Broadcasting Notice of Proceeding CRTC 2020-25

PDF Version

Ottawa, 28 January 2020

Commercial radio policy framework review

The Commission initiates a proceeding to review the commercial radio policy framework. This notice of proceeding announces the planned procedures and identifies potential issues to be covered by the review, without limitation. Interested persons will have the opportunity to submit their observations regarding the issues once the notice of consultation is published.
The Commission intends to conduct this review without an appearing public hearing. An appearing public hearing may still take place at a later date, if necessary.
This proceeding will include the resumption of the Review of the regulatory framework for French-language vocal music applicable to the French-language commercial radio sector, initially announced in Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2015-318. The Commission will take into account the information and interventions on the record of that proceeding to develop the notice of consultation for the present review. The content of the public record for the 2015 proceeding will be placed on the public record for the current proceeding, and the interveners from that proceeding will be considered as parties in the context of the present proceeding.

Introduction

  1. Section 3(1)(d)(iii) of the Broadcasting Act (the Act) sets out that the broadcasting system should serve the needs and interests and reflect the circumstances of Canadians. The Commission is committed to ensuring that Canadians have access to a world-class communication system that encourages innovation and enriches their lives. In its 2019-2020 Departmental Plan, the Commission announced that it would launch a review of the commercial radio policy in order to modernize its regulatory framework for radio in order to position the radio market to best contribute to Canada’s broadcasting policy objectives.
  2. Canada’s radio industry primarily includes public radio stations (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation/Société Radio-Canada) as well as ethnic specialty radio stations, campus and community radio stations, and Indigenous and commercial radio stations that together contribute to the maintenance and enrichment of national identity and cultural sovereignty.
  3. In order to establish a flexible regulatory framework that allows commercial radio to continue to respond in a relevant and effective manner to the current and future needs and interests of Canadians, the Commission wishes to initiate this proceeding regarding the review of the regulatory framework for commercial radio (the proceeding) through a conversation with Canadians addressing, among other things, the programming broadcast by this sector.

Procedure

  1. The proceeding will consist of three phases:
    • Phase 1 – conversation with Canadians through public opinion research;
    • Phase 2 – a notice of consultation covering several steps; and
    • Phase 3 – appearing public hearing, if necessary.

Phase 1

  1. The review of the regulatory framework for commercial radio follows on the Commission’s May 2018Footnote 1 publication of the report entitled Harnessing Change: The Future of Programming Distribution in Canada. Supported by data relating to the communications industry as a whole, this report highlights the consumption habits of Canadians with respect to audio content, including radio.
  2. Moreover, the report specifies that “[r]adio remains the dominant audio distribution platform for music, news and spoken word content across Canada in both official languages despite competitive challenges from new platforms and its dependence solely on advertising revenues.” That being said, in the conclusion of the report, the Commission notes that although traditional radio will continue “to evolve and play important roles, the roles will be smaller than in the past as they are gradually overtaken by online services.”
  3. Beginning a conversation with Canadians in regard to their current and future needs and interests regarding commercial radio, and in particular the evaluation of the programming offered by this sector, will enable the Commission to better assess the effectiveness and relevance of the current regulatory framework. The Commission has mandated a third party to be responsible for leading discussion groups and implementing an online survey to collect Canadians’ experiences and their various points of view. The Commission will announce at a later date how Canadians will be able to participate in the online survey.
  4. In the Commission’s view, information drawn from Phase 1 will allow it to determine the specific issues to be addressed in the new policy and will significantly inform the subsequent phases of the proceeding. The Commission expects the public opinion research report to be published during Phase 2. Interveners will have the opportunity to make observations on the results of the public opinion research following publication of the report. The Commission will provide additional details in this regard in Phase 2.

