Telecom Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution list and the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services


Ottawa, 23 December 2019

Our file: 1011-NOC2019-0057

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution list; Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services

Subject:  Review of mobile wireless services, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2019-57 – Requests for information

Dear Madams, Sirs:

On 28 February 2019, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission published Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57 (NoC 2019-57) initiating a review of mobile wireless services. Subsequently, the Commission has issued requests for information (RFIs) as part of the proceeding initiated by NoC 2019-57 whereby it asked parties to provide data on a number of topics relevant to the issues under consideration, including whether it would be appropriate for the Commission to mandate the provision of low-cost wireless plans. Footnote1

Commission staff considers that additional information on occasional-use or emergency-use wireless plans would ensure a more complete record. In particular, Commission staff is seeking information regarding low-cost mobile wireless plans with lower-usage offering primarily voice services that might be used by individuals who: do not want or need a more full-featured mobile wireless plan; or do not plan to use the mobile device frequently; or maintain a mobile device primarily for emergencies (e.g., an example of such a plan currently available in Canada is as follows: 10 minutes or less of calling and unlimited text messages within Canada, with no data, for $5 per billing cycle). These additional RFIs are provided in the Appendix to this letter.

Commission staff is also addressing RFI questions specifically to the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services (CCTS), in order to obtain comments on how the CCTS would be impacted in the event the Commission were to establish conditions for the offering and provision of low-cost wireless plans (potentially including establishing rates or rate ceilings), such as occasional-use, or emergency-use plans. Commission staff is particularly interested in how this would impact the CCTS’s mandate and the CCTS’s role in administering consumer codes such as the Wireless Code.

The parties identified in each set of questions in the attachment are to file responses to questions 1 to 6 and question 11 by 15 January 2020. If a party is unable to provide the requested information for any questions identified in the attachments, the company is to provide a detailed justification as to why.

We expect issues related to questions 7 to 10 to be explored in greater detail during the public hearing. Accordingly, any party that is appearing at the hearing may choose not to submit written responses to those questions at this time, and may instead cometo answer those questions at the hearing. Parties electing to do so should indicate this in their responses to the present letter.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Parties are reminded that, if a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

With respect to the quality of the information submitted, all parties are expected to provide accurate information on the record of this proceeding. As such, if any party becomes aware of any errors, omissions or inaccuracies in the information it provided in the course of this proceeding, the party is expected to file a revised version of the information in a timely manner.

If you have any questions with regards to this letter, please contact Bradley Gaudet at bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by 

Philippe Kent
Director, Policy  
Telecommunications Sector                               

Original signed by 

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer, Research and Communications

c.c.: Bradley Gaudet, CRTC, 873-353-4709, bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca

Attachment

Distribution List

Ageing, Communication, Technologies (ACT), kim.sawchuk@concordia.ca;
Bell Mobility Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Bragg Communications Incorporated, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca;
Canadian Internet Policy & Public Interest Clinic and OpenMedia, tisrael@cippic.ca;
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca;
Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association, esmith@cwta.ca;
Coalition for Cheaper Wireless Service (CCWS), jlawford@piac.ca;
Cogeco Communications Inc., telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Competition Bureau, matthew.boswell@canada.ca; laura.sonley@canada.ca;
Computer & Communications Industry Association, jhowes@ccianet.org;
Connex Global Communications Inc., info@gophonebox.com;
Conseil provincial du secteur des communications du Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique – nblais@scfp.ca, mlorch@scfp.ca;
Data On Tap Inc., regulatory@dotmobile.app;
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, execdir@frpc.net;
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@iristel.com;
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca;
Internet Society Canada Chapter, tim@tmdenton.com;
Little House Technologies Incorporated, garrett@littlehousetechnologies.com;
Manitoba Coalition, kadil@legalaid.mb.ca;
Maple Communications Group Inc., regulatory@maplecomm.ca;
Province of British Columbia, roman.mateyko@gov.bc.ca;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com;
Shaw Telecom Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
SSi Micro Ltd., regulatory@ssimicro.com;
Star Solutions International Inc., michael.bond@starsolutions.com;
Tbaytel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com;
TELUS Communications Inc., regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc., akaplanmyrth@teksavvy.ca;
Tucows Inc., enoss@tucows.com;
Union des consommateurs, abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca;
Videotron Ltd., regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Xplornet Communications Inc., xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com


Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services,
howard.maker@ccts-cprst.ca; mauricio.perez@ccts-cprst.ca; josee.thibault@ccts-cprst.ca;

Appendix

Issues related to occasional-use or emergency-use wireless plans

The Public Interest Advocacy Centre-National Pensioners Federation (PIAC-NPF) filed a Part 1 application Footnote2 on 13 April 2018 in which it requested that the Commission issue a direction to the national wireless carriers to make “occasional-use retail wireless plans” broadly available to consumers. PIAC-NPF submitted that these plans would serve low-volume users with variable demand. Footnote3 In a letter dated 10 May 2018, the Commission determined that consideration of the application would be suspended until a later date.

During the current mobile-wireless proceeding, PIAC-NPF did not explicitly propose that the Commission consider requiring the offering of occasional-use plans. Furthermore, PIAC-NPF’s Part 1 application remains suspended.

However, certain interveners argued that some consumers may keep a mobile device to be used rarely, for instance in emergencies only, and seek to pay a minimal amount to do so. For example:

Commission staff notes that $5.00 plans with the following attributes are already being provided in the marketplace: Footnote4

Commission staff also notes that $15.00 plans with the following attributes are already being provided in the marketplace:

Questions to WSPs (responses to be filed by 15 January 2020):

  1. If a customer asks about low-cost occasional-use or emergency-use plans, which plan(s) out of those that you (or your affiliates) currently offer (including all flanker brands operated by your company) would you recommend to them and why? For each of these plans, explain:
    1. whether the plan is available regionally, or nationally;
    2. any limits on the availability of such plans;
    3. whether any of these plans are available as part of a bundle;
    4. the attributes of the plans (e.g. whether postpaid or prepaid; if prepaid, whether available on a pay-as-you-go basis; the services included under the key contract terms and conditions; any limits on the use of those services that could trigger overage charges or additional fees; the amount at which such overages or additional fees are charged);
    5. whether you have made changes to any qualifying plans in the last two years (i.e., 2018 or 2019) and if so, what the changes are and why they were made; and
    6. whether you have discontinued the offer or provision of any qualifying plans in the last two years and, if so, when and why.
  2. In the event one or more of the brands operated by your company or an affiliate does not offer a low-cost occasional-use or emergency-use plan, do the relevant customer service representatives refer customers to the brands that do?
  3. How are you and/or any relevant affiliate currently promoting these plans? Provide links to where these plans appear on your website, where applicable. Provide copies of other promotional material not available on your website, where applicable.
  4. Provide any information in your possession indicating the existence and/or levels of demand for these plans. Provide an attestation as to whether your company tracks requests for such plans and, if so, provide the attested tracking information.

Questions to other parties (responses to be filed by 15 January 2020):

  1. In your view, are these plans easily available to the consumers likely to benefit from them? Are they are being sufficiently promoted?
  2. Provide any information in your possession indicating the existence and/or levels of demand for these plans (e.g. surveys, testimonials).

