Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57-1

PDF version

Reference: 2019-57

Ottawa, 28 October 2019

Public record: 1011-NOC2019-0057

Notice of hearing

Review of mobile wireless services - Changes to procedure

Revised public hearing commencement date: 18 February 2020

Revised deadline for further comments: 22 November 2019

Deadline for parties to reply to the Commissioner of Competition’s economic studies: 13 January 2020

Revised deadline for final submissions: 23 March 2020

Introduction

  1. In Review of mobile wireless services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2019-57, 28 February 2019, the Commission initiated a proceeding, including a public hearing, to review mobile wireless services in Canada.
  2. Shortly after the release of the notice, the Commissioner of Competition (the Commissioner) filed a letter outlining his plan to prepare a series of economic studies to assist the Commission in its analysis and decision making with respect to the proceeding.
  3. The Commissioner also made a request, pursuant to paragraph 39(4)(b) of the Telecommunications Act, to have certain information designated as confidential by wireless carriers disclosed to him.  He indicated that this information was necessary for the preparation of his economic studies.  
  4. The Commissioner requested that the confidential information be disclosed by 15 July 2019 so that he would have at least 100 days to review the record and prepare his studies, which he would submit as part of the phase for further comments, for which the submission deadline was 23 October 2019.
  5. On 2 August 2019, the Commission issued a determination requiring parties to disclose confidential information to the Commissioner by 9 August 2019.

The Commissioner’s 30-day extension request

  1. By letter dated 20 September 2019, the Commissioner requested a 30-day extension to the 23 October 2019 deadline for further comments, submitting that the delay in receiving the confidential information left him with fewer than 100 days to conduct his analysis and prepare the studies. He also indicated that some of the responses were deficient, requiring additional time and resources to be expended to follow up with certain carriers.
  2. Bell Mobility Inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Shaw Communications Inc., and TELUS Communications Inc. (collectively, the carriers) conditionally supported the extension request.  Among the conditions advanced was that all parties be granted the extra time to file their further comments. Other conditions advanced include the provision of additional process. These matters are discussed below.

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. The Commission considers that providing the Commissioner with a 30-day extension would be reasonable under the circumstances. The Commission also considers that granting this extension to all parties would better enable them to prepare their submissions and contribute to a more fulsome record. Accordingly, the Commission determines that it would be appropriate to extend the deadline for filing further comments for all parties.

Requests for additional process to respond to the Commissioner’s studies

  1. The carriers requested that the Commission add a process to enable parties to respond to the Commissioner’s studies. They submitted that being able to comment before the hearing is a matter of procedural fairness, particularly since the Commissioner will be filing his expert report well after other parties file their own expert reports. They added that the Commissioner has access to confidential information that other parties cannot see, so it is even more imperative that parties are given sufficient time and effective methods to scrutinize the evidence.
  2. Most of the carriers requested that an additional reply phase be added to the schedule to give parties an opportunity to engage their own experts to respond directly to the Commissioner’s studies. Several of the carriers also requested that they be given an opportunity to submit proposals for requests for information to the Commission, which the Commission could then pose to the Commissioner to test the evidence on their behalf.

