ARCHIVED - s

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Letter

Ottawa, 26 August 2008

Email distribution

Dear Sir/Madam:

Re:  Disposition of certain pending wholesale service applications

By letter dated 22 June 2007, the Commission deferred further consideration of certain applications related to wholesale services (previously referred to as competitor services), pending the completion of the proceeding to review Phase II costing issues. In that letter, the Commission expressed the view that the costs under review for the services in question contained significant expense components and therefore raised issues that might be materially affected by the Commission’s determinations as a result of the proceeding to review Phase II costing issues. The tariff applications involving wholesale service cost reviews that were deferred in this letter are set out in Attachment 2.

In Telecom Order 2007-430, the Commission approved Competitor Digital Network (CDN) link service rates for Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership (Bell Aliant), Bell Canada, Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), and TELUS Communications Company (TCC) on an interim basis. In paragraph 46 of that Order, the Commission stated that it would not be appropriate to dispose of these service rates on a final basis pending the outcome of the Commission’s determinations in two proceedings, the proceeding to review the Phase II costing issues initiated by Telecom Public Notice 2007-4 and the proceeding to review the regulatory framework for wholesale services initiated by Telecom Public Notice 2006-14. These CDN link tariff applications are also set out in Attachment 2.

The Commission notes that the proceeding to review the regulatory framework for wholesale services concluded with the issuance of Telecom Decision 2008-17. In that Decision, the Commission set out a restructured regulatory framework for wholesale services, including a new wholesale service classification and associated pricing principles. The Commission notes that pursuant to this Decision the wholesale services related to the tariff applications identified in Attachment 2 continue to be mandated.  

With respect to the proceeding to review the Phase II costing issues, the Commission notes that it issued Telecom Decision 2008-14. In that Decision, the Commission rendered its determinations with respect to the appropriate expense inclusions and the associated approaches and methodologies to estimate causal expenses for inclusion in regulatory economic studies, and initiated a follow-up proceeding to review the revised costing methodologies and documentation to be filed by Bell Aliant, Bell Canada, MTS Allstream Inc. (MTS Allstream), SaskTel, and TCC (collectively, the incumbent local exchange carriers (ILECs)) pursuant to Telecom Decision 2008-14. The Commission further indicated that its determinations with respect to the treatment of expenses would come into effect following the ILECs’ proposed submissions required by that Decision.

On 25 August 2008, the Commission issued Telecom Order 2008-237. In that Order, the Commission concluded that each ILEC’s expense methodologies as documented in its revised Regulatory Economic Studies Manual (revised Manual) reflected the determinations of Telecom Decision 2008-14 and were appropriate. 

Having completed this follow-up proceeding, the Commission expects each ILEC to rely on its revised Manual for developing regulatory economic studies in support of tariff applications. The Commission further considers that the cost reviews associated with the applications identified in Attachment 2 contain significant expense components which may be materially affected by the Commission’s determinations in Telecom Decision 2008-14.

In light of the above, each ILEC is requested to submit revised cost studies for the wholesale services related to the tariff applications identified in Attachment 2 in accordance with its revised Manual along with associated proposed tariff pages.

The Commission notes that on 14 March 2008 Yak Communications (Canada) Inc. (Yak) brought an application requesting that the Commission review and update costs associated with the Billing and Collection Service (BCS) processing charge rates of each ILEC within 30 days from the date of the Commission’s decision in the Phase II follow-up proceeding. Subsequently Bell Canada, Bell Aliant, and SaskTel brought an application to defer consideration of Yak’s application, which the Commission denied in a letter dated 11 July 2008.  In its letter, the Commission also indicated that the process for considering Yak’s 14 March 2008 application would be established at the conclusion of the Phase II follow-up proceeding. 

On 15 May 2008, the Commission received a Part VII application from Bell Canada on behalf of itself, Bell Aliant, SaskTel and Télébec, Limited Partnership (Bell Canada et al.).  Bell Canada et al. requested that the Commission review and vary Telecom Decision 2008-17 to reclassify BCS from the Interconnection to the Conditional Mandated Non-Essential service category and to provide flexibility to establish a mark-up greater than 15% for BCS.  Consistent with Bell Canada et al.’s application, BCS will continue to be a tariffed service if the relief requested is granted. The Commission considers that the BCS processing charges contain significant expense components which may be materially affected by Telecom Decision 2008-14 and that further process on this issue would be appropriate.

