Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution List

Ottawa, 4 April 2019

BY E-MAIL 

Distribution List 

Our reference: 1011-NOC2019-0009

Re: Proceeding regarding the English-language closed captioning quality standards relating to the accuracy rate for live programming– Request for Information by 12 April

Madam, Sir,

This letter sets out questions for the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (CBSC) and Dr. Pablo Romero-Fresco. Answers are requested to the Commission by 12 April 2019.

Commission staff notes that the CBSC and Dr. Romero-Fresco are not parties to this proceeding as they did not file interventions. Nevertheless, given that this proceeding concerns the appropriateness of adopting the NER Footnote1 model developed by Dr. Romero-Fresco and that one of the intervenors has made a proposal that the CBSC should be involved in the certification of NER evaluators, Commission staff is issuing this request to seek their views.

Context

On 16 January 2019, the Commission published Call for comments regarding the English-language closed captioning quality standards relating to the accuracy rate for live programming. The deadline for initial comments was 18 March 2019 and for replies was 2 April 2019.

This letter sets out questions related to the initial and reply comments received at the Commission:

The CBSC and Dr. Romero-Fresco are requested to reply by 12 April 2019. Parties to the proceeding may file reply comments to these responses no later than 18 April 2019. Footnote2

Procedures for filing

Responses to these requests for information must 1) refer to the file number noted above, and 2) be sent to the Secretary General of the Commission via My CRTC Account (at the following link: https://crtc.gc.ca/eng/cover.htm) using GCKey. GCKey allows you to securely access the Government of Canada’s online services and conduct online business.

For further information on how to submit your response, see the CRTC’s web page Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account.

All submissions are to be made in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277. As set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, parties may designate certain information as confidential. Parties must provide an abridged version of the document involved, accompanied by a detailed rationale to explain why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest.

Should you have any questions, please contact Jennifer Porteous, Senior Analyst, Social and Consumer Policy, at jennifer.porteous@crtc.gc.ca.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

(Original signed by)

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
CRTC

Distribution list

2016 Working group beverley.myerside@gmail.com;
jroots@cad.ca;
jhardman@chs.ca;
cindy@bridgessupport.com;
csutton@chha.ca;
melina@natcapcan.ca;
brookew@closedcapserv.com;
lens@nait.ca;
Susan.Wheeler@rci.rogers.com;
Karen.Phillips@corusent.com;
tina.tatto@cbc.ca;
Alia.Miller@bellmedia.ca
Canadian Broadcast Standards Council info@cbsc.ca
Dr. Pablo Romero-Fresco promero@uvigo.es;
p.romero-fresco@roehampton.ac.uk
Wendy Randall horselover_BC@hotmail.com
Marc Bonhomme mjb1962@outlook.com
Henge Design info@hengedesign.com
Canadian Hard of Hearing Association csutton@chha.ca
APTN ltodd@aptn.ca / info@aptn.ca
Keeble Media Inc. david@keeblemedia.com
Ai media tony.abrahams@aimedia.tv
CPAC catherine.cano@cpac.ca
Closed Caption Services (brookew@closedcapserv.com
SaskTel document.control@sasktel.com
Media Access Canada mac@mediac.ca
Canadian Association of the Deaf / Association des Sourds du Canada
jroots@cad.ca / info@cad.ca
CBC and CAB sbissonette@cab-acr.ca
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology lens@nait.ca
SOVO sergeforest@sovo-tech.com
National Captioning Canada melina@natcapcan.ca / natcap@shaw.ca
The Captioning Group sasha.wilson@captioning.com
Pelmorex keby@pelmorex.com
Sasha Willson sasha.willson@captioning.com
English-Language Local Independent Television Stations Group
sbissonette@cab-acr.ca

Appendix 1 - Questions for the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council

  1. In its initial submission, Keeble Media Inc. (KMI) proposes that the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (CBSC) be the body that oversees the certification of NER evaluators.  Paragraph 9 (a) to (d) of KMI’s submission specifically says:

    “9. …KMI proposes the following:

    1. The process of certification for evaluators to be used in the regulatory standards process should be overseen by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (CBSC) a body that has been trusted for many years by the Commission to administer various broadcast standards.
    2. With the CBSC present, the process does not need a new organization to manage certification, but the CBSC should convene a new advisory panel to guide it in this area. This panel should include representatives of caption consumers, broadcasters, and possibly Dr. Romero-Fresco or a group identified with him, as it will need expert advice from a neutral party, and it is desirable that Canadian NER remain compatible with NER as the model is used around the world.
    3. The CBSC would not itself conduct training and certification, but would approve other parties, on application, to conduct certification. Training might take place anywhere, as it is KMI’s understanding that some Canadian educational institutions may offer NER evaluation training as a part of other courses, but certification for Canadian regulatory purposes could only be undertaken by CBSC approved groups.
    4. The CBSC would also maintain a list of certified Canadian NER evaluators for use by interested parties.”
    • Please comment on the feasibility and appropriateness of KMI’s proposal.

