Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-420-2

PDF version

References: 2019-420 and 2019-420-1

Ottawa, 30 April 2020

Public record: 1011-NOC2019-0420

Call for comments – Access to in-building wire in multi-dwelling units – Change to procedure

Suspension of the 8 June 2020 deadline for the submission of reply comments

Introduction

  1. In Telecom Notice of Consultation 2019-420 and Telecom Notice of Consultation 2019-420-1 (collectively, the notice), the Commission established, then revised, deadlines for the submission of interventions and reply comments for this proceeding. The original deadlines of 2 April and 4 May 2020, respectively, were revised to 7 May and 8 June 2020, respectively, to support the ability of parties to participate in this proceeding in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.
  2. The Commission received an application from Bell Canada, dated 15 April 2020, in which the company requested that the Commission suspend the revised deadlines until
    1. the Commission determines that the unprecedented situation resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic has ended;
    2. Bell Canada has sufficient time (taking into account the continuing and evolving COVID-19 pandemic situation) to assess, evaluate, and analyze information on the state of its fibre in-building wire (IBW) at the various multi-dwelling unit (MDU) addresses, which it is due to receive by 11 May 2020 from local exchange carriers (LECs) and carrier Internet service providers (ISPs) that were using its IBW on 16 December 2019, pursuant to the Commission’s direction in Telecom Decision 2020-122; or
    3. such other date as the Commission considers just and reasonable in the unique circumstances of this proceeding.
  3. The Commission received interventions regarding Bell Canada’s request from Cloudwifi Inc. (Cloudwifi); Cogeco Communications inc., on behalf of Cogeco Connexion Inc.; the Public Interest Advocacy Centre; Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of Videotron Ltd. (Videotron); Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI); Shaw Cablesystems G.P.; TekSavvy Solutions Inc.; and TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI). Bell Canada submitted reply comments on 23 April 2020.

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. The Commission notes that, in addition to commenting on Bell Canada’s request, some interveners introduced other matters in their submissions. For example, Cloudwifi and Videotron submitted that if the Commission were to grant a further delay in the proceeding, it should establish an interim access regime, which is currently the subject of another active proceeding. Videotron also referred to a July 2019 request it made for access to Bell Canada’s fibre IBW. Further, RCCI and TCI requested lists of the MDU addresses where LECs and carrier ISPs were using their fibre IBW, although Telecom Decision 2020-122 only dealt with lists of connections related to Bell Canada’s fibre IBW because it was those connections that were grandfathered as part of the Cloudwifi/Bell Canada dispute.
  2. The Commission considers that all of these matters are beyond the scope of Bell Canada’s original procedural request and has only considered matters in parties’ submissions that are directly related to the procedural request. In addition, the Commission accepts Bell Canada’s reply comments only to the extent that they are within the scope of its procedural request.
  3. The Commission considers that Bell Canada and other parties were provided a reasonable opportunity to develop their interventions over the past several months since this proceeding was initiated in 2019. In addition, Bell Canada has been involved in several previous proceedings related to IBW since the summer of 2018; accordingly, the Commission considers that the company would have relevant information and resources at its disposal in order to prepare an intervention. Given that restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic were imposed beginning in mid-March 2020, interested parties had approximately 10 weeks to prepare submissions before regular work schedules may have been disrupted. As a result, the Commission considers that it would not be appropriate to suspend the entire proceeding until the COVID-19 pandemic has ended, the time frame of which is not known at this point.
  4. Regarding Bell Canada’s request for sufficient time (taking into account the COVID-19 pandemic situation) to assess, evaluate, and analyze the state of its fibre IBW at various MDUs based on the lists it is due to receive by 11 May 2020, the Commission does not consider that this activity is necessary in order for Bell Canada to submit an intervention in response to the notice.
  5. However, the Commission considers that it would be appropriate to provide for a more flexible proceeding schedule, if necessary, to account for any relevant new information Bell Canada may receive in response to Telecom Decision 2020-122. The Commission considers that this can be achieved by (i) maintaining the 7 May 2020 intervention deadline, but suspending the 8 June 2020 reply comment deadline until further notice; and (ii) inviting parties, in their interventions that are due on 7 May 2020, to include arguments for or against additional process to account for Bell Canada’s findings regarding the lists required by Telecom Decision 2020-122.
  6. Accordingly, the Commission maintains the current 7 May 2020 intervention deadline, but suspends the 8 June 2020 reply comment deadline, until further notice, to allow for additional process, if necessary.
  7. The Commission will consider any arguments for or against additional process related to the information Bell Canada expects to receive in response to Telecom Decision 2020-122 that are included in parties’ interventions. The Commission will establish additional process, as required, as well as a new reply comment deadline, following its review of the interventions.

Secretary General

Related documents

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-420-2

Version PDF

Références : 2019-420 et 2019-420-1

Ottawa, le 30 avril 2020

Dossier public :1011-NOC2019-0420

Appel aux observations – Accès au câblage d’immeuble dans les immeubles à logements multiples – Changement à la procédure

Suspension de la date limite du 8 juin 2020 pour la présentation des observations en réplique

