Broadcasting Commission Letter adressed to Mrs. Carol Russ (Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta)

Ottawa, 4 April 2019

E-mail: carolr@ammsa.com

Mrs. Carol Russ
Chief Financial Officer
Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta
13245 – 146 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta
T5L 4S8

RE: Broadcasting application 2019-0167-9 – Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta – CFWE-FM-4 Edmonton, AB

Dear Mrs. Russ, 

This is in reference to the above-noted application by Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta for a technical amendment to add rebroadcasting transmitter in Red Deer, Alberta to rebroadcast the programming of the English- and Indigenous-language Type B Native radio programming undertaking CFWE-FM-4 Edmonton, Alberta.

In order to pursue the analysis of this application, please address the following.

Pursuant to subsection 9(2) of the Radio Regulations, 1986, (the Regulations), licensees are required to file, no later than 30 November of each year, their annual return for the broadcast year ending the previous 31 August.  Failure to file these returns, in whole or in part, by the required date of 30 November of each year, may result in apparent non-compliance.

According to Commission records, the financial summaries for the 2015-2016 and 2017-2018 broadcast years were incomplete as the financial statements were also missing.  Therefore, it appears that the licensee of CFWE-FM-4 may be in non-compliance with subsection 9(2) of the Regulations, relating to the filing of duly completed annual returns for the 2015-2016 and 2017-2018 broadcast years.

In light of the information above:

  1. Please explain the circumstances of this apparent non-compliance.
  2. Please specify what measures have been or will be put in place to ensure full compliance with subsection 9(2) of the Regulations during the new licence term.
  3. Please specify the date by which the financial statements for the 2015-2016 and 2017-2018 broadcast years will be filed with the Commission.
  4. Please comment on the possibility of a short-term renewal for CFWE-FM-4 or the imposition of other measures set out in Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2014-608, should the licensee be found in non-compliance with subsections 9(2) of the Regulations. Examples of other measures are the imposition of conditions of licence, mandatory orders, non-renewal, suspension, or revocation of the licence or the requirement to broadcast an announcement regarding the non-compliance. Please note that compliance with the station’s regulatory obligations and conditions of licence will be considered at the time of the station’s renewal and further sanctions may be imposed at that time.

Staff finds it necessary to obtain this information from the applicant in order to provide for a complete record and to make a determination with respect to the proposed technical amendment.

The information requested herein should be submitted to the Commission by no later than 11 April 2019, failing which, the application may be returned to be completed and resubmitted with the Commission should Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta wish to pursue this proposal.

The Commission requires the response or other documents to be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Cover Page” located on this web page.   Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Filing Broadcasting and Canadian Program Certification documents with the CRTC: Privacy and Security”.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Should you need further information concerningthis application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 873-353-9274, by fax at 819-994-0218 or by e-mail at valentina.bourgeois@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Valentina Bourgeois
Senior Analyst, Radio Policy & Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Madame Carol Russ (Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta)

Ottawa, le 4 avril 2019

Courriel : carolr@ammsa.com

Madame Carol Russ
Directrice financière
Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta
13245-146 Street
Edmonton (Alberta)
T5L 4S8

Objet : Demande de radiodiffusion 2019-0167-9 – Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta – CFWE-FM-4Edmonton (Alberta)

Madame,

La présente concerne la demande indiquée en objet, déposée par l’Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta dans le but d’obtenir une modification technique pour ajouter un émetteur de rediffusion à Red Deer, en Alberta, pour rediffuser la programmation de l’entreprise de programmation de radio autochtone de type B de langues anglaise et autochtoneCFWE-FM-4 à Edmonton, en Alberta.

Pour que nous puissions poursuivre l’examen de cette demande, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants.

Aux termes du paragraphe 9(2) du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio (le Règlement), les titulaires de licence doivent déposer, au plus tard le 30 novembre de chaque année, leur rapport annuel pour l’année de radiodiffusion se terminant le 31 août précédent. Ne pas déposer ce rapport, en partie ou en totalité, au plus tard à la date prévue du 30 novembre chaque année, pourrait donner lieu à une situation de non-conformité apparente.

Selon les dossiers du Conseil, les sommaires financiers de 2015-2016 et de 2017-2018 ont été déposés incomplets car les états financiers manquaient. Il semble donc que le titulaire de CFWE-FM-4 se trouve en situation de non-conformité par rapport au paragraphe 9(2) du Règlement en ce qui a trait au dépôt des rapports annuels dûment remplis pour les années de radiodiffusion 2015-2016 et 2017-2018.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède :

  1. Veuillez expliquer les circonstances de cette non-conformité apparente.
  2. Veuillez préciser les mesures qui ont été mises en place ou qui seront mises en place pour veiller à la pleine conformité au paragraphe 9(2) du Règlement au cours de la nouvelle période de licence.
  3. Veuillez indiquer la date à laquelle les états financiers des années de radiodiffusion 2015-2016 et 2017-2018 seront déposés auprès du Conseil.
  4. Veuillez commenter la possibilité d’un renouvellement à court terme pour la station CFWE-FM-4 ou l’imposition d’autres mesures prévues dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2014-608, dans l’éventualité où le titulaire se trouverait en situation de non-conformité au paragraphe 9(2) du Règlement. Des exemples des autres mesures sont l’imposition de conditions de licence et d’ordonnances, le non-renouvellement, la suspension ou la révocation de la licence, ou encore l’obligation du titulaire de lire en ondes le texte qui fait part de sa non-conformité. Veuillez noter que la conformité de la station avec ses obligations règlementaires et ses conditions de licence sera considérée lors du renouvellement de la station et des mesures additionnelles pourraient être imposées.

Le personnel conclut qu’il est nécessaire d’obtenir ces renseignements de la part du demandeur afin de préparer un dossier complet et de prendre une décision par rapport à la modification technique proposée.

Les renseignements demandés dans la présente lettre doivent être soumis au Conseil au plus tard le 11 avril 2019, sans quoi la demande pourrait être retournée pour qu’elle soit remplie et soumise de nouveau au Conseil si l’Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta souhaite donner suite à la proposition.

Le Conseil exige que la réponse ou tout autre document soient soumis par voie électronique au moyen du service sécurisé Mon compte CRTC (partenaires de connexion ou Clé GC) et que la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion et de télécom » ou la « Page couverture de radiodiffusion » située sur cette page Web soit remplie. Vous trouvez également sur cette page Web des renseignements sur la soumission des demandes au Conseil : Dépôt de documents de radiodiffusion et de certification d’une émission canadienne auprès du CRTC : Protection des renseignements personnels et sécurité.

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Si vous avez besoin d’autres renseignements concernantla demande, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi par téléphone au 873-353-9274, par télécopieur au 819-994-0218 ou par courriel à l’adresse valentina.bourgeois@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Valentina Bourgeois
Analyste principale, Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

Date de modification :