Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to John Lawford (Public Interest Advocacy Centre)

Ottawa, 7 December 2018

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0422

BY EMAIL

Mr. John Lawford
Executive Director and General Counsel
Public Interest Advocacy Centre,
1204-1 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, K1R 7B7
jlawford@piac.ca

RE: Proceeding to establish a mandatory code for Internet services – Procedural Request – Scope of proceeding

Dear Mr. Lawford:

On 9 November 2018, the Commission published the Call for comments – Proceeding to establish a mandatory code for Internet services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-422 (the Notice).

On 16 November 2018, the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) submitted a procedural request in which it asked that the Commission amend the scope of the proceeding to include the following:

PIAC referred to its ongoing research on the regulatory framework for Canada’s internet market, including preliminary research into the most prevalent concerns Canadians have about their internet service. PIAC argued that the scope of the proceeding as set out in the Notice is “too narrow to provide a workable and effective Code or to parallel the Wireless Code.”

PIAC also requested that the Commission indicate that comments are welcome on internet access equipment installation, repairs and replacement; broadband measurement and advertised speeds; false advertising; and quality of service complaints, whether or not the Commission provides a proposed Code provision on these matters.

On 30 November 2018, Rogers filed a response in which it opposed this procedural request.

With respect to PIAC’s arguments that the scope of this proceeding is too narrow to provide an effective Code or a Code similar to the Wireless Code, the Commission finds that PIAC has provided no compelling reason to conclude that the scope of the proceeding is too narrow. The Commission notes that these issues were outside the scope of the Wireless Code proceedings. In particular, device standards and false advertising were specifically excluded from the scope of the Wireless Code, as set out in Review of the Wireless Code, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-293, paragraph 20.

In addition, the issue of broadband measurement is the subject of a separate Commission initiative. In 2015, the Commission launched a broadband measurement project to objectively measure broadband Internet performance, including actual connection speeds, in Canadian homes. The data from this ongoing project will, among other things, provide Canadians with a greater understanding of whether Internet services from participating internet service providers (ISPs) are delivered at the advertised speeds and allow ISPs to improve their networks to better serve existing customers, and promote products to potential new customers. The broadband measurement project is ongoing, and distinct from both the creation of the Internet Code and the activities and mandate of the Commissioner for Complaints for Telecom-Television Services (CCTS), which administers the Commission’s consumer codes.

Finally, with respect to PIAC’s request that the Commission indicate that comments would be welcome on, among other things, installation, repairs, and service outages, the Commission notes that paragraph 3 of the Notice specifically invites comments on these issues. The Commission further notes that the Notice states that the Internet Code should address “other issues that may be appropriate to respond to consumer concerns regarding contracts for Internet services”, excluding issues outside the scope of the proceeding.

In light of the above, the Commission is not convinced that it is appropriate to amend the scope of the proceeding set out in the Notice. Accordingly, PIAC’s request is denied. 

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

cc:       Distribution list
celia.millay@crtc.gc.ca
nanao.kachi@crtc.gc.ca
barbara.cuber@crtc.gc.ca
scott.shortliffe@crtc.gc.ca
jlawford@piac.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca
admin@actproject.ca
a.bellema@videotron.ca
jwsmith@canquest.com
geoff.white@ccts-cprst.ca
leonard.eichel@cogeco.com
leila.wright@canada.ca
whitehurst@consumerscouncil.com
info@democracywatch.ca
prez@dtoursu.com
lisa@deafwireless.ca
spunnett@fadresearch.com
execdir@frpc.net
m_hordo@hotmail.com
jmoore@mooregroup.ca
jimfranko@hotmail.com
babydoc99@gmail.com
gloria@cacmanitoba.ca
kilnart@eastlink.ca
atb990@gmail.com
francois.bureau@mcc.gouv.qc.ca
stephen.bailey@remotevideo.ca
katy@openmedia.org
pcurcio@printerworld.com
bywil@pilc.mb.ca
peggy.tabet@quebecor.com
regulatory@cnoc.ca
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Regulatory.Matters@corp.EastLink.ca
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
regaffairs@quebecor.com
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
document.control@sasktel.com
Regulatory@sjrb.ca
regulatory@teksavvy.com
regulatory.affairs@telus.com
david.watt@rci.rogers.com
nblais@scfp.ca
matthew@solarisintel.com
regulatory@tacitlaw.com
david.wilkie@tbaytel.com
jlo@teksavvy.ca
daniel.stern@TELUS.com
tyson.siddall@unifor.org
abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca
James.Maunder@corp.xplornet.com
jchow@piac.ca
cbuchanan@piac.ca
trish.mcauliffe@npfmail.ca
wanda@carp.ca
canadaacorn@acorncanada.org
m_nannie@hushmail.com
vitali.berditchevski@telus.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre Procédurale adressée à John Lawford (Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public)

Ottawa, le 7 décembre 2018

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2018-0422

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur John Lawford
Directeur exécutif et avocat général
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public
1, rue Nicholas, bureau 1204, Ottawa, K1R 7B7
jlawford@piac.ca

Objet : Instance dans le but d’établir un code obligatoire pour les services Internet – demande procédurale – portée de l’instance

Monsieur,

Le 9 novembre 2018, le Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2018-422, Appel aux observations – Instance dans le but d’établir un code obligatoire pour les services Internet (l’Avis).

