Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Ann Mainville-Neeson and Susan Wheeler (TELUS Communications Company and Rogers Media Inc.)

Ottawa, 30 June 2017

BY EMAIL

Ms. Ann Mainville-Neeson
Vice President, Broadcasting Policy and Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company
Ann.Mainville-Neeson@telus.com

Ms. Susan Wheeler
Vice-President, Regulatory, Media
Rogers Media Inc.
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Dear Madam,

Re: Final offer arbitration (2017-0309-1) with respect to Rogers Media services

This letter is to establish the scope for the final offer arbitration (FOA) proceeding between TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) and Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers Media) for the distribution of Sportsnet and Sportsnet ONE (the Sportsnet Services). In addition to setting out the matter upon which the Commission will make a determination, this conduct letter sets out the dates upon which the FOA is to be conducted and the procedure to be followed. 

This letter should be read in conjunction with the Commission’s letter dated 9 June 2017 in which, pursuant to sections 12 to 15 of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations and Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637 (Information Bulletin 2013-637), the Commission accepted the request for FOA by TELUS, to resolve a dispute with Rogers Media. In the 9 June 2017 letter, the Commission asked parties to submit their preferred scope for the FOA proceeding, with supporting rationale.

The Commission strives to release FOA decisions as expeditiously as possible. However, any procedural issues that arise may result in delays to the applicable timelines (see details in the attached Procedural Appendix).

Parties’ submissions

On 14 June 2017, the parties filed their preferred scope for the FOA proceeding, as requested. Both parties noted that while they agreed on a number of elements related to the scope (such as the term to which the wholesale rates apply and structure of the rate card, and the exclusion of standalone rates), they could not agree on whether or not to ask the Commission to include the rights to TV Everywhere (TVE)Footnote1 and 4K content in the FOA process.

In its submission, TELUS argued that the rights to distribute TVE and 4K content should be included in the scope of this FOA. In support of its position, TELUS argued, among other things, that TVE and signal quality improvements are integral to the distribution of linear services. Noting that most other agreements include the TVE and 4K rights in the same rate as what is charged for the linear signal, TELUS also argued that it would have no frame of reference for valuing the linear signal on its own without what it considers to be other integral components. TELUS also argued that it should not have to wait for the outcome of a subsequent FOA to know the full rate applicable to the distribution of the service. TELUS considered that if TVE and 4K rights are excluded from this FOA, there is a high likelihood that a subsequent FOA will be necessary.

While Rogers expressed disagreement with the Commission’s decision to accept TELUS’ request for FOA, it submitted, on a without prejudice basis, that the rights for TELUS to distribute TVE and 4K content should be excluded from the FOA, and the rates for such distribution left to commercial negotiations between the parties. Rogers argued that the FOA proceeding should be limited to setting out wholesale rates that would cover the SD and HD versions of the linear channels, as well as access to content from the linear channels on the Sportsnet Now app and Sportsnet.ca website on an authenticated basis.  Rogers maintained that this limited scope would allow both parties and the Commission to focus on the issue of greatest value and importance and conduct a clear, simple and transparent FOA process that is not overly complicated by ancillary issues that should be able to be resolved once the linear wholesale rates are established by the Commission.

On 14 June 2017, Rogers also filed with the Commission a request that the Commission hold the FOA proceeding in abeyance until such time as it has considered and determined whether it wishes to pursue its rights of appeal.

In a response dated 19 June 2017, TELUS opposed Rogers’ request to hold the FOA process in abeyance. TELUS argued that Rogers’ request does not provide any information that would support a stay of proceedings at this time and, specifically, that Rogers has not met the three-part test for granting a stay, adopted both by the Commission and by courts.

Decisions

Consistent with its past practices in FOA, the Commission is of the view that a scope which limits the matters on which the Commission must render a determination to the fewest yet most significant monetary elements is appropriate.

Accordingly, in accordance with paragraph 21 of Information Bulletin 2013-637, the matter upon which the Commission will make a determination is as follows:

For clarity, in this case the wholesale rates will cover the provision of standard definition (SD) and high definition (HD) versions of the linear channels, as well as access to content from the linear channels on the Sportsnet Now app and Sportsnet.ca website on an authenticated basis.

