Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Ms. Peggy Tabet (Québecor Media Inc.) and Mr. Kevin Goldstein (Bell Media Inc.)

Ottawa, 6 September 2019 

BY E-MAIL

Ms. Peggy Tabet
Vice President
Broadcasting, Regulatory Affairs
Québecor Media Inc.
tabet.peggy@quebecor.com

and

Mr. Kevin Goldstein
Vice President
Regulatory Affairs, Content and Distribution
Bell Media Inc.
kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

RE: Packaging rules and complaint in undue preference Vidéotron v Bell - Alt Télé and Super Écran - Application No: 2019-0462-3

Ms. Tabet and Mr. Goldstein:

Please provide the following additional and/or explanatory information related to the dispute between Québecor Media Inc. (Québecor), on behalf of Vidéotron Ltd, and Bell Media Inc. (Bell), regarding the inclusion of Super Écran in the Alt TV package.

Québecor

  1. Subscription trends — Please refer to paragraphs 34 and 35 of your letter of application dated 14 June 2019 and clarify by 
    • Providing subscriber numbers; and
    • Specifying the dates for the quarters mentioned at paragraph 34.
  2. Comparable entities — We note that you do not consider Super Écran and Club illico to be comparable (as mentioned at paragraph 15 of your 1 August 2019). Please indicate if Vidéotron distributes any comparable service(s) to Super Écran.
  3. Regulatory Framework — At paragraph 4 of your reply dated 1 August 2019, Québecor questions Bell TV’s right to operate Alt TV under its terrestrial BDU licence, but accepts that Alt TV can be distributed in this way for the purpose of discussion.
    1. Please indicate under which policy or regulation Alt TV should be operated, specifying applicable sections and justifying your choice.
    2. Should comparable services to Alt TV exist in the Canadian market, identify them and justify.

Bell

  1. Regulatory framework — Bell stated that it is operating Alt TV by virtue of its current BDU licence (Bell TV) but that a consumer can only subscribe to Alt TV if they also subscribe to Fibe Internet, which operates under a different type of authorization.
    1. Please explain how Alt TV is distributed and how subscribers can access it. In the event that your service is accessed outside subscriber residences, please specify the effects on its access and distribution. In your response, be sure to include technical information about networks and how content is distributed by these networks.
    2. Please provide a network diagram that shows how Alt TV works from the reception of the content (i.e. when the content is initially received for distribution by a network) to the delivery to residences of subscribers. If there are differences, please also provide separate network diagrams for cases where your service is accessed from outside subscriber homes. The network diagram(s) must identify the following:
      • The various network components and networks used to deliver Alt TV;
      • The interconnection points with other networks and with the access network
      • The access network technology (e.g. FTTH, cable, DSL, wireless) ;
      • If wireless technology is used, a detailed description of the standard use and the spectrum (licensed or unlicensed)
      • Which part(s) of the network(s) owned, which part(s) are leased and which entity owns it (them) ;
      • Which networks are public networks and which are private.
    3. Please confirm if and how the programming services vary according to the different licensed areas.
    4. If parts of the service are distributed on the Internet or are dependent on the Internet, please explain how they comply with applicable or applicable CRTC policies and regulations.
  2. Rates — As Bell mentioned in its response, it is common for vertically integrated entities to negotiate wholesale rates for the distribution of multiple services and for linear or multiplatform pricing simultaneously. Further, your website presents Alt TV as a multiplatform app.
    1. Please indicate why linear rates for Super Écran should be considered in the context of this dispute.
    2. Further, please confirm what subscriber rates are currently being paid by Quebecor for Super Écran, breaking down the linear and multiplatform rates.
  3. Operating costs — With regards to your report showing Bell TV’s payments to Bell Media for the distribution of Super Écran.
    1. Please confirm whether the rates used in the report are for linear or multiplatform distribution.
    2. In addition to programming costs, please detail the other average costs per subscriber related to the operation of Alt TV.
  4. Best practices - In Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2016-458, the Commission considered that “it would be contrary to the intent of the Policy [Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-96] for a larger service provider to take advantage of its competitive position to tie its TV services to the subscription of an additional service such as Internet.” Please explain how requiring a Fibe Internet subscription in order to subscribe to Alt TV, as Bell seems to be doing, is consistent with best practices established by the Commission in Decision 2016-458.