Appendix 2 - Questions for Dr. Pablo Romero-Fresco, developer of NER Model

  1. It is our understanding that you are the developer of the NER Model and that the evaluators used during the trial conducted by the 2016 Working Group were either certified by you or by a Canadian evaluator approved by you. (Please see paragraph 12 of the 2016 Working Group proposal which is linked in paragraph 6 of Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-9 for the reference)
    • In your experience, please comment on:
    1. what it costs to certify an NER evaluator, including if those costs changed or are they likely to change in the near future;
    2. how long it takes to certify an NER evaluator;
    3. can certification be done remotely or online;
    4. is the certification permanent or for a fixed term, is there a further cost or further training to renew or maintain certification; and 
    5. if you believe that a central certification body is necessary and do you believe that broadcasting and captioning companies are capable of training their staff to become effective and efficient NER evaluators?
Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 4 avril 2019

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2019-0009

Objet : Instance concernant la norme de qualité du sous-titrage codé de langue
anglaise  relative au taux de précision de la programmation en direct  –   Demande de renseignements à fournir d’ici le 12 avril 2019

Madame, Monsieur,

La présente contient des questions pour le Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision (CCNR) et M. Pablo Romero-Fresco. Les réponses doivent être déposées auprès du Conseil d’ici le 12 avril 2019

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que le CCNR et M. Romero-Fresco ne sont pas parties à cette instance puisqu’ils n’ont pas déposé d’interventions. Néanmoins, étant donné que cette instance porte sur le caractère approprié de l’adoption du modèle NER Note de bas de page1 mis au point par M. Romero-Fresco et que l’un des intervenants a proposé que le CCNR prenne part à la certification des évaluateurs NER, le personnel du Conseil fait la présente demande pour obtenir son point de vue.

Contexte

Le 16 janvier 2019, le Conseil a publié Appel aux observations sur la norme de qualité du sous-titrage codé de langue anglaise relative au taux de précision de la programmation en direct. La date limite pour déposer des observations initiales était le 18 mars 2019 et celle pour déposer des observations en réplique était le 2 avril 2019.

La présente lettre contient des questions à propos des observations initiales et des observations en réplique reçues par le Conseil :

Le CCNR et M. Romero-Fresco sont priés de répondre d’ici le 12 avril 2019. Les parties à l’instance peuvent déposer des observations en réplique sur ces réponses au plus tard le 18 avril 2019 Note de bas de page2 .

Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt

Les réponses à ces demandes de renseignements doivent 1) faire référence au numéro de dossier susmentionné et 2) être envoyé au secrétaire général du Conseil au moyen de Mon compte CRTC (qui se trouve à l’adresse suivante : https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/cover.htm) à l’aide de CléGC. CléGC vous permet d’accéder de façon sécurisée aux services en ligne du Gouvernement du Canada et de faire affaire en ligne.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de soumettre votre réponse, consultez la page Web du CRTC Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant Mon compte CRTC.

Toutes les soumissions doivent être effectuées conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (DORS/2010-277). Comme il est établi dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les parties peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Les parties doivent soumettre une version abrégée du document concerné, accompagnée d’une justification expliquant en détail les raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Jennifer Porteous, analyste principale, Politique sociale et des consommateurs à l’adresse jennifer.porteous@crtc.gc.ca.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

(Original signé par)