Questions to Distribution List (responses may be filed by 15 January, but may also be given as part of public hearing):

  1. To what extent are consumers’ needs for occasional-use or emergency-use wireless plans being met by current WSP offerings? If needs are not being met, please elaborate and explain if it would be appropriate for the Commission to make one or more determinations under section 34 of the Telecommunications Act in order to re-assert powers under sections 25 and 27(1) to ensure their needs will be met.
  2. Should the Commission establish conditions for the offering and provision of low-cost occasional-use or emergency-use mobile wireless plans (potentially including establishing attributes, rates or rate ceilings)? If so:
    1. provide supporting rationale;
    2. explain how the Commission should impose those conditions;
    3. explain whether a plan with the attributes noted in the $5.00 plan described above would be appropriate. If any would not be appropriate, explain why and propose a more appropriate attribute; and
    4. explain whether a plan with the attributes noted in the $15.00 plan described above would be appropriate. If any would not be appropriate, explain why and propose a more appropriate attribute.
  3. Is there evidence that mobile virtual network operators (MVNOs) are providing low-cost occasional-use or emergency-use wireless plans in Canadian or international markets?
  4. Is there evidence that MVNOs would provide low-cost occasional-use or emergency-use wireless plans in Canada, if given the opportunity? How would those plans compare to the $5 and $15 plans noted above that are currently being offered in the marketplace?

Issues related to the CCTS

The Commission approved its structure and mandate of the CCTS on 20 December 2007, Footnote5 in response to an Order requiring the CRTC to report to the Governor in Council on consumer complaints, Footnote6 which stated that the telecommunications consumer body should be an integral component of a deregulated telecommunications market.

Questions to Distribution List and CCTS (responses to be filed by 15 January 2020):

  1. If the Commission were to mandate the provision of low-cost wireless plans with defined attributes and either rate regulate such services or subject them to a price ceiling, explain how this would impact:
    1. the CCTS’s complaint resolution processes, including assessing which complaints are in scope and redirecting out of scope complaints;
    2. the CCTS’s ability to track and report on complaints and trends related to the entire retail mobile wireless industry;
    3. the goal of consumers having a “one-stop shop” for complaints;
    4. access to CCTS’s services for customers with retail mobile wireless services purchased on a standalone basis or as part of a bundle with non-rate regulated services;
    5. the CCTS’s administration of the Wireless Code; and
    6. any other operational impacts on the CCTS.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la liste de Distribution et la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision

Ottawa, le 23 décembre 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0057

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de diffusion; Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision

Objet :Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57, Examen des services sans fil mobiles – Demande de renseignements

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le 28 février 2019, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes a publié l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57 (avis de consultation 2019-57) amorçant un vaste examen des services sans fil mobiles. Par la suite, le Conseil a publié des demandes de renseignements dans le cadre de l’instance amorcée par l’avis de consultation 2019-57 en vertu de laquelle il a demandé aux parties de fournir des données sur un certain nombre de sujets pertinents liés aux questions à l’étude, y compris savoir s’il serait adéquat que le Conseil exige la fourniture de forfaits à moindre coût des services sans fil Note de bas de page1 .

Le personnel du Conseil estime que des renseignements supplémentaires sur les forfaits de services sans fil à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence assureraient un dossier plus complet. Plus précisément, le personnel du Conseil souhaite obtenir des renseignements sur les forfaits à moindre coût des services sans fil mobiles offrant une faible utilisation, principalement des services de voix qui pourraient être utilisés par des personnes qui ne veulent pas ou n’ont pas besoin d’un forfait des services sans fil mobile plus complet; ou qui ne prévoient pas utiliser fréquemment l’appareil mobile; ou qui ont un appareil mobile principalement pour les situations d’urgence (un exemple d’un tel forfait actuellement disponible au Canada est le suivant : 10 minutes ou moins d’appels et des messages texte illimités au Canada, sans données, pour 5 $ par cycle de facturation). Ces demandes de renseignements supplémentaires sont fournies à l’annexe de la présente lettre.

Le personnel du Conseil adresse également les questions de la demande de renseignement spécifiquement à la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision (CPRST) afin d’obtenir des observations sur la façon dont la CPRST serait touchée au cas où le Conseil établirait des conditions pour l’offre et la fourniture de forfaits à moindre coût des services sans fil (y compris possiblement l’établissement de tarifs ou de plafonds tarifaires), comme des forfaits à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence. Le personnel du Conseil s’intéresse surtout à la façon dont cela aurait une incidence sur le mandat de la CPRST et sur son rôle dans l’administration des codes de protection des consommateurs, comme le Code sur les services sans fil.