Procedure

Your reply letter and all supporting documents should be added to your application and made available for public examination. Please file this information no later than 13 September 2019 and email a copy to the other party and to
Differends-disputes@crtc.gc.ca.

The Commission requires that your documents be submitted electronically using the secured service My CRTC Account (Partner Log In or GCKey) and be accompanied by the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” located on this web page. Information on the submission of applications to the Commission is available on the following web page: Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account).

Should you require further information concerning this application, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,

Marie-Claire Bouthillier
Senior Analyst,
Alternative Dispute Resolution in Broadcasting
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
marie-claire.bouthillier@crtc.gc.ca
Tel.: 873-353-1612
Fax: 819-994-0218

c.c.: Regulatory Affairs, Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Madame Peggy Tabet (Québecor Media inc.) et Monsieur Kevin Goldstein (Bell Média inc.)

Ottawa, le 6 septembre 2019

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Peggy Tabet
Vice-présidente
Affaires réglementaires, Radiodiffusion
Québecor Media inc.
tabet.peggy@quebecor.com

et

Monsieur Kevin Goldstein
Vice-président
Affaires réglementaires, contenu et distribution
Bell Média inc.
kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Objet : Règlements d’assemblage et plainte en préférence indue Vidéotron c. Bell - Alt Télé et Super Écran - Demande N° : 2019-0462-3

Madame, Monsieur,

Afin que nous poursuivions l’analyse de la demande relative à la dispute concernant l’inclusion du service de programmation Super Écran au service Alt Télé, et opposant Québecor Média inc. (Québecor), au nom de Vidéotron ltée, et Bell Média inc. (Bell), veuillez fournir l’information demandée ci-dessous.

Québecor

  1. Tendances d’abonnement — Veuillez vous référer aux paragraphes 34 et 35 de votre lettre de demande datée du 14 juin 2019. Clarifiez l’information déposée en :
    • transmettant les niveaux d’abonnements en valeurs absolues ; et en
    • précisant les dates des trimestres indiqués au paragraphe 34.
  2. Entités comparables — Nous prenons note que vous ne considérez pas les services Super Écran et Club illico comme comparables (tel qu’indiqué au paragraphe 15 de votre réplique du 1er août 2019). Veuillez clarifier si Vidéotron distribue un ou des service(s) comparable(s) à Super Écran
  3. Cadre règlementaire — Au paragraphe 4 de votre réplique datée du 1er août 2019, Québecor se questionne sur le droit de Bell Télé d’exploiter Alt Télé en vertu de sa licence d’EDR terrestre, mais accepte de prendre pour acquis qu’Alt Télé peut être ainsi distribué.
    1. Veuillez indiquer en vertu de quelle politique ou quel règlement Alt Télé devrait être exploité en précisant les sections applicables et en justifiant votre choix.
    2. S’il existe des services comparables à Alt Télé dans le marché canadien, veuillez les identifier et justifier.

