Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Carmela Laurignano (Dufferin Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, 10 July 2019 

BY E-MAIL

Carmela Laurignano
Vice-president and Radio Group Manager
5312 Dundas Street West
Toronto, Ontario
M9B 1B3
carmela@evanovradio.com

RE: Application 2019-0312-0 – CFWC-FM Brantford

Dear Mrs. Laurignano,

This is in reference to the above-noted application by Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) for technical and programming amendments for the English-language commercial specialty radio programming undertaking CFWC-FM Braford, Ontntario.

In order to pursue the analysis of this application, please address the following.

  1. Outstanding tangible benefits

As stated in paragraph 17 of Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2017-260, the licensee of CFWC-FM, Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) is subject to the following tangible benefits requirement:

“17. Given that the seven-year period has not yet ended, there are unfulfilled benefits totalling $6,484 ($3,242 for each of the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 broadcast years).
The Commission directs Dufferin to fulfill these outstanding tangible benefits, to be allocated equally as follows over the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 broadcast years:
◦ 3% of the value of the transaction ($3,242) to the Radio Starmaker Fund or Fonds Radiostar;
◦ 1.5% of the value of the transaction ($1,621) to FACTOR or MUSICACTION;
◦ 1% of the value of the transaction ($1,081), at the discretion of Dufferin, to any eligible CCD initiative; and
◦ 0.5% of the value of the transaction ($540) to the CRFC.”

However, according to Commission records, the licensee contributed $0.00 in CCD contributions during the 2016-2017 broadcast year to fulfil the above-noted tangible benefit requirement, thereby representing a potential shortfall of $3,242.  It would therefore appear that the licensee is in apparent non-compliance with the above-noted requirement for the 2016-2017 broadcast year.

You are reminded that, as stated in Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2009-251, if a payment is made after 31 August, the Commission will consider the licensee to have failed to comply with its obligation to make annual CCD contributions during the applicable broadcast year. Furthermore, annual contributions required by requirement cannot be deferred, in whole or in part, to any subsequent broadcast year unless prior authority is sought and obtained from the Commission.

In light of the information above:

  1. Please explain the circumstances of this tangible benefits shortfall.
  2. Please specify what measures have been or will be put in place to ensure that payments relating to the station’s tangible benefits commitments are made.
  3. Please specify the date by which the shortfall will be expended and supporting documents will be filed. You are reminded that the licensee will need to provide the Commission with the necessary proofs of payment and eligibility once the shortfall has been expended.
  1. Outstanding tangible benefits

As stated in paragraph 17 of Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2017-260, the licensee of CFWC-FM, Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) is subject to the following tangible benefits requirement:

17. Given that the seven-year period has not yet ended, there are unfulfilled benefits totalling $6,484 ($3,242 for each of the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 broadcast years).
The Commission directs Dufferin to fulfill these outstanding tangible benefits, to be allocated equally as follows over the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 broadcast years:
◦ 3% of the value of the transaction ($3,242) to the Radio Starmaker Fund or Fonds Radiostar;
◦ 1.5% of the value of the transaction ($1,621) to FACTOR or MUSICACTION;
◦ 1% of the value of the transaction ($1,081), at the discretion of Dufferin, to any eligible CCD initiative; and
◦ 0.5% of the value of the transaction ($540) to the CRFC.”

However, according to Commission records, during the 2017-2018 broadcast year, the licensee contributed only $2,702 in CCD contributions, the entirety of which was paid to FACTOR.  Resulting in the following potential shortfalls:

It would therefore appear that the licensee is in apparent non-compliance with the above-noted requirement, with a potential shortfall of $1,891.

You are reminded that, as stated in Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2009-251, if a payment is made after 31 August, the Commission will consider the licensee to have failed to comply with its obligation to make annual CCD contributions during the applicable broadcast year. Furthermore, annual contributions required by requirement cannot be deferred, in whole or in part, to any subsequent broadcast year unless prior authority is sought and obtained from the Commission.

