Broadcasting Commission Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 15 February 2018

BY E-MAIL

Ms. Jessica Parkinson
Compliance Officer
21900115 Ontario Inc., 1490525 Ontario Inc., Moviola: The Short Film Channel Inc.
crtc@tvchannelzero.com

Mr. Joseph Tedesco
Senior Vice President and General Manager
DHX Television Ltd.
Joe.tedesco@dhxmedia.com

Mr. David Kines
President
Hollywood Suite Corp.
David.kines@hollywoodsuite.ca

Dear Sirs, Madam,

Re: Renewal of the television licences specified in Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-183 – Requests to designate information as confidential by Channel Zero, Hollywood Suite and DHX
(Applications 2017-0808-3; 2017-0820-8, 2017-0821-5, 2017-0822-3, 2017-0823-1, 2017-0824-9, 2017-0836-4, 2017-0839-8, 2017-0840-6 and 2017-0843-9)

Following the requests by DHX Television Ltd., Hollywood Suite Corp. and 21900115 Ontario Inc., 1490525 Ontario Inc., Moviola: The Short Film Channel Inc. (collectively, the licensees) to designate information as confidential for the applications mentioned above and pursuant to section 34(1) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules), the Commission hereby requests that the licensees file the information requested below in order to be placed on the public file of the above-mentioned applications:

For Channel Zero only:

The Commission considers that disclosure of this information is in the public interest for the following reasons:

Please file revised abridged versions of the documents that take into account the above-mentioned conclusions by 26 February 2018.

Otherwise, pursuant to section 33(4) of the Rules, you may file a reply with the Commission by 26 February 2018. Should the licensees confirm their request to maintain confidential designation, the Commission will not require the disclosure of the information. In such case, the information will not be admissible in evidence and the Commission will not take it into account. The Commission may then find the renewal application to be incomplete.

Further, to ensure that the public has enough time to take the new information into account in their interventions, the Commission announces that it will add two weeks to the intervention periods of all processes mentioned above, from the day the information is received. A letter to this effect is also being published today.

Yours sincerely,

Claude Doucet
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 15 février 2018

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Jessica Parkinson
Agente à la conformité
21900115 Ontario Inc., 1490525 Ontario Inc., Moviola: The Short Film Channel Inc.
crtc@tvchannelzero.com

Monsieur Joseph Tedesco
Vice-président et directeur général
DHX Television Ltd.
Joe.tedesco@dhxmedia.com

Monsieur David Kines
Président
Hollywood Suite Corp.
David.kines@hollywoodsuite.ca

Objet : Renouvellement des licences de télévision nommées dans l’avis de consultation CRTC 2017-183 – Demandes de désignation de renseignements confidentiels par Channel Zero, Hollywood Suite et DHX
(Demandes 2017-0808-3; 2017-0820-8, 2017-0821-5, 2017-0822-3, 2017-0823-1, 2017-0824-9, 2017-0836-4, 2017-0839-8, 2017-0840-6 et 2017-0843-9)

Madame, Messieurs,

À la suite des demandes de DHX Television Ltd., Hollywood Suite Corp. et 21900115 Ontario Inc., 1490525 Ontario Inc., Moviola: The Short Film Channel Inc. (collectivement, les titulaires) de désigner certaines informations confidentielles pour les demandes mentionnées ci-dessus et en vertu du paragraphe 34(1) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles), le Conseil exige par la présente que les titulaires communiquent les renseignements énumérés ci-après afin qu’ils soient versés aux dossiers publics des instances mentionnées à l’objet :

Pour Channel Zero seulement :

Le Conseil estime qu’il est dans l’intérêt du public d’exiger la divulgation de ces renseignements pour les raisons suivantes :

Veuillez déposer, d’ici le 26 février 2018, une version abrégée révisée des documents de manière à tenir compte des conclusions énoncées ci-dessus.

Sinon, vous pouvez, conformément au paragraphe 33(4) des Règles, déposer une réplique auprès du Conseil d’ici le 26 février 2018. Or, si vous souhaitez maintenir la désignation confidentielle, le Conseil n’exigera pas la divulgation de ces renseignements. Dans un tel cas, les renseignements ne seront pas admissibles en preuve et le Conseil n’en tiendra pas compte. Le Conseil pourrait alors considérer la demande de renouvellement de licence incomplète.

De plus, afin que le public ait suffisamment de temps pour prendre en compte les nouvelles informations dans leurs interventions, le Conseil annonce qu’il prolongera la période d’intervention pour toutes les instances nommées en objet pour une période de deux semaines à partir du jour où il recevra les informations exigées. Une lettre à cet effet est également publiée aujourd’hui.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Claude Doucet
Secrétaire général

Date de modification :