With regard to the cost review of the wholesale services identified in Attachment 2 and the Yak application, each ILEC is to file updated cost studies as requested above, and  BCS processing charge cost studies, in accordance with its revised Manual by 27 October 2008, serving a copy on all parties to the applications listed in Attachment 2. Parties may file comments, serving a copy on the relevant ILECs, by 17 November 2008. ILECs may file reply comments, serving a copy on the party that submitted comments, by 1st December 2008. Where material is to be filed by a certain date, the material must actually be received, and not merely sent, by that date. 

With respect to filing proposed tariff pages for BCS, further process will be established after the Commission issues its determinations on Bell Canada et al.’s application to review and vary the wholesale service classification of BCS.

Yours sincerely,

 

Original signed by Alan Rosenzveig

for

Robert A. Morin
Secretary General

Attachment:  Distribution List

                          Tariff Notice Applications

 

Related documents

  • Regulatory Economic Studies Manuals – Follow-up Proceeding to Telecom Decision 2008-14, Telecom Order CRTC 2008-237, 25 August 2008

  • Revised regulatory framework for wholesale services and definition of essential service, Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-17, 3 March 2008

  • Review of certain Phase II costing issues, Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-14, 21 February 2008, as amended by Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-14-1, 11 April 2008

  • Competitor Digital Network service – Competitor link service, Telecom Order CRTC 2007-430, 16 November 2007

  • Review of certain Phase II costing issues, Telecom Public Notice CRTC 2007-4, 30 March 2007

  • Review of regulatory framework for wholesale services and definition of essential service, Telecom Public Notice CRTC 2006-14, 9 November 2006, as amended by Telecom Public Notices CRTC 2006-14-1, 15 December 2006; 2006-14-2, 15 February 2007; 2006-14-3, 16 March 2007; and 2006-14-4, 20 March 2007

Attachment 1

Distribution List

Bell Aliant    regulatory@bell.aliant.ca
Bell Canada   bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Cybersurf   marcel.mercia@cybersurf.com
MTS Allstream   iworkstation@mtsallstream.com
Persona   dean@personainc.ca
Primus   regulatory@primustel.ca
Rogers    david.watt@rci.rogers.com
SaskTel    document.control@sasktel.sk.ca
Shaw   Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Télébec    regmat@ntl.sympatico.ca
TCC   regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron   regaffairs@quebecor.com
Yak   simonlockie@globealive.com

 

Attachment 2

Tariff Notice Applications

1. Tariff applications involving wholesale services deferred by Commission letter dated 22 June 2007

Aliant Telecom Inc. (now Bell Aliant) Tariff Notice 213       8740-A53-200613423
Bell Aliant Tariff Notice 49                                                  8740-B54-200613499
Bell Canada Tariff Notice 6995                                           8740-B2-200613514
MTS Allstream Tariff Notice 605                                        8740-M59-200613811
SaskTel Tariff Notice 126                                                   8740-S22-200613613
TCC Tariff Notice 576                                                        8740-T42-200613639
TELUS Communications (B.C.) Inc. Tariff Notice 4261      8740-T46-200613647

2. CDN link tariff applications not approved on a final basis in Telecom Order 2007-430

Bell Aliant Tariff Notice 82                                                   8740-B54-200705502
Bell Canada Tariff Notice 7028                                            8740-B2-200705494
SaskTel Tariff Notices 136, 136A, and 136B                       8740-S22-200706955
TCC Tariff Notices 168B and 168C                                     8740-T66-200503096

Date Modified: 2008-08-26

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - s

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Lettre

Ottawa, le 26 août 2008

Distribution par courriel

Madame, Monsieur,

Objet : Traitement de certaines demandes en cours concernant les services de gros

Dans sa lettre du 22 juin 2007, le Conseil a reporté le traitement de certaines demandes concernant les services de gros (désignés auparavant des services aux concurrents), en attendant que l'instance relative à l'examen des questions d'établissement des coûts de la Phase II soit terminée. Dans cette lettre, le Conseil a indiqué que les coûts sous examen pour les services en question comportaient une forte composante de dépenses, et que par conséquent, ils soulevaient des questions susceptibles d'être considérablement influencées par les conclusions qu'il tirera dans l'instance relative à l'examen des questions d'établissement des coûts de la Phase II. Les demandes tarifaires concernant les examens des coûts des services de gros dont l'examen a été reporté dans cette lettre sont consignées dans la pièce jointe 2.