In light of the information above:

  1. Please explain the circumstances of this tangible benefits shortfall.
  2. Please specify what measures have been or will be put in place to ensure that payments relating to the station’s tangible benefits commitments are made.
  3. Please specify the date by which the shortfall will be expended and supporting documents will be filed. You are reminded that the licensee will need to provide the Commission with the necessary proofs of payment and eligibility once the shortfall has been expended.
  1. Tangible benefits

As stated in paragraph 15 of Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2017-260, the licensee of CFWC-FM, Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) is subject to the following tangible benefits requirement:

15.As set out in the tangible benefits policy, tangible benefits must generally represent at least 6% of the value of the transaction. The Commission has calculated the tangible benefits package to be $26,400 (6% of $440,000).
The Commission directs Dufferin to expend $26,400 in equal amounts over seven consecutive broadcast years, to be allocated as follows:
◦ 3% of the value of the transaction ($13,200) to the Radio Starmaker Fund or Fonds Radiostar;
◦ 1.5% of the value of the transaction ($6,600) to FACTOR or MUSICACTION;
◦ 1% of the value of the transaction ($4,400), at the discretion of the purchaser, to any eligible      Canadian content development (CCD) initiatives; and
◦ 0.5% of the value of the transaction ($2,200) to the Community Radio Fund of Canada (CRFC).”

According to Commission records, the licensee reported CCD contributions in the amount of $629 to Coast 2 Coast Music Canada during the 2017-2018 broadcast year to fulfill the above-noted tangible benefit requirement.

However, Commission staff note that the licensee did not file sufficient proof of eligibility for these contributions. Footnote1

Without additional documentation to demonstrate how the reported CCD contributions were used and how the initiative qualifies as eligible, this initiative may be deemed ineligible by the Commission.

In light of the above:

  1. Please explain the circumstances of this apparent non‐compliance.
  2. Please explain how the use of these contributions for the above-noted initiative complies with the Commission’s eligibility criteria noted in subsection 15(1) of the Regulations and paragraphs 97 through 112 of the Commercial Radio Policy 2006 (PN CRTC 2006-158).
  3. Please provide sufficient documentation to demonstrate the eligibility of the above-noted initiative and breakdown how the CCD contributions were expended. This can include a letter from the third party that received the funds or a printout or brochure of the event that explicitly links the claimed expenses to the initiative.

Please note that without sufficient proof of eligibility for the initiative in question, the licensee may be found in non-compliance with the above-noted condition of licence for the 2017-2018 broadcast year.

  1. Outstanding tangible benefits

As stated in paragraph 21 of Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2017-260, the licensee of CFWC-FM, Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) is subject to the following tangible benefits requirement:

21. In light of the above, the Commission directs Dufferin to fulfill the outstanding tangible benefits for the 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 broadcast years by contributing the required amount of $1,080 to eligible CCD initiatives within 90 days of the issuance of the new broadcasting licence for CFWC-FM.”

However, according to Commission records, the licensee paid the required contribution of $1,080 on 09 February 2018 although the decision stipulates that the contribution must be paid within 90 days of the issuance of the new broadcasting licence for CFWC-FM (i.e. before 20 October 2017).  The payment appears to have been made 4 months late.

It would therefore appear that the licensee is in apparent non-compliance with the above-noted requirement.

You are reminded that, if a payment is made after the deadline, the Commission can consider the licensee to have failed to comply with its obligation to pay punctual contribution within the deadline. Furthermore, punctual contributions required by condition of licence cannot be delayed, in whole or in part, unless prior authority is sought and obtained from the Commission.

In light of the information above:

  1. Please explain the circumstances of this apparent non‐compliance.
  2. Please specify what measures have been or will be put in place to full future compliance with the licensee’s regulatory obligations for CCD contributions during the new licence.

Staff finds it necessary to obtain this information from the applicant in order to provide for a complete record and to make a determination with respect to the proposed technical amendment.

The information requested herein should be submitted to the Commission by no later than 16 July 2019, failing which, the application may be returned to be completed and resubmitted with the Commission should Dufferin wish to pursue this proposal.