Phase 2

  1. During Phase 2, the Commission will publish a notice of consultation in which it will invite Canadians, including radio broadcasters, content creators, Canadian artists and all interested persons, to submit their observations on the issues relating to the regulatory framework for commercial radio. The notice of consultation will include more than one step: the first step will serve to collect comments (interventions/replies) and the following step or steps could take the form of additional questions addressed to certain or to all parties, or any other appropriate means within the Commission’s powers and jurisdiction that will allow it to complete the public record efficiently. Any changes made to the procedure set out in the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure will be announced as the proceeding progresses.
  2. The Commission may, without limitation, examine issues relating to the current and future environment in which AM and FM commercial radio operates, as well as the impact of rapid changes on this sector, specifically in regard to profitability and competition.
  3. To evaluate whether commercial radio’s offering of musical and spoken word programming (including news bulletins) most effectively serves the needs and interests of Canadians, it is essential, on the one hand, to consider the programming offering already available through other aspects of the broadcasting system and on other platforms. The Commission must also ensure that the regulatory tools governing radio are effective and relevant. As such, the Commission plans, more precisely, to review the effectiveness and the relevance of the following:
    • the number of stations that a licensee can own in a given market (Common Ownership Policy);
    • definitions relating to local programming, as well as levels, relevance and quality of such programming, including news bulletins and other spoken word programming;
    • Canadian content development contributions;
    • the regulatory framework for musical programming, including the following elements:
      • the definition of a “musical selection,” including French-language vocal music (FVM) and Canadian selections (MAPL system);
      • quotas relating to FVM and Canadian content;
      • musical montages;
      • peak listening hours;
      • the policy regarding hits for bilingual markets;
      • the policy regarding emerging artists;and
      • content categories and sub-categories for radio.
    • measures to retain, modify or put in place so that commercial radio continues to support, to the greatest extent possible, through funding, programming or any other appropriate method, the creation, broadcast, promotion and discovery of Canadian content (musical and spoken word content);
    • the role of commercial radio in maintaining and enhancing linguistic duality in Canada;
    • the issues addressed in the proceeding for the review of the FVM regulatory framework applicable to the French-language commercial radio sector, originally announced in the Review of the regulatory framework for French-language vocal music applicable to the French-language commercial radio sector, Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2015-318, 20 July 2015; and
    • the role of commercial radio in reflecting and supporting Indigenous peoples.
  4. Interested persons will have the opportunity to submit their observations on the issues raised by the Commission only once the notice of consultation is published. The Commission will remain open to reviewing other issues and concerns related to the commercial radio sector that fall under its jurisdiction and its authority in accordance with the Act.

Phase 3

  1. For this step, taking into consideration the public record, the Commission will determine whether the information collected in Phases 1 and 2 will allow it to complete the proceeding without the appearance of the parties. The Commission may determine that an appearing hearing is necessary to address some or all potential issues. In such case, further details to that effect will be announced during the course of the proceeding.

Important notices

  1. The information that parties provide to the Commission during the proceeding will be placed in a file accessible to the public and published on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca. Additional information may be added to the public record for this proceeding when it becomes available.

Secretary General

Date modified:

Avis d’instance de radiodiffusion CRTC 2020-25

Version PDF

Ottawa, le 28 janvier 2020

Examen du cadre réglementaire relatif à la radio commerciale

Le Conseil lance une instance en vue d’examiner le cadre réglementaire relatif à la radio commerciale. Le présent avis d’instance annonce les procédures prévues et cible les enjeux potentiels qui feront partie de l’examen, sans toutefois s’y limiter. Les personnes intéressées auront l’occasion de soumettre leurs observations quant aux enjeux au moment de la publication de l’avis de consultation.
Le Conseil a l’intention de mener le présent examen sans la tenue d’une audience publique comparante. Toutefois, une audience publique comparante pourrait avoir lieu ultérieurement, au besoin.
Cette instance inclura la reprise de la Révision du cadre réglementaire relatif à la musique vocale de langue française applicable au secteur de la radio commerciale de langue française, annoncée initialement dans l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2015-318. Le Conseil tiendra compte des informations et interventions au dossier de cette instance pour élaborer l’avis de consultation du présent examen. Le contenu du dossier public de l’instance de 2015 sera versé au dossier public de la présente instance et les intervenants à cette instance seront considérés comme des parties dans le contexte de la présente instance.

