Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Grant Buchko (N L Broadcasting Ltd.)

BY EMAIL: gbuchko@radionl.com

Ottawa, 8 June 2017

Grant Buchko
N L Broadcasting Ltd.
611 Lansdowne Street
Kamloops, BC
V2C 1Y6

Subject: Procedural letter - Application 2016-0976-0 – Licence renewals for CHNL Kamloops, and its transmitters

Mr. Buchko, 

On 6 September 2016, the Commission received an application by N L Broadcasting Ltd. (N L Broadcasting) in which the company requested the renewal of its broadcasting licence for CHNL Kamloops, British Columbia (application 2016-0976-0).

On 7 April 2017, the Commission received another application from N L Broadcasting in which the company requested the Commission’s authority to effect a change in ownership and effective control to Newcap Inc. (application 2017-0304-1). In the context of that application, N L Broadcasting provided answers to Commission staff’s questions pertaining to, among other things, apparent shortfalls associated with basic annual Canadian Content Development (CCD) contributions. On 5 June 2017, the Commission approved the company’s ownership application and indicated that CHNL’s apparent non-compliance will be dealt with as part of its renewal application.

In order to complete the record of the broadcasting licence renewal application for CHNL and allow Commission staff to pursue its analysis, questions regarding the basic annual CCD contribution shortfalls (refer to attachment) must also be answered in relation to application 2016-0976-0.

Timeline Change (Intervention / Comments Deadline)

Considering the new information to be added to the public record, Commission staff will re-open the intervention period for this proceeding for additional comments from all parties.

As such, the timetable for the proceeding is changed as follows:

  1. N L Broadcasting is requested to provide further information by filing with the Commission responses to the attached questions no later than 14 June 2017, failing which the company’s application may be returned;
  2. Interested parties will have until 24 June 2017 to file interventions on
    N L Broadcasting’s application and its responses to Commission staff’s request for information; and
  3. N L Broadcasting will have until 29 June 2017 to file its reply to any interventions received.

Compliance Analysis

In evaluating apparent non-compliances, the Commission considers factors such as the quantity, recurrence and seriousness of these non-compliances. The Commission will impose measures according to the nature of the non-compliances, and also consider the circumstances, the arguments provided by the licensee, as well as the actions taken to rectify the situation.Footnote1

Upon receipt of your responses to Commission staff’s questions on apparent non-compliances, no additional letter requesting additional information on the information provided will be sent to you, unless exceptional circumstances justify to do so. At this point, your file will be considered complete and a public proceeding will follow based on the information received.Footnote2 Consequently, it is the licensee’s responsibility to provide a response letter that includes complete and accurate information, including any necessary supporting evidence, as this is its opportunity to comment in writing on the preliminary findings concerning instances of apparent non-compliances described below. 

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

N L Broadcasting is also requested to repeat each question in its reply.

The Commission requires that documents be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” located on this web page. Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account”.).

Should you need further information concerning this application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 819-639-3173 or by E-mail at angie.blakeney@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Angie Blakeney
Radio Analyst
CRTC - Radio Policy and Applications


Attachment

Request for Information

Basic Canadian Content Development (CCD) contributions & Revenue Discrepancy:

  1. Pursuant to subsection 15(2) of the Radio Regulations, 1986, (the Regulations), commercial licensees with total revenues of more than $1,250,000 are required to make annual contributions to eligible CCD initiatives (known as basic annual CCD contributions). Subsection 15(5)(a) further requires that these licensees devote at least 15% of their basic annual CCD contributions to the Community Radio Fund of Canada (CRFC). Subsection 15(5)(b) further requires these licensees to devote 45% of the basic annual CCD contributions to FACTOR or MUSICATION.

    According to Commission records, CHNL incurred a total shortfall of $2,640.08 over the period of the 2010-2011, 2011-2012, and 2012-2013 broadcast years, of which $2,206.71 was owed to FACTOR and $433.37 was owed to the CRFC. Specifically, CNHL incurred shortfalls as follows:

    • Broadcast year 2010-2011: $906.58 to FACTOR;
    • Broadcast year 2011-2012: $725.75 to FACTOR and $241.91 to the CRFC; and
    • Broadcast year 2012-2013: $574.39 to FACTOR and $191.46 to the CRFC.

