Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2022-252

PDF version

Ottawa, 21 September 2022

Public record: 1011-NOC2022-0252

Notice of hearing

10 January 2023
Gatineau, Quebec

Deadline for submission of interventions/comments/answers: 7 November 2022

[Submit an intervention/comment/answer or view related documents]

The Commission will hold a hearing commencing on 10 January 2023 at 11:00 a.m. at the Commission Headquarters, 1 Promenade du Portage, Gatineau, Quebec. The Commission intends to consider the following applications, subject to interventions, without the appearance of parties:

Applicant and locality

  1. Nunavut Independent Television Network
    Across Canada
    Application 2021-0527-0
  2. Natyf Inc.
    Province of Quebec
    Application 2021-0215-1

Introduction

As part of this proceeding, the Commission will be examining two applications, filed by Nunavut Independent Television Network (NITV) and Natyf Inc. (Natyf), to receive mandatory distribution as part of the digital basic service for their respective discretionary services Uvagut TV and Natyf TV. NITV is applying for mandatory distribution of Uvagut TV across Canada, whereas Natyf is requesting mandatory distribution of Natyf TV in the province of Quebec only.

In both cases, the applicants specified that mandatory distribution is vital for the operation of their services, since they are targeting underserved communities.

Currently, NITV and Natyf operate the above-noted discretionary services as exempt discretionary services pursuant to the Exemption order respecting discretionary television programming undertakings serving fewer than 200,000 subscribers, set out in the appendix to Exemption order respecting discretionary television programming undertakings serving fewer than 200,000 subscribers, Broadcasting Order CRTC 2015-88, 12 March 2015 (Broadcasting Order 2015-88).

What is mandatory distribution on the digital basic service?

When Canadians buy access to television services from a broadcasting distribution undertaking (BDU), there are certain television services that automatically come with the basic service package, such as all local television stations, provincial educational services, community channels and provincial legislature channels, if available.

A few of these services are deemed to contribute in an exceptional manner to the achievement of the objectives of the Broadcasting Act (Act) and are mandated by the Commission to be part of every Canadian’s basic service package pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(h) of the Act.Footnote 1 When requiring the mandatory distribution of these services, the Commission may also set a per subscriber monthly rate that must be paid by the BDU to the programming service to distribute that service.

The distribution of such services as part of the basic service ensures that broadcasters have access to a reasonably reliable revenue stream, thereby enabling them to meet meaningful programming obligations and contribute in an exceptional manner to the achievement of the objectives of the Act (for example, by offering programming that is relevant to underserved communities).

Criteria for assessing applications for mandatory distribution on the digital basic service

Any applicant submitting an application for mandatory distribution on the digital basic service must demonstrate that its programming service meets the specific criteria set out in Criteria for assessing applications for mandatory distribution on the digital basic service, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-629, 27 August 2010 (Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2010-629), which read as follows:

As part of their applications, NITV and Natyf each provided a supplementary brief outlining how their proposed services would meet the above-noted criteria for mandatory distribution on the digital basic service. The applicants also provided other evidence and arguments to support the issuance of an order for mandatory distribution of the proposed services on the digital basic service.

Applications received

1. Nunavut Independent Television Network
Across Canada
Application 2021-0527-0

Application by Nunavut Independent Television Network (NITV) for the exempt national, Indigenous-language discretionary service Uvagut TV to be granted mandatory distribution as part of the digital basic service of BDUs across Canada, pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(h) of the Act.

NITV is a not-for-profit organization whose board of directors consists of Inuit media professionals.

In its application, NITV indicated that Uvagut TV, which launched on 18 January 2021, is the first and only national television serviceFootnote 5 that is devoted to Inuit communities and that broadcasts primarily in Inuktitut. NITV stated that Uvagut TV, as a small independent service created by and for the Inuit, fills an important void by offering not only programming for Inuit, but also by reinforcing ties and fostering an understanding between Inuit and all Canadians.

The applicant indicated that Uvagut TV broadcasts Inuit-made children’s shows, movies, documentaries, and informational, cultural, public access and current affairs programming.

The applicant indicated that Uvagut TV is similar to a public television service that brings significant advantages to an underserved segment of the Canadian population that would probably not have access to such a service without a mandatory distribution order. It considered that granting the service mandatory distribution pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(h) of the Act would provide it with the necessary financing to allow it to increase Uvagut TV’s personnel and operations, and to respect its commitments relating to original Canadian productions, expenditures on Canadian programs, regional representation and the creation of jobs.