Introduction

  1. L’article 3(1)d)(iii) de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion (la Loi) énonce que le système de radiodiffusion devrait répondre aux besoins et intérêts des Canadiens et refléter leur réalité. Le Conseil est résolu à veiller à ce que les Canadiens aient accès à un système de communication de classe mondiale qui encourage l’innovation et enrichit leur vie. Dans son plan ministériel 2019-2020, le Conseil a annoncé qu’il lancerait l’examen de la politique sur la radio commerciale afin de moderniser son cadre réglementaire de la radio pour placer le marché radiophonique dans une position lui permettant de contribuer de façon optimale aux objectifs de la politique de radiodiffusion du Canada.
  2. L’industrie de la radio canadienne comprend essentiellement des stations du secteur public (Société Radio-Canada/Canadian Broadcasting Corporation) ainsi que des stations de radio à caractère ethnique, de radio de campus et communautaire, de radio autochtone et de radio commerciale qui, ensemble, contribuent au maintien et à l’enrichissement de l’identité nationale et de la souveraineté culturelle.
  3. Afin de se doter d’un cadre réglementaire flexible qui permet à la radio commerciale de continuer de répondre de manière pertinente et efficace aux besoins et intérêts actuels et anticipés des Canadiens, le Conseil souhaite amorcer la présente instance d’examen du cadre réglementaire relatif à la radio commerciale (l’instance) par une conversation avec les Canadiens, notamment au sujet de la programmation diffusée par ce secteur.

Procédure

  1. L’instance comprendra trois phases :
    • Phase 1 – Conversation avec les Canadiens par l’entremise d’une recherche sur l’opinion publique;
    • Phase 2 – Avis de consultation en plusieurs étapes;
    • Phase 3 – Audience publique comparante, au besoin.

Phase 1

  1. L’examen du cadre réglementaire relatif à la radio commerciale fait suite à la publication par le Conseil, en mai 2018Note de bas de page 1, du rapport Emboîter le pas au changement : l’avenir de la distribution de la programmation au Canada. Appuyé par des données qui concernent l’ensemble de l’industrie des communications, ce rapport souligne entre autres les habitudes de consommation des Canadiens en matière de contenu audio, y compris la radio.
  2. En outre, le rapport souligne que « la radio demeure la plateforme de distribution audio dominante pour la musique, les actualités et la création orale dans l’ensemble du Canada dans les deux langues officielles, en dépit des obstacles concurrentiels que présentent les nouvelles plateformes et la forte dépendance à l’égard des revenus de publicité ». Cela dit, en conclusion au rapport, le Conseil constate que, même si la radio traditionnelle continuera « à évoluer et à jouer des rôles importants, ces rôles seront moins importants que par le passé, car ils seront graduellement dépassés par les services en ligne. » 
  3. L’amorce d’une conversation avec les Canadiens au sujet de leurs besoins et intérêts actuels et anticipés envers la radio commerciale, et en particulier l’évaluation de la programmation offerte par ce secteur, permettra au Conseil de mieux évaluer l’efficacité et la pertinence du cadre réglementaire actuel. Le Conseil a mandaté une tierce partie qui sera responsable de diriger des groupes de discussion et de mettre sur pied un sondage en ligne afin de recueillir les expériences des Canadiens ainsi que leurs différents points de vue. Le Conseil annoncera ultérieurement la façon dont les Canadiens pourront participer à ce sondage en ligne.
  4. Le Conseil est d’avis que les informations tirées de la Phase 1 permettront de déterminer les enjeux particuliers sur lesquels se pencher dans la nouvelle politique et éclaireront de manière importante les phases subséquentes de l’instance. Le Conseil prévoit que le rapport de la recherche portant sur l’opinion publique sera publié au cours de la Phase 2. Les intervenants auront l’occasion de formuler des observations sur les résultats de la recherche sur l’opinion publique, selon le moment où le rapport sera publié. Le Conseil fournira plus de détails à cet effet au cours de la Phase 2.

