Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Peggy Tabet (Quebecor Media Inc.) and Rob Malcolmson (Bell Canada Enterprises)

Ottawa, 8 April 2019

Peggy Tabet
Vice President – Broadcasting, Regulatory Affairs
Quebecor Media Inc.
tabet.peggy@quebecor.com

Rob Malcolmson
Senior Vice President – Regulatory Affairs and Government Relations
Bell Canada Enterprises
robert.malcolmson@bell.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

BY E-MAIL

Re: Dispute regarding Groupe TVA’s Programming Services

Dear Ms. Tabet and Mr. Malcolmson,

This is with respect to Bell Canada Enterprises’ (Bell) letter to the Commission of 7 April 2019, which requests that the Commission notify Groupe TVA that the standstill rule applies to its dispute concerning the TVA Sports discretionary service, as well as Groupe TVA’s other discretionary services.

In its letter, Bell stated that during the final regular season hockey game for the Montreal Canadiens, TVA Sports’ feed contained a number of screen crawls communicating that TVA Sports’ signal will be suspended over the course of the next few days. Bell further stated that withdrawing the signal would be in direct contravention of section 15(1) of the Discretionary Services Regulations (the standstill rule), and requested that the Commission notify Groupe TVA that the standstill rule applies.

Regulatory framework

Section 12(1) of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations (BDU regulations) and Section 14(1) of the Discretionary Services Regulations permit one or both parties to a dispute concerning carriage or terms of carriage of a programming service to refer the matter to the Commission for dispute resolution.

Section 15 (1) of the Discretionary Services Regulations requires that, during a dispute between a BDU and a programming undertaking, the programming undertaking must continue to provide its programming services to the distribution undertaking at the same rates and on the same terms and conditions as it did before the dispute.

The Commission’s dispute resolution regime is designed to ensure a healthy and dynamic wholesale market, one in which negotiations are conducted fairly and in good faith.  Similarly, the standstill rule was put in place to level the field during negotiations between programmers and distributors, and to ensure that subscribers are not deprived of services while parties are engaged in negotiation. The Commission is prepared to intervene where it finds that parties are acting in an anti-competitive manner. Such targeted intervention may be necessary to ensure a healthy, dynamic retail market that maximizes consumer choice and flexibility, and provides Canadians with access to a diverse range of programming.

Analysis and conclusion

As set out above, the BDU regulations and the Discretionary Services Regulations contemplate dispute resolution on carriage as well as disputes regarding terms of carriage. Commission staff is of the view that the parties are engaged in such a dispute and therefore the standstill rule applies. Accordingly, Groupe TVA is required to provide the services and Bell is required to distribute these services, at the same rates and on the same terms and conditions as it did before the dispute, until the parties resolve their dispute or the Commission issues a decision concerning this unresolved matter.

Given the Commission’s statements that the standstill rule should not be invoked lightly, nor be relied upon to grant an effective access rightFootnote1,the parties are encouraged to continue to seek a bilateral resolution of their dispute as quickly as possible. Failing that, one or both parties may seek a Commission determination.

Yours sincerely,

Scott Hutton
Executive Director, Broadcasting

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Peggy Tabet (Québecor Média inc.) et Rob Malcolmson (Bell Canada Enterprises)

Ottawa, le 8 avril 2019

PAR COURRIEL

Peggy Tabet
Vice-présidente
Affaires réglementaires, radiodiffusion
Québecor Média inc.
tabet.peggy@quebecor.com

Rob Malcolmson
Vice-président principal
Affaires réglementaires et Relations gouvernementales
Bell Canada Enterprises
robert.malcolmson@bell.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Différend concernant les services de programmation de Groupe TVA

Madame Tabet et Monsieur Malcolmson,

La présente lettre concerne la lettre que Bell Canada Entreprises (Bell) a fait parvenir au Conseil en date du 7 avril 2019, qui demande au Conseil d’aviser Groupe TVA que la règle du statu quo s’applique au différend concernant le service facultatif TVA Sports, ainsi que les autres services facultatifs de Groupe TVA.

Dans sa lettre, Bell a indiqué que durant la dernière partie de hockey de la saison régulière des Canadiens de Montréal, le signal de TVA Sports contenait un certain nombre de bannières défilantes mentionnant que le signal de TVA Sports serait suspendu au cours des prochains jours. Bell a de plus indiqué que le retrait du signal serait une contravention directe au paragraphe 15(1) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs (règle du statu quo), et a demandé que le Conseil avise Groupe TVA que cette règle s’applique.

Cadre réglementaire

Le paragraphe 12(1) du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion (règlement quant aux EDR) et le paragraphe 14(1) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs permettent aux parties impliquées dans un différend concernant la fourniture ou les modalités de fourniture d’un service de programmation de se tourner vers le Conseil afin que celui-ci résolve le différend.

Le paragraphe 15(1) du Règlement sur les services facultatifs exige que, lors d’un différend entre une EDR et une entreprise de programmation, cette dernière doit continuer à fournir ses services de programmation à l’entreprise de distribution aux mêmes tarifs et modalités qu’avant le différend.

Le régime de résolution de différends du Conseil vise à assurer un marché de gros sain et dynamique, où les négociations se déroulent de manière équitable et de bonne foi. Il en va de même pour la règle du statu quo, conçue pour équilibrer les forces lors des négociations entre programmeurs et distributeurs et pour s'assurer que les abonnés ne sont pas privés de services pendant que les parties sont engagées dans des négociations. Le Conseil est prêt à intervenir lorsqu'il estime que les parties agissent de manière anticoncurrentielle. Des interventions ciblées peuvent s'avérer nécessaires pour voir à ce que le marché de détail sain et dynamique maximise la souplesse et le choix offert aux Canadiens et leur donne accès à une gamme variée de programmation.

Analyses et conclusion

Tel qu’il est établi ci-dessus, les règlements des EDR et le Règlement sur les services facultatifs prévoient le règlement des différends sur l’acheminement ainsi que des différends concernant les modalités d’acheminement. Le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que les parties sont engagées dans un tel différend et qu’alors, la règle du statu quo s’applique. Par conséquent, le Groupe TVA est tenu de fournir les services et Bell est tenue de distribuer ces services, aux mêmes tarifs et selon les mêmes modalités qu’avant le différend, jusqu’à ce que les parties règlent leur différend ou que le Conseil rende une décision concernant cette question non réglée.

Compte tenu des déclarations du Conseil selon lesquelles la règle du statu quo ne doit pas être invoquée à la légère et qu’elle ne peut servir à accorder un droit d’accès de factoNote de bas de page1, les parties sont encouragées à continuer de chercher une solution bilatérale à leur litige le plus rapidement possible. À défaut, l’une des parties ou les deux parties peuvent demander une décision du Conseil.
Sincèrement vôtre,

Scott Hutton
Directeur exécutif, Radiodiffusion

Date de modification :