Future-Oriented Statement of Operations 2019–2020

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited) for the year ending March 31 (in thousands of dollars)
- Forecast Results 2018-19 Planned Results 2019-20
Expenses
Support for Canadian Content Creation 18,643 18,824
Connection to the Communications System 22,823 32,563
Protection Within the Communications System 12,541 13,510
Internal Services 17,013 19,367
Expenses incurred on behalf of Government 14 (56)
Total expenses * 71,034 84,208
Revenues
Rights and privileges 113,973 116,595
Regulatory fees 62,974 76,275
Miscellaneous revenues 529 1,398
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (125,748) (132,976)
Total revenues 51,728 61,292
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 19,306 22,916

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations.

* The difference in expenses of approximately $13.2 million (18.5%) in 2019-20 versus 2018-19 is primarily attributable to the implementation and project management function of the Broadband Fund, which will result in an increase in the CRTC's activities.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Departmental Plan.

The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2018-19 is based on actual results as at November 30, 2018 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for fiscal year 2019-20.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  1. The department’s activities will remain substantially the same as in the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on past experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue with the exception of administrative monetary penalties (AMPs). It is not possible to accurately forecast revenues related to AMPs associated with enforcement activities for the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (UTRs), Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL), and the Voter Contact Registry (VCR).  Amounts may vary significantly from year to year based on factors including trends in compliance as well as the number and complexity of investigations. For example, enforcement activities for the VCR are expected to increase during the period of federal elections.
  3. Allowances for bad debt expenses are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue, but may vary significantly given higher AMPs possible under CASL.

These assumptions are made as at November 30th, 2018.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

Although every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2018-19 and for 2019-20, actual results achieved for both years are likely to differ from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-Oriented Statement of Operations, the CRTC has made estimates and assumptions about the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are based on past experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances, and are continually evaluated.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations and the historical statement of operations include:

After the Departmental Plan is tabled in Parliament, the CRTC will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Results Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared using the Government of Canada’s accounting policies in effect for the fiscal year 2018-19, and is based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses

The CRTC records expenses on an accrual basis.

Other expenses are generally recorded when goods are received or services are rendered and include expenses related to personnel, professional and special services, repair and maintenance, utilities, materials and supplies, as well as provision for bad debt on accounts receivable and amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset as follows:

Asset Class Amortization period
Informatics equipment 3 years
Informatics software 5 years
Vehicles 5 years
Equipment 5 years
Leasehold improvements 25 years

b) Revenues

Revenues from rights and privileges, regulatory fees and unsolicited telecommunications fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the fiscal year.

Miscellaneous revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge the CRTC's liabilities. Although the deputy head is expected to maintain accounting control, he or she has no authority over the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented as a reduction of the CRTC's gross revenues.

(a) Rights & Privileges

Part II licence fees ­ These fees recover part of the Government of Canada’s substantial annual investment in the Canadian broadcasting system.

(b) Regulatory Fees

The CRTC collects fees pursuant to regulations made under the authority of the Broadcasting Act and Telecommunications Act.

The CRTC’s annual Part I licence fees and telecommunications fees are based on the broadcasting and telecommunications regulatory costs incurred each year by the Commission and other federal departments or agencies, and are equal to the aggregate of:

Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees - These fees assessed to telemarketers are used to fund the CRTC’s Do Not Call List (DNCL) investigation and enforcement activities.

(c) Miscellaneous Revenues

Miscellaneous revenues are comprised of: (a) AMPs, (b) interest on overdue accounts receivable for CRTC broadcasting licence fees, telecommunications fees and AMPs (c) miscellaneous non tax revenue (e.g. access to information fees), and (d) gain on disposal of non-capital assets to outside parties. All revenue from AMPs is recorded as non-respendable non-tax revenue and is considered revenues earned on behalf of the government.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

Parliamentary authorities and vote-netting

The CRTC is financed in part by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities (e.g. Statutory Vote for Employee Benefits Plans (EBP), Budgetary Vote for the CASL and VCR activities) and the balance by vote-netted fees it collects from the broadcasting, telecommunications and telemarketing industries. Vote-netting is a means of funding selected programs or activities wherein Parliament authorizes a department, pursuant to paragraph 29.1(2)(a) of the Financial Administration Act, to apply revenues collected from fee payers towards costs directly incurred for specific activities. The CRTC has the authority to use a portion of: a) the Part I licence fees collected from broadcasters; b) the annual telecommunications fees collected from telecommunications carriers; and c) the unsolicited telecommunications fees collected from telemarketers to finance the costs it incurs in discharging its statutory responsibilities under the Broadcasting Act and Telecommunications Act (i.e. respendable revenue). A portion of these three fees is classified as non-respendable revenue to recover costs for items funded through budgetary authorities (e.g. EBP) and costs incurred by other government departments on the CRTC’s behalf. Part II broadcasting licence fees are entirely classified as non-respendable revenue.

