Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to Peggy Tabet and Kevin Goldstein (Québécor Média inc. and Bell Canada )

Ottawa, 18 October 2017

Our reference: 2017-0908-1

BY EMAIL

Peggy Tabet
Senior Director, Regulatory Affairs, Broadcasting
Québécor Média inc.
tabet.peggy@quebecor.com

Kevin Goldstein
Vice-President, Legal and Regulatory Affairs
Bell Canada
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re: Request for final offer arbitration (2017-0908-1) with respect to TVA Sports

Dear Ms. Tabet and Mr. Goldstein:

Pursuant to sections 14(1) of the Discretionary Services Regulations, sections12 to 15 of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations and Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637 (Information Bulletin 2013-637), this letter is to advise the parties that the request by Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), on behalf of Groupe TVA inc. (TVA), for final offer arbitration (FOA) with Bell TV, a subsidiary of BCE inc. (Bell), has been accepted by the Commission.

This letter sets out the matter upon which the Commission will make a determination, the dates of the FOA process and the procedure to be followed.

The Commission strives to release FOA decisions as expeditiously as possible. However, any procedural issues that arise may result in delays to the applicable timelines (see details in the attached Procedural Appendix).

The application

On 15 September 2017, the Commission received an application for FOA from Québecor, pursuant to section 14(1) of the Discretionary Services Regulations and sections 12 to 15 of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations, to establish the rate for linear distribution of TVA Sports 1, 2 and 3 (TVA Sports) by Bell in the Francophone market.

Québecor noted that, despite negotiation efforts to reach a mutual agreement, the parties were at an impasse, and third-party intervention had become necessary.  Québecor indicated that the dispute is an appropriate matter for the Commission’s dispute resolution process, for the following reasons:

In its response dated 20 September 2017, Bell indicated that it also wished to use the Commission’s FOA process. However, Bell also indicated that it did not agree with the rate structure proposed by Québecor, or with the length of the agreement for which the FOA rates would apply.

On 22 September 2017, Québecor asked the Commission to address these two issues regarding the structure and term for the FOA.

On 27 September 2017, Bell indicated that it was ready to accept Québecor’s proposal (with respect to FOA rate structure and term), to facilitate the process.

Decision
Upon review of the record, the Commission considers that FOA is the appropriate method of dispute resolution in this case, as the dispute is exclusively monetary, involves only two parties, and otherwise meets the criteria for dispute resolution set out in paragraph 4 of Information Bulletin 2013-637. Accordingly, the Commission accepts the application for final offer arbitration.

In accordance with paragraph 21 of Information Bulletin 2013-637, the matter upon which the Commission will make a determination is as follows:

The Commission advises parties that other matters relating to the distribution of TVA Sports by Bell will not be considered as part of this proceeding and are left to negotiation between the parties.
Accordingly, the parties’ offers must be limited to per subscriber rates for linear distribution of TVA Sports in the Francophone market.

The Commission will examine the final offers submitted by the parties and will select one in its entirety. Footnote1The Commission’s decision will be binding on the parties.

Filing of documents
The Commission requires that, by 2 November 2017, the parties each file their final offers with the Commission. Refer to the attached Appendix for the procedure to be followed in the filing of documents, in addition to Information Bulletin 2013-637.

When preparing your arguments, please refer, where applicable, to the criteria for fair market value set out in the Wholesale Code, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-438. As noted in the Interpretation of the Wholesale Code, Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2015-440, the Commission will determine which fair market value factors are applicable in a given case and assess proposed rates or final offers in relation to those factors. In addition, the Commission will apply, where appropriate, a public interest test that examines whether the proposed wholesale rates are consistent with the relevant public policy objectives.
To complete the record, Québecor must also provide the following information, in Excel format if possible, by 2 November 2017:

  1. affiliation agreements in effect between TVA and other BDUs in the Francophone market for the distribution of TVA Sports;
  2. for each BDU that distributes TVA Sports:
    1. wholesale rates broken down by distribution a) in a preassembled or build-your-own package, and b) on a standalone basis;
    2. current number of subscribers and actual penetration level of TVA Sports; and
    3. applicable volume discount.
  3. data on the tuning or viewership to TVA Sports 1, 2 and 3, separately, including a) average minutes watched, and b) total number of hours watched, for each month since the beginning of the last agreement to the present.