The applicant noted that the service is currently available in basic packages through Shaw Communications Inc.’s direct-to-home satellite BDU throughout Canada and through several smaller exempt terrestrial BDUs.

The applicant proposed a monthly persubscriber wholesale rate of $0.09, for a period of five years.

As noted above, the applicant currently operates Uvagut TV as an exempt discretionary service pursuant to Broadcasting Order 2015-88. NITV indicated that Uvagut TV has passed the maximum subscriber threshold and can therefore no longer operate as an exempt service under Broadcasting Order 2015-88. Accordingly, and independent of its request for mandatory distribution of the service, NITV requested a broadcasting licence to operate the currently exempt service Uvagut TV as a licensed national, Indigenous-language discretionary service.

Applicant’s address:

P.O. Box 246
Main Street
Igloolik, Nunavut
X0A 0L0
Fax: 514-486-9851
E-mail: info@uvagut.tv
E-mail to request electronic version of application: info@uvagut.tv

2. Natyf Inc.
Province of Quebec
Application 2021-0215-1

Application by Natyf Inc. (Natyf) for the exempt French-language discretionary service Natyf TV to be granted mandatory distribution as part of the digital basic service of BDUs across the Province of Quebec, pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(h) of the Act.

On air since 2018, Natyf TV serves a multicultural Francophone public, offering programming on the themes of culture, fashion, well-being and the arts. Natyf indicated that more than a million people across Quebec from cultural communities can see themselves reflected across its service with content created by and for them. It added that one of its most important mandates is the broadcast of content from local producers from cultural communities to allow for a new generation of script writers, directors, actors and producers from these communities to launch their careers in the French-language market. The applicant noted that Natyf TV is presently offered by Bell Canada, through its terrestrial BDUs and its direct-to-home satellite BDU.

Natyf indicated that it will not be able to meet its objectives, such as bringing about the emergence of a new generation of Francophone creators from racialized communities, if it does not receive wider distribution allowing it to connect with its target public and if it does not benefit from greater financial support.

The applicant proposed a monthly persubscriber wholesale rate of $0.12, for a period of five years.

As noted above, the applicant currently operates Natyf TV as an exempt discretionary service pursuant to Broadcasting Order 2015-88. If Natyf’s request for mandatory distribution on the digital basic service is granted, Natyf TV would no longer be eligible to operate under the exemption order as the total number of subscribers served by the service would exceed 200,000. Therefore, a broadcasting licence for a discretionary service would need to be issued.

Applicant’s address:

4824 de la Côte-des-Neiges Road
Suite 203
Montréal, Quebec
H3V 1G4
Fax: 514-564-4374
E-mail: info@natyf.com
Website to view application: www.natyf.com
E-mail to request electronic version of application: info@natyf.com

Procedure

Deadline for interventions, comments or answers

7 November 2022

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure) apply to the present proceeding. The Rules of Procedure set out, among other things, the rules for content, format, filing and service of interventions, answers, replies and requests for information; the procedure for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure; and the conduct of public hearings. Accordingly, the procedure set out below must be read in conjunction with the Rules of Procedure and related documents, which can be found on the Commission’s website under “Statutes and Regulations.” Guidelines on the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-959, 23 December 2010, provides information to help interested persons and parties understand the Rules of Procedure so that they can more effectively participate in Commission proceedings.

The Commission invites interventions in regard to the applications set out in this notice of consultation. Although the Commission welcomes interventions from Canadians across Canada, it is particularly interested in receiving interventions from members of the various communities targeted by the applications.

Submissions must be filed by sending them to the Secretary General of the Commission using only one of the following means:

by completing the
[Intervention/comment/answer form]

or

by mail to
CRTC, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N2

or

by fax at
819-994-0218

The Commission encourages interested persons who wish to intervene in this proceeding but who do not have access to the Internet to file their interventions by either postal mail or fax.

The Commission will accept interventions that it receives on or before 7 November 2022. Given that interveners from certain communities that do not have adequate Internet services, such as communities in Canada’s North, may wish to file their interventions by postal mail, the Commission has provided more time for the submission of interventions than it normally does for its public proceedings.

