Notice of Violation: Investigation into non-compliant emails sent by Couch Commerce Inc. and nCrowd, Inc. including the vicarious liability of corporate directors

Ottawa, 23 April 2019

File number: 9090-2015-00414

Summary of investigation

Violations pursuant to An Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act, SC 2010, c 23 (the Act or CASL).

Background

As a result of complaints submitted by Canadians to the Spam Reporting Centre, designated persons of the Commission (Commission staff) initiated an investigation in April 2015 in order to assess the business activities of two groups of companies, the Couch Commerce group Footnote1 and the nCrowd group Footnote2 , for compliance with section 6 of the Act.

When sending commercial electronic messages (CEMs), section 6 imposes three types of requirements, which relate to the recipient’s consent, the unsubscribe mechanism and the identification of the sender.

The business activities of the Couch Commerce group and the nCrowd group consisted of the online sale of coupons. More precisely, companies within these ownership groups promoted the products and services of merchants on various internet websites, and sold electronic vouchers corresponding to these products and services. Descriptions of the deals were delivered to potential customers via weekly or daily emails; up to 4 emails per day per complainant in some cases. In this business model, the purchaser of a voucher (the customer) presented it to the merchant, who was responsible for shipping the product to the customer. The voucher company (here, companies of the Couch Commerce group and the nCrowd group) took a percentage on the selling price, typically around 35%, and the other part went to the merchant. In this e-commerce business, one of the voucher company’s greatest assets is their email distribution list, since consumers are profiled and receive daily emails highlighting available products relevant to their profile, and directing them to the voucher company’s websites to make purchases.

The investigation uncovered a complex corporate network and a business pattern, characterized by acquisitions, foreclosures, and bankruptcies. During this chain of acquisitions, the customer email distribution list grew exponentially to reach more than 2 million email addresses. The common threads amid this corporate network and string of acquisitions of email distribution lists are the key players involved, namely Ghassan Halazon and Brian Conley Footnote3 , as shown in the chart below and detailed in the corresponding description.

Besides this chain of acquisitions, the investigation uncovered a whole network of corporations in various lines of businesses, throughout several countries, and characterized by (a) high frequency of business registrations, (b) high frequency of business acquisitions, (c) high frequency of corporate changes, including names and addresses, and (d) dealings with companies specialized in dividend routing and tax optimization services.

The key assets acquired in the chain of transactions listed in the chart were intangible, essentially the email distribution list, domain names and trademarks. Through these ownership changes, key individuals directing the former company were able to continue to carry on business by directing the new one. This model allowed the new company to continue on the business with an ever larger email distribution list. This model also allowed the new company to continue the business without the assumed liabilities of the former company. However, the continuity of service was damaged: as merchants ceased being paid for their products, they refused to ship products ordered by customers. The new company refused to pay the amounts owed by the previous company to merchants and customers. As a result, both merchants and customers ended up losing money, since the voucher business closed or entered into bankruptcy proceedings before merchants and customers were fully compensated for their transactions.

Canadian and American consumers Footnote4 and merchants Footnote5 reported that they lost money. National and international media outlets alerted the public about Couch Commerce Inc. operating as Teambuy and Dealfind, nCrowd and Boomstreet Footnote6 . The industry, via the Canadian Deals and Coupons Association, also issued warning notices regarding nCrowd and Boomstreet Footnote7 .

As a result of the circumstances cited above, specifically the fact that the companies involved were operational then quickly dissolved or otherwise ended, any enforcement actions directed towards such companies would have no deterrent effect nor effectively promote compliance. Therefore, Commission staff pursued the corporate directors through vicarious liability in order to encourage future compliance with the Act.

Investigation of nCrowd, Inc. and its director Brian Conley

Commission staff alleged and the Commission found in Decision 2019-111 that between 25 September 2014 and 1 May 2015, nCrowd, Inc. sent CEMs or caused or permitted any of its subsidiaries, namely nCrowd Commerce, Inc. and nCrowd Limited, to send CEMs to electronic addresses, without consent and without a functioning unsubscribe mechanism contrary to paragraphs 6(1)(a) and 6(2)(c) of the Act.

