Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 15 May 2019

BY E-MAIL 

Distribution List 

Our reference: Public Notice 2019-9

Public record: 1011-NOC2019-0009

Re: Proceeding regarding the English-language closed captioning quality standards relating to the accuracy rate for live programming – Request for Information by 23 May 2019

Madam, Sir,

This letter sets out questions for the parties to this proceeding, the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (CBSC) and Dr. Romero-Fresco. Footnote1 Answers are requested to the Commission by 23 May 2019.

Context

On 16 January 2019, the Commission published Call for comments regarding the English-language closed captioning quality standards relating to the accuracy rate for live programming (NoC 2019-9). The deadline for initial comments was 18 March 2019 and for replies 2 April 2019.

This letter sets out questions related to the current record for NoC 2019-9:

All parties, the CBSC and Dr. Romero-Fresco are requested to reply by 23 May 2019. Parties to the proceeding may file reply comments to Dr. Romero-Fresco’s response (to the questions set out in Appendix 3) no later than 29 May 2019. Footnote2

Procedures for filing

Responses to these requests for information must 1) refer to the file number noted above, and 2) be sent to the Secretary General of the Commission via My CRTC Account (at the following link: https://crtc.gc.ca/eng/cover.htm) using GCKey. GCKey allows you to securely access the Government of Canada’s online services and conduct online business.

For further information on how to submit your response, see the CRTC’s web page Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account.

All submissions are to be made in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277. As set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, parties may designate certain information as confidential. Parties must provide an abridged version of the document involved, accompanied by a detailed rationale to explain why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest.

Should you have any questions, please contact Jennifer Porteous, Senior Analyst, Social and Consumer Policy, at jennifer.porteous@crtc.gc.ca.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
CRTC

Encl.

Distribution list

2016 Working group beverley.myerside@gmail.com; jroots@cad.ca; jhardman@chs.ca; cindy@bridgessupport.com; csutton@chha.ca; melina@natcapcan.ca; brookew@closedcapserv.com; lens@nait.ca; Susan.Wheeler@rci.rogers.com; Karen.Phillips@corusent.com; tina.tatto@cbc.ca; Alia.Miller@bellmedia.ca; david@keeblemedia.com
Canadian Broadcast Standards Council info@cbsc.ca / scourtemanche@cbsc.ca
Dr. Pablo Romero-Fresco promero@uvigo.es; p.romero-fresco@roehampton.ac.uk
Wendy Randall horselover_BC@hotmail.com
Marc Bonhomme mjb1962@outlook.com
Henge Design info@hengedesign.com
Canadian Hard of Hearing Association csutton@chha.ca
APTN ltodd@aptn.ca / info@aptn.ca
Keeble Media Inc. david@keeblemedia.com
Ai media tony.abrahams@ai-media.tv
CPAC catherine.cano@cpac.ca
Closed Caption Services brookew@closedcapserv.com
SaskTel document.control@sasktel.com
Media Access Canada mac@mediac.ca
Canadian Association of the Deaf / Association des Sourds du Canada
jroots@cad.ca / info@cad.ca
CBC and CAB sbissonette@cab-acr.ca
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology lens@nait.ca
SOVO sergeforest@sovo-tech.com
National Captioning Canada melina@natcapcan.ca / natcap@shaw.ca
The Captioning Group kogeil@captioning.com
Pelmorex keby@pelmorex.com
Sasha Willson sasha.willson@captioning.com
English-Language Local Independent Television Stations Group
sbissonette@cab-acr.ca

Appendix 1 - Questions for all parties

On 10 May 2019, the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (CBSC) responded to a Commission staff Request for Information regarding the possible role of the CBSC in the NER Footnote3 evaluator certification process.  The CBSC response is attached, for ease of reference.

If the CBSC was involved with or responsible for overseeing the certification process for NER evaluators, do you see any issues with what is being proposed in the CBSC response? Please comment on them.

Appendix 2 - Questions for the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council

If the CBSC was involved with or responsible for overseeing the certification process for NER evaluators, do you envision that the Advisory Panel would also adjudicate complaints related to the accuracy of live, English-language closed captioning?

Appendix 3 - Questions for Dr. Pablo-Romero Fresco, developer of NER Model

In paragraph 14 of its reply comments dated 2 April 2019, Canadian Association of Broadcasters/Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CAB/CBC) submitted that “Broadcasters can ensure the NER model is consistently applied by having their evaluators certified through LiRICS.  We see no need to create a new body or to task the CBSC, which has no expertise in this area, with this role.  There is an established approach that Canadian broadcasters and Canadian captioning companies can benefit from” (emphasis added).

Staff notes that the Commission is currently reviewing the possibility of implementing a slightly modified version of the international NER Model, to be known as the Canadian NER Model, which has been adapted to suit Canadian circumstances.

In light of the above, please comment on feasibility and willingness of LiRICS to:

  1. Take on added inquiries/requests from the Canadian market; and
  2. Train and/or certify evaluators for the Canadian NER model?
Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 15 mai 2019

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Notre référence : Avis public 2019-9

Dossier public :1011-NOC2019-0009

Objet : Instance concernant la norme de qualité du sous-titrage codé de langue anglaise relative au taux de précision de la programmation en direct – Demande de renseignements à fournir d’ici le 23 mai 2019

Madame, Monsieur,

La présente contient des questions à l’intention des parties de cette instance, du Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision (CCNR) et de M. Pablo Romero-Fresco Note de bas de page1 . Les réponses doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil d’ici le 23 mai 2019.

