Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 13 May 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0091

BY E-MAIL

To: Distribution List

RE: Joint reply to the request for information related to Call for comments on the Commission's policy on Canadian programming expenditures (BNC 2019-91)

Dear Madams, Sirs:

On 28 March 2019, a request for information (RFI) was issued as part of Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-91, Call for comments on the Commission’s policy on Canadian programming expenditures. The RFI requested revenue and expenditure data related to digital media broadcasting activities, including the online windows associated with licensed services as well as any other digital media broadcasting service.

On 17 April 2019, the Commission received your joint reply to the RFI, submitted collectively by “The Broadcasters”, in which you indicated that you would not comply with the request. In that joint reply, you raised concerns arising from the difficulty involved in separating traditional and digital data, potential variations in the accounting practices of respondents, and the commercially-sensitive nature of the information requested.

After consideration of the joint reply, the Commission has determined that the information requested in the RFI is necessary to fulfilling its objective of updating its current policy relating to CPE. The Commission emphasizes that recourse to comprehensive information is fundamental for its understanding of the digital media broadcasting activities of Canadian broadcasters and of the impact of those activities on traditional television services. 

Therefore, consistent with the Commission’s determinations in Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2019-91-1, in accordance with paragraph 4 of the Exemption order for digital media broadcasting undertakings, set out in the appendix to Broadcasting Order 2012-409, and pursuant to section 9(2)(a) of the Discretionary Services Regulations, and section 12(3)(a) of the Television Broadcasting Regulations, 1987, you are directed to submit information on your activities as originally requested in the RFI.

In regard to your concerns regarding the difficulty involved in separating traditional and digital data and potential variations in the accounting practices of respondents, the Commission notes that broadcasters are responsible for the development of their own internal accounting policies. Commission staff can assist you as needed, including by providing guidance in regard to the scope of information that must be submitted.

In regard to your concerns arising from the commercially-sensitive nature of the information requested, consistent with its general practice, the Commission will apply sections 30 to 34 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure when considering requests for confidentiality. In this regard, the following criteria, set out in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, 23 December 2010 (Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961), will apply:

For additional information, please consult Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961 as well as Implementation of new Rules of Practice and Procedures, Broadcasting and Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-958, 23 December 2010.

If you have any questions regarding this request for information, please contact Nicolas Gatto at 873-353-9280, or by e-mail at nicolas.gatto@crtc.gc.ca.

The requested information must be submitted by 3 June 2019.

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

c.c. : Distribution List

Aboriginal Peoples Television Network Incorporated
Allarco (Super Channel)
BCE Inc.
Channel Zero
Corus Entertainment Inc.
DHX Media Ltd.
Fairchild Property Group Ltd.
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group Ltd.
Les Placements Péladeau inc.
Remstar Diffusion inc. (V Média)
RNC Média inc.
Rogers Communications Inc.
TV5 Québec Canada
ZoomerMedia

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 13 mai 2019

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0091

PAR COURRIEL

À : liste de distribution

Objet : Réponse conjointe à la demande de renseignements concernant l’Appel aux observations sur la politique du Conseil relative aux dépenses en émissions canadiennes (avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2019-91)

Mesdames, Messieurs,

Le 28 mars 2019, une demande de renseignements a été émise dans le cadre de l'avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-91, Appel aux observations sur la politique du Conseil concernant les dépenses de programmation canadienne. La demande de renseignements sollicitait des données sur les recettes et les dépenses associées aux activités de radiodiffusion des médias numériques, y compris les fenêtres en ligne associées aux services autorisés et à tout autre service de radiodiffusion des médias numériques.

Le 17 avril 2019, le Conseil a reçu votre réponse commune à la demande de renseignements, soumise collectivement par "les Radiodiffuseurs", dans laquelle vous indiquiez que vous ne vous conformeriez pas à cette demande. Dans la réponse commune, vous avez soulevé des préoccupations liées à la difficulté de séparer les données traditionnelles des données numériques, aux variations potentielles dans les pratiques comptables des répondants et à la nature commercialement sensible des informations demandées.

Après examen de la réponse conjointe, le Conseil a estimé que les informations sollicitées dans la demande de renseignements sont nécessaires à la réalisation de son objectif de mise à jour de sa politique actuelle en matière de DÉC. Le Conseil souligne que le recours à de  l’information complète est essentiel à sa compréhension des activités de radiodiffusion des médias numériques des radiodiffuseurs canadiens et de l'incidence de ces activités sur les services de télévision traditionnels.

Par conséquent, en continuité avec les conclusions tenues par le Conseil dans l’avis de consultation 2019-91-1, et conformément au paragraphe 4 de l'ordonnance d'exemption relative aux entreprises de radiodiffusion de médias numériques, figurant à l'annexe de l'ordonnance de radiodiffusion 2012-409, et conformément à l'article 9(2)a) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs et à l'article 12(3)a) du Règlement de 1987 sur la télédiffusion, le Conseil vous ordonne de fournir les renseignements sur vos activités demandés initialement dans la demande de renseignements.

En ce qui concerne vos préoccupations quant à la difficulté de séparer les données traditionnelles des données numériques et les variations possibles dans les pratiques comptables des répondants, le Conseil note que les radiodiffuseurs sont responsables de l'élaboration de leurs politiques comptables internes. Le personnel du Conseil peut vous aider au besoin, notamment en vous donnant des conseils sur la portée des renseignements qui doivent être soumis.

En ce qui concerne vos préoccupations découlant du caractère commercialement sensible des informations demandées, conformément à sa pratique générale, le Conseil appliquera les articles 30 à 34 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes lorsqu'il examine les demandes de confidentialité. À cet égard, les critères suivants, énoncés dans les Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d'information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010 (bulletin d'information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961), seront applicables :

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le bulletin d'information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961 ainsi que la Mise en œuvre de nouvelles Règles de pratique et procédure, Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-958, 23 décembre 2010.

Si vous avez des questions concernant cette demande d'information, veuillez communiquer avec Nicolas Gatto au 873-353-9280, ou par courriel à nicolas.gatto@crtc.gc.ca.

Les informations demandées devront être soumises avant le 3 juin 2019.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

C.c. : Liste de distribution

Aboriginal Peoples Television Network Incorporated
Allarco (Super Channel)
BCE Inc.
Channel Zero
Corus Entertainment Inc.
DHX Media Ltd.
Fairchild Property Group Ltd.
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group Ltd.
Les Placements Péladeau inc.
Remstar Diffusion inc. (V Média)
RNC Média inc.
Rogers Communications Inc.
TV5 Québec Canada
ZoomerMedia

Date de modification :