Broadcasting Procedural Letter addressed to Tejinder Singh Saini (Akash Broadcasting Inc.)

Ottawa, 15 November 2018

By Email

Tejinder Singh Saini
Manager
Akash Broadcasting Inc.
13376 Comber Way
Surrey, BC
V3W 5V9
paul.tejinder@gmail.com

Subject: Part 1 Broadcasting Application - 2018-0488-1 (CJCN-FM Surrey)

Dear Tejinder Singh Saini,

This is in reference to the above-noted application by Akash Broadcasting Inc. (Akash) for a technical amendment to change the authorized service contours of the unlaunched commercial specialty ethnic FM radio station (CJCN-FM) in Surrey, British Columbia.

In order to pursue the analysis of this application, please address the following.

  1. The application by Akash states that the original transmitter site proposed for CJCN-FM is no longer available. Thecover letter filed with the application states “ISED determined that use of this site by Akash would comprise ISED monitoring equipment”. Akash’s reply to the interventions adds “On the basis of ISED’s concern that use of this site by Akash could comprise ISED monitoring equipment, the site was effectively made unavailable for transmission purposes” (sic).
  2. Please elaborate, with additional details, on the unavailability of the original transmitter site. In doing so, please substantiate with additional evidence the unavailability of this site and ISED’s specific concerns with the use of this site for CJCN-FM. In your response, you may include correspondence received from ISED relating to its concerns and the unavailability of the original site.

  3. In Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2016-464, the Commission approved the original application by Akash for a broadcasting licence to operate CJCN-FM in Surrey, among other applications for new radio services in Vancouver and Surrey. In that decision, the Commission noted concerns about the continued operations of cross-border broadcasting entities and U.S.-based stations. The Commission considered that there was an opportunity to repatriate revenues from these operations by licensing new radio services, such as CJCN-FM.

In light of the above, please comment on any impact the approval or denial of the application by Akash would have on repatriating from the operations of cross-border broadcasting entities and U.S.-based stations.

The information requested herein should be submitted to the Commission by no later than 19 November 2018, failing which, the application may be returned to be completed and resubmitted with the Commission should Akash wish to pursue this proposal.

Please note that the intervention period for this proceeding will be re-opened for additional comments from all parties with respect to the new information only, as follows:

Interested persons have until 23 November 2018 to submit interventions relating to the new information.

Akash will have until 27 November 2018 to reply to any interventions.

The Commission requires the response or other documents to be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filing the “Broadcasting Cover Page” located on this web page. Also on this web page you will find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Submitting applications and other documents to the CRTC using My CRTC Account”.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Should you need further information concerning this application, please do not hesitate to contact me by telephone at 819-997-2882, by fax at 819-994-0218 or by e-mail at john.fernandez@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

John Fernandez
Analyst, Radio Policy & Applications

cc: ajforsyth9@cogeco.ca, mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com, kulwinder@redfm.ca, Suki@sukibadh.com, info@sherepunjabradio.cabadh.gurdial@gmail.com, gpoulton@vistaradio.ca, Rod.Schween@jpbg.ca, spectrum@cbc.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre Procédurale adressée à Tejinder Singh Saini (Akash Broadcasting Inc.)

Ottawa, le 15 novembre 2018

Par courriel  paul.tejinder@gmail.com

Tejinder Singh Saini
Gestionnaire
Akash Broadcasting Inc.
13376 Comber Way
Surrey (Colombie-Britannique)
V3W 5V9
paul.tejinder@gmail.com

Objet : Demande de radiodiffusion présentée en vertu de la partie 1 - 2018-0488-1 (CJCN-FMde Surrey)

Monsieur,

La présente concerne la demande susmentionnée déposée par Akash Broadcasting Inc. (Akash) dans le but d’obtenir une modification technique pour changer les périmètres de rayonnement autorisés de la station de radio FM commerciale spécialisée à caractère ethnique non encore en exploitation (CJCN-FM) à Surrey, en Colombie-Britannique.

Pour que nous puissions poursuivre l’examen de cette demande, veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants.

  1. Dans la demande déposée par Akash, il est indiqué que le site de l’émetteur proposé initialement pour CJCN-FM n’est plus disponible. Dans la lettre d’accompagnement déposée avec la demande, il est indiqué qu’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique (ISDE) a déterminé que l’utilisation de ce site par Akash compromettrait l’équipement de surveillance d’ISDE. La réponse d’Akash aux interventions ajoute qu’en raison de la crainte d’ISDE que l’utilisation du site par Akash compromette son équipent de surveillance, le site a été rendu effectivement indisponible pour la transmission.
    Veuillez préciser, à l’aide de détails supplémentaires, l’indisponibilité du site initial de l’émetteur. Ce faisant, veuillez confirmer au moyen d’éléments de preuve supplémentaires l’indisponibilité de ce site et les préoccupations précises d’ISDE concernant l’utilisation de ce site pour CJCN-FM. Dans votre réponse, vous pouvez inclure la correspondance reçue d’ISDE concernant ses préoccupations et l’indisponibilité du site initial.
  2. Dans la décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2016-464, le Conseil a approuvé la demande initiale d’Akash pour l’obtention d’une licence de radiodiffusion dans le but d’exploiter CJCN-FM à Surrey, entre autres demandes pour de nouveaux services de radio à Vancouver et à Surrey. Dans cette décision, le Conseil a mentionné des préoccupations à propos des activités continues des entités de radiodiffusion transfrontalières et des stations d’origine américaine. Le Conseil estimait qu’il y avait une occasion de rapatrier de ces activités en attribuant une licence à de nouveaux services de radio, comme CJCN-FM.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, veuillez commenter quelconque répercussions qu’aurait l’approbation ou le refus de la demande déposée par Akash sur le rapatriement des activités des entités de radiodiffusion transfrontalières et des stations d’origine américaine.

Les renseignements demandés dans la présente doivent être soumis au Conseil au plus tard le 19 novembre 2018, sans quoi la demande pourrait être retournée pour qu’elle soit remplie et soumise de nouveau auprès du Conseil si Akash souhaite donner suite à la proposition.

Veuillez noter que la période d’intervention pour la présente instance sera ouverte de nouveau afin que d’autres commentaires puissent être formulés par toutes les parties en ce qui concerne uniquement les nouveaux renseignements, comme suit :

Les personnes intéressées ont jusqu’au 23 novembre 2018 pour soumettre des interventions liées aux nouveaux renseignements.

Akash aura jusqu’au 27 novembre 2018 pour répondre à toute intervention.

Le Conseil exige que la réponse ou tout autre document soient soumis par voie électronique au moyen du service sécurisé Mon compte CRTC (partenaires de connexion ou Clé GC) et que la page couverture de radiodiffusion située sur cette page Web soit remplie. Vous trouvez également sur cette page Web des renseignements sur la soumission des demandes auprès du Conseil : Soumettre des demandes et autres documents auprès du CRTC en utilisant le service Mon Compte CRTC..

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Si vous avez besoin d’autres renseignements concernant la demande, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi par téléphone au 819-997-2882, par télécopieur au 819-994-0218 ou par courriel à john.fernandez@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

John Fernandez
Analyste, Politiques et demandes relatives à la radio

c. c. ajforsyth9@cogeco.ca ,mlewis@lbhmedialaw.com , kulwinder@redfm.ca , Suki@sukibadh.com , info@sherepunjabradio.ca badh.gurdial@gmail.com , gpoulton@vistaradio.ca , Rod.Schween@jpbg.ca , spectrum@cbc.ca

Date de modification :