Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 2 August 2019

File no. 1011-NOC2016-0293

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution list

Subject:   Wireless Code – 2019 Compliance Reports – Device Financing Plan

Dear Sir/Madam:

This letter is in respect of the recent introduction of device financing plans in the mobile wireless service market. The Commission acknowledges that device financing plans with terms that are longer than 24 months may render devices more affordable for Canadians. However, the Commission wants to ensure Canadians continue to be protected by the Wireless Code.

One of the core principles of the Wireless Code is to ensure that customers are able to take advantage of competitive offers in the market. For example, the Commission identified in the original Wireless Code Policy (Telecom Regulatory Policy 2013-271) that high early cancellation fees charged over a three-year period were a fundamental barrier to consumers taking advantage of competitive offers every two years. Accordingly, in the Wireless Code, the Commission, among other things, limited the maximum number of months during which early cancellation fees can be charged to 24 months.

To better understand the new device financing plans and how they are offered to customers, Commission staff sent a request for information (RFI) to wireless service providers (WSPs) on 16 July 2019.Footnote1 WSPs submitted their responses to that RFI on 30 July 2019.Footnote2

A preliminary analysis of the information the Commission has received thus far suggests that these device financing plans, including those on 36-month terms, may not be consistent with the Wireless Code. In particular, the Commission is concerned with customers having to pay the remaining balance of their device financing plan immediately if they wish to change to a different plan or move to a different WSP at the end of their wireless service commitment period.

The Commission is of the preliminary view that certain device financing plans may create a new barrier for customers to take advantage of competitive offers in the market. In particular, customers, who may benefit in the immediate term from lower monthly costs related to their devices, appear to be asked to accept terms and conditions that may require them to stay with their current WSP past the end of their wireless service commitment period.

Moreover, the Commission set out requirements for the Wireless Code in part to contribute to a more dynamic mobile wireless service market, and now considers that the potential negative impact on competitor WSPs from device financing plans, including those on 36-month terms, may be significant and difficult to redress.

Accordingly, the Commission expects that all WSPs cease offering device financing plans on terms longer than 24 months until the Commission has had an opportunity to complete a full review of the practice.

The Commission will be publishing a notice of consultation for a show cause proceeding during which it will consider, among other things,

  1. whether device financing plans, including those that have terms greater than 24 months, are compliant with the Wireless Code, and
  2. what regulatory action should be taken in cases of non-compliance, including the imposition of administrative monetary penalties (AMPs). 

Should the Commission determine that the device financing plans at issue, including those that have a term greater than 24 months, are non-compliant with the Wireless Code, it may issue a mandatory order prohibiting certain WSPs from offering these plans. In accordance with section 72.001 of the Telecommunications Act, the Commission may also impose on WSPs AMPs of up to $10,000,000 for every contravention of the Wireless Code, and up to $15,000,000 for every subsequent contravention.

The Commission also intends to provide direction and guidance to the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services with respect to addressing complaints related to device financing plans, including those that have a term greater than 24 months.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by/

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

cc: Distribution list

bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
geoff@brooketel.ca;
faye.hughes@brucetelecom.com;
regulatory@brucetelecom.com;
tom.sullivan@brucetelecom.com;
Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
martha.facey@execulink.com;
Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
a.lawrence@hay.net;
grubb@hurontel.on.ca;
regulatory@icewireless.com;
lhallahan@mornington.ca;
knaylor@mornington.ca
reglementa@telebec.com;
amazza@suncor.com;
kyakimishyn@suncor.com;
regulatory@quadro.net;
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
document.control@sasktel.com;
richard.biron@sogetel.com;
stephen.scofich@tbaytel.com;
david.wilkie@tbaytel.com;
regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
regulatory@tccmail.ca;
reglementa@telebec.com;
dennis.beland@quebecor.com;
Xplornet.Legal@corp.xplornet.com
kgugan@wightman.ca;
mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com;
harleen.sawhney@zoomermedia.ca;

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 2 août 2019

No. de dossier 1011-NOC2016-0293

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Code sur les services sans fil – rapports de conformité de 2019 – plan de financement de l'appareil

Madame, Monsieur,

Cette lettre concerne l’introduction récente de plans de financement d’appareils sur le marché des services sans fil mobiles. Le Conseil reconnaît que les plans de financement d'appareils dont la durée est supérieure à 24 mois pourraient rendre les appareils plus abordables pour les Canadiens. Cependant, le Conseil veut s'assurer que les Canadiens continuent d'être protégés par le Code sur les services sans fil.