Phase 2

  1. Au cours de la Phase 2, le Conseil publiera un avis de consultation dans lequel il invitera les Canadiens, y compris les radiodiffuseurs, les créateurs de contenu, les artistes canadiens et toute personne intéressée à formuler des observations sur les enjeux du cadre réglementaire relatif à la radio commerciale. L’avis de consultation inclura plus d’une étape : la première étape permettra de recueillir les commentaires (interventions et répliques), et la ou les étapes subséquentes pourraient prendre la forme de questions additionnelles à certaines parties ou à l’ensemble des parties, ou tout autre moyen approprié qui relève des pouvoirs et compétences du Conseil lui permettant de compléter le dossier public efficacement. Les changements ainsi apportés à la procédure visée dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes seront annoncés au fur et à mesure que l’instance se poursuivra.
  2. Le Conseil pourrait examiner, sans s’y limiter, les enjeux relatifs à l’environnement actuel et anticipé dans lequel évolue la radio commerciale AM et FM ainsi que l’incidence des changements rapides sur ce secteur, notamment en ce qui a trait à la rentabilité et à la concurrence.
  3. Pour évaluer si l’offre de programmation musicale et de créations orales (y compris les bulletins de nouvelles) de la radio commerciale répond de manière optimale aux besoins et intérêts des Canadiens, il est essentiel, d’une part, de considérer l’offre de programmation déjà disponible par l’entremise des autres éléments du système de radiodiffusion et sur les autres plateformes. D’autre part, le Conseil doit s’assurer que les outils réglementaires qui encadrent la radio sont efficaces et pertinents. Ainsi, le Conseil prévoit plus précisément examiner l’efficacité et la pertinence de ce qui suit :
    • le nombre de stations qu’un titulaire peut détenir dans un marché donné (politique sur la propriété commune);
    • les définitions relatives à la programmation locale, ainsi que les niveaux, la pertinence et la qualité de celle-ci, y compris les bulletins de nouvelles et autres émissions de créations orales;
    • les contributions au titre du développement du contenu canadien;
    • le cadre réglementaire relatif à la programmation musicale, y compris les éléments suivants :
      • la définition de « pièce musicale », y compris la musique vocale de langue française (MVF) et les pièces canadiennes (système MAPL);
      • les quotas de MVF et de contenu canadien;
      • les montages musicaux;
      • les périodes de grande écoute;
      • la politique sur les grands succès pour les marchés bilingues;
      • la politique sur les artistes émergents; 
      • les catégories et sous-catégories de teneur pour la radio.
    • les mesures à conserver, modifier ou mettre en place afin que la radio commerciale continue de soutenir à son plein potentiel – par le financement, sa programmation ou tout autre moyen approprié –  la création, la diffusion, la promotion et la découverte de contenu canadien (musical et de créations orales);
    • le rôle de la radio commerciale dans le maintien et la valorisation de la dualité linguistique canadienne; 
    • les enjeux abordés dans l’instance sur la révision du cadre réglementaire relatif à la MVF applicable au secteur de la radio commerciale de langue française, annoncée initialement dans Révision du cadre réglementaire relatif à la musique vocale de langue française applicable au secteur de la radio commerciale de langue française, avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-318, 20 juillet 2015;
    • le rôle de la radio commerciale dans le reflet et l’appui des peuples autochtones.
  4. Les personnes intéressées auront l’occasion de soumettre leurs observations sur les enjeux soulevés par le Conseil seulement au moment de la publication de l’avis de consultation. Le Conseil demeurera ouvert à examiner d’autres enjeux et préoccupations liés au secteur de la radio commerciale qui relèvent de sa compétence et de son autorité conformément à la Loi.

Phase 3

  1. En tenant compte du dossier public à cette étape, le Conseil déterminera si les informations recueillies aux Phases 1 et 2 lui permettront de compléter l’instance sans la comparution des parties. Le Conseil pourrait déterminer qu’une audience comparante est nécessaire pour traiter une partie ou l’ensemble des enjeux potentiels. Dans un tel cas, plus de détails à cet effet seront annoncés au cours de la présente instance.

Avis importants

  1. Les renseignements que les parties fourniront au Conseil au cours de l’instance seront versés à un dossier accessible au public et publiés sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca. Des renseignements supplémentaires pourront être ajoutés au dossier public de la présente instance au fur et à mesure qu’ils deviendront disponibles.

Secrétaire général

Date de modification :