Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Mr. Chris Kellett

Ottawa, 31 October 2019

Our reference: 8621-C12-01/08

BY EMAIL

Mr. Chris Kellett
Chair, CRTC Interconnection Steering Committee Emergency Services Working Group
Chris.Kellett@ESWG9-1-1.ca

Dear Mr. Kellett:

Re:  CRTC Interconnection Steering Committee (CISC) Emergency Services Working Group (ESWG) requests for extension for submission of next-generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) implementation reports

In Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2017-182, the Commission requested that the ESWG submit reports with recommendations to the Commission regarding the implementation of NG9-1-1 in Canada. In correspondence to the Commission dated 24 October 2019, the ESWG indicated that although significant progress is being made on various items requested by the Commission, it requires additional time to submit three reports. The ESWG therefore requested extensions (i) from 30 November 2019 to 15 May 2020 for Task Identification Form (TIF)-85; (ii) from 31 October 2019 to 10 April 2020 for TIF-90; and (iii) from 30 November 2019 to 15 June 2020 for TIF-91.

The ESWG indicated that a delay in the receipt of these recommendations would have no impact on the Commission’s mandated key milestones, namely the trials and the launch of NG9-1-1 Voice and NG9-1-1 Text Messaging.

The Commission has reviewed the requests and grants the extensions as requested to allow the ESWG additional time to conduct the trials, gather lessons learned, complete the tasks and submit the reports. The extensions will enable stakeholders to conduct a more comprehensive review of the issues resulting in more informed recommendations. The Commission expects that the extensions will not impact the critical path towards NG9-1-1 implementation deadlines as defined in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2017-182.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à M. Chris Kellett

Ottawa, le 31 octobre 2019

Notre référence: 8621-C12-01/08

PAR COURRIEL

M. Chris Kellett
Président, Groupe de travail Services d’urgence du Comité directeur du CRTC sur l’interconnexion
Chris.Kellett@ESWG9-1-1.ca

Objet : Demandes du Groupe de travail Services d’urgence (GTSU) du Comité directeur du CRTC sur l’interconnexion (CDCI) concernant une prorogation pour le dépôt de rapports sur la mise en œuvre des services 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG)

Monsieur,

Dans la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2017-182, le Conseil a demandé que le GTSU lui présente des rapports contenant des recommandations concernant la mise en œuvre des services 9-1-1 PG au Canada. Dans une correspondance adressée au Conseil du 24 octobre 2019, le GTSU a indiqué que, malgré les progrès importants concernant les points demandés par le Conseil, il demande plus de temps pour présenter trois rapports. Le GTSU a donc demandé des prorogations : (i) du 30 novembre 2019 au 15 mai 2020 pour le formulaire d’identification de tâche (FIT) 85 (FIT-85); (ii) du 31 octobre 2019 au 10 avril 2020 pour le FIT-90; et (iii) du 30 novembre 2019 au 15 juin 2020 pour le FIT-91.

Le GTSU a indiqué qu’un retard quant à la réception de ces recommandations n’aurait aucune incidence sur le calendrier des principaux jalons obligatoires du Conseil, notamment les essais des services et le lancement des services 9-1-1 PG par la voix et la messagerie texte.

Le Conseil a examiné les demandes et accorde le sursis, comme demandé, pour que le GTSU ait plus de temps pour mener les essais, tirer des leçons, terminer les tâches et déposer les rapports. Le sursis permettra aux intervenants d’effectuer un examen plus complet des enjeux, afin de formuler des recommandations plus éclairées. Le Conseil s’attend à ce que le sursis n’ait pas d’incidence sur le calendrier de mise en œuvre des services 9-1-1 PG défini dans la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2017-182.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Date de modification :