Commission staff also alleged and the Commission found in Decision 2019-111 that Brian Conley acquiesced in these violations, while he was the President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the nCrowd companies. As CEO, Brian Conley took no action and turned a blind eye to the practices being employed at his companies in terms of the acquisition and use of email distribution lists, despite the fact that in this line of business, an email distribution list is one of the most important assets through which to generate revenues. Protecting such an asset, including ensuring continued ability to use it, under CASL, should therefore have been important to the nCrowd group and its CEO. However, the nCrowd group’s email distribution and consent-tracking lists were largely inaccurate, incomplete, and altered.

Of interest, Commission staff noticed that the nCrowd group used a technique, called “pixel tag” Footnote8 , one of many used by e-marketers and spammers alike to track whether an email address is valid, if and when the email was opened, and from which computer the email was viewed, without asking the recipient directly. This technique may be used for analytics of email open rates. While a long list of valid email addresses with high open rates collected through the use of pixel tags may be a good indicator of a distribution list’s reach and value when selling/purchasing it, Commission staff alleged that the technique itself by its very nature does not reflect the existence of consent from recipients, and thereby it cannot be a way to manage distribution lists in compliance with the Act. In other words, by opening an email, a recipient does not provide (nor retroactively provide) the originator with express or implied consent to send them CEMs.

Investigation of Couch Commerce Inc. and its director Ghassan Halazon

Commission staff alleged that between 2 July 2014 and 9 September 2014, Couch Commerce Inc. sent CEMs, or caused or permitted any of its subsidiaries, namely 8108773 Canada Inc. and DealFind.com Inc., to send CEMs to electronic addresses, without a functioning unsubscribe mechanism contrary to paragraph 6(2)(c) of the Act.

Commission staff also alleged that Ghassan Halazon acquiesced in this violation while he was the President and CEO of Couch Commerce Inc. Couch Commerce’s non-functioning unsubscribe mechanism was a broad and recurring compliance issue that Ghassan Halazon ought to have known about over the time, considering the importance of email distribution lists to the Couch Commerce group’s business. Evidence shows that even when Couch Commerce group’s employees told a customer they had been unsubscribed, they had actually not been. Appropriate steps to fix the unsubscribe process were never taken. No evidence shows that Ghassan Halazon instituted any policy or procedure relating to compliance with the Act.

Enforcement actions

Pursuant to section 22 of the Act, the CRTC designated person served a Notice of Violation (NOV) on Brian Conley on 13 February 2017, whereby it was alleged that he was liable, in his director capacity, for the violations committed by nCrowd, Inc. pursuant to section 31 of the Act. The NOV set out an administrative monetary penalty totaling $100,000. Pursuant to section 24(1) of the Act, Brian Conley submitted representations to the Commission (see details below).

Pursuant to section 22 of the Act, the CRTC designated person served a NOV on Ghassan Halazon on 7 February 2017, whereby it was alleged that he was liable, in his director capacity, for the violation committed by Couch Commerce Inc. pursuant to section 31 of the Act. In addition, a warning letter was served upon Ghassan Halazon on 10 February 2017. The purpose of this letter was to raise concerns regarding new compliance issues, considering that the email lists that were at the core of the alleged violations committed by Couch Commerce Inc. and nCrowd, Inc. were appropriated, after a series of bankruptcies and transactions, by Transformational Capital Corp. (TCC), a company directed by Ghassan Halazon. Following discussions between Mr. Halazon and Commission staff, an undertaking was signed to address the alleged violations and ensure future compliance. The undertaking included, an amount to be paid, set at $10,000, and a compliance program to be put in place by TCC. This undertaking ended the proceeding commenced by the NOV, pursuant to section 21 of the Act.

In addition, warning letters were served on 16 December 2016 upon Salesforce.com, Inc., formerly known as ExactTarget, Inc. (Couch Commerce group’s email service provider or ESP) and Sailthru, Inc. (nCrowd group’s ESP). Commission staff advised these ESPs that some CEMs sent on behalf of their respective client did not properly identify the ESP as the sender Footnote9 and did not always contain a functioning unsubscribe mechanism. These letters required both ESPs to take corrective action to ensure compliance with CASL.