The Commission requires the response or other documents to be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Cover Page” located on this web page.   Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Filing Broadcasting and Canadian Program Certification documents with the CRTC: Privacy and Security”.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Should you need further information concerningthis application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 873-353-9274, by fax at 819-994-0218 or by e-mail at valentina.bourgeois@crtc.gc.ca .

Yours sincerely

Original signed by Analyst

Valentina Bourgeois
Senior Analyst, Radio Policy & Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Carmela Laurignano (Dufferin Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, le 10 juillet 2019

PAR COURRIEL 

Carmela Laurignano
Vice-présidente et Gestionnaire du groupe de la radio
5312, rue Dundas Street Ouest
Toronto (Ontario)
M9B 1B3
carmela@evanovradio.com

RE: Demande 2019-0312-0 – CFWC-FM Brantford

Madame,

La présente concerne la demande indiquée en objet, déposée par Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) relativement à des modifications techniques et de programmation concernant la station commerciale spécialisée de langue anglaise CFWC-FM à Brantford, en Ontario.

Pour que nous puissions poursuivre l’examen de cette demande, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants.

  1. Avantages tangibles en souffrance

Comme il est indiqué au paragraphe 17 de la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-260, le titulaire de CFWC-FM, Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) est assujetti aux exigences en matière d’avantages tangibles suivantes :

« 17. Étant donné que la période de sept ans n’est pas encore terminée, un total de 6 484 $ demeure à payer en avantages tangibles (3 242 $ pour chacune des années de radiodiffusion 2016-2017 et 2017-2018).
Le Conseil ordonne à Dufferin de répondre à ces engagements restants en matière d’avantages tangibles et de les verser en montants égaux sur les années de radiodiffusion 2016-2017 et 2017-2018, selon la répartition suivante :
◦ 3 % de la valeur de la transaction (3 242 $) au Radio Starmaker Fund ou au Fonds Radiostar;
◦ 1,5 % de la valeur de la transaction (1 621 $) à la FACTOR ou à MUSICACTION;
◦ 1 % de la valeur de la transaction (1 081 $), à un projet de DCC, à la discrétion de Dufferin;
◦ 0,5 % de la valeur de la transaction (540 $) au FCRC. »

Toutefois, selon les dossiers du Conseil, la titulaire n’a versé aucune somme aux contributions au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC) pendant l’année de radiodiffusion de 2016-2017 pour respecter l’exigence en matière d’avantages tangibles susmentionnée, ce qui représente un possible manque à gagner de 3 242 $. Il semble donc que le titulaire soit en situation de non-conformité apparente à l’égard de l’exigence susmentionnée pour l’année de radiodiffusion de 2016-2017.

Nous vous rappelons, tel qu’il est indiqué dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2009-251, si le versement est effectué après le 31 août, le Conseil déterminera que le titulaire est en défaut de paiement de ses contributions au DCC pour l’année de radiodiffusion visée. En outre, les contributions annuelles requises par l’exigence ne peuvent pas être reportées, en tout ou en partie, à toute année de radiodiffusion subséquente à moins qu’une autorisation ne soit demandée et obtenue auprès du Conseil.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède :

  1. Veuillez expliquer les circonstances de ce manque à gagner relatif aux avantages tangibles.
  2. Veuillez préciser les mesures qui ont été ou qui seront mises en place pour veiller à ce que les paiements relatifs aux engagements au titre des avantages tangibles soient versés.
  3. Veuillez préciser la date à laquelle le manque à gagner sera remboursé et les documents à l’appui seront déposés. Nous vous rappelons que le titulaire devra fournir au Conseil les éléments de preuve nécessaires des paiements et de l’admissibilité une fois que le manque à gagner sera remboursé.
  1. Avantages tangibles en souffrance

Comme il est indiqué au paragraphe 17 de la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-260, le titulaire de CFWC-FM, Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) est assujetti aux exigences en matière d’avantages tangibles suivantes :

