Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Matthew McBride (CKPM-FM Radio Ltd.)

Ottawa, 10 July 2019

By E-Mail: matthew@mcmi.ca

Matthew McBride
President
CKPM-FM Radio Ltd.
3860 Richmond Street
Richmond, British Columbia
V7E 2W8

RE: Broadcasting application Licence renewal for CKPM-FM Port Moody, British Columbia (2018-0695-2) – Off-air notification

Mr. McBride, 

This is in reference to the above-noted application by CKPM-FM Radio Ltd. to renew the broadcasting licence for the English-language commercial radio station CKPM-FM Port Moody, which expires 31 August 2019.

In a letter dated 5 July 2019, the licensee informed the Commission that CKPM-FM Port Moody was taken off-air on June 27, 2019. CKPM-FM Port Moody indicated that following unsuccessful negotiation of the antenna site lease, its tenancy was terminated. It added that the station will be off-air until such time as an approved alternate broadcast site can be established.

In order to continue the analysis of the licence renewal application, you are required to provide the following additional information:

  1. Explain in detail the circumstances of this situation.
  2. Explain why the station was suddenly taken off-air by the landlord on June 27, 2019.
  3. File the terminated lease, which should indicate its expiry date, or the documents that terminated the lease.
  4. Indicate the next steps for the station’s operations and when it is expected to be back on the air. Further, describe any initiative that has been attempted in the search of a new broadcasting site.
  5. Furthermore, explain why the Commission should renew the broadcasting licence for CKPM-FM (which expires on 31 August 2019), in light of the various instances of apparent non-compliance identified in letters dated 14 May and 5 June 2019 and the fact that the station is currently not in operation.

It is necessary to obtain this information from the applicant in order to provide for a complete record.

The information requested herein should be submitted to the Commission by no later than 17 July 2019.

The Commission requires the response or other documents to be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Cover Page” located on this web page. Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Filing Broadcasting and Canadian Program Certification documents with the CRTC: Privacy and Security”.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Should you need further information concerning this application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 819-997-4453, by fax at 819-994-0218 or by e-mail at marie-lyse.lavallee@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Marie-Lyse Lavallée
Senior Radio Analyst
CRTC - Radio Policy & Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Matthew McBride (CKPM-FM Radio Ltd.)

Ottawa, le 10 juillet 2019

Adresse de courriel : matthew@mcmi.ca

Matthew McBride
Président
CKPM-FM Radio Ltd.
3860, rue Richmond
Richmond (Colombie-Britannique)
V7E 2W8

OBJET : Demande de renouvellement de licence pour CKPM-FM Port Moody (Colombie-Britannique) (2018-0695-2) – Hors ondes

Monsieur McBride,

La présente se rapporte à la demande susmentionnée de CKPM-FM Radio Ltd. relativement au renouvellement de la licence de radiodiffusion de la station de radio commerciale de langue anglaise CKPM-FM Port Moody, qui expire le 31 août 2019.

Dans une lettre datée du 5 juillet 2019, le titulaire a informé le Conseil que CKPM-FM Port Moody a été retirée des ondes le 27 juin 2019. CKPM-FM Port Moody a indiqué qu’à la suite de négociations infructueuses sur le bail de l’emplacement de l’antenne, l’entente de location a été résiliée. Il a ajouté que la station sera fermée jusqu’à ce qu’un autre site de diffusion approuvé puisse être établi.

Afin de poursuivre l’analyse de la demande, vous devez déposer les renseignements additionnels ci-dessous :

  1. Expliquez en détail les circonstances de cette situation.
  2. Expliquez pourquoi le propriétaire a soudainement retiré la station des ondes le 27 juin 2019.
  3. Déposez le bail résilié, qui devrait indiquer sa date d’expiration, ou les documents qui ont mené à sa résiliation.
  4. Indiquez quel est votre plan de relance de la station et la date à laquelle vous prévoyez retourner en ondes. De plus, décrivez toute initiative qui a été tentée dans la recherche d’un nouveau site de radiodiffusion.
  5. Expliquez pourquoi le Conseil devrait renouveler la licence de radiodiffusion de CKPM-FM (laquelle expire le 31 août 2019), compte tenu des diverses instances de non-conformité apparentes identifiées dans les lettres datées des 14 mai et 5 juin 2019 et du fait que la station n'est pas actuellement en ondes.

Il est nécessaire d’obtenir ces renseignements du demandeur afin de disposer d’un dossier complet.

L’information demandée dans cette lettre doit être présentée au Conseil au plus tard le 17 juillet 2019.

Le Conseil exige que les intervenants présentent leur réponse ou d’autres documents en ligne au moyen du système sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Clé GC ou partenaires de connexion) » et qu’ils remplissent la « page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom » ou la « page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion » qui figure sur la page Web. Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur la façon de soumettre des demandes au Conseil à la page Web intitulée « Dépôt de documents de radiodiffusion et de certification d’une émission canadienne auprès du CRTC : Protection des renseignements personnels et sécurité ».

Une copie de cette lettre et toute la correspondance connexe seront versées au dossier public de l’instance.

Si vous désirez obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur votre demande, veuillez communiquer avec moi par téléphone, au 819-997-4453, par télécopieur, au 819-994-0218, ou à l’adresse marie-lyse.lavallee@crtc.gc.ca.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur M. McBride, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Marie-Lyse Lavallée
Analyste principale
CRTC – Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

Date de modification :