Bell

  1. Cadre règlementaire — Bell est d’avis qu’elle est en droit d’exploiter Alt Télé en vertu de sa licence EDR actuelle (Bell Télé) mais qu’il n’est possible pour un consommateur de s’abonner à Alt Télé que s’il est également abonné au service Internet Fibe, qui est exploité sous un autre type d’autorisation.
    1. Veuillez expliquer la façon dont Alt Télé est distribué et comment les abonnées peuvent y avoir accès. Dans le cas où votre service est accédé à l’extérieur des résidences des abonnés, veuillez préciser quels sont les effets sur son accès et sur sa distribution. Dans votre réponse, assurez-vous d’inclure des renseignements techniques sur les réseaux et sur la façon dont le contenu est distribué par ces réseaux.
    2. Veuillez respectivement fournir un diagramme de réseau qui montre comment fonctionne Alt Télé à partir de la réception du contenu (c.-à-d. le moment où le contenu est initialement reçu aux fins de distribution par un réseau) jusqu’à la livraison aux résidences des abonnés. S’il existe des différences, veuillez aussi fournir des diagrammes de réseau distinct pour les cas où votre service est accédé de l’extérieur des résidences des abonnés. Le ou les diagrammes de réseau doivent identifier ce qui suit :
      • les diverses composantes des réseaux et les réseaux utilisés pour distribuer Alt Télé ;
      • les points d’interconnexion avec d’autres réseaux et avec le réseau d’accès ;
      • la technologie du réseau d’accès (p. ex., fibre jusqu’au domicile, câble, ligne d’abonné numérique, sans-fil) ;
      • si une technologie sans fil est utilisée, une description en détail de l’utilisation standard et du spectre (avec ou sans licence) ;
      • les parties des réseaux qui appartiennent à l’EDR et les parties qui sont louées, ainsi que leur propriétaire ;
      • les réseaux publics et les réseaux privés.
    3. Veuillez confirmer si et comment les services de programmation varient en fonction des différentes zones de desserte autorisée.
    4.  Si certaines parties du service sont distribuées sur Internet ou dépendent de celui-ci, veuillez expliquer comment elles se conforment aux politiques et règlements pertinents ou applicables du CRTC.
  2. Tarification — Comme mentionné dans la réponse de Bell, il est commun pour des entités intégrées verticalement de négocier les tarifs de gros pour la distribution de services multiples et pour la tarification linéaire ou multiplateforme de manière simultanée. De plus, votre site web présente Alt Télé comme une application multiplateforme.
    1. Veuillez indiquer pourquoi les tarifs linéaires pour Super Écran devraient être considérés dans le cadre de cette dispute.
    2. Aussi, veuillez confirmer quels sont les frais actuellement payés par Québecor par abonnement à Super Écran en détaillant la part linéaire et la part multiplateforme.
  3. Coûts d’opération — Nous vous remercions pour votre rapport indiquant les paiements de Bell Télé à Bell Média pour la distribution de Super Écran.
    1. Veuillez confirmer si les tarifs sont pour la distribution linéaire ou multiplateforme.
    2. Outre les frais d’acquisition liés à la programmation, veuillez détailler les autres coûts moyens par abonnés liés à l’opération d’Alt Télé. 
  4. Meilleures pratiques — Dans la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2016-458, le Conseil estimait qu’il était « contraire à l’intention de la Politique [la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-96] le fait qu’un plus grand fournisseur de services profite de sa position concurrentielle pour lier la vente de ses services de télévision à celle d’un autre service comme Internet ».Veuillez expliquer en quoi le fait de lier l’abonnement à Alt Télé à un abonnement au service Internet Fibe, comme semble le faire Bell, est conforme aux meilleures pratiques établies par le Conseil dans la Décision 2016-458.

Procédure

Une copie de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe sera ajoutée au dossier public de l’instance. Veuillez répondre d’ici le 13 septembre 2019 et envoyer une copie par courriel à l’autre partie ainsi qu’au Differends-disputes@crtc.gc.ca.

Le Conseil exige que vos documents soient déposés électroniquement au moyen du service sécurisé Mon compte CRTC (partenaires de connexion ou clé GC) en utilisant la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom » qui s’y trouve. La page web Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant le service Mon compte CRTC  présente des renseignements supplémentaires concernant le dépôt de demandes au Conseil.

Pour toute question au sujet de la présente demande, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi.

Salutations,

Marie-Claire Bouthillier
Analyste principale,
Résolution extrajudiciaire des différends en radiodiffusion
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
marie-claire.bouthillier@crtc.gc.ca
Téléphone : 873-353-1612
Télécopieur : 819-994-0218

CC : Affaires règlementaires, Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Date de modification :