The Commission hereby notifies the parties that the other issues relating to the distribution of the Sportsnet services by TELUS (such as rates for standalone, TVE and 4K distribution) will not be determined by the Commission in the context of this proceeding and should be resolved through negotiations between the parties.  Based on the submissions of the parties, the Commission is however requesting information from the parties regarding the value of these other rate elements, in order to more accurately assess the final offers against other agreements that may be in effect in the market.

The Commission will examine the final offers submitted by the parties and will select one in its entirety.Footnote2  The Commission’s decision will be binding on the parties.

With respect to Rogers’ request for an abeyance, the Commission, notwithstanding the use of the term “abeyance”, considers that the request is a request for a stay and has evaluated it on that basis. The Commission, in determining applications for a stay, applies the criteria set out in RJR-MacDonald Inc. v. Canada (Attorney General) [1994] 1 S.C.R. 311. Consequently, in order for an applicant to be granted a stay an applicant must demonstrate that all three of the following criteria are met: a) there is a serious issue to be determined; b) the party seeking the interim relief will incur irreparable harm if the relief is not granted; and c) the balance of convenience, taking into account the public interest, favours granting a stay.

In its application, Rogers failed to provide any evidence or rationale as to why, in the circumstances of this proceeding, a stay is required. Nothing in Rogers’ application demonstrated that taking time to consult outside counsel in order to assess whether to appeal a procedural determination meets any of the three criteria noted above.  Accordingly, the Commission denies Rogers’ request to hold the FOA proceeding in abeyance.

Documents to be provided

The Commission requires that the parties each file their final offers with the Commission by 20 July 2017.  Refer to the attached Appendix for the procedure to be followed in the filing of documents, in addition to Information Bulletin 2013-637.

When preparing your arguments, please refer, where applicable, to the criteria for fair market value set out in the Wholesale Code, Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-438. As noted in the Interpretation of the Wholesale Code, Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2015-440, the Commission will determine which fair market value factors are applicable in a given case and assess proposed rates or final offers in relation to those factors.  In addition, the Commission will apply, where appropriate, a public interest test that examines whether the proposed wholesale rates are consistent with the relevant public policy objectives.

To complete the record, TELUS is also required to provide the following information, by 20 July 2017:

  1. the most recent affiliation agreement reached with Rogers Media regarding the Sportsnet Services;
  2. the average monthly TELUS subscribers to the Sportsnet Services when offered (a) in a linear package, and (b) on a standalone basis, by month, for the period 1 September 2015 to the present, as well as the applicable penetration levels;
  3. the average monthly total TELUS television service subscribers, by month, for the period 1 September 2015 to the present;
  4. the current wholesale rates paid by TELUS for the Sportsnet Services when offered (a) in a linear package, and (b) on a standalone basis;
  5. the wholesale rates paid by TELUS for other sports services (Canadian and non-Canadian) when offered in linear packages;
  6. the average monthly number of subscribers to each sports service (Canadian and non-Canadian) distributed by TELUS, by month, for the period 1 September 2015 to the present;
  7. the current number of subscribers to each package offered by TELUS that includes a sports service, as well as the list of the services offered within such packages;
  8. the retail rate for each preassembled package offered by TELUS that includes a sports service, and the individual wholesale rates for each service offered within such packages;
  9. the tuning or viewership to the Sportsnet Services and to each sports service offered by TELUS, including where available (a) set-top-box data, (b) average minute audience, and (c) total hours tuned, by month, for the period 1 September 2015 to the present;
  10. estimates or the actual amounts, if available, of the value for TVE and 4K distribution of other sports services carried by TELUS, with supporting rationale; and
  11. estimates of the value for TVE and 4K distribution of the Sportsnet Services in the context of their carriage by TELUS, with supporting rationale.

To complete the record, Rogers Media is also required to provide the following information by 20 July 2017:

  1. all current affiliation agreements between Rogers Media and other broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) for the distribution of the Sportsnet Services;
  2. the effective wholesale rates paid by all BDUs to Rogers Media for the Sportsnet services, broken down by distribution (a) in linear packages, and (b) on a standalone basis;
  3. for each entity operating licensed or exempt BDUs that distributes the Sportsnet Services, the number of subscribers, the effective penetration levels and volume discounts, if any, by month, for the period 1 September 2015 to the present;
  4. the tuning or viewership for the Sportsnet Services, including (a) average minute audience, and (b) total hours tuned, by month, for the period 1 September 2015 to the present;
  5. estimates or the actual amounts, if available, of the value for TVE and 4K distribution paid by other entities distributing the Sportsnet Services, with supporting rationale; and
  6. estimates of the value of TVE and 4K distribution of the Sportsnet Services in the context of their carriage by TELUS, with supporting rationale.