Les parties désignées dans chaque série de questions en pièce jointe doivent déposer leurs réponses aux questions 1 à 6 et à la question 11 au plus tard le 15 janvier 2020. Si une partie n’est pas en mesure de fournir les renseignements demandés dans les directives énoncées dans la pièce jointe, elle doit fournir une justification détaillée pour expliquer les motifs.

Nous nous attendons à ce que les questions liées aux questions 7 à 10 soient examinées de façon plus approfondie pendant l’audience publique. Par conséquent, toute partie qui participe à l’audience peut choisir de ne pas déposer de réponses écrites à ces questions pour le moment, et peut plutôt venirrépondre à ces questions au moment de l’audience. Les parties qui choisissent de le faire devraient l’indiquer dans leurs réponses à la présente lettre.

Comme il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications et dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. Une personne qui désigne certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit en expliquer en détail les raisons, tout en précisant les motifs pour lesquels la divulgation de ceux-ci ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, notamment celles pour lesquelles elle causerait vraisemblablement un préjudice direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

On rappelle aux parties que lorsqu’une date limite précise est indiquée pour le dépôt ou la signification d’un document, ce dernier doit avoir été effectivement reçu à la date indiquée, et non simplement avoir été envoyé à cette date.

En ce qui a trait à la qualité des renseignements présentés, toutes les parties doivent fournir des renseignements exacts au dossier de la présente instance. Par conséquent, si une partie se rend compte d’erreurs, omissions ou inexactitudes dans les renseignements fournis au cours de cette instance, elle devrait déposer une version révisée des renseignements en temps opportun.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la présente lettre, veuillez communiquer avec Bradley Gaudet à l’adresse Bradley.Gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par

Philippe Kent
Directeur, Politique
Secteur des télécommunications                                

Original signé par

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation, recherche et communications

c. c. Bradley Gaudet, CRTC, 873-353-4709, bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe

Liste de distribution

Ageing, Communication, Technologies (ACT), kim.sawchuk@concordia.ca;
Bell Mobilité inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
Bragg Communications Incorporated, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc., cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca;
Clinique d’intérêt public et de politique d’Internet du Canada et OpenMedia, tisrael@cippic.ca;
Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens inc., regulatory@cnoc.ca;
Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil, esmith@cwta.ca;
Coalition for Cheaper Wireless Service (CCWS), jlawford@piac.ca;
Cogeco Communications Inc., telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Bureau de la concurrence, matthew.boswell@canada.ca; laura.sonley@canada.ca;
Computer & Communications Industry Association, jhowes@ccianet.org;
Connex Global Communications Inc., info@gophonebox.com;
Conseil provincial du secteur des communications du Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique, nblais@scfp.ca; mlorch@scfp.ca;
Data On Tap Inc., regulatory@dotmobile.app;
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, execdir@frpc.net;
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@iristel.com;
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca;
Société Internet, branche canadienne, tim@tmdenton.com;
Little House Technologies Incorporated, garrett@littlehousetechnologies.com;
Coalition du Manitoba, kadil@legalaid.mb.ca;
Maple Communications Group Inc., regulatory@maplecomm.ca;
Province de la Colombie-Britannique, roman.mateyko@gov.bc.ca;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com;
Shaw Telecom Inc., regulatory@sjrb.ca;
SSi Micro Ltd., regulatory@ssimicro.com;
Star Solutions International Inc., michael.bond@starsolutions.com;
Tbaytel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com;
TELUS Communications Inc., regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc., akaplanmyrth@teksavvy.ca;
Tucows Inc., enoss@tucows.com;
Union des consommateurs, abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca;
Vidéotron s.e.n.c., regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Xplornet Communications Inc., xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com


Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision,
howard.maker@ccts-cprst.ca; mauricio.perez@ccts-cprst.ca; josee.thibault@ccts-cprst.ca;