Introduction

  1. Dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2019-420 et l’avis de consultation de télécom 2019-420-1 (collectivement l’avis), le Conseil a établi, puis révisé, les dates limites pour la présentation des interventions et des observations en réplique liées à la présente instance. Les dates limites initiales du 2 avril et du 4 mai 2020, respectivement, ont été révisées au 7 mai et au 8 juin 2020, respectivement, pour permettre aux parties de participer à la présente instance compte tenu de la pandémie de la COVID-19.
  2. Le Conseil a reçu une demande de Bell Canada, datée du 15 avril 2020, dans laquelle la compagnie a demandé que le Conseil suspende les dates limites révisées jusqu’à ce que :  
    1. le Conseil détermine que la situation sans précédent découlant de la pandémie de la COVID-19 est terminée;
    2. Bell Canada ait eu suffisamment de temps (compte tenu de la situation de la pandémie de la COVID-19 continue et changeante) pour observer, évaluer et analyser les renseignements sur l’état de son câblage d’immeuble par fibre aux différentes adresses d’immeubles à logements multiples (ILM) qu’elle doit recevoir, au plus tard le 11 mai 2020, des entreprises de services locaux et des entreprises fournisseurs de services Internet qui, au 16 décembre 2019 et aux termes de la directive du Conseil dans la décision de télécom 2020-122, ont utilisé son câblage d’immeuble;
    3. le Conseil détermine une autre date qu’il estime juste et raisonnable dans les circonstances uniques de la présente instance.
  3. Le Conseil a reçu des interventions concernant la demande de Bell Canada de la part du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public, de Cloudwifi Inc. (Cloudwifi); de Cogeco Communications inc. au nom de Cogeco Connexion Inc.; de Québecor Média Inc. au nom de Vidéotron ltée (Vidéotron); de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI); de Shaw Cablesystems G.P.; de TekSavvy Solutions Inc. et de TELUS Communications Inc. (TCI). Bell Canada a soumis des observations en réplique le 23 avril 2020.

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Le Conseil fait remarquer que, en plus de formuler des observations sur la demande de Bell Canada, certains intervenants ont présenté d’autres questions dans leurs observations. Par exemple, Cloudwifi et Vidéotron ont fait valoir que si le Conseil devait accorder un nouveau délai à l’instance, il devrait établir un régime d’accès provisoire, qui fait actuellement l’objet d’une autre instance en cours. Vidéotron a également fait référence à une demande d’accès au câblage d’immeuble par fibre de Bell Canada qu’elle a présentée en juillet 2019. En outre, RCCI et TCI ont demandé des listes d’adresses d’ILM où des entreprises de services locaux et des entreprises fournisseurs de services Internet utilisaient leur câblage d’immeuble par fibre, bien que la décision de télécom 2020-122 n’a traité que des listes de connexions liées au câblage d’immeuble par fibre de Bell Canada, car ce sont ces connexions qui ont fait l’objet d’un droit acquis dans le cadre du différend Cloudwifi/Bell Canada.
  2. Le Conseil estime que toutes ces questions dépassent la portée de la demande  procédurale initiale de Bell Canada et n’a examiné que les questions figurant dans les observations des parties qui sont directement liées à la demande procédurale. En outre, le Conseil n’accepte les observations en réplique de Bell Canada que dans la mesure où elles s’inscrivent dans le cadre de sa demande procédurale.
  3. Le Conseil estime que Bell Canada et les autres parties ont eu une occasion raisonnable d’élaborer leurs interventions au cours des derniers mois, puisque la présente instance a été amorcée en 2019. En outre, Bell Canada a déjà participé à plusieurs instances liées au câblage d’immeuble depuis l’été 2018. Par conséquent, le Conseil estime que l’entreprise devrait disposer des renseignements et des ressources nécessaires pour préparer une intervention. Étant donné que les restrictions liées à la pandémie de la COVID-19 ont été imposées à compter de la mi-mars 2020, les parties intéressées ont eu environ 10 semaines pour préparer leurs mémoires avant que les horaires de travail habituels ne soient perturbés. En conséquence, le Conseil est d’avis qu’il ne serait pas approprié de suspendre l’ensemble de l’instance tant que la pandémie de la COVID-19, dont sa durée est toujours indéterminée, n’est pas terminée.
  4. En ce qui concerne la demande de Bell Canada d’obtenir un délai suffisant (compte tenu de la situation de pandémie de la COVID-19) pour observer, évaluer et analyser l’état de son câblage d’immeuble par fibre aux différents ILM en fonction des listes qu’elle doit recevoir au plus tard le 11 mai 2020, le Conseil estime que cette activité n’est pas nécessaire pour que Bell Canada puisse soumettre une intervention en réplique à l’avis.
  5. Toutefois, le Conseil estime qu’il serait approprié de prévoir un calendrier d’instance plus souple, au besoin, pour tenir compte de tout nouveau renseignement pertinent que Bell Canada pourrait recevoir en réponse à la décision de télécom 2020-122. Le Conseil estime que cet objectif peut être atteint i) en maintenant la date limite de dépôt d’intervention au 7 mai 2020, mais en suspendant la date limite de dépôt des observations en réplique jusqu’à nouvel ordre; et ii) en invitant les parties à inclure des arguments pour ou contre un processus supplémentaire dans leurs interventions qui sont dues le 7 mai 2020, afin de tenir compte des conclusions de Bell Canada concernant les listes requises dans le cadre de la décision de télécom 2020-122.
  6. En conséquence, le Conseil maintient la date limite de dépôt d’intervention actuelle du 7 mai 2020, mais suspend la date limite de dépôt des observations en réplique du 8 juin 2020, jusqu’à nouvel ordre, pour permettre un processus supplémentaire, au besoin.
  7. Le Conseil examinera tout argument pour ou contre une procédure supplémentaire liée aux renseignements que Bell Canada s’attend à recevoir en réponse à la décision de télécom 2020-122 et qui sont inclus dans les interventions des parties. Le Conseil établira un processus supplémentaire, au besoin, ainsi qu’une nouvelle date limite de dépôt pour les observations en réplique après avoir examiné les interventions.

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

Date de modification :