By 25 July 2017, once Commission staff has confirmed that the offers respond to the identified matter, Commission staff will forward to each party a copy of the other party’s offer.

The parties will have until 31 July 2017, to file comments on the other party’s final offer with the Commission, and to serve a copy of these comments on the other party.  However, the parties will not be authorized to amend their offers.

Any documents filed with the Commission should be filed via the secure service “My CRTC Account” (GCKey or Partner Log In) using the “Broadcasting Online Form and Cover Page” on that same webpage and quoting the application number noted above.

Responsibilities of the parties

The parties may contact Julia Bresee at 819-997-1194 or at julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca if they require additional information regarding the organization and conduct of the final offer proceeding.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.  In addition to filing with the Commission via “My CRTC Account”, the parties must send copies of all the documents in question to julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General


Procedural Appendix

Parties should be aware that deviation from the final offer arbitration process set out in Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637 may result in delays to the applicable timelines.

General process

As set out in the Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637, FOA usually involves a two-step process: (1) the submission of the final offer and (2) comments.

Parties are responsible for including concise supporting arguments stating all the facts when they file their final offers.  Since the purpose of the comments is to allow each party to comment on the other party’s final offer, procedural fairness requires that the parties’ entire positions be put forth at the beginning of the process (i.e., as part of the final offer).  It is inappropriate to file new evidence and formulate new arguments as part of the comments, if such evidence or arguments could have been filed or formulated when filing the final offers.

Accordingly, the process does not generally provide for parties to file a reply to comments as part of the usual final offer arbitration process.

In the event that a party considers that new evidence or argument has been filed in the context of the comment phase, parties may request from the Commission, in writing, a right of reply, with supporting rationale for the request.

Filing of documents

Generally, there are three versions of each document filed with the Commission in the context of an FOA proceeding:  a version to be placed on the public record (which generally omits details pertaining to the final offers, for instance), a version to be provided to the other party to the FOA (which generally omits certain details which are commercially sensitive), and a full version (containing all confidential information) for the CRTC.

The onus is on each party to ensure that its own sensitive information has been treated appropriately by the other party to the FOA, in reviewing the public versions submitted to the CRTC.

In submitting their filings, parties must clearly designate each version, by marking “Public version”, “Confidential CRTC version” or “Confidential version for party X” at the top of every page of the submission.

Parties must follow the following naming convention in filing documents via GC key:

All public versions of documents must be provided at the same time as the confidential version, as well as any translations that may be provided.

Confidentiality

In accordance with paragraph 40 of Information Bulletin CRTC 2013-637, existing Commission confidentiality rules and practices will apply throughout the FOA proceedings.  The applicable rules and practices are set out in the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules) and described in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961.

Section 31(1) of the Rules provides that in broadcasting matters, a party may designate information related to the following as confidential:

  1. information that is a trade secret;
  2. financial, commercial, scientific or technical information that is confidential and that is treated consistently in a confidential manner by the person who submitted it; or
  3. information the disclosure of which could reasonably be expected
    1. to result in material financial loss or gain to any person;
    2. to prejudice the competitive position of any person; or
    3. to affect contractual or other negotiations of any person.

Section 31(2) of the Rules provides that the party must make the designation at the time that they file the document that contains the information. Moreover, the party that designates information as confidential must provide reasons, as well as any supporting documents, why the disclosure of the information would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest.

[These sections are only an excerpt of the applicable Rules.]

Matters with respect to confidentiality can be set out in a covering letter to the party’s final offer or comment submission, and will not be counted towards the page limits set out in Information Bulletin 2013-637.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Ann Mainville-Neeson et à Susan Wheeler (Société TELUS Communications et Rogers Media Inc.)