Annexe

Questions liées aux forfaits de services sans fil à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence

Le 13 avril 2018, le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public et la Fédération nationale des retraitées (CDIP-FNR) ont déposé une demande en vertu de la partie 1 Note de bas de page2 dans laquelle il demandait que le Conseil publie des instructions à l’intention des entreprises de services sans fil nationales pour que les « forfaits des services sans fil de détail à usage occasionnel » soient facilement accessibles aux consommateurs. Le CDIP-FNR a indiqué que ces forfaits desserviraient les utilisateurs de faible volume ayant une demande variable Note de bas de page3 . Dans une lettre datée du 10 mai 2018, le Conseil a déterminé que l’étude de la demande serait suspendue jusqu’à une date ultérieure.

Au cours de l’instance actuelle sur les services sans fil mobiles, CDIP-FNR n’a pas proposé de façon explicite que le Conseil exige l’offre de forfaits d’utilisation à usage occasionnel. De plus, la demande en vertu de la partie 1 du CDIP-FNR demeure suspendue.

Toutefois, des intervenants soutiennent que certains consommateurs peuvent avoir un appareil mobile à utiliser rarement, par exemple à l’utiliser en cas d’urgence uniquement, et ils peuvent souhaiter payer un montant minime pour le service. Par exemple :

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que des forfaits de 5 $ avec les attributs suivants sont déjà offerts sur le marché Note de bas de page4  :

Le personnel du Conseil fait aussi remarquer que des forfaits de 15 $ avec les attributs suivants sont déjà offerts sur le marché :

Questions aux fournisseurs de services sans fil [FSSF] (réponses à déposer avant le 15 janvier 2020) :

  1. Si un client s’informe sur les forfaits de services à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence à moindre coût, quels forfaits parmi ceux que vous (ou vos filiales) proposez actuellement (y compris toutes les marques complémentaires exploitées par votre entreprise) leur recommanderiez-vous, et pourquoi? Pour chacun de ces forfaits, expliquez :
    1. si le forfait est disponible à l’échelle régionale ou nationale;
    2. toute limite sur la disponibilité de ces forfaits;
    3. si l’un de ces forfaits est disponible dans le cadre d’un forfait;
    4. les attributs des forfaits (p. ex., postpayés ou prépayés; s’ils sont prépayés, s’ils sont disponibles pour être payables à l’utilisation; les services inclus dans les modalités principales d’un contrat; toute limite à l’utilisation de ces services qui pourrait déclencher les frais d’utilisation excédentaire ou les frais supplémentaires; le montant auquel ces frais d’utilisation excédentaire ou frais supplémentaires sont facturés);
    5. si vous avez apporté des modifications à un forfait admissible au cours des deux dernières années (c.-à-d. 2018 ou 2019) et, le cas échéant, quelles sont les modifications et pourquoi elles ont été apportées;
    6. si vous avez mis fin à l’offre ou à la fourniture de forfaits admissibles au cours des deux dernières années et, le cas échéant, quand et pourquoi.
  2. Dans le cas où une ou plusieurs des marques exploitées par votre compagnie ou une compagnie affiliée n’offrent pas de forfait de services à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence à moindre coût, les représentants du service à la clientèle concernés recommandent-ils les clients aux marques qui le font?
  3. De quelle façon vous, ou toute compagnie affiliée concernée, faites actuellement la promotion de ces forfaits? Fournissez des liens vers les endroits où ces forfaits sont indiqués sur votre site Web, le cas échéant. Fournissez des copies d’autres documents promotionnels qui ne sont pas disponibles sur votre site Web, le cas échéant.
  4. Fournissez tout renseignement en votre possession indiquant l’existence ou la demande pour ces forfaits. Fournissez une attestation indiquant si votre compagnie suit les demandes de tels forfaits et, le cas échéant, fournissez les renseignements de suivi attestés.

