Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Various parties

Ottawa, 1 November 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0033

BY EMAIL

Ms. Lisa Anderson-Kellett, Chair
Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee
251 Bank Street, Suite 606
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 1X3
lisa@deafwireless.ca, lisandkellett@me.com

Mr. Frank Folino, President
Canadian Association of the Deaf
251 Bank Street, Suite 606
Ottawa, Ontario  K2P 1X3
ffolino@cad.ca

Ms. Megan McHugh, President
Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind
405-422 Willowdale Avenue
North York, ON  M2N 5B1
mchugh.mm@gmail.com


Re: Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-33, Review of the regulatory framework for text-based message relay services

Dear Ms. Anderson-Kellett, Mr. Folino, and Ms. McHugh:

The present letter is to acknowledge receipt of your letter dated 23 October 2017 in relation to the above-noted proceeding, in which you make two requests, described below.

Request #1 that statistical data numbers from all telecommunications service providers (TSPs) be made available

Your letter requests that “the Commission direct the TSPs [on the distribution list of the Commission staff letter dated 3 February 2017] to submit reports of statistical data numbers for 2015 and 2016 for this proceeding as stated in the Telecom Commission Letter (3 February 2017) in order to produce accurate national totals by 3 November 2017.”

Commission staff notes that the Commission is in receipt of all of the above-noted statistical data numbers from each TSP. However, a subset of that data has been designated as confidential by certain TSPs and is therefore not visible to either you or any other party to this proceeding.

As noted in paragraph 19 of the Notice of Consultation, the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure apply to this proceeding and set out, among other things, the procedure for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure.

Commission staff refers you to paragraphs 24 to 26 of the Guidelines on the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure, which explain that:

Given that the Notice of Consultation was published on 2 February 2017, that the data in question was filed with the Commission in March 2017, and that the record was open until 14 July 2017, your request should have been filed via a procedural request letter during that timeframe. To be clear, the sections of the three documents that you referenced in paragraph 3 of your letter were not and would not be considered procedural requests, but rather views expressed by your parties that have been added to the record of the proceeding as a matter of course.

Commission staff decision regarding request #1

Commission staff will not be requiring the disclosure of the requested information on the public record of the proceeding.

However, Commission staff notes that certain statistical data numbers that you are requesting are already available on the Closed Notices of Consultation section of the Commission’s website. Specifically, aggregate monthly call volumes are provided in a letter dated 27 March 2017 that responded to a procedural request filed by Bell Canada on 28 February 2017.

Request #2 that national statistical data reports be made available on an annual basis

Your letter also requests that the Commission encourage that national statistical data reports be made available on an annual basis so that groups such as Canadian Association of the Deaf, Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee and Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind can access them when required.

Commission staff decision regarding request #2

Commission staff will not be making any determination, while the current proceeding is ongoing, on whether national statistical data reports should be made publicly available in the future.

In light of the above, Commission staff is returning your letter.

If you have any questions with regards to this matter, please contact Bradley Gaudet at bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,


Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c.c.: Distribution List

Distribution List

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 1 novembre 2017

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2017-0033

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Lisa Anderson-Kellett, présidente
Comité pour les services sans fil des Sourds du Canada
251, rue Bank, bureau 606
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 1X3
lisa@deafwireless.ca, lisandkellett@me.com

Monsieur Frank Folino, président
Association des sourds du Canada
251, rue Bank, bureau 606
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2P 1X3
ffolino@cad.ca

Madame Megan McHugh, présidente
Société nationale canadienne des Sourds-Aveugles
422, avenue Willowdale, bureau 405
North York (Ontario)  M2N 5B1
mchugh.mm@gmail.com

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-33, Examen du cadre réglementaire régissant les services de relais téléphonique fondés sur le texte

Mesdames, Monsieur,

J’ai bien reçu votre lettre du 23 octobre 2017 concernant l’instance susmentionnée, dans laquelle vous avez formulé les deux demandes ci-après.

Demande 1 : Que les données statistiques de tous les fournisseurs de services de télécommunications (FST) soient publiées

Votre lettre demande que « le Conseil ordonne aux FST [figurant sur la liste de distribution de la lettre du personnel du Conseil datée du 3 février 2017] de soumettre des rapports de données statistiques pour 2015 et 2016 pour cette instance, tel qu'énoncé dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil (3 février 2017) afin de produire des totaux nationaux précis d'ici le 3 novembre 2017 ».

Le personnel du Conseil souligne que celui-ci a déjà reçu toutes les statistiques susmentionnées de chaque FST. Cependant, un sous-ensemble de ces données a été désigné comme confidentiel par certains FST et, par conséquent, ces données ne peuvent être consultées ni par aucun de vous ni par toute autre partie à l’instance.

Tel qu’il est indiqué au paragraphe 19 de l’Avis de consultation, les Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC s’appliquent à cette instance et décrivent, entre autres choses, la procédure de dépôt d’information confidentielle et des demandes de divulgation.

Le personnel du Conseil vous renvoie aux paragraphes 24 à 26 des Lignes directrices à l'égard des Règles de pratique et procédure du CRTC, qui expliquent que :

Étant donné que l’Avis de consultation a été publié le 2 février 2017, que les données en question ont été déposées auprès du Conseil en mars 2017 et que le dossier était ouvert jusqu'au 14 juillet 2017, votre demande aurait dû être présentée au moyen d'une lettre de procédure durant cette période. Pour être clair, les sections des trois documents que vous avez mentionnées au paragraphe 3 de votre lettre n'étaient pas et ne seraient pas considérées comme des demandes de procédure, mais plutôt comme des opinions exprimées par vos parties qui ont été ajoutées, comme il se doit, au dossier de l'instance.

Décision du personnel du Conseil au sujet de la demande 1

Le personnel du Conseil n'exigera pas la divulgation de l'information demandée dans le dossier public de l'instance.

Cependant, le personnel du Conseil souligne que certaines statistiques que vous demandez sont déjà disponibles dans la zone Terminée - Avis de consultation du site Web du Conseil. Tout particulièrement, les données regroupées sur le volume d’appels sont fournies dans une lettre du 27 mars 2017 répondant à une requête procédurale déposée par Bell Canada le 28 février 2017.

Demande 2 : Que les rapports statistiques nationaux soient publiés sur une base annuelle

Vous demandez aussi dans votre lettre que le Conseil encourage la publication annuelle des rapports statistiques nationaux afin que des groupes tels que l’Association des sourds du Canada, le Comité pour les services sans fil des Sourds du Canada et la Société canadienne nationale des Sourds-Aveugles puissent les consulter, au besoin.

Décision du personnel du Conseil au sujet de la demande 2

Pendant que l’instance se poursuit, le personnel du Conseil ne prendra aucune décision quant à la communication au public des rapports statistiques nationaux.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le personnel du Conseil vous renvoie votre lettre.

Si vous avez des questions, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Bradley Gaudet à  bradley.gaudet@crtc.gc.ca.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Mesdames, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation et Politique stratégique

Nanao Kachi

c. c. Liste de distribution

Liste de distribution

Date de modification :