Ottawa, le 30 juin 2017

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Ann Mainville-Neeson
Vice-présidente, Politique de radiodiffusion et affaires réglementaires
Société TELUS Communications
Ann.Mainville-Neeson@telus.com

Madame Susan Wheeler
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Média
Rogers Media Inc.
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Mesdames,

Objet : Arbitrage de l’offre finale (2017-0309-1) concernant divers services de Rogers Media

La présente lettre vise à établir la portée de la procédure d’arbitrage de l’offre finale (AOF) entre la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) et Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers Media) pour la distribution des services Sportsnet et Sportsnet ONE (les services Sportsnet). En plus d’exposer la question sur laquelle le Conseil rendra une décision, la présente lettre sur le déroulement indique les dates de l’AOF et décrit la procédure à suivre.

Il faut lire la présente lettre parallèlement à celle du Conseil datée du 9 juin 2017. Dans cette lettre, au titre des articles 12 à 15 du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion et du Bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication CRTC 2013-637 (Bulletin 2013-637), le Conseil a accepté la demande d’AOF soumise par TELUS aux fins du règlement d’un différend avec Rogers Media. Dans cette même lettre, le Conseil a demandé aux parties de préciser ce qu’elles privilégiaient comme portée de la procédure d’AOF, avec justification à l’appui.

Le Conseil s’efforce de rendre ses décisions d’AOF le plus rapidement possible. Par contre, toute difficulté procédurale peut entraîner des retards aux délais prévus (voir les détails dans l’Annexe sur les règles de procédures ci-jointe).

Observations des parties

Le 14 juin 2017, comme il leur a été demandé, les parties ont indiqué ce qu’elles privilégiaient comme portée de la procédure d’AOF. Les deux parties ont souligné qu’ils sont d’accord sur un certain nombre d’éléments associés à la portée (comme la durée d’application des tarifs de gros, la structure de la carte de tarifs, et l’exclusion des tarifs à la carte), mais qu’elles ne s’entendent pas s’il faut demander au Conseil d’inclure dans l’AOF les droits du service Télé Partout (TVE)Note de bas de page1 et le contenu 4K.

Dans son mémoire, TELUS fait valoir que le droit de distribuer le service TVE et le contenu 4K devraient être inclus dans la portée du présent AOF. À l’appui de cette position, TELUS indique notamment que le service TVE et les améliorations de la qualité des signaux font partie intégrante de la distribution de services linéaires. Faisant valoir que la plupart des autres ententes incluent les droits au service TVE et au contenu 4K à même le tarif qui est imposé pour le signal linéaire, TELUS affirme également qu’elle n’aurait aucun cadre de référence pour établir la valeur du signal linéaire en soi en l’absence de ce qu’elle considère comme d’autres composantes essentielles. TELUS affirme également qu’elle ne devrait pas être tenue d’attendre le résultat d’un subséquent AOF pour connaître le plein tarif applicable à la distribution du service. TELUS est d’avis que si le présent AOF exclut les droits de diffusion par TVE et en 4K, la tenue d’un autre AOF sera fort probablement nécessaire.

Bien que Rogers ait exprimé son désaccord avec la décision du Conseil d’accepter la demande d’AOF émanant de TELUS, elle affirme sous toutes réserves que l’AOF devrait exclure les droits de TELUS concernant la distribution du service TVE et du contenu 4K et laisser les parties fixer les tarifs de cette distribution au moyen de négociations commerciales. Rogers fait valoir que les procédures d’AOF devraient se limiter à fixer les tarifs de gros des versions DS et HD des canaux linéaires et de l’accès à leur contenu sur l’application Sportsnet Now et sur le site Web Sportsnet.ca au moyen d’un programme d’authentification. Rogers soutient que cette portée limitée permettrait au Conseil et aux deux parties de se concentrer sur la question la plus importante et de suivre un processus d’AOF clair, simple et transparent que ne viendraient pas compliquer à l’excès des points accessoires pouvant vraisemblablement être résolus aussitôt que le Conseil aura fixé les tarifs de gros des canaux linéaires.

Le 14 juin 2017, Rogers a également déposé auprès du Conseil une demande de suspension des procédures d’AOF jusqu’à ce que Rogers ait considéré et décidé si elle souhaite se prévaloir de son droit d’appel.

Dans une réponse datée du 19 juin 2017, TELUS s’oppose à la demande de suspension de Rogers. TELUS a fait valoir que la demande de Rogers ne fournit aucune information susceptible d’appuyer la suspension des procédures et, plus précisément, que Rogers n’a pas satisfait au critère à trois volets appliqué tant par le Conseil que par les tribunaux pour accorder une suspension.