Decision of the Commission

In its Decision 2019-111 dated 23 April 2019, the Commission confirmed the violations committed by nCrowd, Inc. and the liability of its director, Mr. Conley, pursuant to section 31 of the Act, as well as the penalty amount set out in the NOV ($100,000).

This decision has no impact on the undertaking signed by Mr. Halazon.

Caveat:

A person found liable by the Commission may further bring an appeal in the Federal Court of Appeal from the decision rendered by the Commission pursuant to section 27 of the Act. Commission staff will make the best efforts to provide additional information as soon as practicable.

Recycling and Growth of email lists
Text Description of Image

Couch Commerce Inc. and its subsidiaries (Canada) operated under a number of business names, including Teambuy and Dealfind. Couch Commerce Inc.’s CEO was Ghassan Halazon.  Couch Commerce Inc. filed for bankruptcy on 29 August 2014.

nCrowd, Inc., formerly known as Half Off Depot Inc. (United States) had two subsidiaries: nCrowd Commerce, Inc. (Canada) and nCrowd Limited (United Kingdom). Brian Conley was the CEO of each of these companies. NCrowd Commerce, Inc., the Canadian subsidiary, acquired Couch Commerce Inc.’s assets on 19 September 2014 and Ghassan Halazon served as Executive VP Growth and Expansion of nCrowd, Inc.

In addition to Couch Commerce Inc., nCrowd, Inc. and its subsidiaries acquired the assets of a large number of corporations Footnote10 , among which is Crowdsavings.com LLC, a company which had the same Chief Financial Officer (CFO) as nCrowd, Inc., and which itself previously acquired the assets of a large number of corporation Footnote11 . nCrowd, Inc. and its subsidiaries operated under a number of business names, including Crowdsavings, Dealathons, CrowdCut, EverSave, Moolala, EthicalDeal, Spreebird, Justdeals, Dealfind, Teambuy, plumdistrict, Tippr, and KgbDeals.

nCrowd, Inc.’s assets were foreclosed on 30 July 2015 by its creditor, namely Baseline Capital Inc., a subsidiary of Ad-in Ventures owned by Brian Conley. More specifically, Commission staff found that Brian Conley was involved in a series of transactions, which resulted in leaving all unsecured creditors (e.g. merchants and consumers) unpaid.

nCrowd, Inc.’s assets were then acquired by Clayco Capital Ventures, LLC operating as Boomstreet, a company created by Brian Conley, where he continued working as Advisor until 30 September 2015. Boomstreet’s CEO was nCrowd, Inc.’s former Email Marketing Coordinator and long-time business partner of Brian Conley. Boomstreet was also linked with a British company, Clayco Enterprises Ltd, which was directed and owned by nCrowd, Inc.’s former National Account Manager, and which was rapidly dissolved.

Boomstreet filed for bankruptcy on 31 May 2016, shortly after its assets were acquired by Evandale Caviar Inc. operating as Buytopia. Evandale Caviar Inc. is a subsidiary of Emerge Commerce Inc., formerly known as Transformational Capital Corp. (TCC), a company co-founded and directed by Ghassan Halazon, CEO.

In parallel, nCrowd Limited, the British subsidiary of nCrowd, Inc. directed by Brian Conley, CEO, was placed into liquidation on 9 December 2015 and its assets were acquired by Mighty Deals Limited. Mighty Deals Limited’s assets were subsequently acquired by TCC, where nCrowd, Inc.’s former CFO was appointed director on 29 December 2016.

nCrowd Commerce, Inc., the Canadian subsidiary of nCrowd, Inc. directed by Brian Conley, CEO, ceased activity.

Another company named Shop.ca Network Inc. (a company directed by a business partner of Ghassan Halazon and nCrowd, Inc.’s former CFO), filed for bankruptcy on 5 July 2016 and its assets were acquired by TCC.