    Commission staff notes that the total shortfall for the above-noted years was rectified by N L Broadcasting on 2 May 2017 as part of the proceeding to address the company’s application to effect a change in ownership and effective control to Newcap Inc. (application 2017-0304-1). However, as noted in Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2009-251, CCD payments are due in each broadcast year. Therefore, these payments are considered to be late, as follows: 5 years and 10 months for the 2010-2011 broadcast year, 4 years and 10 months for the 2011-2012 broadcast year and 3 years and 10 months for the 2012-2013 broadcast year.

    In light of the information above please:

    1. Explain the circumstances of this apparent non‐compliance.
    2. Specify what measures have been or will be put in place to ensure future compliance with subsection 15(5)(a) and subsection 15(5)(b) of the Regulations.
    3. Comment on the possible imposition of a condition of licence related to the shortfalls.
    4. Comment on the possibility of a short-term renewal for CHNL, in accordance with Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2014-608Footnote3 (information bulletin), should you be found in non-compliance with subsection 15(5)(b) of the Regulations. Please also comment on the possible imposition of measures such as: imposition of conditions of licence, mandatory orders, non-renewal, suspension, or revocation of the licence, requiring licensees to broadcast an announcement regarding their non-compliance, as set out in the appendix to this information bulletin.
Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Grant Buchko (N L Broadcasting Ltd.)

PAR COURRIEL: gbuchko@radionl.com

Ottawa, le 8 juin 2017

Grant Buchko
N L Broadcasting Ltd.
611 rue Lansdowne
Kamloops (Colombie-Britannique)
V2C 1Y6

Objet : Lettre procédurale – Demande 2016-0976-0 – Renouvellement de licence pour CHNL Kamloops, et ses émetteurs

M. Buchko,

Le 6 septembre 2016, le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par N L Broadcasting Ltd. (N L Broadcasting) dans laquelle la société demandait le renouvellement de sa licence de radiodiffusion pour CHNL Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique (demande 2016-0976-0).

Le 7 avril 2017, le Conseil a reçu une autre demande de la part de N L Broadcasting dans laquelle la société demandait l’autorisation du Conseil afin de modifier la propriété et le contrôle effectif de la société en faveur de Newcap Inc. (demande 2017-0304-1). Dans le cadre de cette demande, N L Broadcasting a fourni des réponses aux questions du personnel du Conseil portant notamment sur les manques à gagner apparents associés aux contributions annuelles de base au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC). Le 5 juin 2017, le Conseil a approuvé la demande de propriété de la société et a souligné que la non-conformité apparente de CHNL sera traitée à même le dossier de sa demande de renouvellement.

Afin de compléter le dossier de la demande de renouvellement de la licence de radiodiffusion pour CHNL et de permettre au personnel du Conseil de poursuivre son analyse, il est nécessaire que des questions sur les manques à gagner associés aux contributions annuelles de base au titre du DCC (consulter la pièce jointe) soient répondues relativement à la demande 2016-0976-0.

Modifications de délais (interventions / observations)

Comme de nouveaux renseignements auront été versés au dossier public, le personnel du Conseil rouvrira la période de dépôt des interventions dans le cas de cette instance pour permettre à l’ensemble des parties de formuler des observations supplémentaires.

Le calendrier procédural de l’instance est donc modifié comme suit :

  1. On demande à N L Broadcasting de fournir de plus amples renseignements en déposant au Conseil les réponses aux questions ci-jointes au plus tard le 14 juin 2017, à défaut de quoi la demande de la société pourrait lui être retournée;
  2. Les parties intéressées auront jusqu’au 24 juin 2017 pour soumettre des observations sur la demande de N L Broadcasting et ses réponses à la demande de renseignements du personnel du Conseil;
  3. N L Broadcasting aura jusqu’au 29 juin 2017 pour déposer sa réplique aux observations reçues.

Analyse de conformité

Lorsque le Conseil évalue des non-conformités apparentes, il examine des facteurs tels que la quantité, la récurrence et la gravité de la non-conformité. Le Conseil imposera des mesures en fonction de la nature des non-conformités et il tiendra également compte des circonstances, des observations présentées par le titulaire de la licence, ainsi que des mesures prises pour corriger la situation.Note de bas de page1

À la réception de vos réponses aux questions du personnel du Conseil sur les non-conformités apparentes, aucune autre lettre de demande de renseignements additionnels sur les renseignements fournis ne sera envoyée, sauf si des circonstances exceptionnelles le justifient. À ce moment, votre dossier sera jugé complet et une instance publique, fondée sur les renseignements reçus, suivra.Note de bas de page2 Il incombe donc au titulaire de licence de fournir une lettre de réponse dans laquelle figurent des renseignements complets et exacts, y compris toute preuve à l’appui, car il s’agit de sa chance de présenter par écrit des commentaires sur les conclusions préliminaires concernant les non-conformités apparentes présentées ci-dessous. 