Questions aux autres parties (réponses à déposer avant le 15 janvier 2020) :

  1. À votre avis, ces forfaits sont-ils facilement accessibles aux consommateurs susceptibles d’en bénéficier? Sont-ils suffisamment mis en valeur?
  2. Fournissez toute information en votre possession indiquant l’existence ou la demande pour ces forfaits (p. ex., des sondages et des témoignages).

Questions au groupe de la liste de distribution (les réponses peuvent être déposées au plus tard le 15 janvier, mais peuvent aussi être fournies dans le cadre d’une audience publique) :

  1. Dans quelle mesure les besoins des consommateurs pour les forfaits de services sans fil à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence sont-ils satisfaits par les offres des fournisseurs de services sans fil actuels? Si les besoins ne sont pas satisfaits, veuillez préciser et expliquer s’il serait approprié pour le Conseil de prendre une ou plusieurs décisions en vertu de l’article 34 de la Loi sur les télécommunications pour réaffirmer les pouvoirs que lui confèrent les articles 25 et 27(1) afin de s’assurer que leurs besoins seront satisfaits.
  2. Le Conseil devrait-il établir des conditions pour l’offre et la fourniture de forfaits de services sans fil mobiles à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence à moindre coût (y compris possiblement l’établissement d’attributs, de tarifs ou de plafonds tarifaires)? Le cas échéant :
    1. fournissez vos justifications à l’appui;
    2. expliquez de quelle façon le Conseil devrait imposer ces conditions;
    3. expliquez si un forfait avec les attributs indiqués dans le forfait de 5 $ décrit ci-dessus serait approprié. Si aucun ne convient, expliquez pourquoi et proposez un attribut plus approprié;
    4. expliquez si un forfait avec les attributs indiqués dans le forfait de 15 $ décrit ci-dessus serait approprié. Si aucun ne convient, expliquez pourquoi et proposez un attribut plus approprié.
  3. Existe-t-il d’éléments de preuve du fait que les exploitants de réseau mobile virtuel (ERMV) offrent des forfaits de services sans fil à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence à moindre coût sur les marchés canadiens ou internationaux?
  4. Existe-t-il d’éléments de preuve du fait que les ERMV fourniraient des forfaits de services sans fil à usage occasionnel ou à usage en situation d’urgence à moindre coût au Canada, s’ils en avaient l’occasion? De quelle façon ces forfaits se compareraient-ils aux forfaits de 5 $ et 15 $ susmentionnés actuellement offerts sur le marché?

Questions relatives à la CPRST

Le 20 décembre 2007, le Conseil a approuvé la structure et le mandat de la CPRST Note de bas de page5 , dans sa réplique au Décret demandant au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes de faire rapport au gouverneur en conseil concernant les plaintes de consommateurs Note de bas de page6 , qui stipulait que l’organisme de protection des consommateurs de services de télécommunication devrait faire partie intégrante d’un marché de télécommunication déréglementé.

Questions au groupe de la liste de distribution et à la CPRST (réponses à déposer avant le 15 janvier 2020) :

  1. Si le Conseil devait rendre obligatoire la fourniture de forfaits de services sans fil à moindre coût avec des attributs définis et réglementer ces services ou les assujettir à un plafond tarifaire, expliquez de quelle façon cela aurait une incidence sur :
    1. les processus de règlement des plaintes de la CPRST, y compris l’examen des plaintes qui sont dans le champ d’application et la redirection des plaintes qui dépassent la portée;
    2. la capacité de la CPRST à suivre et à signaler les plaintes et les tendances liées à l’ensemble de l’industrie des services sans-fil mobiles de détail;
    3. l’objectif des consommateurs d’avoir un « portail unique » pour les plaintes;
    4. l’accès aux services de la CPRST pour les clients ayant des services sans fil mobiles de détail achetés de façon autonome ou dans le cadre d’un ensemble de services non réglementés;
    5. l’administration par la CPRST du Code sur les services sans fil;
    6. tout autre aspect opérationnel de la CPRST.
Date de modification :