Le 16 novembre 2018, le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP) a présenté une demande procédurale, dans laquelle il demande au Conseil de modifier la portée de l’instance afin d’inclure les éléments suivants:

Le CDIP a fait référence à ses recherches en cours sur le cadre réglementaire régissant le marché des services Internet, y compris ses travaux de recherche préliminaire sur les plus grandes préoccupations des Canadiens à l’égard de leur service Internet. Le CDIP soutient que la portée de l’instance établie dans l’Avis est trop restreinte pour fournir un code applicable et efficace ou parallèle au Code sur les services sans fil.

Le CDIP a également demandé au Conseil de préciser qu’il accepte volontiers les commentaires concernant : l’installation, la réparation et le remplacement de l’équipement d’accès à Internet; la mesure de la large bande et les vitesses annoncées; la publicité mensongère; et les plaintes à l’égard de la qualité du service, que le Conseil fournisse ou non une disposition relative au Code proposé pour ces questions.

Le 30 novembre 2018, Rogers a déposé une réponse indiquant son opposition à cette demande procédurale.

En ce qui concerne les arguments du CDIP selon lesquels la portée de l’instance est trop restreinte pour fournir un code efficace ou un code parallèle au Code sur les services sans fil, le Conseil conclut que le CDIP n’a fourni aucun motif impérieux permettant de conclure que la portée de l’instance est trop restreinte. Le Conseil fait remarquer que ces questions dépassaient la portée des instances du Code sur les services sans fil. En particulier, les normes sur les appareils et la publicité mensongère ont été expressément exclues de la portée du Code sur les services sans fil, comme il est indiqué au paragraphe 20 de l’avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2016-293, Examen du Code sur les services sans fil.

En outre, la question de la mesure de la large bande est le sujet d’une initiative distincte du Conseil. En 2015, le Conseil a lancé un projet d’évaluation de la performance des services Internet à large bande afin de mesurer objectivement le rendement des services Internet à large bande, dont les vitesses de connexion réelles, dans les foyers canadiens. Les données de ce projet en cours permettront entre autres aux Canadiens de mieux savoir si les services Internet offerts par les fournisseurs de services Internet (FSI) participants sont fournis aux vitesses annoncées et permettront aux FSI d’améliorer leurs réseaux pour mieux servir les clients existants et promouvoir des produits auprès de nouveaux clients. Le projet d’évaluation de la performance des services Internet à large bande est en cours et est distinct de la création du Code sur les services Internet ainsi que des activités et du mandat de la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision, qui administre les codes de protection des consommateurs du Conseil.

Enfin, en ce qui concerne la demande du CDIP concernant des observations sur, entre autres, l’installation, les réparations et les interruptions de service, le Conseil note que le paragraphe 3 de l’Avis sollicite précisément des commentaires sur ces questions. Le Conseil note également que l’avis affirme que le Code sur les services Internet devrait aborder « d’autres questions qui peuvent être appropriées pour répondre aux préoccupations des consommateurs relatives aux contrats des services Internet », à l’exception des questions qui dépassent la portée de la présente instance.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil n’est pas convaincu qu’il est approprié de modifier la portée de l’instance établie dans l’Avis. Par conséquent, la demande du CDIP est refusée.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

c. c. :   Liste de distribution

celia.millay@crtc.gc.ca
nanao.kachi@crtc.gc.ca
barbara.cuber@crtc.gc.ca
scott.shortliffe@crtc.gc.ca
jlawford@piac.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca
admin@actproject.ca
a.bellema@videotron.ca
jwsmith@canquest.com
geoff.white@ccts-cprst.ca
leonard.eichel@cogeco.com
leila.wright@canada.ca
whitehurst@consumerscouncil.com
info@democracywatch.ca
prez@dtoursu.com
lisa@deafwireless.ca
spunnett@fadresearch.com
execdir@frpc.net
m_hordo@hotmail.com
jmoore@mooregroup.ca
jimfranko@hotmail.com
babydoc99@gmail.com
gloria@cacmanitoba.ca
kilnart@eastlink.ca
atb990@gmail.com
francois.bureau@mcc.gouv.qc.ca
stephen.bailey@remotevideo.ca
katy@openmedia.org
pcurcio@printerworld.com
bywil@pilc.mb.ca
peggy.tabet@quebecor.com
regulatory@cnoc.ca
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Regulatory.Matters@corp.EastLink.ca
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca
regaffairs@quebecor.com
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
document.control@sasktel.com
Regulatory@sjrb.ca
regulatory@teksavvy.com
regulatory.affairs@telus.com
david.watt@rci.rogers.com
nblais@scfp.ca
matthew@solarisintel.com
regulatory@tacitlaw.com
david.wilkie@tbaytel.com
jlo@teksavvy.ca
daniel.stern@TELUS.com
tyson.siddall@unifor.org
abeaulieu-laporte@uniondesconsommateurs.ca
James.Maunder@corp.xplornet.com
jchow@piac.ca
cbuchanan@piac.ca
trish.mcauliffe@npfmail.ca
wanda@carp.ca
canadaacorn@acorncanada.org
m_nannie@hushmail.com
vitali.berditchevski@telus.com

Date de modification :