Dans l'ordonnance de télécom 2007-430, le Conseil a approuvé provisoirement les tarifs du service de liaison pour le réseau numérique propre aux concurrents (RNC) de Bell Aliant Communications régionales, société en commandite (Bell Aliant), de Bell Canada, de Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) et de la Société TELUS Communications (la STC). Au paragraphe 46 de cette ordonnance, le Conseil a indiqué qu'il ne convenait pas de se prononcer de façon définitive sur ces tarifs avant qu'il ne rende ses conclusions dans deux instances, à savoir l'instance relative à l'examen des questions d'établissement des coûts de la Phase II amorcée par l'avis public de télécom 2007-4 et l'instance relative à l'examen du cadre de réglementation concernant les services de gros amorcée par l'avis public de télécom 2006-14. Ces demandes tarifaires visant le service de liaison RNC sont aussi consignées dans la pièce jointe 2.

Le Conseil relève que l'instance relative à l'examen du cadre de réglementation concernant les services de gros s'est conclue par la publication de la décision de télécom 2008-17. Dans cette décision, le Conseil a établi une nouvelle structure du cadre de réglementation concernant les services de gros, y compris une nouvelle classification des services de gros et les principes de tarification connexes. Le Conseil fait remarquer qu'en vertu de cette décision, les services de gros liés aux demandes tarifaires indiquées dans la pièce jointe 2 demeurent obligatoires.

En ce qui concerne l'instance relative à l'examen des questions d'établissement des coûts de la Phase II, le Conseil relève qu'il a publié la décision de télécom 2008-14, dans laquelle il s'est prononcé sur les dépenses d'exploitation qu'il convient d'inclure dans les études économiques réglementaires, ainsi que sur les approches et les méthodes à utiliser pour calculer les dépenses causales estimatives. Il a également amorcé une instance de suivi pour examiner les méthodes d'établissement de coûts révisées et la documentation à déposer par Bell Aliant, Bell Canada, MTS Allstream Inc. (MTS Allstream), SaskTel et la STC (collectivement les entreprises de services locaux titulaires [ESLT]) conformément à la décision de télécom 2008-14. Le Conseil a indiqué en outre que ses conclusions relatives à la façon de traiter les dépenses entreraient en vigueur à la suite du dépôt par les ESLT des mémoires qui sont exigés en vertu de cette décision.

Le 25 août 2008, le Conseil a publié l'ordonnance de télécom 2008-237, dans laquelle il a conclu que les méthodes d'établissement des dépenses de chaque ESLT qui sont consignées dans son Manuel d'études économiques réglementaires révisé (le manuel révisé) rendaient compte des conclusions énoncées dans la décision de télécom 2008-14 et étaient appropriées.

Cette instance de suivi étant terminée, le Conseil s'attend à ce que chaque ESLT se fonde sur son manuel révisé pour la conception des études économiques réglementaires à l'appui des demandes tarifaires. Le Conseil estime en outre que les révisions tarifaires liées aux demandes énumérées dans la pièce jointe 2 comportent de fortes composantes de dépenses qui sont susceptibles d'être considérablement influencées par les conclusions du Conseil dans la décision de télécom 2008‑14.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, chaque ESLT est invitée à déposer des études de coûts révisées pour les services de gros relatifs aux demandes tarifaires indiquées dans la pièce jointe 2, conformément à son manuel révisé, accompagnées des pages de tarifs proposées connexes.

Le Conseil relève que le 14 mars 2008, Yak Communications (Canada) Inc. (Yak) a présenté une demande réclamant que le Conseil révise et met à jour les coûts liés aux frais de traitement applicables au service de facturation et de perception (SFP) de chaque ESLT dans les 30 jours suivant la date de la décision du Conseil relative à l'instance de suivi de la Phase II. Par la suite, Bell Canada, Bell Aliant et SaskTel ont déposé une demande de report de l'examen de la demande présentée par Yak, laquelle a été rejetée par le Conseil dans une lettre du 11 juillet 2008. Dans sa lettre, le Conseil a aussi indiqué que le processus d'examen de la demande présentée par Yak le 14 mars 2008 serait établi à la conclusion de l'instance de suivi de la Phase II.

Le 15 mai 2008, le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la Partie VII présentée par Bell Canada en son propre nom et pour le compte de Bell Aliant, de SaskTel et de Télébec, Société en commandite (Bell Canada et autres). Bell Canada et autres ont demandé au Conseil de réviser et de modifier la décision de télécom 2008-17. Elles réclamaient que le SFP, classé dans la catégorie des services d'interconnexion, soit reclassé dans la catégorie des services non essentiels prescrits et conditionnels, et que la souplesse nécessaire pour tarifer le SFP en fonction d'un supplément supérieur à 15 % soit accordée. Selon la demande de Bell Canada et autres, le SFP continuera à être un service tarifé si la demande est acceptée. Le Conseil estime que les frais de traitement applicables au SFP comportent de fortes composantes de dépenses qui sont susceptibles d'être considérablement influencées par la décision de télécom 2008-14, et qu'il serait approprié d'instituer un processus complémentaire sur cette question.