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. The Commission notes that the established procedures for the proceeding provided all parties with opportunities to produce expert evidence. Many parties elected to file such evidence as part of the first round of interventions. While the Commissioner has access to information that was not accessible to others, this is also true for many other parties who engaged experts to produce reports with the benefit of their own confidential information.
  2. The established procedures also provide parties with a number of upcoming opportunities to respond to expert evidence tendered by other parties, including during the hearing and the final submissions phase.
  3. However, the Commission considers that there is merit in the proposal to add a reply phase, given that the Commissioner’s evidence will be based on industry-wide confidential information. The Commission considers that an additional reply phase targeted specifically to responding to the evidence submitted by the Commissioner would provide parties with a further opportunity to raise any concerns or highlight any merits associated with that evidence. This opportunity, which would complement that afforded by the hearing and final submissions phase, would result in a stronger record upon which the Commission can base its determinations.
  4. In the Commission’s view, a period of approximately six weeks would provide sufficient time for parties to evaluate and respond to the Commissioner’s studies, particularly given that parties will also have opportunities at the hearing and during the final submissions phase to make additional comments on the Commissioner’s evidence.
  5. Accordingly, the Commission determines that it would be appropriate to add a reply phase in which parties may respond to the Commissioner’s studies. In this phase, parties are to restrict their submissions to the contents of the Commissioner’s economic studies and any appendices or supporting documents.
  6. The Commission does not consider it necessary to add a supplementary request for information phase because it would introduce unnecessary delays to the proceeding. Further, in light of the new and existing procedures established for this proceeding, the Commission considers that all parties have been provided with fulsome opportunities to present their own evidence and respond to the evidence of other parties. Accordingly, the Commission does not consider that any value added to the record by the establishment of a supplementary request for information phase would outweigh the adverse impact resulting from such delays.

Requests to reschedule the hearing

  1. Given the 30-day extension request and requests for additional process, the carriers submitted that the hearing should be rescheduled. They proposed various dates ranging from March to May 2020.
  2. However, the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. submitted that the hearing should not be delayed, given the urgency of the policy issues under consideration.

Commission’s analysis and determinations

  1. The Commission considers that it is necessary to delay the hearing, given the 30-day extension and the new reply phase.
  2. However, it would be in the public interest to not prolong the proceeding unduly. Among the considerations informing the Commission’s assessment of an appropriate delay to the hearing is the importance of providing timely regulatory certainty in the market.
  3. The Commission considers that delaying the hearing by approximately five weeks would be reasonable, since it would accommodate the 30-day extension and the new reply phase, and provide sufficient time for parties to prepare for the hearing, but would not significantly extend the length of the proceeding overall.
  4. Accordingly, the Commission determines that it would be appropriate to modify the schedule for the hearing.

Conclusion

  1. In light of the above, the Commission makes the following procedural changes:
    • The Commission amends the deadline for the filing of further comments to 22 November 2019 for all parties.
    • The Commission adds a reply phase so that parties may respond to the Commissioner’s studies. Replies in this new phase must be filed no later than 13 January 2020 and are to be restricted to the contents of the Commissioner’s economic studies, including any appendices and supporting documents.
    • The Commission amends the date on which the public hearing will begin to 18 February 2020.
    • The Commission amends the deadline for final submissions to 23 March 2020.

Secretary General

Date modified:

Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2019-57-1

Version PDF

Référence : 2019-57

Ottawa, le 28 octobre 2019

Dossier public : 1011-NOC2019-0057

Avis d’audience

Examen des services sans fil mobiles - Changements à la procédure

Date révisée du début de l’audience publique : 18 février 2020

Date limite révisée pour le dépôt d’autres commentaires : 22 novembre 2019

Date limite pour la réplique des parties aux études économiques du commissaire de la concurrence : 13 janvier 2020

Date limite révisée de dépôt d’un mémoire final : 23 mars 2020

Introduction

  1. Dans Examen des services sans fil mobiles, avis de consultation de télécom  CRTC 2019-57, 28 février 2019, le Conseil a amorcé une instance, y compris une audience publique, afin d’examiner les services sans fil mobiles au Canada.
  2. Peu après la publication de l’avis, le commissaire de la concurrence (le commissaire) a déposé une lettre exposant son intention de préparer une série d’études économiques en vue d’aider le Conseil dans son analyse et sa prise de décisions concernant l’instance.
  3. Le commissaire a également demandé, conformément à l’alinéa 39(4)b) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, que certains renseignements désignés comme confidentiels par les entreprises de services sans fil lui soient communiqués. Il a indiqué que ces renseignements étaient nécessaires à la préparation de ses études économiques.
  4. Le commissaire a demandé que l’information confidentielle soit divulguée au plus tard le 15 juillet 2019 afin qu’il dispose d’au moins 100 jours pour examiner le dossier et préparer ses études, qu’il soumettra dans le cadre de la phase de commentaires supplémentaires, dont la date limite était le 23 octobre 2019.
  5. Le 2 août 2019, le Conseil a rendu une décision exigeant que les parties communiquent des renseignements confidentiels au commissaire au plus tard le 9 août 2019.

La demande de prorogation de 30 jours du commissaire

  1. Dans une lettre datée du 20 septembre 2019, le commissaire a demandé une prorogation de 30 jours de l’échéance du 23 octobre 2019 pour présenter d’autres commentaires, précisant qu’en raison du retard de réception des renseignements confidentiels, il lui restait moins de 100 jours pour réaliser son analyse et préparer les études. Il a également indiqué que certaines réponses étaient insuffisantes, exigeant alors du temps et des ressources supplémentaires pour assurer le suivi auprès de certaines entreprises.
  2. Bell Mobilité Inc., Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Saskatchewan Telecommunications, Shaw Communications Inc. et TELUS Communications Inc. [collectivement les entreprises] ont apporté leur soutien conditionnel à la demande de prorogation. L’une des conditions mentionnées était que toutes les parties se voient accorder un délai supplémentaire pour déposer d’autres commentaires. Parmi les autres conditions précisées se trouve la mise en place d’un processus supplémentaire. Ces questions sont examinées ci-après.

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Le Conseil estime que fournir une prorogation de 30 jours au commissaire serait raisonnable vu les circonstances. Le Conseil considère aussi qu’accorder cette prorogation à toutes les parties leur permettrait de mieux préparer leur soumission et contribuer à un dossier plus complet. En conséquence, le Conseil détermine qu’il serait approprié de proroger la date de présentation d’autres commentaires pour toutes les parties.

Demandes de processus supplémentaire pour répondre aux études du commissaire

  1. Les entreprises ont demandé que le Conseil ajoute un processus permettant aux parties de répondre aux études du commissaire. À leur avis, le fait de pouvoir formuler des commentaires avant l’audience est une question d’équité procédurale, en particulier puisque le commissaire déposera son rapport d’expertise bien après que les autres parties auront déposé leur propre rapport d’expertise. Elles ont ajouté que le commissaire a accès à des renseignements confidentiels auxquels les autres parties n’ont pas accès, et qu’il est alors d’autant plus important que les parties disposent de suffisamment de temps et de méthodes efficaces pour examiner les éléments de preuve.
  2. La plupart des entreprises ont demandé qu’une phase supplémentaire d’observations en réplique soit ajoutée au calendrier, afin de donner aux parties la possibilité de faire appel à leurs propres experts pour répondre directement aux études du commissaire. Plusieurs entreprises ont également demandé qu’on leur donne la possibilité de soumettre des propositions de demandes de renseignements au Conseil, qu’il pourrait ensuite présenter au commissaire afin d’examiner les preuves en leur nom.

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Le Conseil fait remarquer que les procédures établies relativement à l’instance ont permis à toutes les parties de produire des éléments de preuve provenant d’un expert. Bon nombre de parties ont choisi de déposer de telles preuves dans le cadre de la première série de dépôt d’interventions. Bien que le commissaire ait accès à des renseignements qui ne sont pas accessibles à d’autres, il en va de même pour de nombreuses autres parties ayant fait appel à des experts pour produire des rapports à l’aide de leurs propres renseignements confidentiels.
  2. Les procédures établies offrent également aux parties un certain nombre d’occasions futures pour répondre aux éléments de preuve provenant d’un expert présentés par d’autres parties, notamment pendant l’audience et la phase de dépôt d’un mémoire final.
  3. Toutefois, le Conseil estime que la proposition d’ajouter une phase d’observations en réplique est pertinente puisque la preuve du commissaire sera fondée sur des renseignements confidentiels à l’échelle de l’industrie. Le Conseil estime qu’une phase d’observations en réplique supplémentaire en vue de répondre précisément aux éléments de preuve présentés par le commissaire donnerait aux parties une autre occasion de faire part de leurs préoccupations ou de souligner les mérites associés à ces éléments de preuve. Cette possibilité, qui viendrait compléter celle offerte lors de l’audience et de la phase de dépôt d’un mémoire final, donnerait lieu à un dossier plus solide sur lequel le Conseil pourrait fonder ses décisions.
  4. Selon le Conseil, une période d’environ six semaines serait suffisante pour permettre aux parties d’évaluer les études du commissaire et d’y répondre, particulièrement étant donné que les parties auront également l’occasion, lors de l’audience et de la phase de dépôt d’un mémoire final, de formuler d’autres commentaires concernant les éléments de preuve du commissaire.
  5. Par conséquent, le Conseil estime qu’il serait approprié d’ajouter une phase d’observations en réplique pendant laquelle les parties pourraient répondre aux études du commissaire. Au cours de cette phase, les parties doivent s’en tenir au contenu des études économiques du commissaire et de toute annexe ou tout document à l’appui pour formuler leurs commentaires.
  6. Le Conseil estime qu’il n’est pas nécessaire d’ajouter une phase supplémentaire de demande de renseignements, car cela entraînerait des retards inutiles dans l’instance. En outre, compte tenu des procédures nouvelles et existantes établies pour la présente instance, le Conseil estime que toutes les parties ont eu de nombreuses occasions de présenter leurs propres éléments de preuve et de répondre à ceux des autres parties. Par conséquent, le Conseil n’est pas d’avis qu’une valeur ajoutée au dossier grâce à l’établissement d’une phase supplémentaire de demande de renseignements l’emporterait sur l’incidence négative découlant de tels retards.

Demandes de report de l’audience

  1. Compte tenu de la demande de prorogation de 30 jours et des demandes de processus supplémentaire, les entreprises ont indiqué que l’audience devrait être reportée. Elles ont proposé diverses dates allant de mars à mai 2020.
  2. Toutefois, le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. a précisé que l’audience ne devrait pas être reportée, étant donné l’urgence des questions de politique à l’étude.

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

  1. Le Conseil estime qu’il est nécessaire de reporter l’audience, compte tenu de la prorogation de 30 jours et de la nouvelle phase d’observations en réplique.
  2. Il serait toutefois dans l’intérêt public de ne pas prolonger indûment l’instance. L’importance d’assurer une certitude réglementaire opportune sur le marché fait partie des considérations qui sous-tendent l’évaluation du Conseil d’un délai approprié pour l’audience.
  3. Le Conseil estime qu’il serait raisonnable de reporter l’audience d’environ cinq semaines, car cela permettrait de tenir compte de la prorogation de 30 jours et de la nouvelle phase d’observations en réplique. Les parties disposeraient alors de suffisamment de temps pour se préparer à l’audience, sans que la durée globale de l’instance ne soit prolongée de manière considérable.
  4. Par conséquent, le Conseil détermine qu’il serait approprié de modifier le calendrier de l’audience.

Conclusion

  1. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil apporte les changements suivants aux procédures :
    • Le Conseil reporte au 22 novembre 2019 la date limite de dépôt d’autres commentaires pour toutes les parties.
    • Le Conseil ajoute une phase d’observations en réplique afin que les parties puissent répondre aux études du commissaire. Les répliques formulées dans le cadre de cette nouvelle phase doivent être déposées au plus tard le 13 janvier 2020 et elles doivent être limitées au contenu des études économiques du commissaire, y compris les annexes et les documents à l’appui.
    • Le Conseil reporte la date à laquelle l’audience publique commencera au 18 février 2020.
    • Le Conseil reporte la date limite pour le dépôt d’un mémoire final au 23 mars 2020.

Secrétaire général

Date de modification :