Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 17 January 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0033

BY EMAIL

Distribution List

Re: Annual request for information regarding Message Relay Services - Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2018-466

Dear Sir/Madam:

Pursuant to the Message Relay Services (MRS) Regulatory PolicyFootnote1 published on 14 December 2018, Commission staff requests a response to this letter by 31 January 2019. The response must include:

MRS quality of service data

MRS quality of service data are to cover the period of 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2018, and are to be broken down by:

An MS Excel template has been provided for your convenience, and should be used.

As noted in paragraphs 117 and 128 of the MRS Regulatory Policy, two quality of service standards regarding call-answer time and typing speed came into effect 14 December 2018. However, given that those standards were only in effect for a partial month during 2018, your response to this letter does not need to demonstrate compliance with those two standards.

As noted in paragraphs 153 and 156 of the MRS Regulatory Policy, there are additional standards that will not come into effect until 14 December 2019. Therefore, please be advised that next year’s annual Commission staff letter will not only request updated quality of service data and responses to the following five questions, but also confirmation that all standards (i.e. minimum requirements) in Appendix 1 of the MRS Regulatory Policy are being met.

Five questions

Q1. Pursuant to paragraph 20 of the MRS Regulatory Policy, incumbent local exchange carriers (ILECs), competitive local exchange carriers (CLECs), resellers of local exchange services, and VoIP service providers are obligated to provide MRS to their retail customers. If your company provides MRS on a wholesale basis, provide a list of ILECs, CLECs, resellers and VoIP providers with which you have such agreements as of 31 December 2018.

Q2. Pursuant to paragraph 38 of the MRS Regulatory Policy, WSPs that offer and provide mobile wireless voice services will, by 14 June 2019, be required to offer IP relay service to their retail customers. If your company provides IP relay on a wholesale basis, provide a list of WSPs with which you have such agreements as of 31 December 2018.

Q3. Does your company provide MRS to its retail customers directly or through a third party provider? If MRS is provided through a third party:

Q4. Pursuant to paragraph 229 of the MRS Regulatory Policy, all MRS providers are required to provide access to 9-1-1 service. Does your company make MRS available for calls to emergency services? If not, explain why.

Q5. Pursuant to paragraph 181 of the MRS Regulatory Policy, provide information on your company’s efforts in 2018 to:

The filing of documents referenced in this letter is to be done using the secured service “My CRTC Account (Partner Log In or GCKey).”

Please note that responses to this letter are due 31 January 2019. If you have any questions, please contact Bradley Gaudet at bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

Enclosure

c.c.: Distribution List

Distribution List

Appendix - Annual indicators for MRS

Indicators regarding calls

  1. Total number of incoming callsFootnote3 (by month)
  2. Total number of calls relayed (by month)
  3. Total number of calls relayed per month sorted by (i) day, (ii) hour,Footnote4 and (iii) language
  4. Number of abandoned or unanswered calls per month sorted by (i) day, (ii) hour,Footnote5 and (iii) language
  5. Wait times (averaged over one month):
    1. Average wait time
    2. Percentage of calls answered within 20 seconds
    3. Percentage of calls answered within 10 seconds
    4. Average call duration (averaged over one month)

Indicators regarding customers

  1. Total number of MRS users (actual or estimated) [by month, where possible]
  2. Total number of customer complaints (per year) categorized by type of complaint (e.g. wait times or operator-related)

Indicators regarding MRS operators

  1. Number of operators and operator hours per week sorted by (i) English operators, and (ii) French operators. If operators perform multiple functions, for example, provide general customer service in addition to providing relay services, the number of operator hours should be specific to the time spent on providing relay services.
  2. Typing speeds and accuracyFootnote6
    • Typing speed for each operator
    • Transcription accuracy for each operator
  3. Average hourly wage for (i) English operators, and (ii) French operators
  4. Qualifications / screening criteria for hiring process

Indicators regarding expenditures

  1. Monthly breakdown of expenditures associated with the provision of MRS, detailing
    1. Itemized list of capital assets associated with IP and TTY relay services, and the annual equivalent cost that would be applied over the lifespan of the asset, or, alternatively, the depreciation associated with the capital cost and financial expenses
    2. Direct operating expenses, with a detailed breakdown for operator and network costs
    3. Third-party expenses, detailing what the expenses cover (i.e. the terms of the contract). This could include the agreed-upon quality of service standards, white-label services or products, or the provision of branded websites and user interfaces
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 17 janvier 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0033

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande de renseignements annuelle à propos des services de relais téléphonique – Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2018-466

Madame, Monsieur,

Conformément à la politique réglementaire concernant les services de relais téléphoniques (SRT)Note de bas de page1 publiée le 14 décembre 2018, le personnel du Conseil demande que vous répondiez à la présente lettre d’ici le 31 janvier 2019. La réponse doit comprendre ce qui suit :

Données sur la qualité des SRT

Les données sur la qualité des SRT doivent couvrir la période du 1er janvier 2018 au 31 décembre 2018 et doivent être réparties par :

Veuillez utiliser le modèle MS Excel fourni pour vous faciliter la tâche.

Tel qu’il est indiqué aux paragraphes 117 et 128 de la politique réglementaire concernant les SRT, deux normes sur la qualité de service concernant le délai de réponse aux appels et la vitesse de frappe sont entrées en vigueur le 14 décembre 2018. Toutefois, puisque ces normes ne sont entrées en vigueur que pour une partie de mois en 2018, vous n’êtes pas tenu de démontrer que vous vous conformez à ces deux normes dans votre réponse à cette lettre.