Décisions

En conformité avec ses pratiques antérieures d’AOF, le Conseil estime appropriée une portée qui minimise les questions sur lesquelles il doit se prononcer, et donc limitée au plus petit nombre d’éléments possible, tout en étant axée aux éléments pécuniaires les plus importants.

Conformément au paragraphe 21 du Bulletin d’information 2013-637, le Conseil rendra une décision sur ce qui suit :

À des fins de précision, le tarif de gros s’appliquera à la diffusion des versions de définition standard (DS) et de haute définition (HD) des canaux linéaires, ainsi qu’à l’accès au contenu des canaux linéaires par l’application Sportsnet Now et le site Web Sportsnet.ca à la suite d’une authentification.

Par la présente, le Conseil avise les parties que les autres questions associées à la distribution par TELUS des services Sportsnet (comme les tarifs pour la distribution à la carte, par TVE et en 4K) ne seront pas tranchées par le Conseil dans le cadre de la présente procédure et devraient être réglées au moyen de négociations entre les parties. Selon les observations présentées par les parties, le Conseil demande toutefois à celles-ci des précisions sur la valeur de ces autres éléments tarifaires, afin de pouvoir mieux évaluer les offres finales en fonction d’autres accords pouvant être en vigueur dans le marché.

Le Conseil examinera les offres finales soumises par les parties et en choisira une dans sa totalité.Note de bas de page2  La décision du Conseil sera exécutoire pour les deux parties.

En ce qui concerne la demande de suspension de Rogers, nonobstant l’utilisation du terme « suspension », le Conseil la considère comme une demande de sursis et c’est à ce titre qu’elle l’a évaluée. Pour trancher les demandes de sursis, le Conseil applique les critères établis par l’arrêt RJR - Macdonald Inc. c. Canada (Procureur général), [1994] 1 RCS 311. Par conséquent, pour se voir accorder un sursis, l’auteur d’une demande doit démontrer qu’il satisfait aux trois critères suivants : a) il existe une question sérieuse à juger; b) la partie qui sollicite le redressement provisoire subira un préjudice irréparable si le redressement n’est pas accordé et c) la prépondérance des inconvénients, compte tenu de l’intérêt public, penche en faveur l’octroi d’un sursis.

Dans sa demande, Rogers a omis de fournir toute preuve ou justification pouvant expliquer pourquoi, dans les circonstances de la présente instance, un sursis est nécessaire. Rien dans la demande de Rogers ne démontre que prendre le temps de consulter un avocat externe pour déterminer si l’appel d’une décision sur une question procédurale remplit l’un quelconque des trois critères indiqués ci-dessus. Par conséquent, le Conseil refuse la demande de Rogers de surseoir à la procédure d’AOF.

Documents à fournir

Le Conseil exige des parties que chacune lui présente son offre finale avant le 20 juillet 2017. Pour connaître la procédure de dépôt de documents, consulter l’annexe ci-jointe et le Bulletin 2013-637.

En préparant votre argumentaire, veuillez consulter, s’il y a lieu, les critères pour la juste valeur marchande énoncés dans la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-438, intitulée Code sur la vente en gros. Tel qu’il est noté dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-440, intitulé Interprétation du Code sur la vente en gros, le Conseil déterminera quels sont les facteurs de juste valeur marchande à appliquer dans un cas donné et il évaluera les propositions de tarifs ou les offres finales en fonction de ces facteurs. De plus, s’il y a lieu, le Conseil procédera à un test d’intérêt public pour vérifier si les tarifs de gros proposés sont conformes aux objectifs pertinents de politique publique.