Nanao Kachi
Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
CRTC

Liste de distribution

Groupe de travail 2016 beverley.myerside@gmail.com;
jroots@cad.ca;
jhardman@chs.ca;
cindy@bridgessupport.com;
csutton@chha.ca;
melina@natcapcan.ca;
brookew@closedcapserv.com;
lens@nait.ca;
Susan.Wheeler@rci.rogers.com;
Karen.Phillips@corusent.com;
tina.tatto@cbc.ca;
Alia.Miller@bellmedia.ca
Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision info@cbsc.ca
M. Pablo Romero-Fresco promero@uvigo.es;
p.romero-fresco@roehampton.ac.uk
Wendy Randall horselover_BC@hotmail.com
p Marc Bonhomme mjb1962@outlook.com
Henge Design info@hengedesign.com
Association des malentendants canadiens csutton@chha.ca
APTN ltodd@aptn.ca / info@aptn.ca
Keeble Media Inc. david@keeblemedia.com
Ai media tony.abrahams@aimedia.tv
CPAC catherine.cano@cpac.ca
Closed Caption Services brookew@closedcapserv.com
SaskTel document.control@sasktel.com
Media Access Canada mac@mediac.ca
Association des Sourds du Canada / Canadian Association of the Deaf
jroots@cad.ca / info@cad.ca
SRC et ACR sbissonette@cab-acr.ca
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (lens@nait.ca
SOVO sergeforest@sovo-tech.com
National Captioning Canada melina@natcapcan.ca / natcap@shaw.ca
The Captioning Group sasha.wilson@captioning.com
Pelmorex keby@pelmorex.com
Sasha Willson sasha.willson@captioning.com
Groupe de stations de télévision indépendantes locales de langue anglaise sbissonette@cab-acr.ca

Annexe 1 – Questions à l’attention du Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision

  1. Dans ses observations initiales, Keeble Media Inc. (KMI) propose que le Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision (CCNR) soit l’organisme qui supervise la certification des évaluateurs NER. Voici ce qui est précisément mentionné aux sous-paragraphes 9a) à d) des observations de KMI :
    • [traduction]

    « 9. (...) KMI propose ce qui suit :

    1. Le processus de certification des évaluateurs devant être utilisé dans le cadre du processus relatif aux normes réglementaires devrait être supervisé par le Conseil canadien des normes de la radiotélévision (CCNR), un organisme ayant la confiance du Conseil depuis des années pour gérer les diverses normes de radiodiffusion.
    2. Grâce à la présence du CCNR, le processus ne nécessite pas qu’un nouvel organisme gère les certifications, mais le CCNR devrait convoquer un nouveau groupe consultatif pour l’orienter dans ce domaine. Ce groupe devrait comprendre des représentants de consommateurs de services de sous-titrage codé, les radiodiffuseurs et probablement M. Romero-Fresco ou un groupe désigné par lui, puisque le groupe aurait besoin des conseils d’experts d’une partie neutre, et qu’il est souhaitable que le modèle NER canadien reste compatible avec NER comme le modèle est utilisé partout dans le monde.
    3. Le CCNR ne donnerait pas de formation et ne délivrerait pas de certification elle-même, mais elle approuverait d’autres parties, sur demande, pour la délivrance de certifications. La formation pourrait avoir lieu n’importe où, puisque d’après ce que comprend KMI certains établissements d’enseignement canadiens peuvent offrir une formation sur l’évaluation NER dans le cadre d’autres cours, mais la certification aux fins de la réglementation canadienne ne pourrait être entreprise que par des groupes approuvés par le CCNR.
    4. Le CCNR tiendrait aussi à jour une liste d’évaluateurs NER canadiens certifiés pour l’utilisation par des parties intéressées.
    • Veuillez formuler des observations sur la faisabilité et le caractère approprié de la proposition de KMI.

Annexe 2 – Questions à l’attention du M. Pablo Romero-Fresco, créateur du modèle NER

  1. Si nous comprenons bien, vous êtes le créateur du modèle NER et les évaluateurs auxquels on a eu recours pendant l’essai mené par le Groupe travail 2016 avaient été certifiés par vous ou par un évaluateur canadien approuvé par vous. (Veuillez consulter le paragraphe 12 de la proposition du Groupe de travail 2016 qui est lié au paragraphe 6 Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2019-9 à titre de référence.)
    • D’après votre expérience, veuillez formuler des observations sur ce qui suit :
    1. le coût de certification d’un évaluateur NER, y compris si ce coût a changé ou s’il est susceptible de changer prochainement;
    2. le temps nécessaire à la certification d’un évaluateur NER;
    3. s’il est possible de délivrer une certification à distance ou en ligne;
    4. si la certification est permanente ou délivrée pour une durée limitée et s’il y a un coût supplémentaire ou une formation supplémentaire associée au renouvellement ou au maintien d’une certification;
    5. si vous pensez qu’un organisme de certification central est nécessaire et si vous pensez que les compagnies de radiodiffusion et celles offrant des services de sous-titrage codé sont capables de former les membres de leur personnel pour qu’ils deviennent des évaluateurs NER efficaces.
Date de modification :