Date modified:

Enquête concernant les courriels non conformes envoyés par Couch Commerce Inc. et nCrowd, Inc., y compris la responsabilité des directeurs des sociétés

Ottawa, le 23 avril 2019

Numéro de dossier : 9090-2015-00414

Résumé de l’enquête

Violations de la Loi visant à promouvoir l’efficacité et la capacité d’adaptation de l’économie canadienne par la réglementation de certaines pratiques qui découragent l’exercice des activités commerciales par voie électronique et modifiant la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la Loi sur la concurrence, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la Loi sur les télécommunications, L.C. 2010, ch. 23 (la Loi ou la LCAP).

Contexte

À la suite de plaintes présentées par des Canadiens au Centre de notification des pourriels, les personnes désignées du Conseil (le personnel du Conseil) ont ouvert une enquête en avril 2015 afin d’évaluer les activités commerciales de deux groupes d’entreprises, soit le groupe Couch CommerceNote de bas de page1 et le groupe nCrowdNote de bas de page2 concernant leur conformité à l’article 6 de la Loi.

Selon l’article 6, trois types d’exigences sont imposées concernant l’envoi de messages électroniques commerciaux (MEC) : le consentement du destinataire, le mécanisme d’exclusion et l’identité de l’expéditeur.

Les activités commerciales du groupe Couch Commerce et du groupe nCrowd comprennent la vente en ligne de coupons. Plus précisément, les sociétés au sein de ces groupes font la promotion dans divers sites Web de produits et de services offerts par des commerçants et vendent les coupons électroniques qui y correspondent. Des descriptions de ces bonnes affaires étaient livrées aux clients éventuels au moyen de courriels hebdomadaires ou quotidiens, certains plaignants ayant reçu jusqu’à quatre courriels par jour. Dans ce modèle d’affaires, l’acheteur d’un coupon (le client) le présentait au commerçant, qui était alors responsable de lui expédier le produit. La société émettrice de coupons (dans le cas qui nous concerne, les sociétés du groupe Couch Commerce et du groupe nCrowd) prélevait un pourcentage du prix de vente, habituellement environ 35 %, le reste allant au commerçant. Dans le cadre de cette activité de commerce électronique, la liste de diffusion de courriels de la société émettrice de coupons constitue l’un de ses principaux actifs. Le profil des consommateurs ayant été établi, ces derniers reçoivent des courriels quotidiens mettant en valeur des produits qui y correspond. Ces courriels les orientent vers le site Web de la société pour y faire des achats.

L’enquête a révélé un réseau complexe de sociétés et un modèle opérationnel caractérisé par des acquisitions, des saisies et des faillites. Au cours de cette série d’acquisitions, la liste de diffusion de courriels s’est allongée de façon exponentielle, atteignant plus de deux millions d’adresses. Tel qu’il est montré dans le diagramme ci-dessous et détaillé dans la description correspondante, Ghassan Halazon et Brian ConleyNote de bas de page3 sont les principaux acteurs impliqués dans ce réseau de sociétés et cette série d’acquisitions de listes de diffusion par courriel.

Outre cette série d’acquisitions, l’enquête a révélé un réseau complet de sociétés dans divers secteurs d’activités et dans plusieurs pays. Elles se caractérisent par : (a) un nombre élevé d’inscriptions au registre de commerce; (b) un nombre élevé d’acquisitions d’entreprises; (c) un nombre élevé de changements liés aux entreprises, notamment de noms et d’adresses; (d) des affaires avec des sociétés spécialisées en services d’acheminement de dividendes et d’optimisation fiscale.

Les principaux actifs acquis dans la série d’opérations indiquées dans le diagramme étaient incorporels. Il s’agissait essentiellement de la liste de diffusion de courriels, de noms de domaine et de marques déposées. Dans le cadre de ces changements de propriétaire, les principales personnes qui administraient la société précédente étaient en mesure de poursuivre leurs activités commerciales en administrant la nouvelle. Ce modèle permettait à la nouvelle société de poursuivre ses activités en utilisant une liste de diffusion encore plus vaste. Ce modèle lui permettait également de poursuivre ses activités sans prendre en charge les dettes de la société précédente. La continuité du service était toutefois interrompue puisque les commerçants refusaient d’expédier leurs produits aux clients lorsqu’ils n’étaient plus payés. La nouvelle société refusait de verser les montants dus aux commerçants et aux clients par la société précédente. Ainsi, les commerçants et les clients perdaient de l’argent, puisque la société émettrice de coupons fermait ses portes ou entreprenait une procédure de faillite avant qu’ils ne soient complètement indemnisés pour leurs transactions.