Tel qu’il est indiqué aux paragraphes 153 et 156 de la politique réglementaire concernant les SRT, d’autres normes n’entreront en vigueur que le 14 décembre 2019. Veuillez donc prendre note que la lettre annuelle du personnel du Conseil de l’année prochaine vous demandera, en plus des données à jour sur la qualité du service et des réponses aux cinq questions suivantes, une confirmation indiquant que vous vous êtes conformé à toutes les normes (c’est-à-dire, les exigences minimales) consignées à l’annexe 1 de la politique réglementaire concernant les SRT.

Les cinq questions

Q1. Conformément au paragraphe 20 de la politique réglementaire concernant les SRT, les entreprises de services locaux titulaires (ESLT), les entreprises de services locaux concurrentes (ESLC), les revendeurs de services locaux et les fournisseurs de service VoIP doivent fournir des SRT à leurs clients de détail. Si votre entreprise fournit des SRT de gros, veuillez fournir la liste des ESLT, des ESLC, des revendeurs et des fournisseurs de service VoIP avec lesquels vous avez conclu de telles ententes en date du 31 décembre 2018.

Q2. Conformément au paragraphe 38 de la politique réglementaire concernant les SRT, les fournisseurs de service sans fil qui offrent et fournissent des services vocaux sans fil mobiles devront, à compter du 14 juin 2019, offrir un service de relais par IP à leurs clients de détail. Si votre entreprise fournit un service de relais par IP de gros, veuillez fournir la liste des fournisseurs de service sans fils avec lesquels vous avez conclu de telles ententes en date du 31 décembre 2018.

Q3. Votre entreprise fournit-elle des SRT à ses clients de détail directement ou par l’intermédiaire d’un fournisseur tiers? Si elle fournit des SRT par l’intermédiaire d’un tiers :

Q4. Conformément au paragraphe 229 de la politique concernant les SRT, tous les fournisseurs de SRT doivent fournir un accès au service 9-1-1. Les SRT de votre entreprise permettent-ils d’appeler les services d’urgence? Si ce n’est pas le cas, indiquez pourquoi.

Q5. Conformément au paragraphe 181 de la politique concernant les SRT, veuillez indiquer les démarches de votre entreprise en 2018 relatives à ce qui suit :

Veuillez effectuer le dépôt des documents mentionnés dans la présente lettre à l’aide du service sécurisé « Mon Compte CRTC (partenaires de connexion ou Clé GC) ».

Veuillez prendre note que les réponses à ces questions doivent être remises au plus tard le 31 janvier 2019. Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Bradley Gaudet à l’adresse bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation et Politique stratégique

Nanao Kachi

Pièce jointe

c. c. Liste de distribution

Liste de distribution

Annexe – Indicateurs annuels concernant les SRT

Indicateurs relatifs aux appels

  1. Nombre total d’appels entrantsNote de bas de page1 (par mois)
  2. Nombre total d’appels relayés (par mois)
  3. Nombre total d’appels relayés par mois selon i) le jour, ii) l’heureNote de bas de page4 et iii) la langue
  4. Nombre d’appels abandonnés ou d’appels sans réponse par mois, selon i) le jour, ii) l’heureNote de bas de page5 et iii) la langue
  5. Temps d’attente (moyenne établie sur un mois)
    1. Temps d’attente moyen
    2. Pourcentage des appels auxquels on a répondu dans un délai de 20 secondes
    3. Pourcentage des appels auxquels on a répondu dans un délai de 10 secondes
  6. Durée moyenne des appels (moyenne établie sur un mois)

Indicateurs relatifs aux clients

  1. Nombre total des utilisateurs des SRT (réel ou estimé) [présenté par mois dans la mesure du possible]
  2. Nombre total de plaintes des clients (par année) classées par catégorie de plaintes (p. ex., temps d’attente, agent de relais)

Indicateurs relatifs aux agents de SRT

  1. Nombre d’agents et nombre d’heures travaillées par ces agents par semaine, triés par i) agents anglophones et ii) agents francophones. Si les agents remplissent de multiples fonctions, comme offrir des services généraux à la clientèle en plus de fournir les services de relais, le nombre d’heures par agent devrait s’appliquer spécifiquement au temps consacré à la fourniture des services de relais.
  2. Vitesse de frappe et taux de précisionNote de bas de page6
    • Vitesse de frappe de chaque agent
    • Taux de précision de la transcription de chaque agent
  3. Taux de rémunération horaire moyen des agents pour i) les agents anglophones et ii) les agents francophones
  4. Qualifications et critères de sélection pour le processus d’embauche

Indicateurs relatifs aux dépenses

  1. Présentation par mois des dépenses associées à la fourniture des SRT, en précisant ce qui suit :
    1. la liste détaillée des immobilisations liées aux services de relais IP et de relais par téléscripteur, ainsi que le coût équivalent annualisé qui serait appliqué au cycle de vie d’un bien, ou encore, l’amortissement lié au coût en immobilisations et aux dépenses financières connexes;
    2. les frais d’exploitation directs, avec une ventilation détaillée des coûts relatifs aux agents de relais et au réseau;
    3. les dépenses des tierces parties, avec le détail de ce que les dépenses couvrent (selon les modalités du contrat), ce qui peut comprendre les normes de qualité du service convenues, les services ou les produits indépendants ou la production de sites Web contenant des marques et d’interfaces pour les utilisateurs.
Date de modification :