To complete the record, Bell must also provide the following information, in Excel format if possible, by 2 November 2017:

  1. the latest affiliation agreement between Bell and TVA for the distribution of TVA Sports;
  2. current number of subscribers to TVA Sports by Bell, for each month since the beginning of the last agreement to the present, a) in a preassembled or build-your-own package, and b) on a standalone basis, as well as the applicable rate for each;
  3. wholesale rates paid by Bell for other sports services (Canadian and foreign) in preassembled or build-your-own packages;
  4. current number of subscribers to each sports service (Canadian and foreign) distributed by Bell;
  5. current number of subscribers to each package offered by Bell that includes a sports service, as well as the names of the services included in each package;
  6. the retail rate for each package offered by Bell that includes a sports service, and the individual wholesale rates for each service included in such packages; and
  7. current tuning to TVA Sports 1, 2 and 3, separately, as well as all other sports services offered by Bell (e.g., set top box data, average minute audience, total number of hours watched), if the data are available, for each month since the beginning of the last agreement to the present.

By 7 November 2017, once Commission staff has confirmed that the offers respond to the identified disputed matter, Commission staff will forward to each of the parties a copy of the other party’s offer.
The parties will have until 14 November 2017 to file comments on the other party’s final offer with the Commission, and to serve a copy of these comments on the other party. However, parties will not be authorized to amend their offers.

Any documents filed with the Commission should be filed via the secure service “My CRTC Account (GCKey or Partner Log In)” using the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” on the web page and quoting the application number noted above.

Responsibilities of the parties

Parties may contact Julia Bresee at 819-997-1194 or at julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca if they require additional information regarding the organization and conduct of the final offer proceeding.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date. In addition to filing with the Commission via My CRTC Account, all copies of submissions are to be sent to julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely yours,

Scott Hutton
Acting Secretary General

Procedural Appendix

Parties should be aware that deviation from the final offer arbitration process set out in Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637 may result in delays to the applicable timelines.

General process

As set out in the Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637, FOA usually involves a two-step process: (1) the submission of the final offer and (2) comments.

Parties are responsible for including concise supporting arguments stating all the facts when they file their final offers.  Since the purpose of the comments is to allow each party to comment on the other party’s final offer, procedural fairness requires that the parties’ entire positions be put forth at the beginning of the process (i.e., as part of the final offer).  It is inappropriate to file new evidence and formulate new arguments as part of the comments, if such evidence or arguments could have been filed or formulated when filing the final offers.
Accordingly, the process does not generally provide for parties to file a reply to comments as part of the usual final offer arbitration process.

In the event that a party considers that new evidence or argument has been filed in the context of the comment phase, parties may request from the Commission, in writing, a right of reply, with supporting rationale for the request.

Filing of documents
Generally, there are three versions of each document filed with the Commission in the context of an FOA proceeding:  a version to be placed on the public record (which generally omits details pertaining to the final offers, for instance), a version to be provided to the other party to the FOA (which generally omits certain details which are commercially sensitive), and a full version (containing all confidential information) for the CRTC.

The onus is on each party to ensure that its own sensitive information has been treated appropriately by the other party to the FOA, in reviewing the public versions submitted to the CRTC.

In submitting their filings, parties must clearly designate each version, by marking the following at the top of every page of the submission:

Parties must follow the following naming convention in filing documents via GC key:

All public versions of documents must be provided at the same time as the confidential version, as well as any translations that may be provided.

Confidentiality

In accordance with paragraph 40 of Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637, existing Commission confidentiality rules and practices will apply throughout the FOA proceedings.  The applicable rules and practices are set out in the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules) and described in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961.

Section 31(1) of the Rules provides that in broadcasting matters, a party may designate information related to the following as confidential:

Section 31(2) of the Rules provides that the party must make the designation at the time that they file the document that contains the information. Moreover, the party that designates information as confidential must provide reasons, as well as any supporting documents, why the disclosure of the information would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest.