Financial reporting of authorities provided to the CRTC differs from financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are based mainly on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the CRTC has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities (in thousands of dollars)
- Forecast Results 2018-19 Planned Results 2019-20
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 19,306 22,916
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Decrease (increase) in employee future benefits (62) (358)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (6,870) (7,895)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (1,116) (1,223)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave 226 (327)
Refund of prior years' expenditures and adjustments to payables at year end 93 0
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (7,729) (9,803)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 658 745
Increase (decrease) in prepaid expenses 50 (25)
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 708 720
Requested authorities 12,285 13,833
b) Authorities requested (in thousands of dollars)
- Forecast Results 2018-19 Planned Results 2019-20
Authorities requested
Vote 1 - Operating expenditures 7,813 7,146
Statutory amounts 6,846 8,075
Less:
Forecast estimated lapse: Operating (2,374) (1,388)
Requested authorities 12,285 13,833

Authorities presented reflect current forecasts of statutory items, approved initiatives included and expected to be included in Estimates documents and, when reasonable estimates can be made, estimates of amounts to be allocated from Treasury Board central votes.

Date modified:

État des résultats prospectifs 2019–2020

État des résultats prospectif (non audité) pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars (en milliers de dollars)
- Résultats projetés de 2018-2019 Résultats prévus de 2019-2020
Charges
Soutien pour la création de contenu canadien 18,643 18,824
Connexion au système de communication 22,823 32,563
Protection au sein du système de communication 12,541 13,510
Services internes 17,013 19,367
Charges engagées pour le compte du gouvernement 14 (56)
Total des charges* 71,034 84,208
Revenus
Droits et privilèges 113,973 116,595
Droits réglementaires 62,974 76,275
Revenus divers 529 1,398
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (125,748) (132,976)
Total des revenus 51,728 61,292
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 19,306 22,916

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

* L'écart dans les dépenses, de l'ordre de 13,2 millions de dollars (18,5%) en 2019-2020 comparativement à 2018-2019, est principalement attribuable à la mise en oeuvre et à la fonction de gestion de projet du régime de financement de la large bande, qui entraîneront une hausse des activités du CRTC.

Notes à l’état des résultats prospectif (non audité)

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L’état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le plan ministériel.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats projetés de l’exercice 2018–2019 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2018 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l’exercice 2019-2020.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

  1. Les activités du ministère resteront, pour l’essentiel, les mêmes que celles de l’exercice précédent;
  2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise. À l’exception des sanctions administratives pécuniaires, l’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre. Il est impossible de prévoir avec exactitude les revenus découlant des sanctions administratives pécuniaires associées aux activités de mise en application menées à l’égard des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel et le Registre de communication avec les électeurs. Les montants peuvent varier grandement d’un exercice à l’autre à cause de facteurs, notamment les tendances en conformité ainsi que le nombre et la complexité des enquêtes. A titre d’exemple, on prévoit que les activités de mise en application pour le Registre de communication avec les électeurs vont augmenter durant la période des élections fédérales.
  3. Les provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs sont estimées à la lumière de l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre mais peut varier de façon significative puisque les sanctions administratives pécuniaires associées à la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel sont plus élevées.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 30 novembre 2018.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l’exercice  2018-2019 et pour 2019-2020, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de différer des prévisions financières présentées, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectifs, le CRTC a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances, et sont évaluées de façon continue.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et l’état des résultats historique incluent :

Une fois que le plan ministériel est déposé au Parlement, le CRTC ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur les résultats.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement du Canada en vigueur pour l’exercice financier 2018-2019, et s’appuie sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice.

