Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.) and Ed Antecol (Freedom Mobile Inc.)

Ottawa, 20 December 2017

Our reference: 8622-J64-201705501

BY EMAIL

Samer Bishay
President & CEO Iristel Inc.
675 Cochrane Drive, 6th Floor, East Tower
Markham, Ontario   L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.com

Ed Antecol
VP, Regulatory and Carrier Relations, Freedom Mobile Inc.
207 Queen's Quay West, Suite 710
Toronto Ontario M5J 1A7
Regulatory@sjrb.ca

Re:  Iristel Application for Relief Regarding the Master Agreement for Interconnection between Iristel Inc. and Freedom Mobile Inc. - Procedural Letter

Dear Sirs:

On 28 June 2017, the Commission received the above-referenced Part 1 application from Iristel Inc. (Iristel). 

In its response dated 31 July 2017, Freedom Mobile Inc. (Freedom Mobile) indicated that the parties were not in a position to resolve the disputed charges at the heart of the Part 1 application until such time as final decisions were rendered in two other applications.  The first was an application filed by Rogers Communications Canada Inc. on 16 November 2016 alleging that Iris Technologies Inc. and Iristel were engaging in traffic stimulation.  The second was an application filed by Bell Canada and Northwestel Inc. on 31 January 2017 proposing that the Commission implement a traffic stimulation regulatory framework for local network interconnection. 

Freedom Mobile further submitted that it would abide by any final Commission determinations in those decisions, and would, as appropriate, resolve its dispute with Iristel in light of such determinations.

Today, the Commission issued its final decision with respect to the above-mentioned 16 November 2016 application (can be found here) and 31 January 2017 application (can be found here).

In light of these two decisions, Iristel and Freedom Mobile are to negotiate a resolution to their dispute and advise the Commission, by letter, of the results of these negotiations by 31 January 2018

If parties are unable to come to an agreement by that date, Iristel will have until 7 February 2018 to supplement, in light of the decisions issued today by the Commission, its 28 June 2017 application. Freedom Mobile, as well as any interveners in the 28 June 2017 application, will have until 14 February 2018 to supplement, in light of the decisions issued today by the Commission, their original submissions.

Iristel will then have until 20 February 2018 to file, in light of the decisions issued today by the Commission, a final reply.  

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:   Danny Moreau, CRTC, danny.moreau@crtc.gc.ca
Chris Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.) et Ed Antecol (Freedom Mobile Inc.)

Ottawa, le 20 décembre 2017

Notre référence : 8622-J64-201705501

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Samer Bishay
Président-directeur général, Iristel Inc.
675, promenade Cochrane, 6e étage, tour Est
Markham (Ontario)  L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.com

Monsieur Ed Antecol
v.-p., Affaires réglementaires et Relations avec les entreprises, Freedom Mobile Inc.
207, Queen’s Quay Ouest, bureau 710
Toronto (Ontario)  M5J 1A7
Regulatory@sjrb.ca

Objet : Demande de redressement d’Iristel concernant l’entente-cadre d’interconnexion entre Iristel Inc. et Freedom Mobile Inc. – lettre de procédure

Messieurs,

Le 28 juin 2017, le Conseil a reçu la demande susmentionnée qu’a présentée Iristel Inc. (Iristel) en vertu de la partie 1. 

Dans sa réponse datée du 31 juillet 2017, Freedom Mobile Inc. (Freedom Mobile) a indiqué que les parties n’étaient pas en mesure de régler les frais contestés au cœur de la demande en vertu de la partie 1 jusqu’à ce que des décisions définitives soient rendues dans deux autres demandes. La première est une demande déposée par Rogers Communications Canada Inc. le 16 novembre 2016 alléguant qu’Iris Technologies Inc. et Iristel se livraient à des pratiques de stimulation du trafic. La deuxième était une demande déposée par Bell Canada et Norouestel inc. le 31 janvier 2017 proposant au Conseil de mettre en place un cadre réglementaire relatif à la stimulation du trafic pour les interconnexions des réseaux locaux. 

Freedom Mobile a par la suite indiqué qu’elle se conformera à toutes les conclusions du Conseil figurant dans ces décisions, et règlerait, le cas échéant, son différend avec Iristel au regard de ces conclusions.

Aujourd’hui, le Conseil a rendu sa décision définitive concernant la demande du 16 novembre 2016 (à consulter ici) et la demande du 31 janvier 2017 (à consulter ici) susmentionnées.

Compte tenu de ces deux décisions, Iristel et Freedom Mobile doivent négocier un règlement de leur différend et informer le Conseil, par courrier, des résultats de ces négociations d’ici le 31 janvier 2018.

Si les parties ne sont pas en mesure de parvenir à une entente d’ici cette date, Iristel aura jusqu’à
7 février 2018 pour compléter sa demande du 28 juin 2017 à la lumière des décisions rendues aujourd’hui par le Conseil. Freedom Mobile ainsi que tout intervenant dans la demande du 28 juin 2017 auront jusqu’au 14 février 2018 pour compléter leurs demandes initiales à la lumière des décisions rendues aujourd’hui par le Conseil. Iristel aura alors jusqu’au 20 février 2018 pour présenter une réplique finale au regard des décisions rendues aujourd’hui par le Conseil.  

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes salutations les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.  Danny Moreau, CRTC, danny.moreau@crtc.gc.ca
Chris Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date de modification :