An intervention as well as an answer from a respondent (that is, a person that is adverse in interest to the applicant) must be received by the Commission on or before the above-mentioned date. Further, a copy of each intervention or answer from a respondent must be sent to the applicant and, in the case of a respondent to an application, to any other respondent, by the same date.

In accordance with the Rules of Procedure, a document must be received by the Commission and all relevant parties by 5 p.m. Vancouver time (8 p.m. Ottawa time) on the date it is due. Parties are responsible for ensuring the timely delivery of their submissions and will not be notified if their submissions are received after the deadline. Late submissions, including those due to postal delays, will not be considered by the Commission and will not be made part of the public record.

Interventions and answers must clearly identify the application referred to and indicate whether parties support or oppose the application, or, if they propose changes to it, include the facts and grounds for their proposal.

Parties are permitted to coordinate, organize, and file, in a single submission, interventions by other interested persons who share their position. Information on how to file this type of submission, known as a joint supporting intervention, as well as a template for the covering letter to be filed by the parties, can be found in Changes to certain practices for filing interventions – Expansion of filing practices to include the filing of joint supporting comments for broadcasting policy proceedings, Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-28-1, 10 December 2010.

The Commission encourages interested persons and parties to monitor the record of the proceeding, available on the Commission’s website, for additional information that they may find useful when preparing their submissions.

Submissions longer than five pages should include a summary. Each paragraph of all submissions should be numbered, and the line ***End of document*** should follow the last paragraph. This will help the Commission verify that the document has not been damaged during electronic transmission.

Pursuant to Filing submissions for Commission proceedings in accessible formats, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2015-242, 8 June 2015, the Commission expects incorporated entities and associations, and encourages all Canadians, to file submissions for Commission proceedings in accessible formats (for example, text-based file formats that allow text to be enlarged or modified, or read by screen readers). To provide assistance in this regard, the Commission has posted on its website guidelines for preparing documents in accessible formats.

Parties who send documents electronically must ensure that they will be able to prove, upon Commission request, that filing, or where required, service of a particular document was completed. Accordingly, parties must keep proof of the sending and receipt of each document for 180 days after the date on which the document is filed or served. The Commission advises parties who file or serve documents by electronic means to exercise caution when using email for the service of documents, as it may be difficult to establish that service has occurred.

The Commission will not formally acknowledge submissions. It will, however, fully consider all submissions, which will form part of the public record of the proceeding, provided that the procedure for filing set out above has been followed.

Although the public hearing will be held in Gatineau, Quebec, the Commission will consider providing videoconference links to enable remote participation (audio or video), should it receive requests to do so.

Persons requiring communications support such as assistance listening devices and sign language interpretation are requested to inform the Commission at least twenty (20) days before the commencement of the public hearing so that the necessary arrangements can be made.

Important notice

All information that parties provide as part of this public process, except information designated confidential, whether sent by postal mail, fax, email or through the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca, becomes part of a publicly accessible file and will be posted on the Commission’s website. This information includes personal information, such as full names, email addresses, postal/street addresses, telephone and fax numbers, etc.

The personal information that parties provide will be used and may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the Commission, or for a use consistent with that purpose.

Documents received electronically or otherwise will be put on the Commission’s website in their entirety exactly as received, including any personal information contained therein, in the official language and format in which they are received. Documents not received electronically will be available in PDF format.

The information that parties provide to the Commission as part of this public process is entered into an unsearchable database dedicated to this specific public process. This database is accessible only from the web page of this particular public process. As a result, a general search of the Commission’s website with the help of either its own search engine or a third-party search engine will not provide access to the information that was provided as part of this public process.

Availability of documents

Electronic versions of the applications are available on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca by selecting the application number within this notice. They are also available from the applicants, either on their websites or upon request by contacting the applicants at their email addresses, provided above.

Links to interventions, replies and answers filed for this proceeding, as well as other documents referred to in this notice, are available on the Commission’s “Consultations and hearings: have your say” page.