En ce qui concerne l'examen des coûts des services de gros indiqués à la pièce jointe 2 et la demande de Yak, chaque ESLT doit déposer des études de coûts mises à jour comme exigé ci‑dessus, ainsi que des études de coûts portant sur les frais de traitement applicables au SFP, conformément à son manuel révisé, au plus tard le 27 octobre 2008. Elle doit en signifier copie à toutes les parties aux demandes énumérées dans la pièce jointe 2. Les parties peuvent déposer des observations et en signifier copie aux ESLT concernées, au plus tard le 17 novembre 2008. Les ESLT peuvent déposer des observations en réplique et doivent en signifier copie à la partie qui a présenté les observations, au plus tard le 1er décembre 2008. Lorsque les documents doivent être déposés à une date précise, ils doivent être reçus, et non pas simplement envoyés, à cette date.  

En ce qui concerne le dépôt des pages de tarifs proposées pour le SFP, un processus complémentaire sera établi après la publication par le Conseil de ses conclusions sur la demande présentée par Bell Canada et autres de faire réviser et modifier la classification du SFP au titre des services de gros.

Veuillez agréer l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

L’original signé par Alan Rosenzveig

pour

Robert A. Morin
Secrétaire général

Pièce jointe : Liste de distribution

Demandes de modification tarifaire

Documents connexes

  • Manuels d'études économiques réglementaires – Instance de suivi de la Décision de télécom 2008-14, Ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2008-237, 25 août 2008

  • Cadre de réglementation révisé concernant les services de gros et la définition de service essentiel, Décision de télécom CRTC 2008-17, 3 mars 2008

  • Examen de certaines questions liées à l'établissement des coûts de la Phase II, Décision de télécom CRTC 2008-14, 21 février 2008, modifiée par la Décision de télécom CRTC 2008-14-1, 11 avril 2008

  • Service de réseau numérique propre aux concurrents – Service de liaison des concurrents, Ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2007-430, 16 novembre 2007

  • Examen de certaines questions liées à l'établissement des coûts de la Phase II, Avis public de télécom CRTC 2007-4, 30 mars 2007

  • Examen du cadre de réglementation concernant les services de gros et la définition de service essentiel, Avis public de télécom CRTC 2006-14, 9 novembre 2006, modifié par les Avis publics de télécom CRTC 2006-14-1, 15 décembre 2006; 2006-14-2, 15 février 2007; 2006-14-3, 16 mars 2007; et 2006-14-4, 20 mars 2007

 

Pièce jointe 1

Liste de distribution

Bell Aliant   regulatory@bell.aliant.ca
Bell Canada   bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Cybersurf   marcel.mercia@cybersurf.com
MTS Allstream   iworkstation@mtsallstream.com
Persona   dean@personainc.ca
Primus   regulatory@primustel.ca
Rogers   david.watt@rci.rogers.com
SaskTel   document.control@sasktel.sk.ca
Shaw   Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Télébec   regmat@ntl.sympatico.ca
TCC   regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Vidéotron   regaffairs@quebecor.com
Yak   simonlockie@globealive.com

Pièce jointe 2

Demandes de modification tarifaire

1. Demandes tarifaires relatives aux services de gros dont l'examen a été reporté par le Conseil dans sa lettre du 22 juin 2007 :

Avis de modification tarifaire 213 d'Aliant Telecom Inc.
   (maintenant Bell Aliant)                                                              8740-A53-200613423
Avis de modification tarifaire 49 de Bell Aliant                               8740-B54-200613499
Avis de modification tarifaire 6995 de Bell Canada                       8740-B2-200613514
Avis de modification tarifaire 605 de MTS Allstream                     8740-M59-200613811
Avis de modification tarifaire 126 de SaskTel                                8740-S22-200613613
Avis de modification tarifaire 576 de la STC                                  8740-T42-200613639
Avis de modification tarifaire 4261 de TELUS
   Communications (B.C.) Inc.                                                       8740-T46-200613647
- - - - - -  - - - -

2. Demandes tarifaires visant le service de liaison RNC qui n'ont pas été approuvées de manière définitive dans l'ordonnance de télécom 2007-430 :

Avis de modification tarifaire 82 de Bell Aliant                                 8740-B54-200705502
Avis de modification tarifaire 7028 de Bell Canada                          8740-B2-200705494
Avis de modification tarifaire 136, 136A et 136B de SaskTel          8740-S22-200706955
Avis de modification tarifaire 168B et 168C de la STC                    8740-T66-200503096

Mise à jour : 2008-08-26

Date de modification :