L'un des principes fondamentaux du Code sur les services sans fil est de garantir aux clients de pouvoir tirer parti des offres concurrentielles du marché. Par exemple, dans la politique initiale sur le Code sur les services sans fil (politique réglementaire de télécom 2013-271), le Conseil a indiqué que des frais de résiliation anticipée élevés, imputés sur une période de trois ans, constituaient le principal obstacle pour que les consommateurs puissent profiter d'offres concurrentielles tous les deux ans. Par conséquent, dans le Code sur les services sans fil, le Conseil a notamment limité le nombre maximal de mois pendant lesquels des frais de résiliation anticipée peuvent être facturés à 24 mois.

Afin de mieux comprendre les nouveaux plans de financement d’appareils et la manière dont ils sont proposés aux clients, le personnel du Conseil a envoyé une demande de renseignements aux fournisseurs de services sans fil (FSSF) le 16 juillet 2019Note de bas de page1. Les FSSF ont soumis leurs réponses à cette demande de renseignements le 30 juillet 2019Note de bas de page2.

Une analyse préliminaire des informations reçues jusqu'à présent par le Conseil donne à penser que ces plans de financement d'appareils, y compris ceux comportant une durée de 36 mois, pourraient ne pas être conformes avec le Code sur les services sans fil. En particulier, le Conseil se préoccupe du fait que les clients doivent payer le solde du plan de financement de leur appareil immédiatement s’ils souhaitent passer à un autre plan ou à un autre FSSF à la fin de la période d’engagement de leur service sans fil.

Le Conseil est d’avis préliminaire que certains plans de financement d’appareils pourraient créer un nouvel obstacle à surmonter pour que les clients puissent profiter des offres concurrentielles du marché. En particulier, les clients, qui pourraient bénéficier immédiatement de coûts mensuels moins élevés liés à leurs appareils, semblent être invités à accepter des modalités qui pourraient les obliger à rester avec leur FSSF actuel après la fin de la période d'engagement du service sans fil.

De plus, le Conseil a défini des exigences dans le Code sur les services sans fil en partie afin de contribuer à rendre le marché des services sans fil mobiles plus dynamique, et estime maintenant que l'impact négatif potentiel sur les FSSF concurrents des plans de financement d'appareils, y compris ceux prévoyant une durée de 36 mois, pourrait être important et difficile à remédier.

Par conséquent, le Conseil s’attend à ce que tous les FSSF cessent d’offrir leurs plans de financement d’appareils pour des durées supérieures à 24 mois, jusqu’à ce qu’il ait la possibilité d’achever un examen complet de la pratique.

Le Conseil publiera un avis de consultation amorçant une instance de justification, au cours de laquelle il envisagera, entre autres :

  1. si les plans de financement d'appareils, y compris ceux dont la durée est supérieure à 24 mois, sont conformes au Code sur les services sans fil;
  2. quelles mesures de réglementation devraient être prises en cas de non-respect, notamment en ce qui concerne l'imposition de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP).

Si le Conseil venait à déterminer que les plans de financement d'appareils en cause, y compris ceux dont la durée est supérieure à 24 mois, n'étaient pas conforme au Code sur les services sans fil, il pourrait imposer une ordonnance interdisant à certains FSSF de les proposer. Conformément à l'article 72.001 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, le Conseil pourrait également imposer aux FSSF une SAP pouvant aller jusqu'à 10 000 000 $ pour chaque infraction au Code sur les services sans fil, et jusqu'à 15 000 000 $ pour toute infraction subséquente.

Le Conseil a également l'intention de fournir des directives à la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision en ce qui concerne le traitement des plaintes liées aux plans de financement d'appareils, y compris ceux dont la durée est supérieure à 24 mois.

Cordialement,

Original signé par

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

cc : Liste de distribution

bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
geoff@brooketel.ca;
faye.hughes@brucetelecom.com;
regulatory@brucetelecom.com;
tom.sullivan@brucetelecom.com;
Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
martha.facey@execulink.com;
Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
a.lawrence@hay.net;
grubb@hurontel.on.ca;
regulatory@icewireless.com;
lhallahan@mornington.ca;
knaylor@mornington.ca
reglementa@telebec.com;
amazza@suncor.com;
kyakimishyn@suncor.com;
regulatory@quadro.net;
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
document.control@sasktel.com;
richard.biron@sogetel.com;
stephen.scofich@tbaytel.com;
david.wilkie@tbaytel.com;
regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
regulatory@tccmail.ca;
reglementa@telebec.com;
dennis.beland@quebecor.com;
Xplornet.Legal@corp.xplornet.com
kgugan@wightman.ca;
mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com;
harleen.sawhney@zoomermedia.ca;

Date de modification :