Documents are available upon request during normal business hours by contacting:

Documentation Centre
Examinationroom@crtc.gc.ca
Tel.: 819-997-4389
Fax: 819-994-0218

Client Services
Toll-free telephone: 1-877-249-2782
Toll-free TTY: 1-877-909-2782

Secretary General

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2022-252

Version PDF

Ottawa, le 21 septembre 2022

Dossier public : 1011-NOC2022-0252

Avis d’audience

10 janvier 2023
Gatineau (Québec)

Date limite pour le dépôt des interventions/observations/réponses : 7 novembre 2022

[Soumettre une intervention/observation/réponse ou consulter les documents connexes]

Le Conseil tiendra une audience commençant le 10 janvier 2023 à 11 h à l’administration centrale, 1, promenade du Portage, Gatineau (Québec). Le Conseil se propose d’étudier les demandes suivantes, sous réserve d’interventions, sans la comparution des parties :

Demandeur et endroit

  1. Nunavut Independent Television Network
    L’ensemble du Canada
    Demande 2021-0527-0
  2. Natyf Inc.
    Province du Québec
    Demande 2021-0215-1

Introduction

Dans le cadre de la présente instance, le Conseil examinera deux demandes présentées  par Nunavut Independent Television Network (NITV) et Natyf Inc. (Natyf) afin de bénéficier de la distribution obligatoire au sein du service numérique de base pour leurs services facultatifs respectifs Uvagut TV et Natyf TV. NITV demande la distribution obligatoire de Uvagut TV dans l’ensemble du Canada, alors que Natyf demande la distribution obligatoire de Natyf TV uniquement dans la province du Québec.

Dans les deux cas, les demandeurs précisent que la distribution obligatoire est essentielle pour l’exploitation de leurs services, puisqu’ils ciblent des communautés sous-représentées.

NITV et Natyf exploitent actuellement les services facultatifs notés ci-dessus en tant que services exemptés en vertu de l’Ordonnance d’exemption relative aux entreprises de programmation de télévision facultatives desservant moins de 200 000 abonnés, énoncée à l’annexe de Ordonnance d’exemption relative aux entreprises de programmation de télévision facultatives desservant moins de 200 000 abonnés, ordonnance de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-88, 12 mars 2015 (ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2015-88).

Qu’est-ce que la distribution obligatoire au service numérique de base?

Lorsque les Canadiens achètent un accès à des services de télévision d’une entreprise de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR), certains services de télévision sont automatiquement inclus dans le bloc de services de base, notamment toutes les stations de télévision locale, les services éducatifs provinciaux, les canaux communautaires et les canaux de la législature provinciale, s’ils sont offerts.

Quelques-uns de ces services sont réputés contribuer de manière exceptionnelle à la réalisation des objectifs de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion (Loi) et le Conseil exige que ces services fassent partie du bloc de services de base offert à tous les Canadiens en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)h) de la LoiNote de bas de page 1. Lorsqu’il exige la distribution obligatoire de ces services, le Conseil peut aussi fixer un tarif mensuel par abonné devant être payé par l’EDR au service de programmation pour la distribution du service.

La distribution de ces services au service de base assure aux radiodiffuseurs l’accès à une source raisonnablement fiable de revenus, ce qui leur permet de remplir d’importantes obligations de programmation et de contribuer de manière exceptionnelle à la réalisation des objectifs de la Loi (par exemple, offrir de la programmation qui est pertinente à des communautés sous-représentées).

Critères pour l’évaluation des demandes de distribution obligatoire au service numérique de base

Toute requérante qui soumet une demande en vue d’obtenir la distribution obligatoire au service numérique de base doit démontrer que son service de programmation satisfait aux critères spécifiques énoncés dans Critères d’évaluation des demandes de distribution obligatoire au service numérique de base, politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-629, 27 août 2010 (politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2010-629), qui sont les suivants :

Dans le cadre de leurs demandes, NITV et Natyf ont chacune fourni un mémoire complémentaire décrivant comment les services proposés répondraient aux critères de distribution obligatoire au sein du service de base numérique notés ci-dessus. Les demandeurs pouvaient aussi fournir toute autre preuve et tout autre argument à l’appui de l’émission d’une ordonnance de distribution obligatoire des services proposés au service numérique de base.

Demandes reçues

1. Nunavut Independent Television Network
L’ensemble du Canada
Demande 2021-0527-0

Demande présentée par Nunavut Independent Television Network (NITV) visant à rendre obligatoire la distribution du service facultatif national exempté de langue autochtone Uvagut TV au service numérique de base des EDR dans l’ensemble du Canada, en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)h) de la Loi.

NITV est un organisme à but non lucratif dont le conseil d’administration est composé de professionnels des médias inuits.

