntv.ca

Subject: Part I Application 2019-0545-7 – Application for amendment to CJON-DT’s condition of licence that requires prime time programming to be broadcast with described video

Dear Mr. Sparkes:

This is in reference to the above-noted application by Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited, licensee of CJON-DT, filed 10 July 10 2019, for an amendment to its condition of licence, which stipulates that:

The licensee shall, by 1 September 2019, provide described video for all English- and French-language programming that is broadcast during prime time (i.e., from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m.) and that is drawn from program categories 2(b) Long-form documentary, 7 Drama and comedy, 9 Variety, 11(a) General entertainment and human interest and 11(b) Reality television, and/or is programming targeting preschool children (0-5 years of age) and children (6-12 years of age).

Commission staff note that the request to amend this condition of licence is directly related to Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2019-67 Call for comments on an amendment proposed by Bell Media Inc., Corus Entertainment Inc. and Rogers Media Inc. to their condition of licence that requires prime time programming to be broadcast with described video, which is currently being considered by the Commission and in which Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited intervened.

The outcome of this proceeding will have a direct impact on Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited’s application, notably because the licensee receives the majority of its prime time programming from Corus through a programming supply agreement. In light of this, Commission staff advises the Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited that Part I application 2019-0545-7 is temporarily suspended until further notice.

The Commission will provide further procedural direction and new deadlines once the Commission has made a decision with respect to Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2019-67.

Should you have any questions, please contact Natalie Riendeau, Senior Analyst, Social and Consumer Policy, at natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

(Original signed by)

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer, Research and Communications

cc: Distribution List

natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca
and interveners

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited

Ottawa, le 2 août 2019

Notre référence: 2019-0545-7

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Ron Sparkes
Directeur de l’exploitation et Dirigeant principal des finances
Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited
446, chemin Logy Bay
Case postale 2020
Saint-Jean, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
A1C 5S2
rsparkes@ntv.ca

Objet :  Demande en vertu de la partie 1 – 2019-0545-7 – Demande de modification    de la condition de licence de CJON-DT exigeant que la programmation aux heures de grande écoute soit diffusée avec vidéodescription

Cher M. Sparkes :

La présente lettre fait référence à la demande susmentionnée déposée le 10 juillet 2019 par la titulaire de CJON-DT, Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited, concernant une demande de modification de sa condition de licence, laquelle prévoit ce qui suit :

Le titulaire doit fournir, au plus tard le 1er septembre 2019, la vidéodescription pour toute la programmation de langue française et de langue anglaise diffusée aux heures de grande écoute (soit entre 19 h et 23 h) et tirée des catégories d’émissions 2b) Documentaires de longue durée, 7 Émissions dramatiques et comiques, 9 Variétés, 11a) Émissions de divertissement général et d’intérêt général et 11b) Émissions de téléréalité, ou composée d’émissions pour enfants d’âge préscolaire (0-5 ans) et pour enfants (6-12 ans).

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que la demande visant la modification de cette condition de licence est directement liée à l’Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-67, Appel aux observations sur une modification proposée par Bell Média inc., Corus Entertainment Inc. et Rogers Media Inc. à leur condition de licence exigeant que la programmation aux heures de grande écoute soit diffusée avec vidéodescription, qui est actuellement à l’étude par le Conseil et dans laquelle Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited est intervenue.

L’issue de la présente instance aura une incidence directe sur la demande de Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited, notamment parce que la titulaire reçoit la majeure partie de sa programmation de Corus, dans le cadre d’une entente de fourniture de programmation. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil informe par la présente Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited que la demande en vertu de la partie 1 2019-0545-7 est temporairement suspendue jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Le Conseil fournira des directives procédurales supplémentaires ainsi que de nouvelles échéances une fois qu’il aura rendu une décision à l’égard de l’Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-67.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Natalie Riendeau, analyste principale, Politique sociale et des consommateurs, à l’adresse natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

 

(Original signé par)

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation, recherche et communications

cc : Liste de distribution

natalie.riendeau@crtc.gc.ca
et les intervenants

 

Date de modification :