Une copie de la présente et de la correspondance connexe sera versée au dossier public de l’instance portant sur cette demande.

N L Broadcasting est demandé de répéter la question dans sa réponse.

Vous devez soumettre votre réponse et les documents connexes, s’il y a lieu, en ligne au moyen du système sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC (Clé GC ou partenaires de connexion) » et remplir la Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom ou la Page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion dont vous trouverez le lien sur la page Web. Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur la façon de soumettre des demandes au Conseil à la page Web intitulée « Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC ».

Si vous désirez obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur votre demande, veuillez communiquer avec moi par téléphone au 819-639-3173, ou par courriel à angie.blakeney@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Angie Blakeney
Analyste de la radio
Radiodiffusion – Politiques et demandes en matière de radio


Pièce jointe

Demande de renseignements

Contributions de base au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC) et écart entre le revenu :

  1. Conformément au paragraphe 15(2) du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio (le Règlement), les titulaires de licence commerciale dont les revenus totaux dépassent 1 250 000 $ doivent verser des contributions annuelles à des projets de DCC admissibles (contributions annuelles de base au titre du DCC). De plus, conformément à l’alinéa 15(5)(a), les titulaires de licence doivent verser au moins 15 % de leurs contributions annuelles de base au titre du DCC au Fonds canadien de la radio communautaire (FCRC). L’alinéa 15(5)(b) exige en outre que ces titulaires de licence versent au moins 45 % des contributions annuelles de base au titre du DCC à FACTOR ou à MUSICACTION.

    D’après les dossiers du Conseil, le manque à gagner total de CHNL s’élevait à 2 640,08 $ pour la période couvrant les années de radiodiffusion de 2010-2011, 2011-2012, et 2012-2013. De ce montant, 2 206,71 $ étaient dus à FACTOR et 433,37 $ étaient dus au FCRC. Plus particulièrement, CNHL a accumulé des manques à gagner comme suit :

    • Année de radiodiffusion 2010-2011 : 906,58 $ dus à FACTOR;
    • Année de radiodiffusion 2011-2012 : 725,75 $ dus à FACTOR et 241,91 $ dus au FCRC;
    • Année de radiodiffusion 2012-2013 : 574,39 $ dus à FACTOR et 191,46 $ dus au FCRC.

    Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que le manque à gagner total pour les années susmentionnées a été corrigé par N L Broadcasting le 2 mai 2017 dans le cadre d’une instance pour examiner la demande de la société visant à modifier la propriété et le contrôle effectif en faveur de Newcap Inc. (demande 2017-0304-1). Toutefois, comme il est indiqué dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2009-251, les paiements au titre du DCC doivent être versés au cours de chaque année de radiodiffusion. Par conséquent, ces paiements sont considérés comme étant en retard, comme suit : 5 ans et 10 mois pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2010-2011, 4 ans et 10 mois pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2011-2012, et 3 ans et 10 mois pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2012-2013.

    À la lumière des renseignements ci-dessus, veuillez :

    1. expliquer les circonstances entourant cette non-conformité apparente;
    2. préciser les mesures qui ont été prises ou qui le seront pour garantir à l’avenir la conformité de la station aux alinéas 15(5)(a) et 15(5)(b) du Règlement;
    3. formuler des observations sur l’imposition possible d’une condition de licence relative aux manques à gagner;
    4. formuler des observations sur la possibilité d’un renouvellement de licence à court terme pour CHNL, conformément au Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2014-608Note de bas de page3 (bulletin d’information), si l’on constatait que vous étiez dans une situation de non-conformité à l’alinéa 15(5)(b) du Règlement. Veuillez également présenter des observations sur la possibilité d’imposer des mesures telles que l’imposition de conditions de licence ou d’ordonnances, le non-renouvellement, la suspension ou la révocation de la licence, l’exigence que les titulaires diffusent une annonce relative à leur non-conformité, comme il est énoncé à l’annexe du bulletin d’information.
Date de modification :