Dans sa demande, NITV indique qu’Uvagut TV, qui a été lancé le 18 janvier 2021, est le premier et le seul service de télévision nationalNote de bas de page 5 dédié aux communautés inuites et qui diffuse principalement en inuktitut. NITV affirme qu’Uvagut TV, en tant que petit service indépendant créé par et pour les Inuits, vient combler un vide important en offrant non seulement une programmation pour les Inuits, mais également en renforçant des liens et en favorisant la compréhension entre les Inuits et tous les Canadiens.

Le demandeur indique qu’Uvagut TV diffuse des émissions pour enfants, des films, des documentaires et une programmation d’information, de culture, d’accès public et d’actualité réalisés par des Inuits.

Le demandeur indique qu’Uvagut TV s’apparente à un service de télévision public qui apporte des avantages importants à un segment mal desservi de la population canadienne qui n’aurait probablement pas accès à un tel service sans une ordonnance de distribution obligatoire. Il estime qu’en accordant au service une distribution obligatoire en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)h) de la Loi, il obtiendrait le financement nécessaire pour lui permettre d’augmenter le personnel et les opérations d’Uvagut TV, et de respecter ses engagements relatifs aux productions canadiennes originales, aux dépenses en émissions canadiennes, à la représentation régionale et à la création d’emplois.

Le demandeur indique que le service est actuellement offert dans des forfaits de base par l’entremise de l’EDR par satellite de radiodiffusion directe de Shaw Communications Inc. partout au Canada ainsi que par l’entremise de quelques petites EDR terrestres exemptées.

Le demandeur propose un tarif de gros mensuel de 0,09 $ par abonné, et ce, pour une période de cinq ans.

Tel que noté ci-dessus, le demandeur exploite Uvagut TV en tant que service facultatif exempté en vertu de l’ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2015-88. NITV indique qu’Uvagut TV a dépassé le seuil maximum d’abonnés et ne peut donc plus être exploité en tant que service exempté en vertu de l’ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2015-88. Par conséquent, et indépendamment de sa demande de distribution obligatoire du service, NITV demande une licence de radiodiffusion afin d’exploiter le service actuellement exempté Uvagut TV en tant que service facultatif national autorisé de langue autochtone.

Adresse du demandeur :

Case postale 246
Rue Main
Igloolik (Nunavut)
X0A 0L0
Téléc : 514-486-9851
Courriel : info@uvagut.tv
Courriel pour demander la version électronique de la demande : info@uvagut.tv

2. Natyf Inc.
Province du Québec
Demande 2021-0215-1

Demande présentée par Natyf Inc. (Natyf) visant à rendre obligatoire la distribution du service facultatif exempté de langue française Natyf TV au service numérique de base des EDR dans l’ensemble de la province du Québec, en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)h) de la Loi.

En ondes depuis 2018, Natyf TV dessert un public francophone multiculturel en offrant une programmation ayant pour thèmes la culture, la mode, le bien-être et les arts. Natyf fait valoir que plus d’un million de Québécois issus des communautés culturelles peuvent se reconnaître à travers son service avec du contenu créé par et pour eux. Elle ajoute que l’un de ses mandats les plus importants est la diffusion de contenu provenant de producteurs locaux issus des communautés culturelles afin de permettre à une nouvelle génération de scénaristes, réalisateurs, comédiens et producteurs issus de ces communautés de lancer leurs carrières dans le marché de langue française. Le demandeur indique que le service est actuellement disponible chez Bell Canada, par l’entremise de ses EDR terrestres et de son service par satellite de radiodiffusion directe.

Natyf indique qu’elle ne pourra pas atteindre ses objectifs, comme faire émerger une nouvelle génération de créateurs francophones issus des communautés racisées, si elle n’obtient pas une distribution plus large lui permettant de rejoindre ses publics cibles et si elle ne bénéficie pas d’un plus grand apport financier.

Le demandeur propose un tarif de gros mensuel de 0,12 $ par abonné, et ce, pour une période de cinq ans.

Tel que noté ci-dessus, le demandeur exploite actuellement Natyf TV en tant que service facultatif exempté en vertu de l’ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2015-88. Si la demande de Natyf pour la distribution obligatoire au service numérique de base est octroyée, Natyf TV ne serait plus admissible à être exploité en vertu de l’ordonnance d’exemption puisque le nombre total d’abonnés desservis par le service dépasserait 200 000. Par conséquent, il serait nécessaire d’accorder une licence de radiodiffusion pour un service facultatif.