Afin de compléter le dossier, TELUS doit également fournir les renseignements suivants avant le 20 juillet 2017:

  1. la plus récente entente d’affiliation conclue avec Rogers Media au sujet des services Sportsnet;
  2. le nombre moyen d’abonnés mensuels de TELUS aux services Sportsnet qui sont offerts a) dans un forfait linéaire ou b) à la carte, par mois, pour la période du 1er septembre 2015 jusqu’à ce jour, ainsi que les niveaux de pénétration applicables;
  3. le nombre moyen d’abonnés mensuels de TELUS aux services télévisuels, par mois, pour la période du 1er septembre 2015 jusqu’à ce jour;
  4. les tarifs de gros actuels payés par TELUS pour les services Sportsnet qui sont offerts a) dans un forfait linéaire, b) à la carte;
  5. les tarifs de gros actuels payés par TELUS pour les autres services des sports (canadiens et étrangers) offerts en forfaits linéaires;
  6. le nombre moyen d’abonnés mensuels à chaque service des sports (canadien et étranger) distribué par TELUS, par mois, pour la période du 1er septembre 2015 jusqu’à ce jour;
  7. le nombre actuel d’abonnés de chaque forfait offert par TELUS et qui inclut un service de sports, ainsi que la liste des services compris dans chacun de ces forfaits;
  8. le tarif de détail applicable à chaque forfait préassemblé offert par TELUS et qui inclut un service de sports, ainsi que le tarif de gros individuel pour chacun des services compris dans ces forfaits;
  9. les données sur la syntonisation ou l’effectif-téléspectateurs des services Sportsnet et de chaque service de sports offert par TELUS, y compris, si ces données sont accessibles : a) les données de boîtiers décodeurs; b) la moyenne de minutes d’écoute; c) le nombre total heures d’écoute, par mois, pour la période du 1er septembre 2015 jusqu’à ce jour;
  10. les estimations ou les montants réels, s’ils sont disponibles, de la valeur accordée pour la distribution par TVE ou en 4K du contenu d’autres services de sports acheminés par TELUS, avec justification à l’appui;
  11. les estimations de la valeur accordée pour la distribution par TVE ou en 4K des services Sportsnet dans le cadre de leur acheminement par TELUS, avec justification à l’appui.

Afin de compléter le dossier, Rogers Media doit également fournir les renseignements suivants avant le 20 juillet 2017:

  1. tous les ententes d’affiliation actuelles entre Rogers Media et d’autres entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) ayant pour objet la distribution des services Sportsnet;
  2. les tarifs de gros réels payés par tous les EDR à Rogers Média pour les services Sportsnet, répartis selon la distribution a) dans un forfait linéaire et b) à la carte;
  3. pour chaque entité exploitant des EDR munis d’une licence ou exemptés qui distribue les services Sportsnet, le nombre d’abonnés, les niveaux réels de pénétration et les rabais au volume, le cas échéant, par mois, pour la période du 1er septembre 2015 jusqu’à ce jour;
  4. les données sur la syntonisation ou l’effectif-téléspectateurs pour les services Sportsnet, notamment a) la moyenne de minutes d’écoute; b) le nombre total heures d’écoute, par mois, pour la période du 1er septembre 2015 jusqu’à ce jour;
  5. les estimations ou les montants réels, s’ils sont disponibles, de la valeur accordée pour la distribution par TVE ou en 4K du contenu payée par d’autres entités qui distribuent les services Sportsnet, avec justification à l’appui;
  6. les estimations de la valeur accordée pour la distribution par TVE et en 4K des services Sportsnet dans le cadre de leur acheminement par TELUS, avec justification à l’appui.

Au plus tard le 25 juillet 2017, après avoir confirmé que les offres répondent aux questions en litige, le personnel du Conseil enverra à chaque partie une copie de l’offre de l’autre partie.

Les parties auront jusqu’au 31 juillet 2017 pour déposer auprès du Conseil leurs observations sur l’offre finale de l’autre partie et pour en signifier copie à l’autre partie. Toutefois, elles ne seront pas autorisées à modifier leur offre.

Tout dépôt de documents auprès du Conseil doit être fait en utilisant le service sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (Partenaire de connexion ou CléGC) et en remplissant le document « Page couverture et formulaire en ligne en radiodiffusion » situé sur la même page Web; il faut en outre indiquer le numéro de la demande qui figure en objet.

Responsabilités des parties

Si elles souhaitent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les modalités et le déroulement de l’arbitrage de l’offre finale, les parties peuvent communiquer avec Mme Julia Bresee, au 819-997-1194, ou à l’adresse julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca.