« 17. Étant donné que la période de sept ans n’est pas encore terminée, un total de 6 484 $ demeure à payer en avantages tangibles (3 242 $ pour chacune des années de radiodiffusion 2016-2017 et 2017-2018).
Le Conseil ordonne à Dufferin de répondre à ces engagements restants en matière d’avantages tangibles et de les verser en montants égaux sur les années de radiodiffusion 2016-2017 et 2017-2018, selon la répartition suivante :
◦ 3 % de la valeur de la transaction (3 242 $) au Radio Starmaker Fund ou au Fonds Radiostar;
◦ 1,5 % de la valeur de la transaction (1 621 $) à la FACTOR ou à MUSICACTION;
◦ 1 % de la valeur de la transaction (1 081 [$]), à un projet de DCC, à la discrétion de Dufferin;
◦ 0,5 % de la valeur de la transaction (540 $) au FCRC. »

Toutefois, selon les dossiers du Conseil, pendant l’année de radiodiffusion 2017-2018, le titulaire n’a contribué que 2 702 $ au titre du DCC, la totalité ayant été versé à FACTOR. Cette action a entraîné les manques à gagner potentiels suivants :

Il semble donc que le titulaire soit en situation de non-conformité apparente à l’égard de l’exigence susmentionnée, avec un manque à gagner potentiel de 1 891 $.

Nous vous rappelons que, tel qu’il est indiqué dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2009-251, si le versement est effectué après le 31 août, le Conseil déterminera que le titulaire est en défaut de paiement de ses contributions au DCC pour l’année de radiodiffusion visée. En outre, les contributions annuelles requises par l’exigence ne peuvent pas être reportées, en tout ou en partie, à toute année de radiodiffusion subséquente à moins qu’une autorisation ne soit demandée et obtenue auprès du Conseil.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède :

  1. Veuillez expliquer les circonstances de ce manque à gagner relatif aux avantages tangibles.
  2. Veuillez préciser les mesures qui ont été ou qui seront mises en place pour veiller à ce que les paiements relatifs aux engagements au titre des avantages tangibles soient versés.
  3. Veuillez préciser la date à laquelle le manque à gagner sera remboursé et les documents à l’appui seront déposés. Nous vous rappelons que le titulaire devra fournir au Conseil les éléments de preuve nécessaires des paiements et de l’admissibilité une fois que le manque à gagner sera remboursé.
  1. Avantages tangibles

Comme il est indiqué dans le paragraphe 15 de la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-260, le titulaire de CFWC-FM, Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) est assujetti aux exigences en matière d’avantages tangibles suivantes :

« 15. Tel qu’indiqué dans la politique du Conseil, les avantages tangibles doivent généralement représenter au moins 6 % de la valeur de la transaction. Le Conseil a calculé que dans le cas présent, le bloc d’avantages tangibles s’élevait à 26 400 $ (6 % de 440 000 $).
Le Conseil ordonne à Dufferin de verser un total de 26 400 $ en montants égaux sur sept années de radiodiffusion consécutives et répartis comme suit :
◦ 3 % de la valeur de la transaction (13 200 $) au Radio Starmaker Fund ou au Fonds Radiostar;
◦ 1,5 % de la valeur de la transaction (6 600 $) à la FACTOR ou à MUSICACTION;
◦ 1 % de la valeur de la transaction (4 400 $) à un projet de développement du contenu canadien (DCC), à la discrétion de l’acheteur;
◦ 0,5 % de la valeur de la transaction (2 200 $) au Fonds canadien de la radio communautaire (FCRC). »

Selon les dossiers du Conseil, le titulaire a indiqué des contributions au titre du DCC d’une valeur de 629 $ versées à Coast 2 Coast Music Canada pendant l’année de radiodiffusion de 2017-2018 pour respecter l’exigence en matière d’avantages tangibles susmentionnée.

Toutefois, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que le titulaire n’a pas déposé suffisamment d’éléments de preuve d’admissibilité en ce qui a trait à ces contributions Note de bas de page1 .