Adresse du demandeur :

4824, chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges
Bureau 203
Montréal (Québec)
H3V 1G4
Téléc : 514-564-4374
Courriel : info@natyf.com
Site Internet pour visionner la demande : www.natyf.com
Courriel pour demander la version électronique de la demande : info@natyf.com

Procédure

Date limite d’interventions, d’observations ou de réponses

7 novembre 2022

Les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure) s’appliquent à la présente instance. Les Règles de procédure établissent, entre autres choses, les règles concernant le contenu, le format, le dépôt et la signification des interventions, des répliques et des réponses des intimés et des demandes de renseignements; la procédure de dépôt d’information confidentielle et des demandes de divulgation; et le déroulement des audiences publiques. Par conséquent, la procédure établie ci-dessous doit être lue en parallèle avec les Règles de procédure et les documents afférents, qui sont disponibles sur le site Web du Conseil sous la rubrique « Lois et règlements ». Lignes directrices à l’égard des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC, bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-959, 23 décembre 2010, offrent des renseignements afin d’aider les personnes intéressées et les parties à bien comprendre les Règles de procédure afin qu’elles puissent participer plus efficacement aux instances du Conseil.

Le Conseil invite des interventions à l’égard des demandes énoncées dans le présent avis de consultation. Bien que le Conseil accueille des interventions des Canadiens et des Canadiennes de l’ensemble du Canada, il s’intéresse particulièrement à recevoir des interventions des membres des diverses communautés ciblées par les demandes.

Les mémoires doivent être déposés auprès du Secrétaire général du Conseil selon une seule des façons suivantes :

en remplissant le
[Formulaire d’intervention/observation/réponse]

ou

par la poste à l’adresse
CRTC, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N2

ou

par télécopieur au numéro
819-994-0218

Le Conseil encourage les personnes intéressées qui désirent intervenir dans la présente instance mais qui n’ont pas accès à Internet de soumettre leur intervention par courrier postal ou par télécopieur.

Le Conseil acceptera des interventions reçues au plus tard le 7 novembre 2022. Étant donné que les intervenants de certaines communautés qui ne disposent pas de services Internet adéquats, comme les communautés du Nord du Canada, peuvent souhaiter déposer leurs interventions par courrier postal, le Conseil a prévu plus de temps pour le dépôt des interventions qu’il ne le fait normalement pour ses instances publiques.

Une intervention ou la réponse d’un intimé (c’est-à-dire, toute personne dont les intérêts sont opposés à ceux du demandeur) doit être reçue par le Conseil au plus tard à la date susmentionnée. De plus, une copie de chaque intervention ou réponse d’un intimé doit être envoyée au demandeur et, dans le cas d’un intimé à l’égard d’une demande, à tous les autres intimés, avant la même date.

Conformément aux Règles de procédure, un document doit être déposé auprès du Conseil et des parties concernées au plus tard à 17 h, heure de Vancouver (20 h, heure d’Ottawa) à la date d’échéance. Les parties sont tenues de veiller à ce que leur mémoire soit déposé en temps opportun et ne seront pas informées si leur mémoire est reçu après la date limite. Les mémoires déposés en retard, y compris en cas de retard causé par la poste, ne seront pas pris en compte par le Conseil et ne seront pas versés au dossier public.

Toute intervention ou réponse doit clairement mentionner la demande, faire état de l’appui ou de l’opposition et, si l’intervenant ou l’intimé propose des modifications, présenter des faits et des motifs à cet égard.

Les parties sont autorisées à recueillir, organiser et déposer, en un mémoire unique, des interventions au nom d’autres personnes intéressées qui partagent leur opinion. Des renseignements sur la manière de déposer ce type de mémoire, qu’on appelle une intervention favorable conjointe, ainsi qu’un modèle de la lettre d’accompagnement qui doit être déposée par les parties sont présentés dans Modifications à certaines pratiques de dépôt d’interventions – application des pratiques de dépôt aux observations favorables conjointes lors d’une instance de politique de radiodiffusion, bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-28-1, 10 décembre 2010.

Le Conseil encourage les intéressés et les parties à examiner le contenu du dossier public de la présente instance sur le site Web du Conseil pour tout renseignement additionnel qu’ils pourraient juger utile à la préparation de leurs mémoires.

