Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Peggy Tabet (Québecor Media Inc.) and Rob Malcolmson (Bell Canada Enterprises)

Ottawa, 10 April 2019

By e-mail

Peggy Tabet
Vice President – Broadcasting, Regulatory Affairs
Québecor Media Inc.
tabet.peggy@quebecor.com

Rob Malcolmson
Senior Vice President – Regulatory Affairs and Government Relations
Bell Canada Enterprises
robert.malcolmson@bell.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Re: Commission determination on a dispute between Bell Canada Enterprises and Québecor Media Inc.

Dear Ms. Tabet and Mr. Malcolmson,

This decision is with respect to Bell Canada Enterprises’ (Bell) letters of 8 and 9 April 2019 related to the application of the standstill rule to the provision of services by Québecor Media Inc. (Québecor).

Regulatory framework

Section 12(1) of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations (BDU regulations) and Section 14(1) of the Discretionary Services Regulations permit one or both parties to a dispute concerning carriage or terms of carriage of a programming service to refer the matter to the Commission for dispute resolution.

Section 15 (1) of the Discretionary Services Regulations andSection 15.01 (1) of the BDU regulations require that, during a dispute between a BDU and a programming undertaking, the programming undertaking must continue to provide its programming services to the distribution undertaking, and the distribution undertaking must continue to distribute these services, at the same rates and on the same terms and conditions as it did before the dispute.

The Commission’s dispute resolution regime is designed to ensure a healthy and dynamic wholesale market, one in which negotiations are conducted fairly and in good faith. Similarly, the standstill rule was put in place to level the field during negotiations between programmers and distributors, and to ensure that subscribers are not deprived of services while parties are engaged in negotiation. The Commission is prepared to intervene where it finds that parties are acting in a manner that is inconsistent with the public interest. Such targeted intervention may be necessary to ensure a healthy, dynamic retail market that maximizes consumer choice and flexibility, and provides Canadians with access to a diverse range of programming.

Analysis and conclusion

As set out above, the BDU regulations and the Discretionary Services Regulations contemplate dispute resolution on carriage as well as disputes regarding terms of carriage. The Commission has determined that Bell and Québecor are engaged in such a dispute and therefore the standstill rule applies. Accordingly, Bell and Québecor are required to provide their respective programming services to one another, and are required to distribute those services, at the same rates and on the same terms and conditions as they did before the dispute, until the parties resolve their dispute or the Commission issues a decision concerning this unresolved matter. Withholding or otherwise interfering with signals by either party such that Canadians are prevented from enjoying the programming would amount to changing the terms of carriage. The Commission also advises parties that it is prepared to use the means at its disposal to enforce its regulations, including holding a hearing on an expedited basis to issue a mandatory order under section 12 of the Broadcasting Act.

Given the Commission’s statements that the standstill rule should not be invoked lightly, nor be relied upon to grant an effective access rightFootnote 1,the parties are encouraged to continue to seek a bilateral resolution of their dispute as quickly as possible. Failing that, one or both parties may seek a Commission determination.

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Peggy Tabet (Québecor Média inc.) et Rob Malcolmson (Bell Canada Enterprises)

Ottawa, le 10 avril 2019

PAR COURRIEL

Peggy Tabet
Vice-présidente
Affaires réglementaires, radiodiffusion
Québecor Média inc.
tabet.peggy@quebecor.com

Rob Malcolmson
Vice-président principal
Affaires réglementaires et Relations gouvernementales
Bell Canada Enterprises
robert.malcolmson@bell.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Décision du Conseil concernant un différend entre Bell Canada Enterprises et Québecor Média inc.

Madame Tabet et Monsieur Malcolmson,

La présente décision concerne les lettres du 8 et 9 avril 2019 de Bell Canada Entreprises (Bell) liées à l'application de la règle du statu quo à la fourniture de services par Québecor Média inc. (Québecor).

Cadre réglementaire

Le paragraphe 12(1) du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion (règlement sur les EDR) et le paragraphe 14(1) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs permettent à l’une ou aux deux parties impliquées dans un différend concernant la fourniture ou les modalités de fourniture d’un service de programmation de renvoyer l’affaire au Conseil pour le règlement de différend.

Le paragraphe 15(1) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs et le paragraphe 15.01 (1) du règlement sur les EDR exigent que, lors d’un différend entre une EDR et une entreprise de programmation, l’entreprise de programmation doit continuer à fournir ses services de programmation à l’entreprise de distribution, et l’entreprise de distribution doit continuer à distribuer ces services, aux mêmes tarifs et modalités qu’avant le différend.

Le régime de résolution de différends du Conseil vise à assurer un marché de gros sain et dynamique, où les négociations se déroulent de manière équitable et de bonne foi. Il en va de même pour la règle du statu quo, conçue pour équilibrer les forces lors des négociations entre programmeurs et distributeurs et pour s'assurer que les abonnés ne sont pas privés de services pendant que les parties sont engagées dans des négociations. Le Conseil est prêt à intervenir lorsqu'il estime que les parties agissent d'une manière incompatible avec l'intérêt public. Des interventions ciblées peuvent s'avérer nécessaires pour voir à ce qu’un marché de détail sain et dynamique maximise la souplesse et le choix offert aux Canadiens et leur donne accès à une gamme variée de programmation.

Analyses et conclusion

Tel qu’il est établi ci-dessus, le règlement sur les EDR et le Règlement sur les services facultatifs prévoient le règlement des différends sur l’acheminement ainsi que des différends concernant les modalités d’acheminement. Le Conseil a déterminé  que Bell et Québecor sont engagées dans un tel différend et qu’alors, la règle du statu quo s’applique. Par conséquent, Bell et Québecor sont tenues de fournir leurs services respectifs à l’autre partie, et sont tenues de distribuer ces services, aux mêmes tarifs et selon les mêmes modalités qu’avant le différend, jusqu’à ce que les parties règlent leur différend ou que le Conseil rende une décision concernant cette question non réglée. Le fait de retirer les signaux ou d'interférer de quelque façon que ce soit avec ceux-ci, par l’une au l’autre des parties, de manière à empêcher les Canadiens de profiter de la programmation équivaudrait à modifier les modalités d’acheminement. Le Conseil avise également les parties qu'il est prêt à utiliser les moyens à sa disposition pour appliquer sa réglementation, notamment en tenant une audience accélérée pour rendre une ordonnance en vertu de l'article 12 de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion.

Compte tenu des déclarations du Conseil selon lesquelles la règle du statu quo ne doit pas être invoquée à la légère et qu’elle ne peut servir à accorder un droit d’accès de factoNote de bas de page 1, les parties sont encouragées à continuer de chercher une solution bilatérale à leur litige le plus rapidement possible. À défaut, l’une des parties ou les deux parties peuvent demander une décision du Conseil.

Veuillez agréer, madame, monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire Général

Date de modification :