Sans document supplémentaire pour démontrer de quelle façon les contributions au titre du DCC ont été utilisées et que les initiatives sont admissibles, le Conseil peut déterminer que cette initiative est non admissible.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède :

  1. Veuillez expliquer les circonstances de cette non-conformité apparente.
  2. Veuillez expliquer de quelle façon ces contributions à l’initiative susmentionnée sont conformes aux critères d’admissibilité indiqués à l’article 15(1) du Règlement et aux paragraphes 97 à 112 de la politique de 2006 sur la radio commerciale (Avis public de radiodiffusion CRTC 2006-158).
  3. Veuillez fournir suffisamment de documents pour démontrer l’admissibilité de l’initiative susmentionnée et une ventilation des contributions versées au titre du DCC. Ces documents peuvent inclure une lettre d’une partie tierce qui a reçu les fonds ou une brochure (originale ou copie) de l’événement qui lie explicitement les dépenses réclamées à l’initiative.

Veuillez noter que si nous ne recevons pas suffisamment d’éléments de preuve de l’admissibilité de l’initiative en question, le titulaire peut se trouver en situation de non-conformité en ce qui concerne la condition de licence susmentionnée pour l’année de radiodiffusion de 2017-2018.

  1. Avantages tangibles en souffrance

Comme il est indiqué dans le paragraphe 21 de la Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2017-260, le titulaire de CFWC-FM, Dufferin Communications Inc. (Dufferin) est assujetti aux exigences en matière d’avantages tangibles suivantes :

« 21.Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil ordonne à Dufferin de verser les avantages tangibles qui demeurent impayés pour les années de radiodiffusion the [sic] 2014-2015 et 2015-2016 en versant une contribution de 1 080 $ à des projets admissibles de DCC dans les 90 jours à compter de l’émission de la nouvelle licence de radiodiffusion pour CFWC-FM. »

Toutefois, selon les dossiers du Conseil, le titulaire a versé la contribution requise de 1 080 $ le 9 février 2018 bien que la décision indique que la contribution doit être versée dans les 90 jours suivant l’attribution d’une nouvelle licence de radiodiffusion pour CFWC-FM (c’est-à-dire avant le 20 octobre 2017). Le paiement semble avoir été versé quatre mois en retard.

Il semble donc que le titulaire soit en situation de non-conformité apparente à l’égard de l’exigence susmentionnée.

Nous vous rappelons que si un paiement est versé après la date limite, le Conseil peut déterminer que le titulaire ne respecte pas ses obligations de contributions ponctuelles dans le délai prescrit. En outre, les contributions ponctuelles requises par la condition de la licence ne peuvent pas être reportées, en tout ou en partie, à moins qu’une autorisation ne soit demandée et obtenue auprès du Conseil.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède :

  1. Veuillez expliquer les circonstances de cette non-conformité apparente.
  2. Veuillez préciser quelles mesures ont été ou seront mises en place pour toute conformité future aux obligations réglementaires du titulaire pour les contributions au titre du DCC pendant la période de la nouvelle licence.

Le personnel conclut qu’il est nécessaire d’obtenir ces renseignements de la part du demandeur afin de préparer un dossier complet et de prendre une décision par rapport à la modification technique proposée.

Les renseignements demandés dans la présente lettre doivent être soumis au Conseil au plus tard le 16 juillet 2019, sans quoi la demande pourrait être retournée pour qu’elle soit remplie et soumise de nouveau au Conseil si Dufferin souhaite donner suite à la proposition.

Le Conseil exige que la réponse ou tout autre document soient soumis par voie électronique au moyen du service sécurisé Mon compte CRTC (partenaires de connexion ou Clé GC) et que la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom » ou la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion » située sur cette page Web soit remplie. Vous trouvez également sur cette page Web des renseignements sur la soumission des demandes au Conseil : Dépôt de documents de radiodiffusion et de certification d’une émission canadienne auprès du CRTC : Protection des renseignements personnels et sécurité.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Si vous avez besoin d’autres renseignements concernant la demande, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi par téléphone au 873-353-9274, par télécopieur au 819-994-0218 ou par courriel à l’adresse valentina.bourgeois@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, mes salutations distinguées.

Original signé par

Valentina Bourgeois
Analyste principale, Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

Date de modification :