Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 28 March 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0091

BY E-MAIL

To: Distribution List

RE: Request for information – Online revenues and expenditures by digital media broadcasting undertakings

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 31 May 2018, in response to a direction from the Governor in Council, the Commission issued a report entitled Harnessing Change: The Future of Programming Distribution in Canada. In that report, the Commission proposed a number of short- or medium-term steps that could be taken in advance of new legislation, paving the way for changes needed for the future. One of the steps proposed was the updating of definitions of Canadian programming expenditures (CPE) in light of the digital environment (See Conclusions and Potential Options from the report).

Today, the Commission has issued Call for comments on the Commission’s policy on Canadian programming expenditures, Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-91, 28 March 2019. With the objective of updating its current policy relating to CPE, set out in The reporting of Canadian programming expenditures, Public Notice CRTC 1993-93, 22 June 1993, the Commission is calling for comments on, among other things, the option of allowing licensees to claim expenditures associated with their digital media activities towards their CPE requirements.

By way of this letter, the Commission is seeking your assistance towards fulfilling its objective of updating its current CPE policy. Specifically, the Commission is requesting revenue and expenditure data associated with your digital media broadcasting activities, including the online windows associated with licensed services and any other digital media broadcasting service.

Using the attached Excel template, please provide revenue and expenditure data by service, for each of the 2015-2016, 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 broadcast years. Please create a tab for each service. You do not need to provide data for any hybrid video-on-demand (HVOD) services that you operate, given that revenue and expenditure data for such services are provided as part of the annual financial returns filed with the Commission.

Please note that the Commission may publish, in aggregate form, some of the data gathered via this request for information.

We anticipate that you may have concerns arising from the commercially-sensitive nature of the information we are requesting. Furthermore, you may require some clarity concerning the procedure for designating the information you file as confidential and the potential for its disclosure. Consistent with its general practice, the Commission will apply sections 30 to 34 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure when considering requests for confidentiality. In this regard, the following criteria, set out in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, 23 December 2010 (Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961), will apply:

For additional information, please consult Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961 as well as Implementation of new Rules of Practice and Procedures, Broadcasting and Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-958, 23 December 2010.

If you have any questions regarding this request for information, please contact Nicolas Gatto at 873-353-9280, or by e-mail at nicolas.gatto@crtc.gc.ca.Please submit the requested information by 11 April 2019.

Thank you for your participation.

Yours sincerely,

Noah Moser
Director
Financial and Multiplatform Technology Analysis

Distribution List
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network Incorporated
Accessible Media Inc.
Allarco (Superchannel)
BCE Inc.
Blue Ant Media Inc.
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Channel Zero
CHEK News
Corus Entertainment Inc.
Crossroads Television System
DHX Media Ltd.
Fairchild Property Group Ltd.
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group Ltd.
Les Placements Péladeau inc.
Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Ltd.
Remstar Diffusion inc. (V Média)
RNC Média inc.
Rogers Communications Inc.
TV5 Québec Canada
ZoomerMedia


Request for Information: CPE Policy

Service Name:

Service Type:
Revenues - Part A :
Subscription revenues:
Advertising revenues Other revenues (specify type) :
Total Revenues:                   
Are any of these revenues included in other reports to the CRTC?
If yes, please indicate which lines and in which reports to the CRTC

Expenses - Part B

Content-related expenses Expenses related to producing content:                    
Expenses related to repurposing content:         
Expenses related to acquiring content (includes licensing/royalty fees) :                
Other content-related expenses (specify type) :                   
Total content-related expenses :                 
Non content-related expenses :                   
Technical expenses :               
Sales and promotion :            
Administration and general expenses:                      
Other non content-related expenses (specify below):                      
Total non content-related expenses :                    
Total Expenses :                     

Canadian Programming Expenses

Expenses related to producing Canadian content:
Expenses related to repurposing Canadian content:            
Expenses related to acquiring Canadian content (includes licensing/royalty fees):
Other Canadian content-related expenses (specify type) :
Total Canadian content-related expenses:

Are any of these expenditures included in other reports to the CRTC?

If yes, please indicate which lines and in which reports to the CRTC.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 28 mars 2019

Notre référence: 1011-NOC2019-0091

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de renseignements – Revenus et dépenses en ligne des entreprises de radiodiffusion de médias numériques

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 31 mai 2018, pour donner suite aux instructions du gouverneur en conseil, le Conseil a publié un rapport intitulé Emboîter le pas au changement : L’avenir de la distribution de la programmation au Canada. Dans ce rapport, le Conseil a proposé un certain nombre de mesures à court et à moyen terme qui pourraient être prises préalablement à une nouvelle législation, ouvrant ainsi la voie aux changements requis pour l’avenir. L’une des mesures proposées était la mise à jour des définitions relatives aux dépenses en émissions canadiennes (DÉC) en fonction de l’environnement numérique (voir Conclusions et options potentielles dans le rapport).