Contexte

Le 16 janvier 2019, le Conseil a publié Appel aux observations sur la norme de qualité du sous-titrage codé de langue anglaise relative au taux de précision de la programmation en direct (avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-9). La date limite pour déposer des observations initiales était le 18 mars 2019 et celle pour déposer des observations en réplique était le 2 avril 2019.

La présente lettre contient des questions liées au dossier actuel de l’avis de consultation 2019-9 :

Toutes les parties, le CCNR et M. Romero-Fresco sont priés de répondre d’ici le 23 mai 2019.

Les parties à l’instance peuvent déposer des observations en réplique à la réponse de M. Romero-Fresco (aux questions énoncées dans l’annexe 3) d’ici le 29 mai 2019 Note de bas de page2 .

Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt

Les réponses à ces demandes de renseignements doivent 1) faire référence au numéro de dossier susmentionné et 2) être envoyé au secrétaire général du Conseil au moyen de Mon compte CRTC (qui se trouve à l’adresse suivante : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/cover.htm) à l’aide de CléGC. CléGC vous permet d’accéder de façon sécurisée aux services en ligne du Gouvernement du Canada et de faire affaire en ligne.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de soumettre votre réponse, consultez la page Web du CRTC Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC.

Toutes les soumissions doivent être effectuées conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (DORS/2010-277). Comme il est établi dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les parties peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Les parties doivent soumettre une version abrégée du document concerné, accompagnée d’une justification expliquant en détail les raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Jennifer Porteous, analyste principale, Politique sociale et des consommateurs à l’adresse jennifer.porteous@crtc.gc.ca.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
CRTC

p. j.

Liste de distribution

Groupe de travail 2016  david@keeblemedia.com; beverley.myerside@gmail.com; jroots@cad.ca; jhardman@chs.ca; cindy@bridgessupport.com; csutton@chha.ca; melina@natcapcan.ca; brookew@closedcapserv.com; lens@nait.ca; Susan.Wheeler@rci.rogers.com; Karen.Phillips@corusent.com; tina.tatto@cbc.ca; Alia.Miller@bellmedia.ca
Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision info@cbsc.ca / scourtemanche@cbsc.ca
M. Pablo Romero-Fresco promero@uvigo.es; p.romero-fresco@roehampton.ac.uk
Wendy Randall horselover_BC@hotmail.com
Marc Bonhomme mjb1962@outlook.com
Henge Design info@hengedesign.com
Association des malentendants canadiens csutton@chha.ca
APTN ltodd@aptn.ca / info@aptn.ca
Keeble Media Inc. david@keeblemedia.com
Ai media tony.abrahams@ai-media.tv
CPAC catherine.cano@cpac.ca
Closed Caption Services brookew@closedcapserv.com
SaskTel document.control@sasktel.com
Media Access Canada mac@mediac.ca
Association des Sourds du Canada / Canadian Association of the Deaf
jroots@cad.ca / info@cad.ca
SRC et ACR sbissonnette@cab-acr.ca
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology lens@nait.ca
SOVO sergeforest@sovo-tech.com
National Captioning Canada melina@natcapcan.ca / natcap@shaw.ca
The Captioning Group kogeil@captioning.com
Pelmorex keby@pelmorex.com
Sasha Willson sasha.willson@captioning.com
Groupe de stations de télévision indépendantes locales de langue anglaise sbissonnette@cab-acr.ca

Annexe 1 – Questions à l’intention de toutes les parties

Le 10 mai 2019, le Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision (CCNR) a répondu à une demande du personnel du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes concernant le rôle possible du CCNR au processus de certification des évaluateurs NER Note de bas de page3 . Par souci de commodité, la réponse du CCNR est ci-jointe.

Si le CCNR était impliqué ou responsable de superviser le processus de certification des évaluateurs NER, selon vous, y a-t-il des problèmes liés à ce qui est proposé dans la réponse du CCNR? Veuillez nous faire part de vos observations à ce sujet.

Annexe 2 – Questions à l’attention du Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision

Si le CCNR était impliqué ou responsable de superviser le processus de certification des évaluateurs NER, envisagez-vous que le groupe consultatif pourrait être appelé à statuer sur les plaintes relatives au taux de précision du sous-titrage codé de langue anglaise en direct?

Annexe 3 – Questions à l’attention du M. Pablo Romero-Fresco, créateur du modèle NER

Au paragraphe 14 de leurs observations en réplique datées du 2 avril 2019, l’Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs (ACR) et la Société Radio-Canada (SRC) ont indiqué que les radiodiffuseurs peuvent s’assurer que le modèle NER est appliqué systématiquement en procédant à la certification de leurs évaluateurs selon la norme Live Reporters International Certification Standard. Il n’est pas nécessaire de créer un nouvel organisme ou de confier cette tâche au CCNR, qui n’a aucune expertise dans ce domaine. Les radiodiffuseurs canadiens et les compagnies de radiodiffusion canadiennes peuvent tirer profit d’une approche établie. [traduction libre]

Le personnel fait remarquer que le Conseil étudie à l’heure actuelle la possibilité de mettre en œuvre une version légèrement modifiée du modèle NER international, qui a été adaptée aux circonstances canadiennes et sera connu sous le nom de modèle NER canadien,

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, veuillez formuler des observations sur la faisabilité et la volonté en ce qui concerne la norme LiRICS pour :

  1. Accepter les demandes ajoutées provenant du marché canadien;
  2. Former ou certifier les évaluateurs au titre du modèle NER canadien.
Date de modification :