Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-379-3

PDF version

References: 2019-379, 2019-379-1 and 2019-379-2

Ottawa, 22 June 2020

Public record: 1011-NOC2019-0379

Notice of hearing

11 January 2021 (previously 25 May 2020)
Gatineau, Quebec

Change of hearing date

Additional information added to the public record

New deadline for submission of interventions/comments/answers for additional information only: 13 July 2020

New deadline for submission of the licensee’s replies: 23 July 2020

[Submit an intervention/comment/answer or view related documents]

Change of hearing date

  1. In Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2019-379, the Commission announced that it would hold a hearing to begin on 25 May 2020 to consider applications by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation/Société Radio-Canada (the Corporation) to renew the broadcasting licences for its various English- and French-language audio and audiovisual programming services. In Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2019-379-2, the Commission indicated that, in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, it was postponing that hearing and would be announcing a new hearing date at a later time.
  2. In regard to the above, the Commission announces the following (change in bold): The Commission will hold a hearing commencing on 11 January 2021 at 9 a.m. at the Conference Centre, Phase IV, 140 Promenade du Portage, Gatineau, Quebec.

Additional information added to the public record

  1. During the intervention period ending on 13 February 2020,Footnote 1 interveners expressed concerns over a lack of transparency by the Corporation in regard to information on digital revenues and expenses. In response, the Corporation committed to submit additional financial information pertaining to its digital activities.
  2. The Commission considers that this new information will assist the Commission and parties to the proceeding in understanding the Corporation’s digital activities and its future plans for those activities. Therefore, the Commission has added the new information submitted by the Corporation to the public record for this proceeding.

New deadlines for submission of interventions and the licensee’s replies with respect to the additional information added to the public record only

  1. Given the depth and nature of the new information, the Commission determines that it would be appropriate to re-open the intervention period for interested persons and for any party to this proceeding to make submissions regarding the new information only. The Corporation may then file its reply to those new interventions.
  2. Accordingly, the Commission has opened a new intervention period with respect to the new information only. The deadline to submit interventions/comments/answers in regard that new information is 13 July 2020. Interventions that fall outside the scope of this additional information will not be considered by the Commission. The deadline for the submission of replies by the Corporation is 23 July 2020.

Secretary General

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-379-3

Version PDF

Références : 2019-379, 2019-379-1 et 2019-379-2

Ottawa, le 22 juin 2020

Dossier public : 1011-NOC2019-0379

Avis d’audience

11 janvier 2021 (auparavant le 25 mai 2020)
Gatineau (Québec)

Modification à la date de l’audience

Renseignements additionnels ajoutés au dossier public

Nouvelle date limite pour le dépôt des interventions/observations/réponses uniquement à l’égard des renseignements additionnels : 13 juillet 2020

Nouvelle date limite pour le dépôt des répliques du titulaire : 23 juillet 2020

[Soumettre une intervention/observation/réponse ou consulter les documents connexes]

Modification à la date de l’audience

  1. Dans l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2019-379, le Conseil a annoncé qu’il tiendrait une audience débutant le 25 mai 2020 pour examiner les demandes présentées par la Société Radio-Canada/Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (la Société) en vue de renouveler les licences de radiodiffusion pour ses divers services de programmation audio et audiovisuels de langue française et de langue anglaise. Dans l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2019-379-2, le Conseil a indiqué que, compte tenu de la pandémie de COVID-19, il reportait cette audience et que la date de la nouvelle audience serait annoncée ultérieurement.
  2. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil annonce ce qui suit (les changements sont en caractères gras) : Le Conseil tiendra une audience débutant le 11 janvier 2021 à 9 h, au Centre de conférences, Phase IV, 140, promenade du Portage, Gatineau (Québec).

Renseignements additionnels ajoutés au dossier public

  1. Au cours de la période de dépôt des interventions se terminant le 13 février 2020Note de bas de page 1, des intervenants ont exprimé des préoccupations portant sur un manque de transparence de la part de la Société à l’égard des renseignements au sujet des revenus et dépenses du numérique. En réponse, la Société s’est engagée à soumettre des renseignements financiers additionnels en ce qui concerne ses activités numériques.
  2. Le Conseil estime que ces nouveaux renseignements aideront le Conseil et les parties à la présente instance dans leur compréhension des activités numériques de la Société et de ses plans futurs pour ces activités. Le Conseil a donc ajouté les nouveaux renseignements soumis par la Société au dossier public de la présente instance.

Nouvelle date limite pour le dépôt d’interventions et des réponses du titulaire uniquement à l’égard des renseignements additionnels ajoutés au dossier public

  1. Compte tenu de la teneur et la nature de ces nouveaux renseignements, le Conseil estime qu’il serait approprié de rouvrir la période de dépôt d’interventions pour les personnes intéressées et toute partie à la présente instance afin qu’elles puissent soumettre des interventions uniquement à l’égard des nouveaux renseignements.
  2. Par conséquent, le Conseil a ouvert une nouvelle période de dépôt d’interventions uniquement à l’égard des nouveaux renseignements. La date limite pour le dépôt des interventions/observations/réponses à l’égard de ces nouveaux renseignements est le 13 juillet 2020. Les interventions qui ne porteront pas sur ces renseignements additionnels ne seront pas prises en compte par le Conseil. La date limite pour le dépôt de la réplique de la Société est le 23 juillet 2020.

Secrétaire général

Date de modification :