Les autres charges sont généralement comptabilisées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou les services sont rendus et comprennent les charges de fonctionnement liées au personnel, services professionnels et spéciaux, réparation et entretien, services publics, fournitures et approvisionnement, ainsi que les provisions pour créances douteuses et l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, lesquelles sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif, comme suit :

Catégorie d’immobilisations Période d’amortissement
Matériel informatique 3 ans
Logiciels informatiques 5 ans
Véhicules 5 ans
Équipement 5 ans
Améliorations locatives 25 ans

b) Revenus

Les revenus provenant de droits et privilèges, de droits réglementaires et de droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

Les revenus divers sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les événements qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

Les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs du ministère. Bien que l’on s’attende à ce que l’administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n’a pas autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l’entité.

(a) Droits et privilèges

Droits de licence de la partie II – Ces droits permettent de recouvrer une partie de l’important investissement que le gouvernement du Canada consacre chaque année au système de radiodiffusion canadien.

(b) Droits réglementaires

Le CRTC perçoit des droits en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Les droits de licence de la partie I et les droits de télécommunication sont basés sur les coûts de la réglementation de la radiodiffusion et de la télécommunication engagés chaque année par le CRTC et d’autres ministères ou organismes fédéraux. Ces coûts correspondent à la somme de ce qui suit :

Droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées – Ces droits perçus auprès des télévendeurs servent à financer les activités d’enquêtes et d’application liées à la LNNTE du CRTC.

(c) Revenus divers

Les revenus divers comprennent a)  les sanctions administratives pécuniaires; b) les intérêts sur les comptes en souffrance pour les droits de licence de radiodiffusion, les droits de télécommunication et les sanctions administratives pécuniaires du CRTC; c) les recettes non fiscales diverses (p. ex., les droits d’accès à l’information) et d) les gains sur disposition d’actifs non capitalisés à des tiers. Tous les revenus provenant des sanctions administratives pécuniaires sont enregistrés comme des recettes non disponibles non fiscales et sont considérés des revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Autorisations parlementaires et crédits nets 

Le CRTC est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada, au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires (p. ex., autorisation législative pour les régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE), crédit budgétaire pour les activités relatives à la loi anti­pourriel et leRegistre de communication avec les électeurs), et, pour le reste, par des crédits nets provenant des droits qu’il perçoit auprès des industries de la radiodiffusion, des télécommunications et du télémarketing. Les crédits nets servent à financer certains programmes ou certaines activités. Selon cette méthode, le Parlement autorise un ministère, en vertu du paragraphe 29.1(2)(a) de la loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, à utiliser les droits perçus auprès des entités qui les paient pour couvrir des dépenses directement engagées pour des activités déterminées. Le CRTC peut donc utiliser une partie : a) des droits de licence de la partie I qu’il perçoit auprès des radiodiffuseurs; b) des droits annuels de télécommunication que lui versent les entreprises de télécommunication; c) des droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées qu’il perçoit auprès des télévendeurs pour financer les dépenses qu’il engage afin de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités législatives en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications (c.-à.-d. recettes disponibles). Le reste des droits perçus permet de recouvrer les coûts des éléments financés par les autorisations parlementaires (p. ex., RASE) et les coûts engagés par d’autres ministères au nom du CRTC. Ils sont considérés comme des recettes non disponibles. Les droits de licence de radiodiffusion de la partie II sont entièrement considérés comme des recettes non disponibles.

La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au CRTC ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont principalement fondées sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l’exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net du CRTC pour l’exercice diffère suivant qu’il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
- Résultats projetés de 2018-2019 Résultats prévus de 2019-2020
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 19,306 22,916
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs (62) (358)
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (6,870) (7,895)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (1,116) (1,223)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires 226 (327)
Remboursement de charges des exercices antérieurs et ajustements des créditeurs à la fin de l'exercice 93 0
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (7,729) (9,803)
Rajustements pour les postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles 658 745
Augmentation (diminution) des charges payées d'avance 50 (25)
Total des postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 708 720
Autorisations demandées 12,285 13,833
b) Autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
- Résultats projetés de 2018-2019 Résultats prévus de 2019-2020
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 - Dépenses de fonctionnement 7,813 7,146
Montant des postes législatifs 6,846 8,075
Moins :
Ressources inutilisées prévues : Fonctionnement (2,374) (1,388)
Autorisations demandées 12,285 13,833

Les autorisations présentées représentent les résultats prévus en ce qui concerne les postes législatifs, les initiatives approuvées qui sont incluses et celles prévues être incluses dans les documents de budget des dépenses et, lorsque des estimations raisonnables peuvent être effectuées, les montants estimatifs des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :