Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Christine J. Prudham (Xplornet Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, 10 December 2018

Our reference: 8646-C12-201807611

BY EMAIL

Ms. Christine J. Prudham
Executive Vice President, General Counsel
Xplornet Communications Inc.
625 Cochrane Drive
Suite 1000
Markham, Ontario  L3R 9R9
cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com

RE: Request for information regarding net neutrality – Extension request

Dear Ms. Prudham,

On 26 September 2018, as part of a compliance and monitoring exercise involving specific Internet service providers (ISPs), Commission staff requested information from Xplornet Communications Inc. and all its subsidiaries (collectively, Xplornet) on their Internet traffic management and differential pricing practices. All of the ISPs included in the fact-finding letter, including Xplornet, were requested to provide comprehensive answers by no later than 30 November 2018.

On 3 December 2018, Commission staff received a letter from Xplornet in which the company requested that the date to respond to the request for information be extended to 14 December 2018. In support, it indicated that unforeseen circumstances had prevented it from responding on time and a period of two weeks would allow it to file complete responses.

In the circumstances, Xplornet’s request for extension is accepted. Accordingly, Commission staff grants Xplornet until 14 December 2018 to provide its complete answers to the request for information sent by Commission staff on 26 September 2018.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Carl MacQuarrie, Xplornet, xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com  
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Christine J. Prudham (Xplornet Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, le 10 décembre 2018

Notre référence : 8646-C12-201807611

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Christine J. Prudham
Vice-présidente exécutive, avocate générale
Xplornet Communications Inc.
625, promenade Cochrane
Bureau 1000
Markham (Ontario)  L3R 9R9
cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com

OBJET : Demande de renseignements concernant la neutralité du Net – demande de prorogation

Madame,

Le 26 septembre 2018, dans le cadre de l’exercice d’observation et de surveillance réalisé avec certains fournisseurs de services Internet (FSI), le personnel du Conseil a demandé des renseignements à Xplornet Communications Inc. et à toutes ses filiales (collectivement, Xplornet) sur leur gestion du trafic Internet et leurs pratiques de différenciation des prix. Il a été demandé à tous les FSI mentionnés dans la lettre d’établissement des faits, y compris Xplornet, de fournir des réponses détaillées au plus tard le 30 novembre 2018.

Le 3 décembre 2018, le personnel du Conseil a reçu une lettre de Xplornet dans laquelle cette dernière demandait un sursis jusqu’au 14 décembre 2018 pour répondre à la demande de renseignements. À titre de justification, elle indiquait que des circonstances imprévues l’avaient empêchée de répondre dans le délai imparti et qu’une prorogation de deux semaines lui permettrait de soumettre des réponses complètes.

Dans les circonstances, la demande de prolongation de Xplornet est acceptée. Par conséquent, le Conseil accorde à Xplornet un sursis jusqu’au 14 décembre 2018 pour fournir ses réponses complètes à la demande de renseignements envoyée par le personnel du Conseil le 26 septembre 2018.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. Carl MacQuarrie, Xplornet, xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com  
Martin Brazeau, CRTC, martin.brazeau@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :