Emergency Alert Messages and the National Public Alerting System

In 2014, the CRTC required that FM radio, AM radio and over-the-air (OTA) television stations, as well as subscription-based broadcasting service providersFootnote 1, to participate in the National Public Alerting System (NPAS).

Since April 6, 2018, the CRTC requires that all wireless service providers participate in the NPAS and begin distribution of wireless public emergency alerts on their long-term evolution (LTE) networks.

Emergency alert messages are issued by public officialsFootnote 2 who are designated by the federal government or your province or territory to warn the public of imminent or unfolding hazards to life and property (e.g., fire, natural disasters, biological threats, hazardous materials, environmental disasters, civil emergencies). These officials are also responsible for issuing scheduled test messages.

Each year, during Emergency Preparedness Week in May, wireless service providers and broadcasters will distribute a test alert. Read more about alert types and testing at Alert Ready.

For more information about the NPAS: National Public Alerting System.


The list of subscription-based broadcasting service providers currently participating in the NPAS

The following list indicates the subscription-based broadcasting service providers that distribute emergency alerts. If you subscribe to one or more of the subscription based broadcasting service providers below, you should be receiving emergency alert messages. If you require more details, please contact your broadcasting service provider.

Subscription-based broadcasting service providers that distribute emergency alert messages:

  • 2251723 Ontario
  • Access
  • AEBC Internet
  • Bell
  • Bell ExpressVu
  • Bragg Communications Incorporated
  • Câblevision du Nord de Québec
  • Cogeco Connexion Inc.
  • IAAK Technologies
  • K-Right Communications
  • Nexicom Communications
  • Northwestel
  • Persona Communications
  • Rogers
  • SaskTel
  • Shaw
  • Shaw Direct
  • Sogetel
  • TBayTel
  • TELUS
  • Vianet
  • Vidéotron
  • Wightman Telecom
  • Zazeen

The map of FM radio, AM radio and over-the-air (OTA) television stations broadcasting emergency alert messages

If you want to find out whether you can receive emergency alert messages where you live, consult the map below:

TV and Radio Stations that Broadcast Emergency Alert Messages

Wireless Public Alerting

To be able to receive wireless alerts, your mobile device must be an LTE device like a smartphone, compatible with wireless public alerting, and connected to an LTE cellular network at the time the emergency alert is issued.

Emergency alerts are issued to a defined geographic area, such that only people in the defined area will receive the emergency alerts. If you are travelling in another province when an alert is issued, your compatible wireless device will receive the alert, provided your phone is powered on and connected to the LTE cellular network. There is no need to enable the location services on your wireless device to receive alerts.

When an alert is issued, you will hear the same alert tone on your mobile devices as you currently do while listening to the radio or watching television. The alert will also trigger a unique vibration cadence.

To know more about the compatible wireless devices offered by your wireless service provider, visit Alert Ready.

Important Notes

There might be radio or TV stations or subscription service providers broadcasting or distributing emergency alert messages that aren’t on our map or that do not appear in the list. Why?

There are two possible reasons.

First, the map and list are created by using data collected from CRTC annual surveys that are issued to FM radio, AM radio and over-the-air (OTA) television stations, as well as subscription-based broadcasting service providers. Recipients are required to submit the surveys to the CRTC no later than November 30 of each year. The data contained in the list and map were collected as part of the November 30, 2016 annual surveys. Any station or service provider that started broadcasting or distributing emergency alerts after November 30, 2016 may not appear on the map and in the list.

Second, the surveys were only sent to FM radio, AM radio and over-the-air (OTA) television stations and subscription-based broadcasting service providers holding a broadcasting licence from the CRTC. Some stations or service providers, under very specific conditions, are not required to have a licence and therefore do not appear in the map or list.


What we are doing

Decisions, Notices and Orders

Related Links

Date modified:

Messages d’alerte d’urgence et Système national d’alertes au public

En 2014, le CRTC a exigé que la radio FM, la radio AM et les stations de télévision en direct, ainsi que les fournisseurs de services de radiodiffusion par abonnementNote de bas de page 1, participent au Système national d’alertes au public (SNAP).

Depuis le 6 avril 2018, le CRTC exige que tous les fournisseurs de services sans fil participent au SNAP et commencent à diffuser des messages d’alerte d’urgence sur leurs réseaux à long terme en évolution (LTE).