[These sections are only an excerpt of the applicable Rules.]

Matters with respect to confidentiality can be set out in a covering letter to the party’s final offer or comment submission, and will not be counted toward the page limits set out in Information Bulletin 2013-637.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du procédurale adressée à Peggy Tabet et Kevin Goldstein (Québécor Média inc. et Bell Canada)

Ottawa, le 18 octobre 2017

Notre référence : 2017-0908-1

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Peggy Tabet
Directrice principale, Affaires réglementaires Radiodiffusion
Québécor Média inc.
tabet.peggy@quebecor.com

Monsieur Kevin Goldstein
Vice-président, Affaires juridiques et réglementaires
Bell Canada
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Demande d’arbitrage de l’offre finale (2017-0908-1) concernant TVA Sports

Madame, Monsieur :

Conformément à l’article 14(1) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs, aux articles 12 à 15 du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion et au Bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication CRTC 2013-637 (le bulletin d’information 2013-637), le Conseil, par la présente, avise les parties qu’il accepte la demande d’arbitrage de l’offre finale (AOF) présentée par Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), au nom de Groupe TVA inc. (TVA), aux fins du règlement d’un différend avec Bell Télé, une filiale de BCE inc. (Bell).
Dans la présente lettre sur le déroulement, le Conseil définit la question sur laquelle le Conseil se prononcera, fixe les dates du processus d’AOF et décrit la procédure à suivre.
Le Conseil s’efforce de rendre ses décisions d’AOF le plus rapidement possible. Par contre, toute question procédurale peut entraîner des retards aux délais prévus (voir les détails dans l’Annexe sur les règles de procédures ci-jointe).
La demande
Le 15 septembre 2017, le Conseil a reçu une demande d’AOF de Québecor, en vertu des articles 14(1) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs et des articles 12 à 15 du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion, aux fins d’établir le tarif pour la distribution linéaire dans le marché francophone de TVA Sports 1, 2 et 3 (TVA Sports) par Bell.

Québecor a noté que, malgré les efforts de négociation effectués en vue de conclure un accord de gré à gré, les parties se retrouvent dans une impasse, et que l’intervention d’une tierce partie s’avère nécessaire.  Québecor indique que le différend se prête au processus de règlement de différends, puisqu’il remplit les caractéristiques suivantes :

Dans sa réponse datée du 20 septembre 2017, Bell a indiqué qu’elle souhaite aussi avoir recours au processus d’AOF du Conseil. Cependant, Bell a indiqué qu’elle n’est pas d’accord avec la structure tarifaire proposée par Québecor, ni la durée de l’entente visée par les tarifs décidés dans l’AOF.
Le 22 septembre 2017, Québecor a demandé au Conseil de trancher les deux questions de structure et de durée lors du déclenchement de l’AOF.

Le 27 septembre 2017, Bell a indiqué qu’elle est prête à accepter la proposition de Québecor (quant à la structure et la durée des tarifs de l’AOF), afin de faciliter le processus.

Décision
Après examen du dossier, le Conseil estime que l’AOF constitue le mécanisme de règlement approprié dans ce cas puisque le différend est de nature exclusivement pécuniaire, qu’il n’oppose que deux parties et qu’il satisfait par ailleurs aux critères permettant le recours aux processus de règlement des différends du Conseil énoncés au paragraphe 4 du bulletin d’information 2013-637. Par conséquent, le Conseil accepte la demande d’arbitrage de l’offre finale.
Conformément au paragraphe 21 du bulletin d’information 2013-637, le Conseil prendra une décision sur l’élément suivant :

Le Conseil informe les parties que les autres questions relatives à la distribution de TVA Sports par Bell ne seront pas examinées dans le cadre de l’instance et devront faire l’objet de négociations entre les parties.
Par conséquent, dans les offres qu’elles présentent, les parties doivent uniquement proposer les tarifs, par abonné, pour la distribution linéaire de TVA Sports applicable dans le marché de langue française.