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu et non pas seulement envoyé, au plus tard à cette date. En plus de déposer tous les documents en question auprès du Conseil en utilisant « Mon compte CRTC », il faut en envoyer une copie à l’adresse julia.bresee@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La Secrétaire générale,

Danielle May-Cuconato


Annexe sur les règles de procédures

Les parties doivent noter que toute déviation par rapport au processus d’arbitrage de l’offre finale décrit dans le Bulletin d’information CRTC 2013-637 peut causer des retards aux délais applicables.

Processus général

Comme l’explique le Bulletin d’information CRTC 2013-637, le processus d’AOF passe habituellement par deux étapes : 1) la présentation de l’offre finale et 2) les observations.

Lorsqu’elles déposent leur offre finale, les parties doivent y adjoindre à l’appui des arguments concis énonçant tous les faits. Comme les observations ont pour but de permettre aux parties de commenter l’offre finale de l’autre partie, l’équité procédurale exige que chacune expose sa position au début du processus (c’est-à-dire au dépôt de l’offre finale). Ainsi, dans le cadre des observations, il est inapproprié pour une partie de déposer de nouvelles preuves ou de formuler de nouveaux arguments qu’elle aurait pu déposer ou formuler au moment du dépôt de son offre finale.

Par conséquent, le processus habituel d’arbitrage de l’offre finale ne permet généralement pas aux parties de déposer une réplique aux observations.

Si une partie juge que de nouvelles preuves ont été déposées ou que de nouveaux arguments ont été formulés dans le cadre des observations, elle peut s’adresser par écrit au Conseil pour demander un droit de réplique, avec justification à l’appui.

Dépôt des documents

En général, lors d’une procédure d’AOF, trois versions de chaque document sont déposées auprès du Conseil : une version devant être versée dans le dossier public (dans laquelle sont généralement omis certains détails des offres finales, par exemple); une version devant être remise à l’autre partie à l’AOF (dans laquelle sont généralement omis certains détails sensibles sur le plan commercial); et une version intégrale (contenant tous les renseignements confidentiels) pour le CRTC.

Il incombe à chaque partie à l’AOF de vérifier les versions publiques soumises au CRTC pour s’assurer que ses propres renseignements sensibles ont été traités de façon appropriée par l’autre partie.

Au moment de leur dépôt, les parties doivent désigner clairement chaque version, en inscrivant « Version publique », « Version confidentielle du CRTC » ou « Version confidentielle pour partie X » dans le haut de chaque page de la présentation.

Lors du dépôt de documents au moyen d’une CléGC, les parties doivent suivre les règles suivantes d’affectation des noms :

Toutes les versions publiques des documents doivent être remises en même temps que la version confidentielle, de même que toutes les traductions, le cas échéant.

Confidentialité

Conformément au paragraphe 40 du Bulletin d’information CRTC 2013-637, les règles et les pratiques actuelles du Conseil en matière de confidentialité s’appliquent tout au long des procédures d’arbitrage de l’offre finale. Les règles et les pratiques en question sont énoncées dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (les Règles de procédure) et décrites dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961.

Le paragraphe 31(1) des Règles de procédure énonce qu’en matière de radiodiffusion, une partie peut désigner comme confidentiels les renseignements qui concernent les éléments suivants :

  1.  les secrets industriels;
  2.  les renseignements financiers, commerciaux, scientifiques ou techniques qui sont de nature confidentielle et qui sont traités comme tels de façon constante par la personne qui les fournit;
  3.  les renseignements dont la communication risquerait vraisemblablement
    1.  de causer à une autre personne ou elle-même des pertes ou profits financiers appréciables;
    2.   de nuire à sa compétitivité;
    3.  d’entraver des négociations menées par cette autre personne ou elle-même en vue de contrats ou à d’autres fins.

Le paragraphe 31(2) des Règles de procédure énonce que la partie doit faire la désignation au moment où elle dépose le document qui renferme les renseignements visés. De plus, la partie qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels expose les raisons pour lesquelles leur communication ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, notamment celles pour lesquelles elle causerait vraisemblablement un préjudice direct qui l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public, et fournit tout document à l’appui.

[Ces articles sont qu’un extrait des Règles applicables.]

Une partie peut exposer les raisons pour les désignations de confidentialité dans une lettre d’accompagnement jointe à son offre finale ou à sa présentation d’observations, et cette lettre ne sera pas comptée dans le nombre limité de pages prescrit par le Bulletin d’information 2013-637.

Date de modification :