Les mémoires de plus de cinq pages devraient inclure un résumé. Chaque paragraphe des mémoires devrait être numéroté. La mention ***Fin du document*** devrait également être ajoutée après le dernier paragraphe du mémoire. Cela permettra au Conseil de s’assurer que le document n’a pas été endommagé lors de la transmission par voie électronique.

En vertu de Dépôt de mémoires en formats accessibles pour les instances du Conseil, bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2015-242, 8 juin 2015, le Conseil s’attend à ce que les entités constituées et les associations déposent leurs mémoires dans le cadre des instances du Conseil dans des formats accessibles (p. ex., des formats de fichier texte dont le texte peut être agrandi ou modifié, ou lu par un lecteur d’écran), et il encourage tous les Canadiens à faire de même. Pour leur faciliter la tâche, le Conseil a affiché sur son site Web des lignes directrices pour la préparation des documents en formats accessibles.

Les parties qui envoient des documents par voie électronique doivent s’assurer de pouvoir prouver au Conseil, sur demande, le dépôt ou la signification d’un document en particulier. Par conséquent, elles doivent conserver la preuve de l’envoi et de la réception d’un document pour une période de 180 jours à compter de la date du dépôt du document. Le Conseil recommande aux parties qui déposent un document et en signifient copie par voie électronique de se montrer prudentes lors de la signification de documents par courriel, car la preuve de la signification peut être difficile à faire.

Le Conseil n’accusera pas officiellement réception des mémoires. Il en tiendra toutefois pleinement compte et les versera au dossier public de l’instance, pourvu que la procédure de dépôt énoncée ci-dessus ait été suivie.

Bien que l’audience publique se tienne à Gatineau (Québec), le Conseil évaluera la possibilité d’offrir un accès par vidéoconférence pour permettre la participation à distance (audio ou vidéo) s’il reçoit des demandes à cet effet.

Les personnes qui requièrent des auxiliaires de communication comme les dispositifs techniques pour malentendants et l’interprétation gestuelle voudront bien en aviser le Conseil au moins vingt (20) jours avant le début de l’audience afin de lui permettre de prendre les dispositions nécessaires.

Avis important

Tous les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public, sauf ceux désignés confidentiels, qu’ils soient envoyés par la poste, par télécopieur, par courriel ou au moyen du site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca, seront versés à un dossier public et affichés sur le site Web du Conseil. Ces renseignements comprennent les renseignements personnels, tels le nom complet, l’adresse électronique, l’adresse postale et les numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur, ainsi que tout autre renseignement personnel fourni.

Les renseignements personnels fournis par les parties peuvent être divulgués et seront utilisés aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou compilés par le Conseil, ou pour un usage qui est compatible avec ces fins.

Les documents reçus en version électronique ou autrement sont affichés intégralement sur le site Web du Conseil, tels qu’ils ont été reçus, y compris tous les renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent, dans la langue officielle et le format dans lesquels ils sont reçus. Les documents qui ne sont pas reçus en version électronique sont affichés en version PDF.

Les renseignements fournis au Conseil par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public sont déposés dans une base de données impropre à la recherche et réservée exclusivement à ce processus public. Cette base de données ne peut être consultée qu’à partir de la page Web de ce processus public. Par conséquent, une recherche généralisée du site Web du Conseil, à l’aide de son moteur de recherche ou de tout autre moteur de recherche, ne permettra pas d’accéder directement aux renseignements fournis dans le cadre de ce processus public.

Disponibilité des documents

Les demandes peuvent être consultées en version électronique, sur le site Web du Conseil, www.crtc.gc.ca, en sélectionnant le numéro de la demande énoncé dans le présent avis. Elles peuvent également être consultées auprès des demandeurs, soit sur leurs sites Web ou sur demande en communiquant avec les demandeurs aux adresses courriel indiquées ci-dessus.

On peut accéder aux interventions, aux répliques et aux réponses déposées pour la présente instance, ainsi qu’à d’autres documents dont il est question dans le présent avis, en cliquant sur les liens dans la page Consultations et audiences : donnez votre avis du Conseil.

Les documents sont disponibles sur demande, pendant les heures normales de bureau. Veuillez contacter :

Centre de documentation
Examinationroom@crtc.gc.ca
Tél. : 819-997-4389
Téléc. : 819-994-0218

Service à la clientèle
Téléphone sans frais : 1-877-249-2782
ATS sans frais : 1-877-909-2782

Secrétaire général

Date de modification :