Le Conseil examinera les offres finales que lui soumettront les parties et il en choisira une dans son intégralité. Note de bas de page1 La décision du Conseil sera exécutoire pour les deux parties.

Documents à déposer
Le Conseil exige que chacune des parties lui présente son offre finale avant le 2 novembre 2017. Veuillez consulter l’annexe sur la procédure ci-jointe et le Bulletin 2013-637 pour la procédure à suivre dans le dépôt de documents.

En préparant votre argumentaire, veuillez consulter, s’il y a lieu, les critères pour la juste valeur marchande énoncés dans la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-438, intitulée Code sur la vente en gros. Tel qu’il est noté dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-440, intitulé Interprétation du Code sur la vente en gros, le Conseil déterminera quels sont les facteurs de juste valeur marchande à appliquer dans un cas donné et il évaluera les propositions de tarifs ou les offres finales en fonction de ces facteurs. De plus, s’il y a lieu, le Conseil procédera à un test d’intérêt public pour vérifier si les tarifs de gros proposés sont conformes aux objectifs pertinents de politique publique.

Afin de compléter le dossier, Québecor doit également fournir les renseignements suivants, en format Excel lorsque possible, avant le 2 novembre 2017:

  1. les ententes d’affiliation en vigueur entre TVA et les autres EDR dans le marché francophone pour la distribution de TVA Sports;
  2. pour chaque EDR qui distribue TVA Sports :
    1. les tarifs de gros payés répartis selon la distribution a) dans un forfait préassemblé ou sur mesure, et b) à la carte;
    2. le nombre d’abonnés actuel et le niveau réel de pénétration de TVA Sports; et
    3. le rabais au volume applicable, le cas échéant.
  3. les données sur la cote d’écoute ou l’effectif-téléspectateurs pour TVA Sports 1, 2 et 3, séparément, incluant a) la moyenne de minutes d’écoute, et b) le nombre total heures d’écoute, pour chaque mois depuis le début de la dernière entente jusqu’au présent.

Afin de compléter le dossier, Bell doit également fournir les renseignements suivants, en format Excel lorsque possible, avant le 2 novembre 2017:

  1. la plus récente entente d’affiliation conclue entre Bell et TVA pour la distribution de TVA Sports;
  2. le nombre actuel d’abonnés de TVA Sports sur Bell, pour chaque mois depuis le début de la dernière entente jusqu’au présent, a) dans le cas de forfaits préassemblés et sur mesure, et b) sur une base individuelle, ainsi que le tarif applicable dans le cas de chacune de ces offres;
  3. les tarifs de gros payés par Bell pour les autres services de sports (canadiens et étrangers) offerts en forfaits préassemblés ou sur mesure;
  4. le nombre actuel d’abonnés à chaque service de sports (canadien et étranger) distribué par Bell;
  5. le nombre actuel d’abonnés à chaque forfait offert par Bell qui inclut un service de sports, ainsi que le nom des services compris dans chaque forfait;
  6. le tarif de détail applicable à chaque forfait offert par Bell qui inclut un service de sports, ainsi que les tarifs de gros individuels à l’égard de chacun des services compris dans ces forfaits; et
  7. la cote d’écoute actuelle de TVA Sports 1, 2 et 3, séparément, ainsi que celle de tous les autres services de sports offerts par Bell (p. ex., données provenant des boîtiers décodeurs, auditoire moyen par minute, total des heures d’écoute), si les données sont disponibles, pour chaque mois depuis le début de la dernière entente jusqu’au présent.

Au plus tard le 7 novembre 2017, après avoir confirmé que les offres répondent à la portée de l’instance, le personnel du Conseil enverra à chaque partie une copie de l’offre de l’autre partie.

Les parties auront jusqu’au 14 novembre 2017 pour déposer auprès du Conseil leurs observations sur l’offre finale de l’autre partie et pour en signifier copie à l’autre partie. Toutefois, elles ne seront pas autorisées à modifier leur offre.

Tout dépôt de documents auprès du Conseil doit être fait en utilisant le service sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Partenaire de connexion ou CléGC) et en remplissant le document « Page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion » situé sur la même page Web; il faut en outre indiquer le numéro de la demande qui figure en objet.