Des consommateursNote de bas de page4 et des commerçantsNote de bas de page5 Canadiens et Américains ont déclaré avoir perdu de l’argent. Des organes de presse à l’échelle nationale et internationale ont alerté le public au sujet de Couch Commerce Inc., exerçant ses activités sous les noms de Teambuy et Dealfind, et au sujet de nCrowd et BoomstreetNote de bas de page6. L’industrie, par l’intermédiaire de la Canadian Deals and Coupons Association, a également publié des avertissements concernant nCrowd et BoomstreetNote de bas de page7.

En raison des circonstances mentionnées ci-dessus– particulièrement le fait que les sociétés concernées exerçaient leurs activités, puis faisaient rapidement l’objet d’une dissolution ou d’une cessation d’activités –, des mesures d’application de la loi à leur égard n’auraient eu aucun effet dissuasif et n’auraient pas servi effectivement à la promotion de la conformité. Le personnel du Conseil a donc recherché la responsabilité des dirigeants de ces sociétés de façon à atteindre la conformité à la Loi.

Enquête portant sur nCrowd, Inc. et son directeur Brian Conley

Le personnel du Conseil a allégué et le Conseil a ensuite reconnu dans la décision 2019-111 que du 25 septembre 2014 au 1 May 2015, nCrowd, Inc. avait envoyé des MEC ou avait permis à ses filiales – à savoir, nCrowd Commerce, Inc. et nCrowd Limited – d’envoyer des MEC à des adresses électroniques, sans consentement et sans mettre en place un mécanisme d’exclusion opérationnel, contrairement aux alinéas 6(1)a) et 6(2)c) de la Loi.  

Le personnel du Conseil a aussi allégué et le Conseil a reconnu dans la décision 2019-111 que Brian Conley avait consenti à ces violations, alors qu’il était président-directeur général (PDG) des sociétés du groupe nCrowd. À titre de PDG, Brian Conley n’avait pris aucune mesure et avait ignoré les pratiques de ses sociétés concernant l’acquisition et l’utilisation de listes de diffusion de courriels, malgré le fait que dans ce secteur d’activités, une telle liste est l’un des plus importants actifs pour la création de revenus. La protection d’un tel actif, notamment la préservation de son utilisation continue en vertu de la LCAP, aurait donc dû être importante aux yeux du groupe nCrowd et de son PDG. Les listes de diffusion de courriels et de suivi des consentements du groupe nCrowd étaient toutefois et en grande partie inexactes, incomplètes et altérées.

Il convient de noter que le personnel du Conseil a remarqué que le groupe nCrowd utilisait une technique appelée « pixel espion »Note de bas de page8 utilisée par les spécialistes en commercialisation électronique et les polluposteurs pour connaître la validité d’une adresse, le moment et l’heure de l’ouverture d’un courriel et l’emplacement de l’ordinateur utilisé pour ouvrir le courriel, sans s’adresser directement au destinataire. Cette technique peut être utilisée pour mesurer le taux d’ouverture des courriels. Bien qu’une longue liste d’adresses électroniques valides ayant des taux d’ouverture élevés (recueillis à l’aide de pixels espions) puisse être un bon indicateur de la portée et de la valeur d’une liste de diffusion au moment de la vendre ou de l’acheter, le personnel du Conseil a allégué que cette technique, en raison de sa nature même, n’indique pas qu’il s’agit d’un consentement de la part des destinataires. Ainsi, elle ne constitue pas une façon de gérer des listes de diffusion conformément à la Loi. Autrement dit, en ouvrant un courriel, un destinataire ne donne pas (ni ne donne de façon rétroactive) à un expéditeur l’autorisation, expresse ou tacite, de lui faire parvenir des MEC.