Les messages d’alerte d’urgence sont émis par des autorités publiquesNote de bas de page 2 que votre province ou territoire a désignées pour avertir le public des situations qui présentent un danger imminent ou réel pour leur vie (p. ex. un incendie, des catastrophes naturelles, des menaces biologiques, des matières dangereuses, des catastrophes environnementales, des situations de crise civile). Ces autorités sont également responsables de la diffusion des messages d’alerte dans le cadre d’un test programmé.

Chaque année, pendant la Semaine de la sécurité civile au mois de mai, les fournisseurs de services sans fil et les radiodiffuseurs distribueront un test d’alerte. Pour en savoir plus sur les types d’alertes et les tests, visitez le site En alerte.

Pour en savoir plus sur le SNAP, consultez le site Web suivant : Système national d'alertes au public.


Liste des fournisseurs de services de radiodiffusion par abonnement qui participent actuellement au SNAP

La liste suivante indique les fournisseurs de services de radiodiffusion par abonnement qui distribuent des alertes d’urgence. Si vous êtes abonné à un ou plusieurs des fournisseurs de services de radiodiffusion par abonnement ci-dessous, vous devriez recevoir des messages d’alerte d’urgence. Pour obtenir plus de détails, veuillez communiquer avec votre fournisseur de services.

Services par abonnement qui distribuent les messages d’alerte d’urgence :

  • 2251723 Ontario
  • Access
  • AEBC Internet
  • Bell
  • Bell ExpressVu
  • Bragg Communications Incorporated
  • Câblevision du Nord de Québec
  • Cogeco Connexion Inc.
  • IAAK Technologies
  • K-Right Communications
  • Nexicom Communications
  • Northwestel
  • Persona Communications
  • Rogers
  • SaskTel
  • Shaw
  • Shaw Direct
  • Sogetel
  • TBayTel
  • TELUS
  • Vianet
  • Vidéotron
  • Wightman Telecom
  • Zazeen

La carte indiquant les stations de radio AM et FM et les stations de télévision en direct qui diffusent les messages d’alerte d’urgence

Vous vous demandez si vous pouvez recevoir les messages d’alerte dans votre région? Pour le savoir, voici quoi consulter :

Stations de télévision et de radio qui diffusent les messages d’alerte d’urgence

Alertes sans fil au public

Pour être en mesure de recevoir des alertes sur le réseau sans fil, votre appareil mobile doit être un dispositif LTE comme un téléphone intelligent, compatible avec le système d’alertes sans fil au public, et être connecté à un réseau cellulaire LTE au moment où l’alerte d’urgence est émise.

Les alertes d’urgence sont diffusées à une région géographique définie, de sorte que seules les personnes de cette région reçoivent les alertes d’urgence qui leur sont destinées. Si vous voyagez dans une autre province lorsqu’une alerte est émise, votre appareil sans fil compatible recevra l’alerte, à condition que votre téléphone soit alimenté et connecté au réseau cellulaire LTE. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’activer les services de géolocalisation de votre appareil sans fil pour recevoir des alertes.

Les alertes qui seront diffusées aux appareils mobiles feront entendre la même tonalité d’alerte que celle qui est actuellement diffusée à la radio et à la télévision. L’alerte déclenchera également une cadence de vibration unique.

Pour en savoir plus sur les appareils sans fil compatibles offerts par votre fournisseur de services sans fil, visitez En alerte.

Remarques importantes

Il se peut que des stations ou des fournisseurs de services par abonnement qui diffusent ou distribuent des messages d’alerte d’urgence ne figurent pas sur notre carte ni dans le tableau. Pourquoi?

Il y a deux raisons possibles.

Premièrement, nous avons créé la carte et la liste à partir des données recueillies dans le cadre des sondages annuels que le CRTC a menés auprès des stations de radio AM et FM, des stations de télévision en direct et des fournisseurs de services de radiodiffusion par abonnement. Les récipiendaires sont tenus de soumettre les sondages au CRTC au plus tard le 30 novembre de chaque année. Les données contenues sur la carte et la liste ont été compilées dans le cadre de la collecte de données se terminant le 30 novembre 2016. Ainsi, toute station ou tout fournisseur de services qui a commencé à diffuser ou à distribuer les messages d’alerte après le 30 novembre 2016 pourrait ne pas figurer sur la carte et dans la liste.

Deuxièmement, les sondages ont été envoyés uniquement aux stations et aux fournisseurs de services de radiodiffusion par abonnement qui détiennent une licence de radiodiffusion attribuée par le CRTC. Certaines stations ou certains fournisseurs, selon des conditions très précises, n’ont pas à


Ce que nous faisons

Décisions, avis et ordonnances

Liens connexes

Date de modification :