Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Mark Lewis (Allarco Entertainment Limited Partnership)

Ottawa, 31 May 2019

BY EMAIL

Mr. Mark Lewis
Lewis Birnberg Hanet LLP
Allarco Entertainment Limited Partnership
mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com

RE: Procedural Letter – Application by Allarco Entertainment Limited Partnership to renew the Super Channel broadcasting licence – application number 2017-0743-1  Response to Allarco’s procedural request dated May 13, 2019

Dear Mr. Lewis,

This letter is in response to your procedural request dated May 13, 2019, as part of the above-mentioned process. In your letter, you state that the Commission did not invite members of the public to submit comments during the second intervention phase of Part 1 Footnote1 and that only those who initially intervened in the first intervention phase were able to do so. Footnote2 You are also asking that the Commission confirm that any member of the public may submit an intervention by June 3 with respect to the Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-127.

The Commission clarifies that, as in all public processes, including Part 1 processes, all members of the public have the opportunity to submit interventions during any intervention phase. Further, the Commission confirms that an intervention can be filed by June 3, 2019, by following the guidelines on the Rules. You can also use the cover letter template for joint supporting interventions/comments that was sent to you by email on May 3.

The Commission confirms that Allarco will have the opportunity to submit a reply following the intervention period. Unless otherwise specified, that period will be ten days, from June 3 to June 13, 2019.

Finally, we acknowledge your request to appear at the July 11, 2019 public hearing. The Commission will consider your request and will make a decision on it following the deadline for reply comments and, pursuant to subsection 36(1) of the Rules, will notify you at least 10 days before the start of the public hearing. 

If you have further questions regarding the procedure for the Notice of Consultation 2019-127, you can contact Jade Roy, Supervisor, Public Hearings, at 819-953-7927 or by email at jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General 

c.c.
Mr. Don McDonald, President & CEO, Allarco Entertainment 2008 Inc.
Mr. Charles A. Allard, Chairman, Allarco Entertainment 2008 Inc.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Mark Lewis (Allarco Entertainment Limited Partnership)

Ottawa, le 31 mai 2019

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Mark Lewis
Lewis Birnberg Hanet LLP
Allarco Entertainment Limited Partnership
mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com

Objet: Lettre procédurale – Demande soumise par Allarco Entertainment Limited Partnership afin de renouveler la licence de radiodiffusion de Super Channel – numéro de demande 2017-0743-1 – Réponse à la requête procédurale d’Allarco datée du 13 mai 2019

Monsieur,

Cette lettre est en réponse à votre requête procédurale du 13 mai 2019 dans le cadre du processus cité en objet. Dans votre lettre, vous avancez que le Conseil n’a pas invité les membres du public à soumettre des commentaires lors de la deuxième phase d’intervention de la Partie 1 Note de bas de page1 et que seuls les intervenants qui sont initialement intervenus lors de la première phase d’intervention ont pu le faire Note de bas de page2 . Vous demandez également au Conseil de confirmer que tout membre du public peut soumettre une intervention d’ici le 3 juin relativement à l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-127.

Le Conseil tient à clarifier que, comme dans tous processus publics, y compris les processus de Partie 1, tous les membres du public ont l’opportunité de soumettre des interventions lors de n’importe quelle phase d’intervention. De plus, Le Conseil confirme qu’une intervention peut être déposée en suivant les lignes directrices des Règles, d’ici le 3 juin 2019. Vous pouvez également utiliser le modèle de lettre d’accompagnement des interventions/observations favorables conjointes qui vous a été envoyé par courriel le 3 mai dernier.

Le Conseil confirme qu’Allarco aura l’opportunité de soumettre une réplique suivant la période d’intervention. Sauf avis contraire, cette période s’étalera sur dix jours, du 3 juin au 13 juin 2019.

Finalement, nous accusons réception de votre demande de comparution à l’audience publique du 11 juillet 2019. Le Conseil étudiera votre demande et se prononcera à la suite de la date limite de la période de réplique et, selon l’article 36(1) des Règles, vous avisera au moins dix jours avant la date du début de l’audience publique.

Pour toute question supplémentaire relative à la procédure de l’avis de consultation 2019-127, vous pouvez contacter Jade Roy, Superviseure des audiences publiques, au 819-953-7927 ou par courriel jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

c.c.
M. Don McDonald, President & CEO, Allarco Entertainment 2008 Inc.
M. Charles A. Allard, Chairman, Allarco Entertainment 2008 Inc.

Date de modification :