Enquête portant sur Couch Commerce Inc. et son directeur Ghassan Halazon

Le personnel du Conseil a allégué que du 2 juillet 2014 au 9 septembre 2014, Couch Commerce Inc. avait envoyé des MEC ou avait permis à ses filiales – à savoir 8108773 Canada Inc. et DealFind.com Inc. – d’envoyer des MEC à des adresses électroniques sans avoir mis en place un mécanisme d’exclusion opérationnel, contrairement à l’alinéa 6(2)c) de la Loi.  

Le personnel du Conseil a aussi allégué que Ghassan Halazon avait consenti à cette violation lorsqu’il était PDG de Couch Commerce Inc. Le mécanisme d’exclusion non conforme de cette société était un problème généralisé et récurrent que Ghassan Halazon aurait dû connaître étant donné l’importance des listes de diffusion de courriels pour ses activités commerciales. Des éléments de preuve indiquent que même lorsque les employés du groupe Couch Commerce disaient aux clients qu’ils avaient été désabonnés, tel n’était pas le cas. Des mesures appropriées pour régler le mécanisme d’exclusion n’ont pas été prises. Aucun élément de preuve n’indique que Ghassan Halazon avait établi des politiques ou des procédures visant la conformité à la Loi.

Mesures prises

Conformément à l’article 22 de la Loi, la personne désignée du CRTC a signifié un procès-verbal de violation à Brian Conley le 13 février 2017, en vertu duquel il était allégué que M. Conley était responsable, en sa qualité de directeur, des violations commises par nCrowd, Inc. conformément à l’article 31 de la Loi. Le procès-verbal a fixé une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 100 000 $. Conformément au paragraphe 24(1) de la Loi, Brian Conley a présenté des observations au Conseil (se reporter à la section Décision du Conseil ci-dessous).

Conformément à l’article 22 de la Loi, la personne désignée du CRTC a notifié un procès-verbal de violation à Ghassan Halazon le 7 février 2017, en vertu duquel il était allégué que M. Halazon était responsable, en sa qualité de directeur, de la violation commise par Couch Commerce Inc. conformément à l’article 31 de la Loi. En plus, une lettre d’avertissement a été délivrée à Ghassan Halazon le 10 février 2017. Cette lettre indiquait une préoccupation concernant de nouveaux problèmes de conformité, étant donné que les listes de courriels, qui étaient au cœur des violations imputées à Couch Commerce Inc. et nCrowd, Inc., avaient été acquises à la suite d’une série de faillites et d’opérations par Transformational Capital Corp. (TCC), une société administrée par Ghassan Halazon. À la suite d’entretiens entre M. Halazon et le personnel du Conseil, un engagement a été signé pour régler les violations présumées et veiller à une conformité future. L’engagement comprenait un montant payable de 10 000 $ et un programme de conformité mis sur pied par TCC. Cet engagement mettait fin à la procédure en violation amorcée par le procès-verbal, et ce, conformément à l’article 21 de la Loi.

De plus, des lettres d’avertissement ont été délivrées le 16 décembre 2016 à Salesforce.com Inc., précédemment appelée ExactTarget, Inc. (le fournisseur de services de courriel ou FSC du groupe Couch Commerce) et Sailthru Inc. (le FSC du groupe nCrowd). Le personnel du Conseil a avisé ces FSC que certains MEC envoyés au nom de leur client respectif ne fournissaient pas correctement leur identité à titre d’expéditeursNote de bas de page9 et ne contenaient pas toujours un mécanisme d’exclusion opérationnel. Ces lettres exigeaient de ces deux FSC qu’ils prennent les mesures correctives nécessaires pour se conformer à la LCAP.

Décision du Conseil

Dans sa décision 2019-111 du 23 avril 2019, le Conseil a confirmé les violations commises par nCrowd, Inc. et la responsabilité de son directeur M. Conley conformément à l’article 31 de la Loi, ainsi que le montant de la sanction fixée dans le procès-verbal (100 000 $).

L’engagement signé par M. Halazon n’est pas impacté par cette décision.

Avertissement :

Une personne tenue responsable par le Conseil peut interjeter appel devant la Cour d’appel fédérale conformément à l’article 27 de la Loi. Le personnel du Conseil fera de son mieux pour fournir des renseignements supplémentaires dès que possible.