Responsabilités des parties

Si elles souhaitent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les modalités et le déroulement de l’instance d’arbitrage, les parties peuvent communiquer avec Julia Bresee, au 819-997-1194, ou à l’adresse julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca.

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu et non pas seulement envoyé, au plus tard à cette date. En plus de déposer tous les documents en question auprès du Conseil en utilisant « Mon compte CRTC », il faut en envoyer une copie à l’adresse julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca.
Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le Secrétaire général par intérim,
Scott Hutton

Annexe sur les règles de procédures

Les parties doivent noter que toute déviation par rapport au processus d’arbitrage de l’offre finale décrit dans le Bulletin d’information CRTC 2013-637 peut causer des retards aux délais applicables.

Processus général

Comme l’explique le Bulletin d’information CRTC 2013-637, le processus d’AOF passe habituellement par deux étapes : 1) la présentation de l’offre finale et 2) les observations.

Les parties doivent adjoindre à l’appui de leur offre finale des arguments concis énonçant tous les faits au moment du dépôt de leur offre finale. Comme les observations ont pour but de permettre aux parties de commenter l’offre finale de l’autre partie, l’équité procédurale exige que chacune expose sa position au début du processus (c’est-à-dire au dépôt de l’offre finale). Ainsi, dans le cadre des observations, il est inapproprié pour une partie de déposer de nouvelles preuves ou de formuler de nouveaux arguments qu’elle aurait pu déposer ou formuler au moment du dépôt de son offre finale.

Par conséquent, le processus habituel d’arbitrage de l’offre finale ne permet généralement pas aux parties de déposer une réplique aux observations.

Si une partie juge que de nouvelles preuves ont été déposées ou que de nouveaux arguments ont été formulés dans le cadre des observations, elle peut s’adresser par écrit au Conseil pour demander un droit de réplique, avec justification à l’appui.

Dépôt des documents

En général, lors d’une procédure d’AOF, trois versions de chaque document sont déposées auprès du Conseil : une version devant être versée dans le dossier public (dans laquelle sont généralement omis certains détails des offres finales, par exemple); une version devant être remise à l’autre partie à l’AOF (dans laquelle sont généralement omis certains détails sensibles sur le plan commercial); et une version intégrale (contenant tous les renseignements confidentiels) pour le CRTC.

Il incombe à chaque partie à l’AOF de vérifier les versions publiques soumises au CRTC pour s’assurer que ses propres renseignements sensibles ont été traités de façon appropriée par l’autre partie.

Au moment de leur dépôt, les parties doivent désigner clairement chaque version, en inscrivant dans le haut de chaque page de la présentation :

Lors du dépôt de documents au moyen d’une CléGC, les parties doivent suivre les règles suivantes d’affectation des noms :

Toutes les versions publiques des documents doivent être remises en même temps que les versions confidentielles, de même que toutes les traductions, le cas échéant.

Confidentialité

Conformément au paragraphe 40 du Bulletin d’information CRTC 2013-637, les règles et les pratiques actuelles du Conseil en matière de confidentialité s’appliquent tout au long des instances d’AOF. Les règles et les pratiques en question sont énoncées dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure) et décrites dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961.

Le paragraphe 31(1) des Règles de procédure énonce qu’en matière de radiodiffusion, une partie peut désigner comme confidentiels les renseignements qui concernent les éléments suivants :

Le paragraphe 31(2) des Règles de procédure énonce que la partie doit faire la désignation au moment où elle dépose le document qui renferme les renseignements visés. De plus, la partie qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels doit exposer les raisons pour lesquelles leur communication ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, notamment celles pour lesquelles elle causerait vraisemblablement un préjudice direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public, et fournir tout document à l’appui.

[Ces articles sont qu’un extrait des Règles applicables.]

Une partie peut exposer les raisons pour les désignations de confidentialité dans une lettre d’accompagnement jointe à son offre finale ou à sa présentation d’observations, et cette lettre ne sera pas comptée dans le nombre limité de pages prescrit par le Bulletin d’information 2013-637.

Date de modification :