Aujourd’hui, le Conseil a publié Appel aux observations sur la politique du Conseil relative aux dépenses en émissions canadiennes, avis de consultation CRTC 2019-91, 28 mars 2019. Dans l’optique de mettre à jour sa politique actuelle en matière de DÉC, énoncée dans La présentation de rapports sur les dépenses au titre des émissions canadiennes, Avis public CRTC 1993-93, 22 juin 1993, le Conseil lance un appel aux observations sur, entre autres choses,  la possibilité d’autoriser les titulaires à comptabiliser des dépenses associées à leurs activités de radiodiffusion de médias numériques afin de satisfaire à leurs exigences en matière de DÉC. 

Par l’entremise de la présente lettre, le Conseil demande votre aide afin de satisfaire à son objectif de mise à jour de sa politique de DÉC actuelle. Plus précisément, le Conseil demande des données sur les dépenses et revenus associés à vos activités de radiodiffusion de médias numériques, y compris les volets en ligne associés aux services autorisés et à toute autre service de radiodiffusion de médias numériques.

À l’aide du gabarit en format Excel ci-joint, veuillez fournir des données sur les dépenses et revenus par service pour chacune des années de radiodiffusion 2015-2016, 2016-2017 et 2017-2018. Veuillez créer un onglet pour chaque service. Il n’est pas nécessaire de fournir des données relatives aux services de vidéo sur demande hybrides (VSDH), pour lesquels vous rendez déjà des comptes au Conseil dans le cadre de vos rapports financiers annuels.

Veuillez noter que le Conseil peut publier certaines des données recueillies au moyen de cette demande de renseignements, sous forme agrégée.

Il est possible que vous ayez des préoccupations en raison de la nature sensible sur le plan commercial des renseignements que nous demandons. Vous pourriez également demander des précisions sur la procédure de désignation des renseignements que vous déposez à titre confidentiel et leur divulgation potentielle. Conformément à sa pratique générale, le Conseil appliquera les articles 30 à 34 de ses Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes en ce qui a trait aux demandes de confidentialité. Ainsi, les critères suivants, énoncés dans Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010 (bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961) s’appliqueront :

Pour obtenir des informations supplémentaires, veuillez consulter le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961, ainsi que Mise en œuvre de nouvelles Règles de pratique et de procédure, politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-958, 23 décembre 2010.

Si vous avez des questions concernant cette demande de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Nicolas Gatto en composant le 873-353-9280 ou par courriel à l’adresse nicolas.gatto@crtc.gc.ca.

   

Veuillez soumettre les renseignements demandés au plus tard le 11 avril 2019. Merci de votre participation.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Noah Moser
Directeur
Analyse financière et technologie multiplateforme

Liste de distribution
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network Incorporated
Accessible Media Inc.
Allarco (Superchannel)
BCE Inc.
Blue Ant Media Inc.
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Channel Zero
CHEK News
Corus Entertainment Inc.
Crossroads Television System
DHX Media Ltd.
Fairchild Property Group Ltd.
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group Ltd.
Les Placements Péladeau inc.
Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Ltd.
Remstar Diffusion inc. (V Média)
RNC Média inc.
Rogers Communications Inc.
TV5 Québec Canada
ZoomerMedia


Demande de renseignements : Examen de la politique en matière de DÉC

Nom du service

Type de service :  
Revenus – Partie A: 
Revenus tirés des abonnements:                    
Revenus publicitaires:            
Autres revenus (préciser le type):
Revenu total:

Est-ce que certains de ces revenus sont inclus dans d’autres rapports au CRTC?               

Dans l’affirmative, veuillez indiquer quelles lignes et dans quels rapports au CRTC concernés. 

Dépenses – Partie B

Dépenses liées au contenu:
Dépenses liées à la production de contenus:
Dépenses liées à la réaffectation de contenus:                  
Dépenses liées à l’acquisition de contenus (y compris les droits de licence et les redevances):    
Autres dépenses liées au contenu (préciser le type) :          
Dépenses totales liées au contenu:
Dépenses non liées au contenu: 
Dépenses techniques:            
Ventes et promotion:              
Dépenses d'administration et frais généraux:                      
Autres dépenses non liées au contenu (préciser le type)  :              
Dépenses totales non liées au contenu:
Dépenses totales:

Dépenses en émissions canadiennes

Dépenses liées à la production de contenu canadien:                      
Dépenses liées à la réaffectation de contenu canadien:                
Dépenses liées à l’acquisition de contenu canadien (y compris les droits de licence et les redevances) :                     
Autres dépenses liées au contenu canadien (préciser le type):
Dépenses totales liées au contenu canadien:

Est-ce que certaines de ces dépenses sont incluses dans d’autres rapports au CRTC?

Dans l’affirmative, veuillez indiquer quelles lignes et dans quels rapports au CRTC concernés.

Date de modification :