.
Recyclage et expansion de listes de courriels
Description longue graphique

Couch Commerce Inc. et ses filiales (Canada) exerçaient leurs activités en utilisant un certain nombre de noms commerciaux, notamment Teambuy et Dealfind. Ghassan Halazon était le PDG de Couch Commerce Inc. Couch Commerce Inc. a déclaré faillite le 29 août 2014.

nCrowd, Inc., précédemment appelée Half Off Depot Inc. (États-Unis) avait deux filiales : nCrowd Commerce, Inc. (Canada) et nCrowd Limited (Royaume-Uni). Brian Conley était le PDG de chacune de ces sociétés. nCrowd Commerce, Inc., la filiale canadienne, a acquis les actifs de Couch Commerce Inc. le 19 septembre 2014, et Ghassan Halazon agissait alors à titre de vice-président administratif, Croissance et expansion pour nCrowd, Inc.

En plus d’acquérir les actifs de Couch Commerce Inc., nCrowd, Inc. et ses filiales ont acheté les actifs d’un grand nombre de sociétés) Note de bas de page10, dont la société Crowdsavings.com LLC – une société qui avait le même dirigeant principal des finances (DPF) que nCrowd, Inc. – et qui avait elle-même acquis auparavant les actifs de nombreuses sociétés) Note de bas de page11. nCrowd, Inc. et ses filiales exerçaient leurs activités sous un certain nombre de noms commerciaux, notamment Crowdsavings, Dealathons, CrowdCut, EverSave, Moolala, EthicalDeal, Spreebird, Justdeals, Dealfind, Teambuy, plumdistrict, Tippr et KgbDeals.

Les actifs de nCrowd, Inc. ont été saisis le 30 juillet 2015 par son créancier Baseline Capital Inc., une filiale d’Ad-in Ventures appartenant à Brian Conley. Plus particulièrement, le personnel du Conseil a constaté que Brian Conley a pris part à une série d’opérations ayant abouti au non-paiement de tous les créanciers non privilégiés (à savoir, les commerçants et les consommateurs).

Les actifs de nCrowd, Inc. ont ensuite été acquis par Clayco Capital Ventures, LLC exerçant ses activités sous le nom de Boomstreet, une société créée par Brian Conley dans laquelle il a poursuivi son travail à titre de conseiller jusqu’au 30 septembre 2015. Le PDG de Boomstreet était l’ancien coordonnateur marketing par courriel de nCrowd, Inc. et un partenaire d’affaires de Brian Conley depuis longtemps. Boomstreet était aussi reliée à une société britannique, Clayco Enterprises Ltd, dont le propriétaire et directeur était l’ancien gestionnaire des comptes nationaux de nCrowd, Inc. Cette société a rapidement fait l’objet d’une dissolution.

Boomstreet a déclaré faillite le 31 mai 2016, peu après l’acquisition de ses actifs par Evandale Caviar Inc. exerçant ses activités sous le nom de Buytopia. Evandale Caviar Inc. est une filiale d’Emerge Commerce Inc., précédemment connu sous le nom de Transformational Capital Corp. (TCC), une société cofondée et administrée par Ghassan Halazon, PDG.

Parallèlement, nCrowd Limited, la filiale britannique de nCrowd, Inc. administrée par Brian Conley, PDG, a été mise en liquidation le 9 décembre 2015 puis acquise par Mighty Deals Limited. Les actifs de Mighty Deals Limited ont ensuite été acquis par TCC, dont le directeur, nommé le 29 décembre 2016, est l’ancien DPF de nCrowd, Inc.

nCrowd Commerce Inc., la filiale canadienne de nCrowd, Inc. administrée par Brian Conley, PDG, a cessé ses activités.

Une autre société nommée Shop.ca Network Inc. (une société administrée par un partenaire commercial de Ghassan Halazon et de l’ancien DPF de nCrowd, Inc.) a déclaré faillite le 5 juillet 2016 et ses actifs ont été achetés par TCC.

 

Date de modification :